DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 11, 12-15, 17, 18 and 20 have been amended. Claim 21 has been newly added. Claim 19 has been/remains canceled. Claims 1-18 and 20-21 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 9-14 of the remark filed on 05/26/2026, on the newly amended limitations of independent Claims 1: “aggregating, from a web application firewall (WAF) bridge service that interfaces with two or more WAF services corresponding to two or more different vendors each associated with a respective substrate,”, arguments are persuasive.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Yehudai et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190372934) and Nishino et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190303794) further in view of Andrews et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20240129310), has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the following prior art: Raman et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180123939) in conjunction Yehudai et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190372934), Nishino et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190303794) and Andrews et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20240129310). Please refer to the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below for a detailed explanation.
For the reasons stated above and the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument, see Applicant’s Remarks Page 9-14, regarding allowance of the application. Examiner asserts that claims 1-5,7-9,11-18 and 20-21 are rejected for the reasons stated above in conjunction with the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Conclusion: Yehudai-Raman-Nishino- Andrews teaches the aforementioned limitations of independent claims and 1, 15 and 20 rendering the claim limitations obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11-13, 15 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yehudai et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190372934, hereinafter referred to as “Yehudai”) Raman et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180123939, hereinafter referred to as “Raman”) and Nishino et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190303794, hereinafter referred to as “Nishino”) further in view of Andrews et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20240129310, hereinafter referred to as “Andrews”)
In regards to Claims 1, 15, Yehudai teaches a method for data processing, comprising: (Par. (0003 and 0022); data processing)
a plurality of distributed denial of service (DDoS) event records associated with a plurality DDoS events, (Par. (0017, 0020 and 0025); malicious events corresponding to DDoS and associated with clusters of malicious DDoS events that are stored in database))
a second sub-analysis of logging information received from the two or more WAF services, and (Par. (0028-0030, 0036-0037 and 0040); a second sub-analysis (analyzer with WAF performs first sub-analysis of determining relationship and distance of features of malicious events and second-sub analysis detecting previously malicious events stored)), (Par. (0028-0030); a second sub-analysis of logging information received (data analyzer with WAF determines malicious events that were previously received and stored and transmits to admin))
a third sub-analysis of a threat intelligence feed to determine one or more characteristics of the plurality of DDoS events; (Par. (0037 and 0040-0042); third sub-analysis of threat intelligence feed (multi-stage approach of processing alerts when malicious event is detected) to determine one or more characteristics (features of distance and similarity levels of malicious events with DDoS), (Par. (0031-0033); a threat intelligence feed (batch of alerts with malicious events detected) to determine one or more characteristics (determined based on similarities and features of distance/location))
generating, based at least in part on analyzing the plurality of DDoS event records, a security configuration for at least one WAF service of the two or more WAF services, where the security configuration indicates one or more parameters of the at least one WAF service to be set based at least in part on the one or more characteristics of the plurality of DDoS events; (Par. (0024-0025) generating, based at least in part on analyzing the one or more DDoS event records, a security configuration (generating configuration based on malicious events with DDoS) the one or more WAF services (for the firewall management associated with WAF) that indicates one or more parameters of the one or more WAF services (established policies to allow or block traffic) based at least in part on the one or more characteristics (based by determining distances of malicious events with DDoS))
Yehudai does not explicitly teach aggregating, from a web application firewall (WAF) bridge service that interfaces with two or more WAF services corresponding to two or more different vendors each associated with a respective substrate, the plurality of DDoS event records converted into a common format via generative artificial intelligence (AI) model processing; analyzing the plurality of DDoS event records via a first sub-analysis of one or more headers of the plurality of DDoS event records and one or more payloads of the plurality of DDoS event records, validating the security configuration in a sandbox environment; and transmitting the security configuration to the at least one WAF service based at least in part on the validation.
