Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: instrument gateway module in claim 47.
Claim 47 recites "an instrument gateway module configured to receive..". Claim invokes 112(f) (placeholder module coupled with functional limitations without any structural limitations) and in view of the specification as software executed by a processing device, performing the tasks described (receive data from lab instruments). The analysis applies to claims 47-56, because none of the claims ever recites structure to execute the module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 47-66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7920736 B2 to Sammak et al., hereinafter, “Sammak” in view of US 2010/0232675 A1 to Ortyn et al., hereinafter, “Ortyn”.
Claim 47. (New) Sammak teaches A system for the classification of one or more specimens, the system comprising: [Abstract] systems for determining characteristics of cellular structures
a controller configured to: [col. 8, line 63-67] The computer means may include…means for control
interface with one or more instruments through an instrument gateway module [col 6, lines 63-66] teaches the classification system may include a user interface operatively associated with the computer. The image analysis and classification modules are preferably implemented as computer readable instructions executable on one or more general or special purpose computers.
configured to receive a plurality of experimental data sets from the one or more instruments, [col 8, lines 63-col. 9, lines 1] teaches the computer means may include: i) a digital frame grabber for receiving the images from the camera, ii) a display for user interaction and display of assay results,
[col 8, lines 47-58] teaches the image input device may include an image capture device in one embodiment. In one implementation, an image capture device may include a microscope or other high magnification optical system having an objective lens…
wherein the plurality of experimental data sets is produced during a plurality of experiments, [col. 31, lines 35-44] …each test run, one need load the saved classifiers instead of retraining.
[col. 24, lines 33-36] Given n feature representations for a problem and m classification methods, n-m different experiments can be run and analyzed to find the optimal pairing of feature representation and classification method
extract one or more feature data sets from the plurality of experimental data sets; [col 9, lines 45-48] teaches the image analysis module receives images from the image input and extracts these images into features which can be used for statistical cellular structure classification.
build one or more classification profiles based on a classification data set comprising at least a portion of the one or more feature data sets; [col 18, lines 57-60] teaches the classification module uses texture and/or border features that are extracted from the image analysis module to classify images of the cellular structure.
and classify one or more specimens of an experiment of the plurality of experiments using the one or more classification profiles. [col 6, lines 53-66] teaches FIG. 1 shows a schematic of a cellular structure classification system ("the classification system") according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The classification system includes an image input device, an image analysis module for deriving a plurality of image features from the images input, and a cellular structure classification module ("classification module") for classifying the cellular structure according to a statistical cellular structure model based on the derived image features.
wherein the one or more instruments comprise a multi-spectral imager for fluorescence and bright field detection; [col. 8, lines 59-60] Any optical method may be used, such as bright field, dark field, phase contrast and interference contrast
Sammak teaches the use of bright field and fluorescence (interference contrast) but fails to explicitly teach a multi-spectral imager. Ortyn, in the field of cell analysis using image data teaches [0065] A particularly preferred implementation of imaging system 510 is configured for multi-spectral imaging and can operate with six spectral channels: DAPI fluorescence (400-460 nm), Dark field (460-500 nm), FITC fluorescence (500-560 nm), PE fluorescence (560-595 nm
Sammak teaches analyzing cellular structures. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sammak with the teachings of Ortyn [page 1, Background] to reduce the long-term experiments and financial cost with analyzing cells.
Claim 48. (New) Sammak teaches wherein the classification data set comprises at least a portion of each feature data set of a plurality of feature data sets, [col. 24, lines 33-36] Given n feature representations for a problem and m classification methods, n-m different experiments can be run and analyzed to find the optimal pairing of feature representation and classification method
wherein a first portion of each feature data set is produced from a first experimental data set of the plurality of experimental data sets, [col. 24, lines 33-36] …n-m different experiments can be run and analyzed to find the optimal pairing of feature representation and classification method
and a second portion of each feature data set is produced from a second experimental data set of the plurality of experimental data sets. [col. 24, lines 33-36] …n-m different experiments can be run and analyzed to find the optimal pairing of feature representation and classification method
Claim 49. (New) Sammak teaches wherein the first experimental data set and the second experimental data set are from different experiments. [col. 24, lines 33-36] Given n feature representations for a problem and m classification methods, n-m different experiments can be run and analyzed to find the optimal pairing of feature representation and classification method
Claim 50. (New) Sammak teaches wherein at least a portion of the first experimental data set and at least a portion of the second experimental data set are from different instruments. [col 8, lines 47-58] teaches the image input device may include an image capture device in one embodiment. In one implementation, an image capture device may include a microscope or other high magnification optical system having an objective lens, an XY stage adapted for holding a plate containing a cell sample or an array of samples, a means for moving the plate to align the samples with the microscope objective and for moving the sample in the direction to effect focusing, a digital camera, a detection system with a light source for directing light to cells in the sample locations, a means for directing light emitted from the cells to the digital camera, and a computer means for receiving and processing digital data from the digital camera. Collecting data from a plurality of instrument for comparison is well-known in the art and therefore not novel.
