DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/20/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. There is no explanation of relevance for Cite No. 23, “Written Opinion (PCT/ISA/237) issued on May 24, 2023 by the International Searching Authority in International Application No. PCT/KR2023/002345”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 10-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Akram et al (“Akram”, US 20110246908).
Regarding Claim 1, Akram teaches a display device comprising:
a display (Fig. 3, element 242, par 76);
memory storing instructions (Fig. 3, element 222, par 74);
and at least one processor configured to control the display to display a virtual world image including a virtual display device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to (Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; Fig. 3, element 259, par 74):
based on the display device being in a first mode, control the display to display a first virtual world image including the virtual display device where content is displayed (Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; The first virtual display device is the display region 1702. The first mode is the mode in which video content is displayed in the shared environment.);
and based on the first mode being changed to a second mode, control the display to display at least a portion of an area excluding the virtual display device in the first virtual world image through a first area of the display, and to display the content through a second area of the display (Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; The first virtual display device is the display region 1702. The first mode is the mode in which video content is displayed in the shared environment. The second mode is the mode in which video content is displayed in full screen, and the shared environment including the avatars and scene elements, are displayed in an inset window. The portion of an area is the inlet window 1812. The content is displayed in a second area of the display as shown in Fig. 18b (the full screen area). The virtual display device (display region 1702) is excluded in Fig. 18b. The content that was previously shown in the display region 1702 in Fig. 17g, is now shown in the full screen window (second area of the display).).
Regarding Claim 3, Akram teaches the display device as claimed in claim 1.
Akram further teaches wherein the first virtual world image further includes a first avatar corresponding to a user of the display device and at least one second avatar corresponding to at least one other user viewing the content with the user (Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; The first virtual display device is the display region 1702. The first mode is the mode in which video content is displayed in the shared environment. The second mode is the mode in which video content is displayed in full screen, and the shared environment including the avatars and scene elements, are displayed in an inset window. The portion of an area is the inlet window 1812. The content is displayed in a second area of the display as shown in Fig. 18b (the full screen area). The virtual display device (display region 1702) is excluded in Fig. 18b. The content that was previously shown in the display region 1702 in Fig. 17g, is now shown in the full screen window (second area of the display).),
and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to, based on the first mode being changed to the second mode, control the display to display the first avatar and the at least one second avatar through the first area, and to display the content through the second area (Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; The first virtual display device is the display region 1702. The first mode is the mode in which video content is displayed in the shared environment. The second mode is the mode in which video content is displayed in full screen, and the shared environment including the avatars and scene elements, are displayed in an inset window. The portion of an area is the inlet window 1812. The content is displayed in a second area of the display as shown in Fig. 18b (the full screen area). The virtual display device (display region 1702) is excluded in Fig. 18b. The content that was previously shown in the display region 1702 in Fig. 17g, is now shown in the full screen window (second area of the display).).
Regarding Claim 4, Akram teaches the display device as claimed in claim 3.
Akram further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to change a shape of the first avatar based on at least one of a remote control signal,
a user voice,
a keyboard input,
or a user gesture (Fig. 17c, element 1704, par 133; Fig. 17d, element 1704, par 134; The shape of the avatar 1704 changes based on the emote performed such as cheering.).
Regarding Claim 7, Akram teaches the display device as claimed in claim 1.
Akram teaches further comprising: a communication interface (par 5; Fig. 1, elements {1, 10, 12, 18}, par 55-58; Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; The first virtual display device is the display region 1702.),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to: receive streaming data through the communication interface (par 5; Fig. 1, elements {1, 10, 12, 18}, par 55-58; Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; The first virtual display device is the display region 1702.);
obtain the content from the streaming data (par 5; Fig. 1, elements {1, 10, 12, 18}, par 55-58; Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; The first virtual display device is the display region 1702.);
and render the first virtual world image including the virtual display device where the content is displayed (par 5; Fig. 1, elements {1, 10, 12, 18}, par 55-58; Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; The first virtual display device is the display region 1702.).
Regarding Claim 8, Akram teaches the display device as claimed in claim 1.
Akram teaches further comprising: a communication interface, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to: based on the display device being in the first mode, receive the first virtual world image from a server through the communication interface, and control the display to display the received first virtual world image (par 5; Fig. 1, elements {1, 10, 14, 12, 16, 18}, par 55-58; Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; The first virtual display device is the display region 1702. The first mode is the mode in which video content is displayed in the shared environment.).
Regarding Claim 10, Akram teaches the display device as claimed in claim 1.
Akram further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to: based on a user command for viewing the content with other user being received while the content is displayed through the display, provide information for sharing the content to a predetermined user terminal (Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; The first virtual display device is the display region 1702. The first mode is the mode in which video content is displayed in the shared environment. The second mode is the mode in which video content is displayed in full screen, and the shared environment including the avatars and scene elements, are displayed in an inset window.);
and based on information about the other user being received, control the display to display the first virtual world image including a first avatar corresponding to a user of the display device, a second avatar corresponding to the other user, and the virtual display device (Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; The first virtual display device is the display region 1702. The first mode is the mode in which video content is displayed in the shared environment. The second mode is the mode in which video content is displayed in full screen, and the shared environment including the avatars and scene elements, are displayed in an inset window.).
Regarding Claim 11, Akram teaches the display device as claimed in claim 1.
