DETAILED ACTION
For this Office action, Claims 13-29 are pending. Claims 13-29 are new, and Claims 1-12 are canceled. As a miscellaneous note, the examiner notices a claim filing of 07 October 2024 (after the 20 September 2024 filing of the amended list) that comprises the original 12 claims; the examiner will still assume the amended claim list is the one to examine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-21, 23-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sower, US Pat Pub. 2003/0172697 (found in IDS filed 09/30/2024), in view of Wang et al. (herein referred to as “Wang”, ACS Sustainable Chemistry & Engineering, Vol. 4, No. 4, pp. 2068-2079 (2016); found in IDS filed 09/30/2024) and Mazet et al. (herein referred to as “Mazet”, US 5152896).
Regarding instant Claim 13, Sower discloses a method of treating contaminated water to remove ammonium and nitrogen-containing impurities and recover ammonium salts (Abstract; Figure 2; Figure 6; Paragraph [0061]; Paragraph [0077]; Paragraph [0177]; waste treatment for removing ammonia from water and recovering ammonium salts) comprising: exposing contaminated water to an ammonia retaining agent which aggregates with positively charged ammonium ions and nitrogen containing impurities in water (Figure 2; Figure 6; Paragraphs [00157]-[0158]; Paragraph [0193]; waste slurry is treated with ammonia retaining agent such as zeolite and porous flocculants that precipitate out ammonia and other such impurities), to form an aggregate and treated water (Paragraphs [0156]-[0157]; Paragraph [0193]; zeolite is used to retain ammonia); separating the aggregate from the treated water (Figure 6; Paragraphs [0192]-[0193]; sludge is thickened and aggregate is separated); and isolating ammonium salts from the aggregate (Figure 6; Paragraph [0193]; thickened and separated ammonium salts is fully filtered and isolated in press 620), wherein the contaminated water comprises ammonium, nitrogen-containing impurities, or combinations thereof (Abstract; Figure 2; Figure 6; Paragraph [0061]; Paragraph [0077]; Paragraph [0177]; ammonia and ammonium salts are recovered from treatment process).
However, Sower is silent on cellulose processed by nitro-oxidation, exposing the aggregate to concentrated sodium chloride to regenerate cellulose; and using the regenerated cellulose again to treat contaminated water.
Wang discloses recovery of ammonium and phosphate from wastewater by wheat straw-based amphoteric adsorbent and reusing as a multifunctional slow-release compound fertilizer in the same field of endeavor as Sower, as it solves the mutual problem of removing ammonia from wastewater (Abstract). Wang further discloses exposing contaminated water to cellulose with negatively charged functional groups which aggregate with positively charged ammonium ions and nitrogen containing impurities in water (Page 2070, right column first paragraph; Page 2075, left column first paragraph; amphoteric straw cellulose with added carboxyl groups used for removal of ammonia and phosphate compounds) in order to produce a slow-release fertilizer from the recovered ammonium ions and nitrogen containing impurities (Abstract). The cellulose is extracted from raw or untreated biomass using a nitro-oxidation method (Wang, Page 2069, left column, paragraph starting with “extraction of cellulose from wheat straw”-right column, first paragraph; cellulose comes from untreated wheat straw, carboxylated groups arise from reaction with urea, which would create nitro-oxidation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the exposure of contaminated water in Sower to further comprise exposing said water to negatively charged cellulose processed by nitro-oxidation comprising negatively charged functional groups as taught by Wang because Wang discloses such exposure produces a slow-release fertilizer from the recovered ammonium ions and nitrogen containing impurities (Wang, Abstract).
However, the combined references are silent on cellulose processed by nitro-oxidation, exposing the aggregate to concentrated sodium chloride to regenerate cellulose; and using the regenerated cellulose again to treat contaminated water.