Claim 51. (New) Sammak teaches wherein the one or more feature data sets comprise measurements of one or more color channels. [col. 30, lines 5-15] [we were provided 77 images of stem cell colonies of varying quality. The colonies were approved National Institutes of Health (NIH) human embryonic stem cells, line HSF-6 from the University of San Francisco. The images were acquired on a Nikon TMS inverted tissue culture microscope with a 10.times. phase contrast objective and a Nikon D100 digital camera. Each image is in RGB format of size 1000.times.1504 pixels. Each RGB image was converted to grayscale via the MATLAB function rgb2gray and scale the resulting 256 grayscale intensity levels to the interval [-1 1] for computational stability.
Claim 52. (New) Sammak teaches wherein the measurements of one or more color channels comprise one or more of intensity, absolute intensity, hue, saturation, and/or spatial changes in intensity. [col. 30, lines 12-15] Each image is in RGB format of size 1000.times.1504 pixels. Each RGB image was converted to grayscale via the MATLAB function rgb2gray and scale the resulting 256 grayscale intensity levels to the interval [-1 1] for computational stability.
Claim 53. (New) Sammak teaches wherein the one or more classification profiles are built using, at least in part, supervised machine learning or unsupervised machine learning. [col. 19, lines 42-44] …in a neural network, the output classification is related to the input point via the hidden layers and the specified activation functions
[col. 32, lines 11-12] The SVM and KLD binary classifications and confidence values calculated across each stem cell colony image
Claim 54. (New) Sammak teaches wherein the one or more feature data sets are extracted based on whether the one or more feature data sets meet or exceed a threshold value. FIG. 16 shows a chart of an individual optimal performance matrix. The feature vector…that yields the highest performance for each category comparison is identified.
Claim 55. (New) Sammak teaches wherein the controller is further configured to display an analysis data set comprising at least a portion of the experimental data sets, FIG. 23 shows a graph of that visually displays classification results
at least a portion of the one or more feature data sets, or at least a portion of the classification data set, FIG. 1 shows a schematic of a cellular structure classification system ("the classification system") according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The classification system includes an image input device, an image analysis module for deriving a plurality of image features from the images input
wherein the analysis data set is displayed in real-time, near-real time, or batch mode. [col 19, lines 19-26] teaches kinetic measures could be expanded to real-time sensing of cell state for the purpose of monitoring or controlling cell state.
[col 19, lines 19-26] teaches the benefits of producing an automated system for production of stem cells and their products is critical to overcoming a rate limiting step in cell therapy and tissue engineering, the reproducible, qualified production of stem cells and stem cell products that are difficult to produce manually in large quantities with required consistency from batch to batch and over time.
Claim 56. (New) Sammak teaches wherein the one or more specimens comprises one or more colonies of microbial cells. [Abstract] teaches the invention generally provides methods and systems for determining characteristics of cellular structures. The methods include non-invasive, non-perturbing, automatable, and quantitative methods and may be applied to the examination of cells such as stem cells, embryos, and egg cells.
FIG. 2 shows images of stem cell colonies.
Claim 57. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 47. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 58. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 48. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 59. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 49. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 60. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 50. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 61. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 51. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 62. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 52. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 63. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 53. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 64. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 54. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 65. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 55. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 66. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 56. See the above analysis and rationale.
Double Patenting
Claim 47 (and similarly recited claim 57) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12125560 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are broader than the claims in the patent.
18/891790
US 12125560 B2
A system for the classification of one or more specimens, the system comprising:
A system for the classification of one or more specimens, the system comprising:
a controller configured to:
a controller configured to:
interface with one or more instruments through an instrument gateway module
interface with one or more instruments through an instrument gateway module
configured to receive a plurality of experimental data sets from the one or more instruments
configured to receive a plurality of experimental data sets from the one or more instruments,
wherein the plurality of experimental data sets is produced during a plurality of experiments,
wherein the plurality of experimental data sets is produced during a plurality of experiments;
wherein the one or more instruments comprise a multi-spectral imager for fluorescence and bright field detection;
wherein the one or more instruments comprise a multi-spectral imager for fluorescence and bright field detection;
extract one or more feature data sets from the plurality of experimental data sets;
extract one or more feature data sets from the plurality of experimental data sets;
build one or more classification profiles based on a classification data set comprising at least a portion of the one or more feature data sets;
build one or more classification profiles based on a classification data set comprising at least a portion of the one or more feature data sets;
and classify one or more specimens of an experiment of the plurality of experiments using the one or more classification profiles.
and classify one or more specimens of an experiment of the plurality of experiments using the one or more classification profiles
Likewise claims 48, 49, 50, 53, 55 and 56 (and respective similarly recited claims 58, 59, 60, 63, 65 and 66) are unpatentable over claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 10, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12125560 B2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2015/073908 A1 to Silva Ariosto et al. [page 29] Image acquisition. Two different models of fluorescence microscopes were used for the experiments…
/DELOMIA L GILLIARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661