Akram further teaches wherein the predetermined user terminal includes at least one of a user terminal connected to the same communication network as the display device or a prestored user terminal (Fig. 1, elements {10, 12, 14, 16, 18}, par 55-58; Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141).
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claims 2, 5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akram in view of Chae et al (“Chae”, US 20120290966).
Regarding Claim 2, Akram teaches the display device as claimed in claim 1.
Akram does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to: control the display to display only a partial area of an entire area corresponding to the virtual display device based on a first user manipulation; and based on a ratio of the partial area to the entire area being less than a threshold ratio, change the first mode to the second mode.
Chae teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to: control the display to display only a partial area of an entire area corresponding to the virtual display device based on a first user manipulation (par 72; par 94; par 119);
and based on a ratio of the partial area to the entire area being less than a threshold ratio, change the first mode to the second mode (par 72; par 94; par 119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Akram with the touchscreen-based functionality of Chae because it allows for users to perform actions on the screen via touch controls, as well as the ability to view different applications side by side, allowing for improved multitasking functionality.
Regarding Claim 5, Akram teaches the display device as claimed in claim 1.
Akram does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to, based on the first mode being changed to a third mode, control the display to display the first virtual world image through a third area of the display, and to display other content through a fourth area of the display.
Chae teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to, based on the first mode being changed to a third mode, control the display to display the first virtual world image through a third area of the display, and to display other content through a fourth area of the display (Fig. 1, element par 72; par 94; par 119; The third mode is the viewing in the dual-screen mode. The third area is the left side of the dual-screen mode. The fourth area is the right side of the dual-screen mode.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Akram with the touchscreen-based functionality of Chae because it allows for users to perform actions on the screen via touch controls, as well as the ability to view different applications side by side, allowing for improved multitasking functionality.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 2.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akram and Chae in view of Mattingly et al (“Mattingly”, US 20100306671).
Regarding Claim 6, Akram and Chae teach the display device as claimed in claim 5.
Akram further teaches wherein the first virtual world image further includes a first avatar corresponding to a user of the display device and at least one second avatar corresponding to at least one other user viewing the content with the user (par 5; Fig. 1, elements {1, 10, 12, 18}, par 55-58; Fig. 17g, elements {1702, 1770}, par 138; Fig. 18b, elements {1810, 1812}, par 140; Fig. 19, elements {1900, 1902, 1906}, par 141; The first virtual display device is the display region 1702.),
Akram and Chae do not explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to control the display to display a third avatar corresponding to an additional user viewing the content or the other content with the user, or at least one of photographing images of the additional user through a fifth area of the display, and to display a chat icon for conducting a chat with the at least one other user or the additional user through a sixth area of the display.
Mattingly teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to control the display to display a third avatar corresponding to an additional user viewing the content or the other content with the user (Fig. 2, elements {412, 420A-420D, 430A, 430D}, par 41),
or at least one of photographing images of the additional user through a fifth area of the display,
and to display a chat icon for conducting a chat with the at least one other user or the additional user through a sixth area of the display (Fig. 2, elements {412, 420A-420D, 430A, 430D}, par 41; The chat icon is one of the speech balloons displaying text.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Akram and Chae with the chat functionality of Mattingly because it allows users to communicate with each other beyond the emoticons of Akram without audibly disturbing video content being viewed. Messages sent as text also allow users to take longer time to think about messages before they are sent.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akram in view of Ozawa et al (“Ozawa”, US 20130291025).
Regarding Claim 9, Akram teaches the display device as claimed in claim 8.
Akram does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to: based on the first mode being changed to the second mode, control the communication interface to transmit a signal requesting information about the content to the server; based on the information about the content being received through the communication interface, receive streaming data based on the received information; and obtain the content from the streaming data.
Ozawa teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the display device to: based on the first mode being changed to the second mode, control the communication interface to transmit a signal requesting information about the content to the server (par 338);
based on the information about the content being received through the communication interface, receive streaming data based on the received information (par 338);
and obtain the content from the streaming data (par 338).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Akram with the multiple viewing modes of Ozawa because it gives viewers greater detail and context to the content that is being viewed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al (US 20220060792), Abstract - The invention relates to a display device and method for controlling the same, the method mainly comprising: capturing a screen in which content is reproduced; extracting a first keyword from an image of the captured screen, generating reliability corresponding to the first keyword, when an input of selecting the first keyword is received from an external remote controller, transmitting the first keyword, feedback information and the reliability to an external server, receiving a second keyword, corrected reliability, and feedback information from the external server, and when an input of selecting the second keyword is received, displaying a screen corresponding to the second keyword.
Han (US 20180367843), Abstract - An electronic device for playing a content and an operation method thereof is provided. The electronic device includes a display, a communication interface, a memory, and at least one processor electrically connected with the display, the communication interface, and the memory. The memory stores instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to control to display on the display operation-related information of at least one environment creation device corresponding to a content in response to a content playing event being detected, to set an operation mode of the at least one environment creation device, and to control the at least one environment creation device based on the set operation mode through the communication interface. Other embodiments are possible.
Park et al (US 20200177934), Abstract - Provided are a rotatable display device and a method of displaying content using the same. The display device includes a display; and a controller configured to control the display to display first video content based on a first source, sense pivoting of the display while the first video content is displayed, and control the display, in response to the pivoting, to display second video content based on at least one second source different from the first source, the second video content being different from the first video content.
/RAQIUL A CHOUDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2444