Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rose et al. (U.S. 2023/0069045A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rose et al. disclose a variable spoiler lighting apparatus (10, fig. 1 and para 0024. Examiner is using the embodiment of fig. 6) for a vehicle (20), the variable spoiler lighting apparatus (10) comprising:
a rear lamp (18 or 14b, 18; see fig. 1 and refer to para 0024), which is movably mounted on a rear portion (12) of the vehicle (see figs. 2-6) and protrudable toward a rear of the vehicle (see figs. 2-6) depending on a driving mode (when it is desired to reduce drag on the vehicle; see figs. 2-6 and refer to para 0030 “based on vehicle speed”, etc.), and to which a rack (24; see figs. 6A-6C) is coupled (see figs. 6A-6C and refer to para 0028); and
a spoiler (14a or 14a, 14b; see figs. 6A-6. Also refer to para 0028 and 0029), which is movably mounted on the rear portion (12; see figs. 1 and 6A-6C), configured to move along with the rear lamp (18 or 14b, 18; see figs. 6A-6C), and tiltable (as shown in figs. 6A-6C, the spoiler is tilting downward as it expands rearwardly) depending on the driving mode (para 0030: “based on vehicle speed” etc.),
wherein the rear portion (12) includes a rear body (as shown in figs. 1 and 6A-6C) accommodating the rear lamp (18 or 14b, 18; see figs. 1 and 6A-6C) and the spoiler (14a or 14a, 14b) and including a rail (as broadly claimed, the “rail” can be the “groove” sections of 24b-24e that connect them as shown in fig. 8. Also see fig. 9), to which the rack (24) is movably coupled, to guide a movement of the rear lamp (18 or 14b, 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose et al. (U.S. 2023/0069045A1) alone.
Regarding claim 2, Rose et al. disclose is silent to an actuator for actuating the rack 24.
Figs. 11A-11B further describes the rear portion further includes: a first actuator (48; refer to para 0030. Examiner notes that since this is not described in figs. 6A-6C, figs. 11A-11B are used for the description) mounted on the rear body and meshing with the rack (54) to move the rack linearly; and a second actuator (48; two are shown in figs. 11A-11B) mounted on the rear lamp (as it would be mounted to the rear lamp 14b, 18 at attachment location 32; as shown in fig. 6C) and connected to the spoiler to vary a tilting angle of the spoiler (as shown in fig. 6C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the embodiment of figs. 6A-6C to include a first and second actuator connected to the rack and the rear lamp, for moving the rear spoiler and rear lamp, for reducing drag to the vehicle, as taught by the embodiment of figs. 11A-11B.
Regarding claim 9, Rose et al. disclose a controller (para 0030: “onboard computer or other electronics”) operatively connected to the first actuator (refer to para 0030), the second actuator, and the rear lamp and configured to separately control operations of the first actuator, the second actuator, and the rear lamp (refer to para 0030).
Regarding claim 12, Rose et al. teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 2 above; however, Rose fail to teach multiple lamps. Specifically, Rose fail to teach that the rear lamp includes: one or more first lamps on which the spoiler is seated; and second lamps arranged on first and second sides of the first lamp, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rear lamp of Rose to include one or more first lamps on which the spoiler is seated; and second lamps arranged on first and second sides of the first lamp, respectively, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 13, Rose et al. disclose wherein the driving mode includes a first mode, and wherein in the first mode, the controller (para 0030: “onboard computer or other electronics”) is configured to: control operation of the first actuator (48; refer to para 0030) to expose the rear lamp inserted into an inner side of the rear body (12; see fig. 6A), from the rear body so that the rear lamp protrudes toward the rear of the vehicle (see fig. 6B), the spoiler (14a or 14a, 14b) moving along with the rear lamp to protrude along with the rear lamp toward the rear of the vehicle (see fig. 6B-6C); and control operation of the second actuator so that the tilting angle of the spoiler is maintained at 0 degrees (as shown in fig. 6A; when the spoiler retracts back to fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 14, Rose et al. disclose wherein the driving mode includes a second mode, and wherein in the second mode, the controller (para 0030: “onboard computer or other electronics”) is configured to: control operation of the second actuator (48; refer to para 0030) so that the tilting angle of the spoiler becomes a predetermined angle (see fig. 6C); control operation of the first actuator so that the rear lamp, which has moved toward the rear of the vehicle, remains protruding toward the rear of the vehicle (see fig. 6C).
Regarding claim 15, Rose et al. disclose wherein the driving mode includes a third mode, and wherein in the third mode, the controller para 0030: “onboard computer or other electronics”) is further configured to: control operation of the second actuator (48; refer to para 0030) so that the tilting angle of the spoiler (14a or 14a, 14b) becomes higher than the predetermined angle (see figs. 6A-6C); and control operation of the first actuator so that the rear lamp (18 or 14b, 18), which has moved toward the rear of the vehicle, remains protruding toward the rear of the vehicle (see figs. 6A-6C).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose et al. (U.S. 2023/0069045A1), in view of Suda (U.S. 2024/0217431A1).
Regarding claim 10, Rose et al. teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 9 above; however, Rose et al. fail to teach a pattern portion, illuminated with a light pattern, is mounted on an outer surface of the rear lamp so that whether the rear lamp is in operation is externally recognizable.
Suda teaches a rear lamp (104, fig. 1) of a vehicle comprising a pattern portion (108, 110, 112), illuminated with a light pattern (refer to para 0020, 0026, 0035, 0042, and 0053), is mounted on an outer surface of the rear lamp so that whether the rear lamp is in operation is externally recognizable (see fig. 1 and refer to para 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rear lamp of Rose to include a pattern portion, illuminated with a light pattern, mounted on an outer surface of the rear lamp so that whether the rear lamp is in operation is externally recognizable, as taught by Suda, for the purpose of indicating a state of the vehicle (refer to para 0020).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. (U.S. 2024/0391539A1), Kim (U.S. 2024/0017665A1), Nakamura et al. (U.S. 2023/0264761A1), and Rose et al. (U.S. 2022/0402564A1).
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672