DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “mounting features” (e.g., claim 4), the “plurality of openings” of the “one or more cable ducts (e.g., claim 7), and the “first and second locations” (e.g., claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 7, 13, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 Ln.3: the Office recommends amending the clause “and one or more outlet ports” such that it recites “and the one or more outlet ports” just to put the clause in better format.
Claim 7 Ln.2: the clause “enabling routing of one or more cables” should be amended to recite “enabling routing of the one or more cables” for antecedent reasons (i.e., claim 1 provides the antecedent basis for the claim limitation).
Claim 13 Ln.4: the Office requests that Applicant review the clause “the liquid immersion module comprising” to see if a colon was supposed to be present after the word “comprising”. Based on the structure of independent claim 17 (see claim 17 Ln.6), it appears as though a colon was supposed to be provided after the word “comprising”.
Claim 17 Ln.9: the Office recommends amending the clause “for facilitating insertion and removal of the liquid immersion module” to recite “for facilitating the insertion and removal of the liquid immersion module” in order to put the clause in better format since the “insertion and removal” is in reference to the insertion and removal recited in lines 4-5 of the claim.
See next page→
The Office notes that the above objections are a non-exhaustive list, and thus requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the claims and correcting ALL remaining informalities present in the claims, but not made of record above. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, and 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,127,370 (referred to as Reference Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated over the claims of the Reference Patent. Please see the mapping below in which bolded limitations indicate the corresponding limitations between the instant application and the Reference Patent.
Instant Application: 18/891,828
Reference Patent: US 12,127,370
1) A liquid immersion module comprising: a liquid immersion container configured to house a set of electronic equipment; one or more rail guides coupled to the liquid immersion container, the one or more rail guides configured for facilitating insertion and removal of the liquid immersion module from a liquid immersion cooling compartment of an electronic equipment chassis; and one or more cable management features configured for routing of one or more cables interconnecting the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container with additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container.
1) An electronic equipment chassis comprising: a chassis housing; and two or more cooling compartments in the chassis housing; wherein at least a first one of the two or more cooling compartments in the chassis housing utilizes a first type of cooling for a first set of electronic equipment housed therein; wherein at least a second one of the two or more cooling compartments in the chassis housing utilizes a second type of cooling for a second set of electronic equipment housed therein; and wherein the first type of cooling comprises liquid immersion cooling and the second type of cooling comprises non-liquid immersion cooling; wherein the first one of the two or more cooling compartments comprises a cable management module configured for routing of one or more cables interconnecting the first set of electronic equipment housed in the first one of the two or more cooling compartments with at least one of the second set of electronic equipment and additional electronic equipment external to the electronic equipment chassis; wherein the cable management module comprises a first set of one or more cable management features disposed on an interior perimeter of a first edge of the first one of the two or more cooling compartments and a second set of one or more cable management features disposed on an interior perimeter of a second edge of the first one of the two or more cooling compartments; wherein the first set of one or more cable management features comprises a plurality of openings; wherein the second set of one or more cable management features comprises at least one cable duct; and wherein at least one of the one or more cables is routed from the first set of electronic equipment through at least one of the plurality of openings and the at least one cable duct to said at least one of the second set of electronic equipment and the additional electronic equipment external to the electronic equipment chassis.
3) The electronic equipment chassis of claim 1 wherein the first one of the two or more cooling compartments comprises a liquid immersion module, the liquid immersion module comprising a liquid immersion container housing the first set of electronic equipment.
5) The electronic equipment chassis of claim 4 wherein the first one of the two or more cooling compartments comprises one or more integrated guide rails facilitating insertion and removal of the liquid immersion module.
13) An electronic equipment chassis comprising: a chassis housing comprising a liquid immersion cooling compartment; and a liquid immersion module disposed in the chassis housing; the liquid immersion module comprising a liquid immersion container configured to house a set of electronic equipment; one or more rail guides coupled to the liquid immersion container (scope encompassed within claim 13 of the Reference Patent), the one or more rail guides configured for facilitating insertion and removal of the liquid immersion module from the liquid immersion cooling compartment of the chassis housing (scope encompassed within claim 13 of the Reference Patent); and one or more cable management features configured for routing of one or more cables interconnecting the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container with additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container.