Wherein Raman teaches aggregating, from a web application firewall (WAF) bridge service that interfaces with two or more WAF services corresponding to two or more different vendors each associated with a respective substrate, (Par. (0069); a web application firewall (WAF) bridge service (service manager associated with firewall network and services)), (Par. (0096-007); aggregating by the a web application firewall (WAF) bridge service (aggregating by a services manager with firewall) that interfaces with two or more WAF services (aggregating and compiling by service manager service data and service levels with metrics)), (Par. (0087); corresponding to two or more different vendors (firewall and services corresponding to vendors)), (Par. (0046-0048); each associated with a respective substrate, (firewall corresponding to data storage)), (Examiner Note: Examiner states that on Par. (0020) in the instant application the specification describes substrate as public cloud, storage components, physical data centers etc. Therefore it is broadly and reasonably interpreted as such))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai to incorporate the teaching of Raman to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of firewall rules and protection, with the motivation of creating security services to detect external threats and provide distributed firewall services. (Raman Par. (0003-0005))
Yehudai and Raman do not explicitly teach the plurality of DDoS event records converted into a common format via generative artificial intelligence (AI) model processing; analyzing the plurality of DDoS event records via a first sub-analysis of one or more headers of the plurality of DDoS event records and one or more payloads of the plurality of DDoS event records, validating the security configuration in a sandbox environment; and transmitting the security configuration to the at least one WAF service based at least in part on the validation.
Wherein Nishino teaches the plurality of DDoS event records converted into a common format via generative artificial intelligence (AI) model processing; (Par. (0028-0029 and 0031); converting record to integrated format using machine learning to create conversion data associated to DDoS logs)
analyzing the plurality of DDoS event records via a first sub-analysis of one or more headers of the plurality of DDoS event records and one or more payloads of the plurality of DDoS event records, (Par. (0029); analyzing the one or more DDoS event records (communication log 12), (Par. (0029 and 0039) analyzing (classifying) the one or more DDoS event records (communication logs) via a first sub-analysis of one or more payloads (communication log classified based on data and fields)(Figure 2 label 12; first sub-analysis of one or more headers (communication logs of DDoS attack with time header 10:10-10:20), (Par. (0039 and Figure 8 label 22; a first sub-analysis of one or more payloads of the one or more DDoS event records (communication logs of DDoS attacks with data 22 that contains payloads (transmission IP, port no., attribute , path), (Examiner Note: in the instant application the specification does not define a header or payload therefore examiner with broadly and reasonably interpreted a header and payload that is a part of a first analysis to be contents within the communication log/ records that container data and a heading of the log such as time))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai and Raman to incorporate the teaching of Nishino to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of DDoS event data and logs, with the motivation of utilizing deep learning and machines to classify logs more effectively over a period of time and convert integrated data to be matched and compared as well as detect illegitimate data. (Nishino Par. (0028-0031))
Yehudai, Raman and Nishino do not explicitly teach validating the security configuration in a sandbox environment; and transmitting the security configuration to the at least one WAF service based at least in part on the validation.
Wherein Andrews teaches validating the security configuration in a sandbox environment; and (Par. (0113 and 0115); validating configuration information in sandbox)
transmitting the security configuration to the at least one WAF service based at least in part on the validation. (Par. (0111); providing configuration information to WAF services (proxy)), (Par. (0116-0117); after successful validation of configuration information, proving to proxy according to validated configuration information))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman and Nishino to incorporate the teaching of Andrews to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of DDoS attacks and secure protection using firewall services to detect possible threats, with the motivation of creating trust in a cloud network and using firewalls to enhance network security by implementing a threat management facility to help mitigate threats by enforcing policies and permit accessing of resources through the system. (Andrews Par. (0003-0004 and 0026))
In regards to Claim 7, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the method of claim 1, Nishino further teaches wherein the reporting information is formatted using a generative AI model. (Par. (0028-0029 and 0031); converting record to integrated format using machine learning to create conversion data associated to DDoS logs)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai and Raman to incorporate the teaching of Nishino to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of DDoS event data and logs, with the motivation of utilizing deep learning and machines to classify logs more effectively over a period of time and convert integrated data to be matched and compared as well as detect illegitimate data. (Nishino Par. (0028-0031))
Yehudai, Raman and Nishino do not explicitly teach generating reporting information associated with the plurality of DDoS events, the security configuration, the validation of the security configuration, the at least one WAF service, an analysis of the plurality of DDoS event records, or any combination thereof,
