Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12124295 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader version of the patented claims and all proposed claims are obvious and included in the patented claims, and any infringement over the patents would also infringe over the instant claims.
The table below demonstrates claims 1-20 from the instant application and claims 1-20 from the US patent No. 12124295 B2. The limitations recited in the US Patent that correspond to the limitations recited in the instant application have been bold for Application’s convenience.
Claim limitation of the instant App.
Claim limitation of US Patent No. 12124295 B2
1. An apparatus, comprising: an artificial body shaped to represent at least a portion of a being; and a mounting interface coupled to the artificial body, the mounting interface configured to couple a computing device to the artificial body.
1. An apparatus, comprising: an artificial body shaped to represent at least a portion of a being and comprising at least one robotic appendage; a mounting interface coupled to a face portion of the artificial body, the mounting interface configured to removably couple a computing device to the artificial body such that the computing device is selectively removable from the artificial body, the mounting interface compatible with various types of computing devices that are selectively removable from the mounting interface; and a communication module configured to: receive a live image or video of a remote user from a remote device communicatively coupled to the computing device; display the live image or video of the remote user on the computing device that is removably coupled to the mounting interface on the face portion of the artificial body; receive input from the remote device via a remote interface separate from the mounting interface and displaying a plurality of actions and an identification of a robotic appendage of the at least one robotic appendage configured to perform each action of the plurality of actions, the input comprising a selection of an action to be performed by the robotic appendage; and actuate the robotic appendage to perform the action received from the remote device.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises a mobile device.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises a mobile device.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the being represented by the artificial body comprises one or more of a humanoid, an animal, and a fictional being.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the being represented by the artificial body comprises one or more of a humanoid, an animal, and a fictional being.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the artificial body comprises at least a portion of an inanimate mannequin.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the artificial body comprises at least a portion of an inanimate mannequin.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the artificial body is at least partially robotic and comprises one or more at least partially robotic appendages configured to perform scripted actions defined for robotic movement of the one or more at least partially robotic appendages.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the artificial body is at least partially robotic and the plurality of actions comprise a plurality of scripted actions defined for robotic movement of the at least one robotic appendage.
6. The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least partially robotic artificial body is configured to receive control commands over a data network, the control commands indicating which of the scripted actions the one or more at least partially robotic appendages perform.
6. The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least partially robotic artificial body is configured to receive control commands over a data network, the control commands indicating which of the plurality of scripted actions the at least one robotic appendage performs.
7. The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least partially robotic artificial body comprises one or more sensors, the at least partially robotic artificial body configured to select and perform one of the scripted actions using the one or more at least partially robotic appendages based on data from the one or more sensors.
7. The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least partially robotic artificial body comprises one or more sensors, the at least partially robotic artificial body configured to select and perform one of the scripted actions using the at least one robotic appendage based on data from the one or more sensors.
8. The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the scripted actions comprise one or more of: the one or more at least partially robotic appendages opening a gate to enter a user's property; the at least partially robotic artificial body using the one or more at least partially robotic appendages to climb one or more stair steps to a user's residence; the one or more at least partially robotic appendages ringing a doorbell associated with a door of a user; a head movement of the at least partially robotic artificial body in response to an interaction with a user sensed by the one or more sensors; and shaking a hand of a user.
8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the action comprises one or more of: the at least one robotic appendage opening a gate to enter a user's property; the artificial body using the at least one robotic appendage to climb one or more stair steps to a user's residence; the at least one robotic appendage ringing a doorbell associated with a door of a user; and shaking a hand of a user via the at least one robotic appendage.
9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mounting interface is coupled to one or more of a face portion, a hand portion, and a chest portion of the artificial body.
9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mounting interface is coupled to one or more of a hand portion and a chest portion of the artificial body.
10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mounting interface is configured to removably couple the computing device to the artificial body, the mounting interface comprising one or more of a magnetic interface, a mechanical clamp shaped to releasably receive the computing device, and a case for the computing device coupled to the artificial body.
10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mounting interface comprises one or more of a magnetic interface, a mechanical clamp shaped to releasably receive the computing device, and a case for the computing device coupled to the artificial body.
11. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises one or more of a flexible, curved, electronic display screen and an at least semi-transparent surface with a projector positioned to project an image onto a rear of the semi-transparent surface.
11. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises one or more of a flexible, curved, electronic display screen and an at least semi-transparent surface with a projector positioned to project an image onto a rear of the semi-transparent surface.
12. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises a touchscreen, the touchscreen facing away from the artificial body in response to the mounting interface coupling the computing device to the artificial body, the computing device providing a user interface on the touchscreen.
12. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises a touchscreen, the touchscreen facing away from the artificial body in response to the mounting interface coupling the computing device to the artificial body, the computing device providing a user interface on the touchscreen.
13. The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the user interface comprises a document signature interface allowing a user to digitally sign an electronic document displayed on the touchscreen of the computing device.
13. The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the user interface comprises a document signature interface allowing a user to digitally sign an electronic document displayed on the touchscreen of the computing device.
14. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mounting interface comprises one or more electrical connections between the artificial body and the computing device, the one or more electrical connections comprising one or more of an electrical charging interface in electrical communication with a battery of the artificial body and an audio connection with one or more of an audio speaker and a microphone of the artificial body.
14. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mounting interface comprises one or more electrical connections between the artificial body and the computing device, the one or more electrical connections comprising one or more of an electrical charging interface in electrical communication with a battery of the artificial body and an audio connection with one or more of an audio speaker and a microphone of the artificial body.
15. A system, comprising: a computing device; an artificial body shaped to represent at least a portion of a being; and a mounting interface coupled to the artificial body, the mounting interface coupling the computing device to the artificial body.
15. A system, comprising: a computing device; an artificial body shaped to represent at least a portion of a being and comprising at least one robotic appendage; a mounting interface coupled to a face portion of the artificial body, the mounting interface removably coupling the computing device to the artificial body such that the computing device is selectively removable from the artificial body, the mounting interface compatible with various types of computing devices that are selectively removable from the mounting interface; and a communication module configured to: receive a live image or video of a remote user from a remote device communicatively coupled to the computing device; display the live image or video of the remote user on the computing device that is removably coupled to the mounting interface on the face portion of the artificial body; receive input from the remote device via a remote interface separate from the mounting interface and displaying a plurality of actions and an identification of a robotic appendage of the at least one robotic appendage configured to perform each action of the plurality of actions, the input comprising a selection of an action to be performed by the robotic appendage; and actuate the robotic appendage to perform the action received from the remote device.
16. The system of claim 15, wherein the computing device comprises an electronic display configured to display a remote user from a different location than the artificial body to a local user within viewing proximity of the electronic display.
16. The system of claim 15, wherein the computing device comprises an electronic display configured to display a remote user from a different location than the artificial body to a local user within viewing proximity of the electronic display and wherein receiving the input from the remote device via the remote interface comprises receiving the input from the remote user.
17. The system of claim 16, further comprising a plurality of additional artificial bodies and mounting interfaces each coupling an additional computing device to the additional artificial bodies.
17. The system of claim 16, further comprising a plurality of additional artificial bodies and mounting interfaces each removably coupling an additional computing device to the additional artificial bodies.
18. The system of claim 17, wherein the single remote user is selectively displayable on screens of each of the additional computing devices.
18. The system of claim 17, wherein the single remote user is selectively displayable on screens of each of the additional computing devices.
19. The system of claim 17, wherein screens of the additional computing devices each display different remote users.
19. The system of claim 17, wherein screens of the additional computing devices each display different remote users.
20. An apparatus, comprising: means for artificially representing at least a portion of a being; and means for coupling a computing device to the means for artificially representing at least a portion of a being.
20. An apparatus, comprising: means for artificially representing at least a portion of a being, the being comprising at least one robotic appendage; means for removably coupling a computing device to a face portion of the means for artificially representing at least a portion of a being such that the computing device is selectively removable from the means for artificially representing at least a portion of a being, the mounting interface compatible with various types of computing devices that are selectively removable from the mounting interface; and means for receiving a live image or video of a remote user from a remote device communicatively coupled to the computing device; and means for displaying the live image or video of the remote user on the computing device that is removably coupled to the mounting interface on the face portion of the artificial body; means for receiving input from the remote device via a remote interface separate from the mounting interface and displaying a plurality of actions and an identification of a robotic appendage of the at least one robotic appendage configured to perform each action of the plurality of actions, the input comprising a selection of an action to be performed by the robotic appendage; and means for actuating the robotic appendage to perform the action received from the remote device.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for artificially representing at least a portion of a being” and “means for coupling a computing device to the means for artificially representing at least a portion of a being” in claim 20.
From specification “means for artificially representing at least a portion of a being” can be a humanoid (e.g., a mannequin, a human, a humanoid alien, a sasquatch, or the like) ([0036]) and “means for coupling” can be adhesives, glues, welds, integrated housings, hooks, clips, clamps, notches, hook-and-loop materials, fasteners ([0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Mahoor et al. (US Pub No. 2020/0114521 A1 and Mahoor hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) an apparatus, comprising: an artificial body (100) shaped to represent at least a portion of a being; and a mounting interface (user interface, [0029]) coupled to the artificial body, the mounting interface configured to couple a computing device (125) to the artificial body.
Regarding Claim 2, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises a mobile device ([0024]).
Regarding Claim 3, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the being represented by the artificial body comprises one or more of a humanoid, an animal, and a fictional being ([0029]).
Regarding Claim 4, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the artificial body comprises at least a portion of an inanimate mannequin ([0029, companion robot]).
Regarding Claim 5, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the artificial body is at least partially robotic and comprises one or more at least partially robotic appendages configured to perform scripted actions ([715, 720,730,740 and 750])defined for robotic movement of the one or more at least partially robotic appendages (fig.7 and [0107]-[0115]).