12) An electronic equipment rack comprising: at least one electronic equipment chassis comprising a chassis housing with two or more cooling compartments including at least a first one of the two or more cooling compartments utilizing liquid immersion cooling for a first set of electronic equipment and at least a second one of the two or more cooling compartments utilizing non-liquid immersion cooling for a second set of electronic equipment; and at least one liquid immersion module configured for insertion into and removal from the first one of the two or more cooling compartments of the at least one electronic equipment chassis, the at least one liquid immersion module comprising at least one liquid immersion container configured to house the first set of electronic equipment; wherein the first one of the two or more cooling compartments comprises a cable management module configured for routing of one or more cables interconnecting the first set of electronic equipment housed in the at least one liquid immersion container with at least one of the second set of electronic equipment and additional electronic equipment external to the electronic equipment chassis; wherein the cable management module comprises a first set of one or more cable management features disposed on an interior perimeter of a first edge of the first one of the two or more cooling compartments and a second set of one or more cable management features disposed on an interior perimeter of a second edge of the first one of the two or more cooling compartments; wherein the first set of one or more cable management features comprises a plurality of openings; wherein the second set of one or more cable management features comprises at least one cable duct; and wherein at least one of the one or more cables is routed from the first set of electronic equipment through at least one of the plurality of openings and the at least one cable duct to said at least one of the second set of electronic equipment and the additional electronic equipment external to the at least one electronic equipment chassis.
13) The electronic equipment rack of claim 12 further comprising one or more integrated guides in the first one of the two or more cooling compartments configured to mate with one or more rails on an exterior of the at least one liquid immersion module, the one or more rails being configured to slide along the one or more integrated guides to facilitate insertion and removal of the at least one liquid immersion module from the first one of the two or more cooling compartments.
17) An electronic equipment rack comprising: an electronic equipment chassis comprising a chassis housing, the chassis housing comprising a liquid immersion cooling compartment; and a liquid immersion module configured for insertion into and removal from the liquid immersion cooling compartment of the chassis housing of the electronic equipment chassis; the liquid immersion module comprising: a liquid immersion container configured to house a set of electronic equipment; one or more rail guides coupled to the liquid immersion container (scope encompassed within claim 13), the one or more rail guides configured for facilitating insertion and removal of the liquid immersion module from the liquid immersion cooling compartment of the chassis housing (scope encompassed within claim 13); and one or more cable management features configured for routing of one or more cables interconnecting the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container with additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container (scope encompassed within claim 12).
12) An electronic equipment rack comprising: at least one electronic equipment chassis comprising a chassis housing with two or more cooling compartments including at least a first one of the two or more cooling compartments utilizing liquid immersion cooling for a first set of electronic equipment and at least a second one of the two or more cooling compartments utilizing non-liquid immersion cooling for a second set of electronic equipment; and at least one liquid immersion module configured for insertion into and removal from the first one of the two or more cooling compartments of the at least one electronic equipment chassis, the at least one liquid immersion module comprising at least one liquid immersion container configured to house the first set of electronic equipment; wherein the first one of the two or more cooling compartments comprises a cable management module configured for routing of one or more cables interconnecting the first set of electronic equipment housed in the at least one liquid immersion container with at least one of the second set of electronic equipment and additional electronic equipment external to the electronic equipment chassis; wherein the cable management module comprises a first set of one or more cable management features disposed on an interior perimeter of a first edge of the first one of the two or more cooling compartments and a second set of one or more cable management features disposed on an interior perimeter of a second edge of the first one of the two or more cooling compartments; wherein the first set of one or more cable management features comprises a plurality of openings; wherein the second set of one or more cable management features comprises at least one cable duct; and wherein at least one of the one or more cables is routed from the first set of electronic equipment through at least one of the plurality of openings and the at least one cable duct to said at least one of the second set of electronic equipment and the additional electronic equipment external to the at least one electronic equipment chassis.
13) The electronic equipment rack of claim 12 further comprising one or more integrated guides in the first one of the two or more cooling compartments configured to mate with one or more rails on an exterior of the at least one liquid immersion module, the one or more rails being configured to slide along the one or more integrated guides to facilitate insertion and removal of the at least one liquid immersion module from the first one of the two or more cooling compartments.
Claim 6 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 1 of the Reference Patent.
Claim 7 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 1 of the Reference Patent.
Claim 8 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 1 of the Reference Patent.
Claim 9 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 1 of the Reference Patent.
Claim 10 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 1 of the Reference Patent.
Claim 11 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 10 of the Reference Patent.
Claim 12 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 11 of the Reference Patent.
Claim 14 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 12 of the Reference Patent.