Wherein Andrews teaches generating reporting information associated with the plurality of DDoS events, the security configuration, the validation of the security configuration, the at least one WAF service, an analysis of the plurality of DDoS event records, or any combination thereof, (Par. (0069 and 0071); reporting of collection of events corresponding to with the one or more DDoS events, (event logs of threat detection) and the one or more WAF services (firewall)), (Par. (0129); generating reporting information associated with the one or more DDoS events (Logging and records corresponding to DNS and threat management))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman and Nishino to incorporate the teaching of Andrews to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of DDoS attacks and secure protection using firewall services to detect possible threats, with the motivation of creating reports to identify suspect instances on the security network and creating a filter as well as enhancing the threat detection by compiling collection of reports to increase or decrease security based on the collection. (Andrews Par. (0038 and 0071))
In regards to Claim 11, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the method of claim 1, Yehudai further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more characteristics comprise a quantity of the plurality of DDoS events, one or more sources of the plurality of DDoS events, one or more actions performed during a time period associated with the plurality of DDoS events, or any combination thereof. (Par. (0017); DDoS corresponding to malicious events), (Par. (0028-0029); characteristics of malicious events with DDoS include one or more sources (origin IP addresses) and one or more actions performed during a time period (time of attack corresponding malicious events with DDoS))
In regards to Claim 12, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the method of claim 1, Yehudai further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: performing a risk assessment of the plurality of DDoS events based at least in part on the plurality of DDoS event records, (Par. (0030 and 0037-0038); performing a risk assessment of the one or more DDoS events (analyzing if malicious event compromised user based on previously detected malicious events), (Par. (0017 and 0019); risk assessment of the one or more DDoS events (analyzing and determining of malicious events that contain DDos to see if compromised)), (Par. (0020); based at least in part on the one or more DDoS event records, (store cluster of DDos malicious events))
the logging information, information associated with the threat intelligence feed,
previous DDoS event information, or any combination thereof; and (Par. (0030 and 0037-0038); determining compromised users based on previously detected and stored malicious events with DDoS))
determining one or more threat mitigation actions based at least in part on the risk assessment, (Par. (0023 and 0030); based at least in part on the risk assessment, (based on compromise of user and malicious event) determining one or more threat mitigation actions (preventing malicious event with DDoS by blocking client that is compromised and warning admin))
wherein the security configuration is based at least in part on the risk assessment, the one or more threat mitigation actions, or any combination thereof. (Par. (0023 and 0030); security configurations (blocking or allowing traffic) are based at least in part on the risk assessment (analyzing compromised user) , the one or more threat mitigation actions (blocking traffic and warning admin as procedure)) (Examiner Note: By using the phrase “at least in part on one” and “or” Examiner broadly and reasonably interprets in light of the specification that only one of the limitations need to be met)
In regards to Claim 13, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the method of claim 1, Yehudai further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating one or more security policies, (Par. (0019 and 0024); generating (establishing) policies to allow or block traffic)
one or more DDoS signatures,
or any combination thereof based at least in part on the plurality of DDoS event records, the logging information, or any combination thereof. (Par. (0019 and 0024); policies based on stored malicious events with DDos) (Examiner Note: By using the phrase “or” Examiner broadly and reasonably interprets in light of the specification that only one of the limitations need to be met)
In regards to Claims and 20, claims 15 and 20 recite similar limitations to claim 1 and the teachings of Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews address all the limitations discussed in claim 1 and are thereby rejected under the same grounds.
In regards to Claim 21, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the method of claim 1, Raman further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the two or more WAF services comprise different DDoS protection operations based at least in part on the two or more different vendors. (Par. (0087); firewall and services with multiple vendors))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Nishino and Andrews to incorporate the teaching of Raman to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of firewall rules and protection, with the motivation of creating security services to detect external threats and provide distributed firewall services. (Raman Par. (0003-0005))
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yehudai et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190372934, hereinafter referred to as “Yehudai”), Raman et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180123939, hereinafter referred to as “Raman”)
Nishino et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190303794, hereinafter referred to as “Nishino”) and Andrews et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20240129310, hereinafter referred to as “Andrews”) further in view of Humphrey et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210273960, hereinafter referred to as “Humphrey”)
In regards to Claim 2, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews do not explicitly teach transmitting the one or more headers, the one or more payloads, or both, to a generative AI model; and receiving an output of the generative AI model that indicates the one or more characteristics, the output based at least in part on the one or more headers, the one or more payloads, or both.
