DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (to claims 1-13, 17 & 18) in the reply filed on 7/2/26 is acknowledged.
informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ELECTRIC MOTOR SYSTEM WITH A FAN AND SHROUD.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komai et al. (JP2012110151, “Komai”, using machine translation).
Re claim 1, Komai discloses an electric motor system, comprising:
a motor housing (figs 55-56, [0125], housing has fins 13 on it);
an electric motor 5 disposed in the motor housing (figs 55-56, [0125]), the electric motor including a stator and a rotor that rotates relative to the stator ([0019] & [0028]);
an output shaft 10 coupled to the rotor and configured to transmit torque from the electric motor 5 to power equipment 1 (figs 51 & 55-56, [0112] & [0123], using figs 55-56 for rejection but has some same structure as figs 51-54, except form shape of 6 is different);
a shroud 7 received over at least a portion of the motor housing (figs 55-56. [0124]);
an electronics housing 6 containing electronics 15,16 for controlling operation of the electric motor 5 (figs 52 & 55-56; [0111], [0115] & [0124]) and
a first fan 8 outside of the motor housing (fig 55-56, [0124-0125]), driven by rotation of the electric motor 5 (figs 55-56, [0112]), and configured to cause airflow through the electronics housing 6 and within the shroud 7 around an exterior of the motor housing (fig 56, [0124], air travels through hole 6b in housing 6).
Re claim 2, Komai discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the motor housing includes an outer housing (figs 55 & below), a lower plate coupled to the outer housing (figs 55 & below), and a motor cover coupled to a top of the outer housing (figs 55 & below);
a first end of the output shaft 10 is exposed through an opening in the lower plate (figs 55 & below, not shown but inherent since 10 is connected to 1-similar to fig 2) and a second end of the output shaft 10 extends through an opening in the motor cover (figs 55 & below); and
the first fan 8 is disposed adjacent a top of the motor cover (figs 55 & below).
Re claim 3, Komai discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses a vent is formed between a bottom of the shroud 7 and a lower rim of the motor housing (fig 56a, [0125]).
Re claim 4, Komai discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the motor housing includes a plurality of fins 13 disposed on an outer surface of the motor housing (figs 55-56, [0125]).
Re claim 5, Komai discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the shroud 7 and the motor housing form a gap between the shroud 7 and the motor housing and the first fan 8 causes the airflow through the gap (figs 55-56a, [0125]).
Re claim 6, Komai discloses claim 5 as discussed above and further discloses the gap defines a first distance between the motor housing and the shroud 7 adjacent a top of the shroud 7 (figs 55 & below) and a second distance between the motor housing and the shroud 7 adjacent a bottom of the shroud 7 (figs 55 & below), the first distance being greater than the second distance (figs 55 & below).
Re claim 9, Komai discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the electronics housing 6 is mounted on a top portion of the shroud 7 (figs 55-56) and the electronics housing 6 has an opening in a bottom portion of the electronics housing in communication with an opening 7a in the top portion of the shroud 7 (figs 55 & below, bottom portion opening in communication w/ 7a since open space of 7a is part of the open space of 6b).
Re claim 10, Komai discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the electronics housing 6 includes a cover attached to the electronics housing (figs 55 & above for claim 9), the cover including at least one air intake opening (figs 55, 56a & above for claim 9).
Re claim 11, Komai discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the electronics includes an electronics module 15 with a heat sink 18 (figs 55 & 52a, [0115]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komai in view of Bender (US20070210675, “Bender”).
Re claim 7, Komai discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the shroud 7 includes a cutout region 7a (fig 55, [0124]).
Komai discloses claim 7 except for:
the motor housing includes a strain relief for passage of a plurality of wires that are coupled to the electric motor; and
the shroud includes a cutout region through which the strain relief is exposed.
Bender discloses the motor housing 40 includes a strain relief 48 for passage of a plurality of wires 46 that are coupled to the electric motor 20 (fig 1a, [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor housing of Komai with a strain relief for passage of a plurality of wires that are coupled to the electric motor, as disclosed by Bender, in order to provide electricity to the motor and provide strain relief to the wires, as taught by Bender ([0028]).
Komai disclose in another embodiment that the motor 5 is electrically connected to the electronics housing 6 by an electrical connection 11, 12 through the bottom of the electronics housing 6 (figs 1-4, [0022]); and the shroud 7 includes a cutout region through which the electrical connection 11, 12 is exposed (figs 1-4, [0026], fig 4b shows cutout for 12 & 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor and electronics housing of Komai to have an electrical connection through the bottom of the electronics housing, as disclosed by Komai in another embodiment, in order to provide a known location for wiring to the electronics housing, as demonstrated by Komai in another embodiment.
It is pointed out that the combination of Komai in view of Bender discloses the shroud includes a cutout region through which the strain relief is exposed since: Komai discloses the cutout region 7a provides exposure to the bottom of the electronics housing 6 with respect to the motor (fig 55), implying electrical wires from the motor will be located near the cutout region 7a; Bender discloses the strain relief 48 is on the outside of the motor housing 40 (fig 1a); and Komai in the another embodiment discloses electrical connection 11, 12 is located at the bottom of the electronics housing 6, resulting in the strain relief being exposed at least to the bottom of the electronics housing through the cutout region of the shroud.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komai in view of Ochiai et al. (JP2019162017, “Ochiai”, using machine translation).