Claim 15 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 12 of the Reference Patent.
Claim 16 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 12 of the Reference Patent.
Claim 18 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 12 of the Reference Patent.
Claim 19 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 12 of the Reference Patent.
Claim 20 of the Instant Application is encompassed by Claim 12 of the Reference Patent.
See next page→
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 5, 8, 13-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 10939581) in view of Best (US 20150334880) (both references of record, cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses (Figs.2-3):
A liquid immersion module (210a and all of the components associated with 210a in combination will define the "liquid immersion module") comprising: a liquid immersion container (210a) configured to house a set of electronic equipment (Fig.3: the electronic components placed within 210a will define the "set of electronic equipment"); one or more rail guides (230a-f) coupled to (Col.5 Lns.62-65) the liquid immersion container (210a), the one or more rail guides (230a-f) configured for facilitating insertion and removal (Insertion and Removal: Col.5 Lns.62-65 and Col.6 Lns.1-2, and see Figs.2-3: 230a-f will allow 210a to move into and out of 200) of the liquid immersion module (210a and all of the components associated with 210a in combination will define the "liquid immersion module") from a liquid immersion cooling compartment (Figs.2-3: compartment within 200 where 210a is placed will define the "liquid immersion cooling compartment") of an electronic equipment chassis (200).
However, Chen does not disclose:
One or more cable management features configured for routing of one or more cables interconnecting the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container with additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container.
Best however teaches (Fig.2):
One or more cable management features (227) (See Figure Below) configured for routing of one or more cables ([0052]: "the cable guides may be used to guide and support power cables or data cables") interconnecting the set of electronic equipment ([0052]: "servers in rack") in the liquid immersion container (222).
See next page→
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Best to modify the device of Chen such that it has one or more cable management features for routing one or more cables that interconnect the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container, as claimed, in order to provide a simple and efficient means of routing desired power and/or data cables without having to submerge the cables as suggested by Best ([0052]).
However, the above combination still fails to teach:
One or more cables interconnecting the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container with additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container.
However, Best presents a second embodiment that teaches (Figs.1A and D):
One or more cables (Fig.1D and [0030]: cables in 118) interconnecting the set of electronic equipment (Fig.1D and [0030]: the servers inside of 112) in the liquid immersion container (112) with additional electronic equipment (223 and [0030]: "external systems") external to the liquid immersion container (112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of the second embodiment of Best to further modify the device of modified Chen such that the one or more cables interconnect the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container with additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container, as claimed, in order to provide a simple and efficient means of coupling a plurality of electronic equipment chassis together (i.e., using the cable management module of figure 2 of Best with the cable tray and external electronic equipment taught by figure 1D of Best for the device of modified Chen, as modified above, presents a simple and efficient means of providing power and/or data to a plurality of electronic equipment chassis within a data center).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses (Figs.2-3):
See next page→
An electronic equipment chassis comprising: a chassis housing (200) comprising a liquid immersion cooling compartment (Figs.2-3: compartment within 200 where 210a is placed will define the "liquid immersion cooling compartment"); and a liquid immersion module (210a and all of the components associated with 210a in combination will define the "liquid immersion module") disposed in the chassis housing (200); the liquid immersion module (210a and all of the components associated with 210a in combination will define the "liquid immersion module") comprising a liquid immersion container (210a) configured to house a set of electronic equipment (Fig.3: the electronic components placed within 210a will define the "set of electronic equipment"); one or more rail guides (230a-f) coupled to (Col.5 Lns.62-65) the liquid immersion container (210a), the one or more rail guides (230a-f) configured for facilitating insertion and removal (Insertion and Removal: Col.5 Lns.62-65 and Col.6 Lns.1-2, and see Figs.2-3: 230a-f will allow 210a to move into and out of 200) of the liquid immersion module (210a and all of the components associated with 210a in combination will define the "liquid immersion module") from the liquid immersion cooling compartment (Figs.2-3: compartment within 200 where 210a is placed will define the "liquid immersion cooling compartment") of the chassis housing (200).
However, Chen does not disclose:
One or more cable management features configured for routing of one or more cables interconnecting the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container with additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container.