Wherein Humphrey teaches wherein performing the first sub-analysis comprises: transmitting the one or more headers, the one or more payloads, or both, to a generative AI model; and (Par. (0047); first sub-analysis (analysis of threat detection), (Par. (0108); sending payloads (data) to AI models corresponding to cyber threat and suspicious activity)
receiving an output of the generative AI model that indicates the one or more characteristics, (Par. (0012); receiving an output of the generative AI model (receive outputs from artificial intelligence classifier) the one or more characteristics (probability a cyber security breach has occurred))
the output based at least in part on the one or more headers, the one or more payloads, or both. (Par. (0119); output based on payloads (data of suspicious activity)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews to incorporate the teaching of Humphrey to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of detecting cyber threats in a system using machine learning, with the motivation of matching historical attacks and identifying cyber threats more effectively with new tools and techniques to understand attacks using rules and policies as well as implementing metrics and outputs with the machine learning models to determine probability of cyber security breach and safeguard the network. (Humphrey Par. (0004-0008 and 0012))
In regards to Claim 9, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the method of claim 1, Yehudai further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein performing the third sub-analysis comprises: (Par. (0037 and 0040-0042); third sub-analysis of threat intelligence feed (multi-stage approach of processing alerts when malicious event is detected)),
receiving one or more threat intelligence feed records via the threat intelligence feed; (Par. (0051-005); receiving one or more threat intelligence feed records (receiving batch of malicious events)), (Par. (0031-0033); a threat intelligence feed (batch of alerts with malicious events detected) to determine one or more characteristics (determined based on similarities and features of distance/location))
Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews do not explicitly teach wherein the security configuration is based at least in part on a generative AI analysis of the one or more threat intelligence feed records.
Wherein Humphrey teaches wherein the security configuration is based at least in part on a generative AI analysis of the one or more threat intelligence feed records. (Par. (0066-0069); a generative AI analysis of the one or more threat intelligence feed records.(machine learning based on detected cyber threats) with the security configuration (actions and automatic response on cyber threats by machine learning), (Par. (0108, 0121, 0183 and 230); security configuration (actions and responses corresponding to machine learning and AI models when detecting threat such as quarantining , and preventing of communications, preventing sending etc.))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews to incorporate the teaching of Humphrey to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of detecting cyber threats in a system using machine learning, with the motivation of utilizing machine learning and reports generated on cyber security breach to notify users possible compromise and implement the necessary mitigation action to safeguard the system from threats. (Humphrey Par. (0021-0022))
In regards to Claim 16, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the apparatus of claim 15, Yehudai further teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein, to perform the first sub-analysis, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: (Par. (0028-0030, 0036-0037 and 0040); perform the first sub-analysis (multiple security analyzing and detection by analyzer with malicious events), (Par. (0229 and 0234); apparatus), (Par. (0259); processors))
Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews do not explicitly teach transmit the one or more headers, the one or more payloads, or both, to a generative AI model; and receive an output of the generative AI model that indicates the one or more characteristics, the output based at least in part on the one or more headers, the one or more payloads, or both.
Wherein Humphrey teaches transmit the one or more headers, the one or more payloads, or both, to a generative AI model; and (Par. (0108); sending payloads (data) to AI models corresponding to cyber threat and suspicious activity)
receive an output of the generative AI model that indicates the one or more characteristics, (Par. (0012); receiving an output of the generative AI model (receive outputs from artificial intelligence classifier) the one or more characteristics (probability a cyber security breach has occurred))
the output based at least in part on the one or more headers, the one or more payloads, or both. (Par. (0119); output based on payloads (data of suspicious activity)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews to incorporate the teaching of Humphrey to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of detecting cyber threats in a system using machine learning, with the motivation of matching historical attacks and identifying cyber threats more effectively with new tools and techniques to understand attacks using rules and policies as well as implementing metrics and outputs with the machine learning models to determine probability of cyber security breach and safeguard the network. (Humphrey Par. (0004-0008 and 0012))
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yehudai et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190372934, hereinafter referred to as “Yehudai”), Raman et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180123939, hereinafter referred to as “Raman”) Nishino et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190303794, hereinafter referred to as “Nishino”) and Andrews et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20240129310, hereinafter referred to as “Andrews”) further in view of Muthurajan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180091527, hereinafter referred to as “Muthurajan”)
In regards to Claim 3, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the method of claim 1, Yehudai further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, based at least in part on the one or more characteristics of the plurality of DDoS events, (Par. (0017 and 0047); generating the one or more DDoS event (generating malicious event associated with DDos)) (Par. (0028-0029); based at least in part on the one or more characteristics of the one or more DDoS events (characteristics of malicious events with DDoS include one or more sources (origin IP addresses) and one or more actions performed during a time period (time of attack corresponding malicious events with DDoS))
Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews do not explicitly teach a plurality of payloads that are responsive to the plurality of DDoS events and that comprise waste data; and transmitting the plurality of payloads to one or more sources of the plurality of DDoS events in accordance with a randomized transmission pattern.