Mazet discloses the use of grafted cellulose for purifying water in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of purifying water with cellulose products (Abstract). Mazet further discloses that cellulose is easily regenerated with a sodium chloride solution and may be reused (Col. 1, Lines 62-68; Col. 4, Lines 10-20; see also that sodium chloride solution would be a solution concentrated enough for the regeneration rates desired).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Sower to further comprise exposing the aggregate to concentrated sodium chloride to regenerate cellulose and using the regenerated cellulose in the step of exposing contaminated water to cellulose as taught by Mazet because Mazet discloses cellulose is easily regenerated by sodium chloride for reuse (Col. 1, Lines 62-68; Col. 4, Lines 10-20).
Regarding instant Claim 14, Claim 13, upon which Claim 14 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the ammonium salts are converted into ammonium sulfates (Sower, Paragraph [0193]; released ammonia is converted to ammonium sulfate).
Regarding instant Claim 15, Sower discloses a method of making a fertilizer or fertilizer component from contaminated water (Abstract; Paragraph [0061]; process of creating fertilizer from contaminated waste including water) comprising: exposing contaminated water to an ammonia retaining agent which aggregates with positively charged ammonium ions and nitrogen containing impurities in water (Figure 2; Figure 6; Paragraphs [00157]-[0158]; Paragraph [0193]; waste slurry is treated with ammonia retaining agent such as zeolite and porous flocculants that precipitate out ammonia and other such impurities), to form an aggregate and treated water (Paragraphs [0156]-[0157]; Paragraph [0193]; zeolite is used to retain ammonia); and isolating the aggregate to provide a fertilizer or fertilizer component (Abstract; Figure 6; Paragraph [0193]; thickened and separated ammonium salts is fully filtered and isolated in press 620, which forms the fertilizer or at least a fertilizer component).
However, Sower is silent on cellulose, exposing the aggregate to concentrated sodium chloride to regenerate cellulose; and using the regenerated cellulose again to treat contaminated water.
Wang discloses recovery of ammonium and phosphate from wastewater by wheat straw-based amphoteric adsorbent and reusing as a multifunctional slow-release compound fertilizer in the same field of endeavor as Sower, as it solves the mutual problem of removing ammonia from wastewater (Abstract). Wang further discloses exposing contaminated water to cellulose with negatively charged functional groups which aggregate with positively charged ammonium ions and nitrogen containing impurities in water (Page 2070, right column first paragraph; Page 2075, left column first paragraph; amphoteric straw cellulose with added carboxyl groups used for removal of ammonia and phosphate compounds) in order to produce a slow-release fertilizer from the recovered ammonium ions and nitrogen containing impurities (Abstract). The cellulose is extracted from raw or untreated biomass using a nitro-oxidation method (Wang, Page 2069, left column, paragraph starting with “extraction of cellulose from wheat straw”-right column, first paragraph; cellulose comes from untreated wheat straw, carboxylated groups arise from reaction with urea, which would create nitro-oxidation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the exposure of contaminated water in Sower to further comprise exposing said water to negatively charged cellulose processed by nitro-oxidation comprising negatively charged functional groups as taught by Wang because Wang discloses such exposure produces a slow-release fertilizer from the recovered ammonium ions and nitrogen containing impurities (Wang, Abstract).
However, the combined references are silent on cellulose processed by nitro-oxidation, exposing the aggregate to concentrated sodium chloride to regenerate cellulose; and using the regenerated cellulose again to treat contaminated water.
Mazet discloses the use of grafted cellulose for purifying water in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of purifying water with cellulose products (Abstract). Mazet further discloses that cellulose is easily regenerated with a sodium chloride solution and may be reused (Col. 1, Lines 62-68; Col. 4, Lines 10-20; see also that sodium chloride solution would be a solution concentrated enough for the regeneration rates desired).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Sower to further comprise exposing the aggregate to concentrated sodium chloride to regenerate cellulose and using the regenerated cellulose in the step of exposing contaminated water to cellulose as taught by Mazet because Mazet discloses cellulose is easily regenerated by sodium chloride for reuse (Col. 1, Lines 62-68; Col. 4, Lines 10-20). See also that in modified Sewer the aggregate would comprise cellulose, and the fertilizer/fertilizer component would come from said aggregate/cellulose.