Best however teaches (Fig.2):
One or more cable management features (227) (See Figure of Claim 1) configured for routing of one or more cables ([0052]: "the cable guides may be used to guide and support power cables or data cables") interconnecting the set of electronic equipment ([0052]: "servers in rack") in the liquid immersion container (222).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Best to modify the device of Chen such that it has one or more cable management features for routing one or more cables that interconnect the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container, as claimed, in order to provide a simple and efficient means of routing desired power and/or data cables without having to submerge the cables as suggested by Best ([0052]).
However, the above combination still fails to teach:
One or more cables interconnecting the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container with additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container.
However, Best presents a second embodiment that teaches (Figs.1A and D):
One or more cables (Fig.1D and [0030]: cables in 118) interconnecting the set of electronic equipment (Fig.1D and [0030]: the servers inside of 112) in the liquid immersion container (112) with additional electronic equipment (223 and [0030]: "external systems") external to the liquid immersion container (112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of the second embodiment of Best to further modify the device of modified Chen such that the one or more cables interconnect the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container with additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container, as claimed, in order to provide a simple and efficient means of coupling a plurality of electronic equipment chassis together (i.e., using the cable management module of figure 2 of Best with the cable tray and external electronic equipment taught by figure 1D of Best for the device of modified Chen, as modified above, presents a simple and efficient means of providing power and/or data to a plurality of electronic equipment chassis within a data center).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses (Figs.2-3):
An electronic equipment rack comprising: an electronic equipment chassis (See Fig.2) comprising a chassis housing (200), the chassis housing (200) comprising a liquid immersion cooling compartment (Figs.2-3: compartment within 200 where 210a is placed will define the "liquid immersion cooling compartment"); and a liquid immersion module (210a and all of the components associated with 210a in combination will define the "liquid immersion module") configured for insertion into and removal from the liquid immersion cooling compartment (Figs.2-3: compartment within 200 where 210a is placed will define the "liquid immersion cooling compartment") of the chassis housing (200) of the electronic equipment chassis (See Fig.2) (Figs.2-3, Col.5 Lns.62-65, and Col.6 Lns.1-2: liquid immersion module inserts and is removed from the cooling compartment of 200 via 230a-f); the liquid immersion module (210a and all of the components associated with 210a in combination will define the "liquid immersion module") comprising: a liquid immersion container (210a) configured to house a set of electronic equipment (Fig.3: the electronic components placed within 210a will define the "set of electronic equipment"); one or more rail guides (230a-f) coupled to the liquid immersion container (210a), the one or more rail guides (230a-f) configured for facilitating insertion and removal (Insertion and Removal: Col.5 Lns.62-65 and Col.6 Lns.1-2, and see Figs.2-3: 230a-f will allow 210a to move into and out of the compartment of 200) of the liquid immersion module (210a and all of the components associated with 210a in combination will define the "liquid immersion module") from the liquid immersion cooling compartment (Figs.2-3: compartment within 200 where 210a is placed will define the "liquid immersion cooling compartment") of the chassis housing (200).
However, Chen does not disclose:
One or more cable management features configured for routing of one or more cables interconnecting the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container with additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container.
Best however teaches (Fig.2):
One or more cable management features (227) (See Figure of Claim 1) configured for routing of one or more cables ([0052]: "the cable guides may be used to guide and support power cables or data cables") interconnecting the set of electronic equipment ([0052]: "servers in rack") in the liquid immersion container (222).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Best to modify the device of Chen such that it has one or more cable management features for routing one or more cables that interconnect the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container, as claimed, in order to provide a simple and efficient means of routing desired power and/or data cables without having to submerge the cables as suggested by Best ([0052]).
However, the above combination still fails to teach:
One or more cables interconnecting the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container with additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container.
Best however presents a second embodiment that teaches (Figs.1A and D):
See next page→
One or more cables (Fig.1D and [0030]: cables in 118) interconnecting the set of electronic equipment (Fig.1D and [0030]: the servers inside of 112) in the liquid immersion container (112) with additional electronic equipment (223 and [0030]: "external systems") external to the liquid immersion container (112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of the second embodiment of Best to further modify the device of modified Chen such that the one or more cables interconnect the set of electronic equipment in the liquid immersion container with additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container, as claimed, in order to provide a simple and efficient means of coupling a plurality of electronic equipment chassis together (i.e., using the cable management module of figure 2 of Best with the cable tray and external electronic equipment taught by figure 1D of Best for the device of modified Chen, as modified above, presents a simple and efficient means of providing power and/or data to a plurality of electronic equipment chassis within a data center).