Wherein Muthurajan teaches a plurality of payloads that are responsive to the plurality of DDoS events and that comprise waste data; and (Par. (0028-0030);plurality of payloads (malicious events of DDoS with metadata attributes etc.) are responsive to the one or more DDoS events and that comprise waste data (detecting malicious events with metadata to be identified as compromised), (Examiner: In the instant application the specification states on Par. (0168) that waste data refers to “junk” or inauthentic or not genuine responses. Therefore it will be broadly and reasonably interpreted in light of the specification that “waste data” refers to compromised data.
transmitting the plurality of payloads to one or more sources of the plurality of DDoS events in accordance with a randomized transmission pattern. (Par. (0039-0040); transmitting a plurality of payloads (transmitting malware data) to plurality of hosting computing devices), (Par. (0029-0030); plurality of payloads to one or more sources of the one or more DDoS events (malware data corresponding to DDoS attacks in traffic that are identified by computing devices), (Par. (0013); with a randomized transmission pattern. (Transmitting of malware data associated with DDoS in random manner))(Examiner Note: In the instant application the specification is silent on what a randomized transmission pattern is defined as , therefore it will be broadly and reasonably interpreted in light of the specification that a randomized transmission pattern refers to a random transmission))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews to incorporate the teaching of Muthurajan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of detecting DDoS attacks and recorded data through traffic in a network, with the motivation of determining based on network traffic ways to enhance security and prevent intrusion and malware mitigation by testing the network for IP addresses and benign or malicious users in traffic to securely protect the network and utilize various devices in evaluation. (Muthurajan Par. (0007-0009))
In regards to Claim 17, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the apparatus of claim 15, Yehudai further teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: (Par. (0259); processor)
generate, based at least in part on the one or more characteristics of the plurality of DDoS events, (Par. (0017 and 0047); generating the one or more DDoS event (generating malicious event associated with DDos)) (Par. (0028-0029); based at least in part on the one or more characteristics of the one or more DDoS events (characteristics of malicious events with DDoS include one or more sources (origin IP addresses) and one or more actions performed during a time period (time of attack corresponding malicious events with DDoS))
Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews do not explicitly teach a plurality of payloads that are responsive to the plurality of DDoS events and that comprise waste data; and transmit the plurality of payloads to one or more sources of the plurality of DDoS events in accordance with a randomized transmission pattern.
Wherein Muthurajan teaches a plurality of payloads that are responsive to the plurality of DDoS events and that comprise waste data; and (Par. (0028-0030);plurality of payloads (malicious events of DDoS with metadata attributes etc.) are responsive to the one or more DDoS events and that comprise waste data (detecting malicious events with metadata to be identified as compromised), (Examiner: In the instant application the specification states on Par. (0168) that waste data refers to “junk” or inauthentic or not genuine responses. Therefore it will be broadly and reasonably interpreted in light of the specification that “waste data” refers to compromised data.
