DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, drawn to the pressure monitoring apparatus, and Species D, embodiments drawn to Figure 4, in the reply filed on 8/11/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 8, 9, 16, 17, 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/11/26.
With respect to the withdrawn claims not indicated by Applicant, the Examiner respectfully notes withdrawn claims 8 and 9 are expressly drawn to non-elected Species B and/or C and withdrawn claims 15-18 are expressly drawn to nonelected Species E.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“sensor mechanism” in claims 1 and 15, and
“memory components” of claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Balji et al. (CN 101940500 B, hereinafter Balji and with references to accompanying English translation).
For claim 1, Balji discloses a pressure monitor device (600) (Figs 6-7) ([0037-0071, especially 0065-0067]), comprising inter alia:
a console (610) including a display monitor (display of 610) and a plurality of input and output ports (622a-c) (Figs 6-7) ([0037-0071, especially 0065-0067]);
an extension cable (612) including a distal end having a connector (634) that connects to at least one of the plurality of input and output ports formed on the console (Figs 6-7) ([0037-0071, especially 0065-0067]), and a proximal end having a junction (699) (Figs 6-7) ([0037-0071, especially 0065-0067]);
a sensor mechanism (616a) including a sensor mechanism reference cable (cable between 662a and 699) for coupling the sensor mechanism to the junction of the extension cable (Figs 6-7) ([0037-0071, especially 0065-0067]); and
an electrical reference system (616b,662b) comprising: a reference electrode (616b); and a patient reference cable (cable between 662b and 699) having a proximal end communicatively coupled to the extension cable and a distal end communicatively coupled to the reference electrode (Figs 6-7) ([0037-0071, especially 0065-0067]);
wherein the reference electrode is configured to establish a reference electrical potential of an external environment to electrically equilibrate the pressure monitor device (Figs 6-7) ([0037-0071, especially 0020,0024,0025,0046,0053,0060]).
For claim 2, Balji discloses the pressure monitor device of claim 1, further comprising a battery-powered power source (202) (Figs 6-7) ([0037-0071, especially 0048]).
For claim 3, Balji discloses the pressure monitor device of claim 1, wherein a distal end of the sensor mechanism reference cable includes an adapter for coupling the sensor mechanism to the junction of the extension cable (Figs 6-7) ([0037-0071, especially 0065-0067]).
For claim 4, Balji discloses the pressure monitor device of claim 1, wherein the sensor mechanism is configured to monitor pressure readings in target area ([0037-0071, especially 0069]).
For claim 5, Balji discloses the pressure monitor device of claim 1, wherein the proximal end of the patient reference cable is overmolded to the junction of the extension cable ([0041]).
For claim 6, Balji discloses the pressure monitor device of claim 1, wherein the extension cable further include a y-connector (699) having a first port (portion of 699 receiving 662a) and a second port (portion of 699 receiving 662b), the first port being configured to receive the sensor mechanism reference cable and the second port being configured to receive the proximal end of the patient reference cable (Figs 6-7) ([0037-0071, especially 0065-0067]).
For claim 10, Balji discloses the pressure monitor device of claim 1, wherein the distal end of the patient reference cable includes a coupler (662b) configured to connect with a receiver formed on the reference electrode (Fig 6) ([0037-0071, especially 0065-0067]).
For claim 11, Balji discloses the pressure monitor device of claim 1, wherein the reference electrode is a skin-patch electrode (616b) (Fig 6) ([0037-0071, especially 0065-0067]).
For claim 12, Balji discloses the pressure monitor device of claim 1, further including a plurality of alarms that are triggered when pressure values monitored by the sensor mechanism fall outside of a predetermined range ([0049-0052]).
For claim 13, Balji discloses the pressure monitor device of claim 1, further including a plurality of alarms that are triggered when pressure values monitored by the sensor mechanism fall outside of a predetermined range and remain outside of the predetermined range for a predetermined period of time ([0049-0052]).
For claim 14, Balji discloses the pressure monitor device of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of memory components (222) configured to save data captured by the sensor mechanism ([0049-0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balji.
For claim 7, Balji discloses the pressure monitor device of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose the patient reference cable is a tinned copper wire cable with a santoprene insulation coating. It would have been well within the grasp of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to try using tinned copper wire and santoprene insulation coating for the patient reference cable because there are within the finite number of well-known materials for medical pressure sensing cables and would havfe achieved the predictable results of providing electrical communication amongst memory and sensor while insulating the device and preserving flexibility and because doing so would provide a known alternative material solution to measure intracranial pressure for which Balji is explicitly concerned.
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for configuring connectivity of a pressure sensing device.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791