Regarding claim 2, Best further teaches:
One or more inlet ports (224) and one or more outlet ports (225) coupled to the liquid immersion container (222), wherein the one or more inlet ports (224) and one or more outlet ports (225) are configured to cycle a thermally conductive dielectric fluid ([0079]: "A suitable liquid coolant is a dielectric liquid coolant") through the liquid immersion container (222) to provide cooling of the set of electronic equipment ([0052]: "servers in rack") (See Fig.2, [0026]-[0027], and [0051]: the thermally conductive dielectric fluid cycles through 222 via 224 and 225).
See next page→
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Best to further modify the device of modified Chen such that it has one or more inlet ports and one or more outlet ports that are connected to the liquid immersion container in such a way that the one or more inlet ports and one or more outlet ports are configured to cycle a thermally conductive dielectric fluid through the liquid immersion container to provide cooling of the set of electronic equipment, as claimed, in order to provide a more efficient cooling mechanism and thus improving the overall heat dissipation capabilities (i.e., incorporating the one or more inlet ports and the one or more outlet ports will provide a more automated means, and thus a more simple and efficient means, of filling the liquid immersion container, cooling the set of electronic equipment, and recycling the thermally conductive dielectric fluid so that chilled dielectric fluid is continuously supplied to the liquid immersion container, and thus improving the overall cooling capabilities).
Regarding claim 4, Best further teaches:
A set of equipment mounts (See Figure Below) coupled to interior sidewalls (See Figure Below) of the liquid immersion container (222), the set of equipment mounts providing mounting features (See Figure Below) for holding the set of electronic equipment ([0052]: "servers in rack") in place within the liquid immersion container (222).
See next page→
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Best to further modify the device of modified Chen such that it has a set of equipment mounts that are coupled to the interior sidewalls of the liquid immersion container and provide mounting features for holding the set of electronic equipment in place within the liquid immersion container, as claimed, in order to provide an improved means of holding the set of electronic equipment in the immersion container (i.e., in the event that the set of electronic equipment does not fill the entire space within the liquid immersion container, the set of equipment mounts will provide an improved means of holding the remaining electronic equipment in an organized fashion- in other words, it allows for empty slots to be present in the liquid immersion container without having to worry about the remaining electronic equipment falling within the interior space of the liquid immersion container).
Regarding claim 5, the second embodiment of Best further teaches:
One or more power distribution units (116) providing power to the set of equipment housed ([0031]: "each tank 122 containing vertically mounted, independently removable and replaceable data processing modules") in the liquid immersion container (122) (Fig.1A, [0030], and [0040]: "Power distribution units 116 mount near the back of the racks 112, under the lid area"- since 116 is under "the lid area" of 112, it is clear that 116 has to be housed within 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further utilize the above teaching of the second embodiment of Best such that it has one or more power distribution units that provide power to the set of equipment housed in the liquid immersion container, as claimed, in order to provide an arrangement that can minimize the amount of space a user has to service as taught by Best ([0040]) while also providing a simple and efficient means of powering the set of equipment housed in the liquid immersion container.
Furthermore, rearranging the power distribution unit such that it is at a desired area, including as claimed (i.e., inside the liquid immersion container so that it is housed in the liquid immersion container), would have been an obvious modification that one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would do in order to provide a convenient means of connecting the set of electronic equipment to the power distribution unit (i.e., since both the power distribution unit and the set of electronic equipment are in the liquid immersion container, it is much more convenient to connect the components as opposed to if the power distribution unit were outside the liquid immersion container), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 8, 14, and 18, Best further teaches:
Wherein the one or more cable management features (227) comprises a first set of one or more cable management features (See Figure of Claim 1) disposed on an interior perimeter (See Figure of Claim 1) of a first edge (See Figure of Claim 1) of the liquid immersion container (222) and a second set of one or more cable management features (See Figure of Claim 1) disposed on an interior perimeter (See Figure of Claim 1) of a second edge (See Figure of Claim 1) of the liquid immersion container (222).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Best to further modify the device of modified Chen such that the one or more cable management features comprises a first set of one or more cable management features disposed on an interior perimeter of a first edge of the liquid immersion container and a second set of one or more cable management features disposed on an interior perimeter of a second edge of the liquid immersion container, as respectively claimed in claims 8, 14, and 18, in order to achieve the improved cable routing means as outlined in claims 1, 13, and 17 above.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 10939581) and Best (US 20150334880) (both references of record, cited in the IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Czamara (US 10244652).