transmit the plurality of payloads to one or more sources of the plurality of DDoS events in accordance with a randomized transmission pattern. (Par. (0039-0040); transmitting a plurality of payloads (transmitting malware data) to plurality of hosting computing devices), (Par. (0029-0030); plurality of payloads to one or more sources of the one or more DDoS events (malware data corresponding to DDoS attacks in traffic that are identified by computing devices), (Par. (0013); with a randomized transmission pattern. (Transmitting of malware data associated with DDoS in random manner))(Examiner Note: In the instant application the specification is silent on what a randomized transmission pattern is defined as , therefore it will be broadly and reasonably interpreted in light of the specification that a randomized transmission pattern refers to a random transmission))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews to incorporate the teaching of Muthurajan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of detecting DDoS attacks and recorded data through traffic in a network, with the motivation of determining based on network traffic ways to enhance security and prevent intrusion and malware mitigation by testing the network for IP addresses and benign or malicious users in traffic to securely protect the network and utilize various devices in evaluation. (Muthurajan Par. (0007-0009))
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yehudai et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190372934, hereinafter referred to as “Yehudai”), Raman et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180123939, hereinafter referred to as “Raman”) Nishino et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190303794, hereinafter referred to as “Nishino”) and Andrews et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20240129310, hereinafter referred to as “Andrews”) further in view of DeBolle et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170099182, hereinafter referred to as “DeBolle”)
In regards to Claim 4, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the method of claim 1, Yehudai further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: deploying a configuration agent and (Figure 1 label 116 firewall management console), (Par. (0024); deploying a configuration agent (firewall management console is used and has actions of security configuration information to allow or block traffic based on policies)
a logging agent that are associated with the at least one WAF service, (Fig 1 label 104, 102 attack analyzer associated with firewall WAF), (Par. (0030); deploying a logging agent (attack analyzer taking action), (Par. (0020); logging agent (attack analyzer) storing clusters of malicious events detected))
wherein the logging information is received from the logging agent. (Par. (0051); logging agent (attack analyzer) receives logging information (batches of malicious events))
Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews do not explicitly teach wherein transmitting the security configuration comprises transmitting the security configuration to the configuration agent, and
Wherein DeBolle teaches wherein transmitting the security configuration comprises transmitting the security configuration to the configuration agent, and (Par. (0045); configuration agent (agents with configuration and status) transmitting the security configuration to the configuration agent, (agents with configuration send and receive configuration and status with configuration state and changes))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews to incorporate the teaching of DeBolle to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of firewall services and DDoS protection in a network, with the motivation of monitoring security configuration and policies as well as changes by identifying header information of path of traffic and implementing policies to mitigate DDoS attacks and steer data away from untrusted zones. (DeBolle Par. (0004-0006, 0031-0032 and 0067))
In regards to Claim 18, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the apparatus of claim 15, Yehudai further teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: (Par. (0259); processor)
deploy a configuration agent and (Figure 1 label 116 firewall management console), (Par. (0024); deploying a configuration agent (firewall management console is used and has actions of security configuration information to allow or block traffic based on policies)
a logging agent that are associated with the at least one WAF service, (Fig 1 label 104, 102 attack analyzer associated with firewall WAF), (Par. (0030); deploying a logging agent (attack analyzer taking action), (Par. (0020); logging agent (attack analyzer) storing clusters of malicious events detected))
wherein the logging information is received from the logging agent. (Par. (0051); logging agent (attack analyzer) receives logging information (batches of malicious events))
Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews do not explicitly teach wherein transmitting the security configuration comprises transmitting the security configuration to the configuration agent, and
Wherein DeBolle teaches wherein transmitting the security configuration comprises transmitting the security configuration to the configuration agent, and (Par. (0045); configuration agent (agents with configuration and status) transmitting the security configuration to the configuration agent, (agents with configuration send and receive configuration and status with configuration state and changes))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews to incorporate the teaching of DeBolle to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of firewall services and DDoS protection in a network, with the motivation of monitoring security configuration and policies as well as changes by identifying header information of path of traffic and implementing policies to mitigate DDoS attacks and steer data away from untrusted zones. (DeBolle Par. (0004-0006, 0031-0032 and 0067))
Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yehudai et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190372934, hereinafter referred to as “Yehudai”), Raman et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180123939, hereinafter referred to as “Raman”) Nishino et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190303794, hereinafter referred to as “Nishino”) and Andrews et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20240129310, hereinafter referred to as “Andrews”) further in view of Erramilli et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20230118341, hereinafter referred to as “Erramilli”)
In regards to Claim 5, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the method of claim 1, Nishino further teaches converting the logging information into a structured format; (Par. (0028-0029 and 0031); converting record to integrated format using machine learning to create conversion data associated to DDoS logs)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai and Raman to incorporate the teaching of Nishino to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of DDoS event data and logs, with the motivation of utilizing deep learning and machines to classify logs more effectively over a period of time and convert integrated data to be matched and compared as well as detect illegitimate data. (Nishino Par. (0028-0031))
Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews do not explicitly teach transmitting the converted logging information to a generative AI model; and receiving an output of the generative AI model that indicates the one or more characteristics, the output based at least in part on the converted logging information.