Regarding instant Claim 16, Claim 15, upon which Claim 16 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the aggregate is processed to isolate ammonium salts to provide a fertilizer component (Sower, Figure 6; Paragraph [0193]; thickened and separated ammonium salts is fully filtered and isolated in press 620).
Regarding instant Claim 17, Claim 16, upon which Claim 17 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the ammonium salts are converted into ammonium sulfates (Sower, Paragraph [0193]; released ammonia is converted to ammonium sulfate).
Regarding instant Claim 18, Claim 15, upon which Claim 18 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the aggregate is a slow-release fertilizer (Sower, Abstract; Wang, Abstract; slow release NPK fertilizer).
Regarding instant Claim 19, Claim 13, upon which Claim 19 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the cellulose is extracted from raw or untreated biomass (Wang, Page 2069, left column, paragraph starting with “extraction of cellulose from wheat straw”-right column, first paragraph; cellulose comes from untreated wheat straw, carboxylated groups arise from reaction with urea, which would create nitro-oxidation).
Regarding instant Claim 20, Claim 13, upon which Claim 20 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the cellulose is in the form of microfibers (Wang, Abstract; Figure 2; Page 2069, left column, paragraph starting with “extraction of cellulose from wheat straw”; wheat straw would comprise microfibers of cellulose).
Regarding instant Claim 21, Claim 13, upon which Claim 21 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined reference further discloses wherein the cellulose is present in a concentration of about 0.5 to 1% based upon the weight of the contaminated water (Wang, Page 2076, left column, last paragraph-page 2077, right column, first paragraph; samples prepared include 0.5 to 1% weight percentage with cellulose).
Regarding instant Claim 23, Claim 22, upon which Claim 23 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein ammonium and nitrogen-containing impurities are present in the contaminated water in about 1 to about 125 ppm (Wang, Figure 8; concentrations may be within 1 to 125 of ammonium ions).
Regarding instant Claim 24, Claim 15, upon which Claim 23 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the cellulose is extracted from a raw or untreated biomass using a nitro oxidation method (Wang, Page 2069, left column, paragraph starting with “extraction of cellulose from wheat straw”-right column, first paragraph; cellulose comes from untreated wheat straw, carboxylated groups arise from reaction with urea, which would create nitro-oxidation) and wherein nitrogen and oxygen byproducts produced from the nitro-oxidation method are converted to nitrate salts and added to the fertilizer component (Sower, Abstract; Paragraph [0075]; fertilizer provided is a nitrogen-phosphorous-potassium “PTK” fertilizer)
Regarding instant Claim 25, Claim 15, upon which Claim 25 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the cellulose is extracted from raw or untreated biomass using a nitro-oxidation method (Wang, Page 2069, left column, paragraph starting with “extraction of cellulose from wheat straw”-right column, first paragraph; cellulose comes from untreated wheat straw, carboxylated groups arise from reaction with urea, which would create nitro-oxidation).
Regarding instant Claim 26, Claim 15, upon which Claim 26 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the cellulose is in the form of microfibers (Wang, Figure 2; Abstract; Page 2069, left column, paragraph starting with “extraction of cellulose from wheat straw”; wheat straw would comprise microfibers of cellulose).
Regarding instant Claim 27, Claim 15, upon which Claim 27 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined reference further discloses wherein the cellulose is present in a concentration of about 0.5 to 1% based upon the weight of the contaminated water (Wang, Page 2076, left column, last paragraph-page 2077, right column, first paragraph; samples prepared include 0.5 to 1% weight percentage with cellulose).
Regarding instant Claim 29, Claim 15, upon which Claim 28 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein ammonium and nitrogen-containing impurities are present in the contaminated water in about 1 to about 125 ppm (Wang, Figure 8; concentrations may be within 1 to 125 of ammonium ions).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. After consulting the parent application, (SN 17/267683, now US 12122687) these claims were considered allowable during prosecution of the parent case and are considered allowable here for the same reasons. A more detailed reasons for allowance will be provided upon allowance of the entire claim set.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu et al. (US Pat Pub. 2020/0199257) discloses other processes of cellulose regeneration in order to make regenerated fibers (Abstract).
/RICHARD C GURTOWSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773 09/02/2026