Regarding claim 3, Chen further discloses:
One or more wheels (232a) coupled to a bottom (See Figs.2-3) of the liquid immersion container (210a).
However, modified Chen does not teach:
One or more retractable wheels.
Czamara however teaches (Figs.6-7):
One or more retractable wheels (706) (Col.15 Lns.63-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Czamara to further modify the device of modified Chen such that the one or more wheels at the bottom of the liquid immersion container are retractable wheels, as claimed, in order to further improve the overall usability (i.e., by using retractable wheels, one can simply and easily secure the liquid immersion container by retracting the wheels and further ensure that the liquid immersion container stays within the desired area, but can then be easily moved by simply withdrawing the wheels in the event that a user wishes to pull out the liquid immersion module).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 10939581) and Best (US 20150334880) (both references of record, cited in the IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Best (US 20110132579) (referred to as Best’579) and in further view of Maniwa (US 20190036280).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chen does not teach:
Wherein the one or more cable management features comprise one or more cable ducts running along at least a portion of an interior perimeter of the liquid immersion container.
Best’579 however teaches (Figs.11 and 13):
Wherein the one or more cable management features (840) comprise one or more cable ducts ([0100]: the cable management feature is a tray/duct) running along at least a portion of a perimeter of the liquid immersion container (810) (Cable Duct running along at least a portion of a perimeter of the Immersion Container: See Figs.11 and 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Best’579 to further modify the device of modified Chen such that the one or more cable management features comprise one or more cable ducts that run along at least a portion of a perimeter of the liquid immersion container, as claimed, in order to further improve the cable organization capabilities (i.e., by utilizing the rails taught Best and the one or more cable ducts taught by Best’579, one can provide a cleaner and more organized means of routing and connecting the cables to the set of electronic equipment).
However, the above combination still fails to teach:
One or more cable ducts running along at least a portion of an interior perimeter of the liquid immersion container.
Maniwa however teaches (Fig.2):
One or more cable ducts (32) running along at least a portion of an interior perimeter (Fig.2 and [0057]: 32 runs along at least a portion of an interior perimeter of 25b) of the container (25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Maniwa to further modify the device of modified Chen such that the one or more cable ducts run along at least a portion of an interior perimeter of the liquid immersion container, as claimed, in order to further improve the cable routing and coupling arrangement (i.e., since the cable duct is now provided inside of the liquid immersion container, not only is the distance between the cable duct and the set of electronic equipment is reduced, but it also becomes much easier to access both the cable duct and the set of electronic equipment, and thus further optimizing the process of connecting the cables to the set of electronic equipment since both the one or more cable ducts and set of electronic equipment are within the same localized area).
Furthermore, rearranging the components such that the one or more cable ducts are in a desired location, including as claimed (i.e., within the liquid immersion container so that it runs along at least a portion of an interior perimeter of the liquid immersion container), would have been an obvious modification that one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would do in order to achieve the more optimized cable connection and routing as outlined above, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 7, Maniwa further teaches:
Wherein the one or more cable ducts (32) comprise a plurality of openings (34) enabling routing of one or more cables (31) between first and second locations (Fig.2: the area of 32 that has 34 and one end of 31 will define the “first location” and the area that each opposite end of 31 connects to will define the “second location”) along the interior perimeter (Fig.2 and [0057]: 32 runs along at least a portion of an interior perimeter of 25b) of the liquid container (25) (Fig.2, [0057], and [0059]: 34 allows 31 to extend between the first and second locations in order to create both a physical and electrical connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Maniwa to further modify the device of modified Chen such that the one or more cable ducts comprise a plurality of openings that enable routing of the one or more cables between first and second locations along the interior perimeter of the liquid immersion container, as claimed, in order to achieve the optimized cable routing, organization, and coupling means as outlined in claim 6 above.
See next page→
Claims 9-12, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 10939581) and Best (US 20150334880) (both references of record, cited in the IDS) as applied to claims 8, 14, and 18 above, and further in view of Best (US 20110132579) (referred to as Best’579).
Regarding claims 9, 15, and 19, Best further teaches:
Wherein the first set of one or more cable management features (See Figure of Claims 8, 14, and 18) comprises a plurality of openings (See Figure of Claims 8, 14, and 18: the first set of the one or more cable management features of 227 is defined by a plurality of openings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Best to further modify the device of modified Chen such that the first set of one or more cable management features comprises a plurality of openings, as respectively claimed in claims 9, 15, and 19, in order to achieve the improved cable routing means as outlined in claims 1, 13, and 17 above.