Wherein Erramilli teaches transmitting the converted logging information to a generative AI model; and (Par. (0048 and 0109); converted logging information (modified records) to a generative AI model (modified records ran through ML model); modified records received at ML model)), (Par. (0024); logging information (security events corresponding to modified records))
receiving an output of the generative AI model that indicates the one or more characteristics, the output based at least in part on the converted logging information. (Par. (0032- 0036); receiving an output of the generative AI model (output fed back to ML model) that indicates the one or more characteristics, (model scoring based on characteristics) based at least in part on the converted logging information. (modified records))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews to incorporate the teaching of Erramilli to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of detecting security events in a network using machine learning, with the motivation of improve security validation of detected events based on metrics and to train machine learning models to process rea-world data and data types to enhance the system. (Erramilli Par. (0014-0016))
In regards to Claim 19, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews teach the apparatus of claim 15, Nishino further teaches convert the logging information into a structured format; (Par. (0028-0029 and 0031); converting record to integrated format using machine learning to create conversion data associated to DDoS logs)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai and Raman to incorporate the teaching of Nishino to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of DDoS event data and logs, with the motivation of utilizing deep learning and machines to classify logs more effectively over a period of time and convert integrated data to be matched and compared as well as detect illegitimate data. (Nishino Par. (0028-0031))
Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews do not explicitly teach transmit the converted logging information to a generative AI model; and receive an output of the generative AI model that indicates the one or more characteristics, the output based at least in part on the converted logging information.
Wherein Erramilli teaches transmit the converted logging information to a generative AI model; and (Par. (0048 and 0109); converted logging information (modified records) to a generative AI model (modified records ran through ML model); modified records received at ML model)), (Par. (0024); logging information (security events corresponding to modified records))
receive an output of the generative AI model that indicates the one or more characteristics, the output based at least in part on the converted logging information. (Par. (0032- 0036); receiving an output of the generative AI model (output fed back to ML model) that indicates the one or more characteristics, (model scoring based on characteristics) based at least in part on the converted logging information. (modified records))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews to incorporate the teaching of Erramilli to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of detecting security events in a network using machine learning, with the motivation of improve security validation of detected events based on metrics and to train machine learning models to process rea-world data and data types to enhance the system. (Erramilli Par. (0014-0016))
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yehudai et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190372934, hereinafter referred to as “Yehudai”), Raman et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180123939, hereinafter referred to as “Raman”), Nishino et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190303794, hereinafter referred to as “Nishino”) and Andrews et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20240129310, hereinafter referred to as “Andrews”) further in view of Compton et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190230116, hereinafter referred to as “Compton”)
In regards to Claim 8, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews do not explicitly teach generating a prediction of one or more future DDoS events based at least in part on the one or more characteristics of the plurality of DDoS event records; wherein the security configuration is based at least in part on the prediction.
Wherein Compton teaches generating a prediction of one or more future DDoS events based at least in part on the one or more characteristics of the plurality of DDoS event records; (Par. (0037) prediction model used to predict future DDoS attacks based on characteristics (traffic patterns)), (Par. (0042); prediction model used to forecast likelihood based on DDoS records based on characteristics (patterns))
wherein the security configuration is based at least in part on the prediction. (Par. (0051); security configuration (set of actions such as discarding) based in part on prediction (constituting the predicted malicious traffic flow))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews to incorporate the teaching of Compton to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of detecting DDoS attacks in a network using machine learning, with the motivation of mitigating DDoS attacks based on detecting traffic and using the current data to predict imminent attacks to create an indication to users and reduce possible threats as well as conserving the resources in a system. (Compton Par. (0005-0006 and 0032))
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yehudai et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190372934, hereinafter referred to as “Yehudai”), Raman et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180123939, hereinafter referred to as “Raman”), Nishino et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190303794, hereinafter referred to as “Nishino”) and Andrews et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20240129310, hereinafter referred to as “Andrews”) further in view of Kasman et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20160173527, hereinafter referred to as “Kasman”)
In regards to Claim 14, the combination Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews do not explicitly teach transmitting mitigation information to an external orchestration service, the mitigation information comprising one or more elements of the plurality of DDoS event records, one or more elements of an analysis of the plurality of DDoS event records, one or more mitigation operations performed, or any combination thereof; and receiving, from the external orchestration service, mitigation workflow information that is based at least in part on the mitigation information.