Re claim 8, Komai discloses claim 1 as discussed but is silent with respect to the motor housing and the shroud are composed of a heat transferable material.
Ochiai discloses the motor housing and the shroud are composed of a heat transferable material (fig 11, [0031] & [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor housing and shroud of Komai to be composed of a heat transferable material, as disclosed by Ochiai, in order to improve heat dissipation of the motor, as taught by Ochiai ([0031]) and make the shroud have high thermal conductivity, low cost and lighter, as taught by Ochiai ([0075]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komai in view of Sprague et al. (US20210143709, “Sprague”).
Re claim 12, Komai discloses claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to:
a frame, wherein the electronics housing, the shroud, and the motor housing are coupled to the frame, the frame including a power equipment mounting surface for mounting to the power equipment; and a battery pack interface couplable to the frame, the battery pack interface configured to receive a battery pack; and
the battery pack interface is couplable to the frame in a plurality of orientations relative to the frame.
Sprague discloses a frame 524, wherein the motor unit 10 is coupled to the frame 524 (figs 28 & 42-42a, [0037], [0081-0082] & [0147], 10 in fig 28 uses motor unit in figs 42-42a), the frame 542 including a power equipment mounting surface for mounting to the power equipment 528 (figs 28 & below, [0047], surface of 524 that 10 & 528 connect to); and
a battery pack interface 54 couplable to the frame 524 (figs 28 & 42-42a, [0082], 10 in fig 28 has same structure as figs 42-42a), the battery pack interface 54 configured to receive a battery pack 50 (figs 28 & 42-42a, [0082]); and
the battery pack interface 54 is couplable to the frame 524 in a plurality of orientations relative to the frame 524 (fig 28 & below, as seen in fig 28 motor unit 10 is capable of being mounted in two positions due to 524 being symmetrical; 54 is part of motor unit & the motor unit can be rotated 180 degrees w/ respect to 524).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the electric motor system of Komai with a frame, wherein the electronics housing, the shroud, and the motor housing are coupled to the frame, the frame including a power equipment mounting surface for mounting to the power equipment; and a battery pack interface couplable to the frame, the battery pack interface configured to receive a battery pack; and the battery pack interface is couplable to the frame in a plurality of orientations relative to the frame, as disclosed by Sprague for a motor unit, in order to provide the motor for portable applications. Komai discloses the motor 5 drives a pump 1 and Sprague discloses a battery powered motor to run a pump 528, so motor 5 would be capable of driving pump 528.
.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komai in view of Abbott (US2515973, “Abbott”).
Re claim 17, Komai discloses an electric motor system, comprising:
a motor housing (figs 55-56, [0125], housing has fins 13 on it);
an electric motor 5 disposed in the motor housing (figs 55-56, [0125]), the electric motor including a stator and a rotor that rotates relative to the stator ([0019] & [0028]);
an output shaft 10 coupled to the rotor and configured to transmit torque from the electric motor 5 to power equipment 1 (figs 51 & 55-56, [0112] & [0123], using figs 55-56 for rejection but has some same structure as figs 51-54, except form shape of 6 is different);
a shroud 7 received over at least a portion of the motor housing (figs 55-56. [0124]);
a first fan 8 outside of the motor housing (fig 55-56, [0124-0125]), rotatably driven by rotation of the electric motor 5 (figs 55-56, [0112]), and configured to cause airflow within the shroud 7 and an exterior of the motor housing (fig 56, [0124], air travels through hole 6a in housing 6).
Komai discloses claim 1 except for a second fan disposed within the motor housing and driven by the electric motor, the second fan configured to cause airflow within the motor housing.
Abbott discloses a second fan 21 disposed within the motor housing 11,12 and driven by the electric motor, the second fan 21 configured to cause airflow within the motor housing 11,12 (fig 1, col 2, lns 18-23 & col 2, ln 45 to col 3, ln 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor of Komai with a second fan disposed within the motor housing and driven by the electric motor, the second fan configured to cause airflow within the motor housing, as disclosed by Abbott, in order to cool the internal air of the motor housing, as taught by Abbott (col 3, lns 20-30).
Re claim 18, Komai in view of Abbott discloses claim 17 as discussed above. Komai further discloses an electronics housing 6 is coupled to a top portion of the shroud 7 (figs 55-56), the electronics housing 6 having an opening in a bottom portion of the electronics housing in communication with an opening 7a in the top portion of the shroud 7 (figs 55 & above for claim 9, bottom portion opening in communication w/ 7a since open space of 7a is part of the open space of 6b), such that the first fan 8 causes airflow through the electronics housing 6 (fig 56, [0124], air travels through hole 6b in housing 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ochiai et al. (JP2019162017, figs 9 & 11) and Deeg et al. (US20220163052, fig 3) disclose at least claim 1 in a similar manner as Komai (w/ respect to airflow through the electronics housing).
Komai (JP2019162017) discloses claim 9/1 in embodiment of figs 51-52 when interpreting fins 18 as part of the electronics housing.
Abbott (US2515973) reads on at least claim 1.
Koyama (JP2009124829) and Koyama (JP2010172179) disclose airflow through electronics housing.
Sprague (US20210194316, figs 54-58, [0259-0261]) discloses battery pack interface can be in two positions with respect to motor.
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834