However, the above modification would still fail to teach:
Wherein the second set of one or more cable management features comprises at least one cable duct.
Best’579 however teaches (Figs.11 and 13):
At least one cable duct (840).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Best’579 to further modify the device of modified Chen such that it includes at least one cable duct that defines the second set of one or more cable management features that is disposed on the interior perimeter of a second edge of the liquid immersion container, as respectively claimed in claims 9, 15, and 19, in order to further optimize the cable routing and organization capabilities (i.e., by including the one or more cable ducts, the plurality of cables can be easily grouped within the cable duct, and thus providing a more organized means of holding and routing the cables).
Regarding claims 10, 16, and 20, Best further teaches:
Wherein at least one of the one or more cables ([0052]: "the cable guides may be used to guide and support power cables or data cables") is routed from the set of electronic equipment ([0052]: "servers in rack") housed in the liquid immersion container (222) through at least one of the plurality of openings (See Figure of Claims 8, 14, and 18: the first set of the one or more cable management features of 227 is defined by a plurality of openings) (Fig.2 and [0052]: there will be at least one cable that will pass through one of the openings of 227 to connect to at least one electronic equipment of the set of electronic equipment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Best to further modify the device of modified Chen such that at least one of the one or more cables is routed from the set of electronic equipment housed in the liquid immersion container through at least one of the plurality of openings, as respectively claimed in claims 10, 16, and 20, in order to achieve the improved cable routing means as outlined in claims 1, 13, and 17 above.
However, the above combination still fails to teach:
Wherein at least one of the one or more cables is routed from the set of electronic equipment housed in the liquid immersion container through at least one of the plurality of openings and the at least one cable duct to the additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container (emphasis added).
However, as outlined in claims 1, 13, and 17 above, the second embodiment of Best teaches:
Wherein at least one of the one or more cables (Fig.1D and [0030]: cables in 118) is routed from the set of electronic equipment (Fig.1D and [0030]: the servers inside of 112) housed in the liquid immersion container (112) to the additional electronic equipment (223 and [0030]: "external systems") external to the liquid immersion container (112) (Figs.1A and D, and [0030]: at least one cable of the plurality of cables in 118 will connect from at least one electronic equipment of the set of electronic equipment located inside the liquid immersion to the additional electronic equipment that is external to 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of the second embodiment of Best to further modify the device of modified Chen such that the at least one of the one or more cables is routed from the set of electronic equipment housed in the liquid immersion container through the at least one of the plurality of openings to the additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container, as respectively claimed in claims 10, 16, and 20, in order to provide the improved connection means as outlined in claims 1, 13, and 17 above.
However, the above combination still fails to explicitly teach:
Wherein at least one of the one or more cables is routed from the set of electronic equipment housed in the liquid immersion container through at least one of the plurality of openings and the at least one cable duct to the additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container (emphasis added).
However, as outlined in claims 9, 15, and 19 above, Best’579 teaches:
The at least one cable duct (840).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Best’579 such that when the at least one cable duct of Best’579 is incorporated into the device of modified Chen, as modified in claims 9, 15, and 19 above, the at least one cable duct is arranged so that the at least one of the one or more cables is routed from the set of electronic equipment housed in the liquid immersion container through the at least one of the plurality of openings and the at least one cable duct to the additional electronic equipment external to the liquid immersion container, as respectively claimed in claims 10, 16, and 20, in order to achieve the optimized cable routing and organization capabilities as outlined in claims 9, 15, and 19 above.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Best further teaches:
(Claim 11): Wherein the plurality of openings comprise slots (See Figure of Claims 8, 14, and 18: the openings that are defined by 227 are slots).
(Claim 12) Wherein the plurality of openings comprise finger-like ducts (See Figure of Claims 8, 14, and 18: the openings that are defined by 227 shaped to be finger-like ducts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching Best to further modify the device of modified Chen such that the plurality of openings comprise slots or finger-like ducts, as respectively claimed in claims 11 and 12, in order to achieve the improved cable routing means as outlined in claim 1 above.
See next page→
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 9750157: teaches a cable duct with openings that are provided on an inner perimeter of a door/housing.
US 9144179 (of record, cited in the IDS): teaches a PDU that is provided inside of an immersion cooling housing.
CN 109246998: teaches the use of retractable/withdrawable wheels.
/STEPHEN S SUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841