Regarding Claim 6, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least partially robotic artificial body is configured to receive control commands over a data network (185), the control commands indicating which of the scripted actions the one or more at least partially robotic appendages perform (fig.7 and [0107]-[0115]).
Regarding Claim 7, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least partially robotic artificial body comprises one or more sensors, the at least partially robotic artificial body configured to select and perform one of the scripted actions using the one or more at least partially robotic appendages based on data from the one or more sensors ([0053]).
Regarding Claim 8, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the scripted actions comprise one or more of:
the one or more at least partially robotic appendages opening a gate to enter a user's property;
the at least partially robotic artificial body using the one or more at least partially robotic appendages to climb one or more stair steps to a user's residence;
the one or more at least partially robotic appendages ringing a doorbell associated with a door of a user;
a head movement of the at least partially robotic artificial body in response to an interaction with a user sensed by the one or more sensors (fig. 7 and [0053]); and shaking a hand of a user.
Regarding Claim 9, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mounting interface is coupled to one or more of a face portion, a hand portion, and a chest portion of the artificial body (fig.1).
Regarding Claim 10, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mounting interface is configured to removably couple the computing device to the artificial body, the mounting interface comprising one or more of a magnetic interface, a mechanical clamp shaped to releasably receive the computing device, and a case for the computing device coupled to the artificial body ([0042], case of iPad).
Regarding Claim 11, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises one or more of a flexible, curved, electronic display screen ([0042]) and an at least semi-transparent surface with a projector positioned to project an image onto a rear of the semi- transparent surface.
Regarding Claim 12, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises a touchscreen, the touchscreen facing away from the artificial body in response to the mounting interface coupling the computing device to the artificial body, the computing device providing a user interface on the touchscreen ([0042]).
Regarding Claim 14, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the mounting interface comprises one or more electrical connections between the artificial body and the computing device, the one or more electrical connections comprising one or more of an electrical charging interface in electrical communication with a battery of the artificial body ([0029]) and an audio connection with one or more of an audio speaker (140) and a microphone (135) of the artificial body.
Regarding Claim 15, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) a system, comprising: a computing device; an artificial body (100) shaped to represent at least a portion of a being; and a mounting interface (user interface, [0029]) coupled to the artificial body, the mounting interface configured to couple a computing device (125) to the artificial body.
Regarding Claim 16, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the system of claim 15, wherein the computing device comprises an electronic display configured to display a remote user from a different location than the artificial body to a local user within viewing proximity of the electronic display ([0042]).
Regarding Claim 20, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) an apparatus, comprising: means for artificially representing at least a portion of a being (100) ; and means for coupling (interface) a computing device ([0029]), 125) to the means for artificially representing at least a portion of a being.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahoor et al in view of Westen et al (US Patent No. 10032325 B1 and Westen hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 13, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the apparatus of claim 12. Mahoor does not explicitly disclose wherein the user interface comprises a document signature interface allowing a user to digitally sign an electronic document displayed on the touchscreen of the computing device. However, Westen teaches (figs. 1-4) wherein the user interface comprises a document signature interface allowing a user to digitally sign an electronic document displayed on the touchscreen of the computing device (col 3, lines 53-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the user interface comprises a document signature interface of Westen to the apparatus of Mahoor in order to provide a the touch device is communicatively coupled to the network and can receive an input of a signature on a touch screen via a finger, stylus, or the like (Westen and col 5, lines 18-25).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahoor et al in view of Schluntz et al (US Pub No. 2021/0342479 A1 and Schluntz hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 17, Mahoor discloses (figs. 1-5) the system of claim 16. Mahoor does not explicitly disclose a plurality of additional artificial bodies and mounting interfaces each coupling an additional computing device to the additional artificial bodies. However, Schluntz teaches (figs.1-2) a plurality of additional artificial bodies (a group of robots or a robotic unit having group of robots) and mounting interfaces (each robot having display) coupling an additional computing device to the additional artificial bodies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a plurality of additional artificial bodies of Schluntz to the system of Mahoor in order to provide robots that are equipped with cameras, microphones, and sensors to gather information about its surrounding environment and perform tasks based on the information (Schluntz, [0167]).
Regarding Claim 18, Mahoor/ Schluntz discloses the system of claim 17. Schluntz further teaches (figs. 1-2) wherein the single remote user is selectively displayable on screens of each of the additional computing devices ([0024-0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine wherein the single remote user is selectively displayable on screens of each of the additional computing devices of Schluntz to the system of Mahoor in order to provide robots that are equipped with cameras, microphones, and sensors to gather information about its surrounding environment and perform tasks based on the information (Schluntz, [0167]).
Regarding Claim 19, Mahoor/ Schluntz discloses system of claim 17. Schluntz further teaches (figs. 1-2) wherein screens of the additional computing devices each display different remote users ([0024-0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine screens of the additional computing devices each display different remote users of Schluntz to device of Mahoor in order to provide robots that are equipped with cameras, microphones, and sensors to gather information about its surrounding environment and perform tasks based on the information (Schluntz, [0167]).
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841