Wherein Kasman teaches transmitting mitigation information to an external orchestration service, (Figure 1 labels 105, 102 and 101/103; transmitting mitigation information to external orchestration service (user 105 transmits DDos mitigation data to 1st and 2nd processing server associated with DDoS Attack mitigation)), (Par. (0012); transmitting (forwarding) mitigation information (string of data, token cookies) to an external orchestration service (DDos attack mitigation central processing server))
the mitigation information comprising one or more elements of the plurality of DDoS event records,
one or more elements of an analysis of the plurality of DDoS event records,
one or more mitigation operations performed, or any combination thereof; and (Par. (0034-0035 and 0044-0047); user with SDK device transmits message data to external orchestration service,(DDos attack mitigation central processing server) that performs mitigation operation of authenticating and allowing/blocking requests))(Examiner note: By using the phrase “or” the Examiner broadly and reasonably interprets in light of the specification that only one of the following limitations is required to be met))
receiving, from the external orchestration service, mitigation workflow information that is based at least in part on the mitigation information.(Par. (0012, 0034-0035, 0039, 0042 and 0044); external orchestration service (DDos attack mitigation central processing server) receives mitigation workflow information (challenge and authentication actions of mitigation operation) based at least in part on the mitigation information. (challenge and authentication action based on message data with strings, cookies and token corresponding to DDos attack and request))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews to incorporate the teaching of Kasman to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of detecting DDoS attacks in a network and implementing preventative measures, with the motivation of defending against DDoS attacks and creating mitigation techniques to combat smart phones and applications and refine mitigation steps by using a handler to process request with a server and identify schemes and actions before authenticating. (Kasman Par. (0004-0005, 0009 and 0011-0012)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Dependent claims 6 and 10 and their respective dependent claims, are allowable over the prior art of record including Yehudai, Raman, Nishino and Andrews and the remaining references cited by the Examiner, since the prior art, taken individually or in combination fails to particularly disclose, fairly suggest or render obvious;
receiving, via a communication channel of a multi-tenant communication service, a request for information associated with the one or more DDoS events, the security configuration, the validation of the security configuration, the one or more WAF services, an analysis of the one or more DDoS event records, or any combination thereof; transmitting, to a generative AI model, a prompt that is based at least in part on the request; receiving an output of the generative AI model that indicates the information; and transmitting a response to the request that is based at least in part on the output of the generative AI model, as specified in claim 6.
wherein generating the security configuration comprises: transmitting a prompt to a generative AI model that indicates the one or more characteristics and comprises an instruction to generate the security configuration; and receiving an output of the generative AI model that indicates at least a portion of the security configuration, as specified in claim 10.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Compton; Richard A. (U.S Pub. No. 20190068626) “DISTRIBUTED DENIAL-OF-SERVICE ATTACK DETECTION AND MITIGATION BASED ON AUTONOMOUS SYSTEM NUMBER”. Considered this reference because it addressed DDoS attacks in a system and mitigation techniques.
RAO; SUPREETH HOSUR NAGESH (U.S Pub. No. 20220272111) “CLOUD-PLATFORM PUSH FOR KNOWN DATA BREACHES”. Considered this application because it relates security breaches and analysis with multiple nodes in a network.
P J; Jose Lejin (U.S Pub. No. 20240259430) “TECHNIQUES FOR PROCESSING QUERIES RELATED TO NETWORK SECURITY”. Considered this application because it addressed network security and machine learning practices in a system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 2497
/ELENI A SHIFERAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2497