DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states:
A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsukawa et al. (US 20200245180) (hereinafter Matsukawa).
Regarding claims 1 and 8:
As shown in figures 1-13, Matsukawa discloses an apparatus (see figure 13), comprising a processor (1001 in figure 13) configured to invoke a program from a memory (1002 in figure 13) (par 0180-0188) to perform:
sending first information to a first access network device (in step 2 of figure 4, Matsukawa shows MME/SGSN 300, 210 is sending paging information to eNB 100B. Paging information interpreted to be first information) (also see figures 5-11),
wherein the first information is used to indicate a terminal device capability of a first terminal device (UE 50 in figure 4) (in par 0095 Matsukawa teaches “When the MME 300 transmits the paging message to the eNB 100B (Step 3), at this step, the MME 300 transmits the UE Radio Capability for Paging of the UE 50. As explained above, the UE Radio Capability for Paging transmitted by the MME 300 includes the information elements of ue-CategoryDL-v1310 and ce-ModeA-r13, ce-ModeB-r13”).
Regarding claim 15:
As shown in figures 1-13, Matsukawa discloses an apparatus (see figure 13), comprising a processor (1001 in figure 13) configured to invoke a program from a memory (1002 in figure 13) (par 0180-0188) to perform:
receiving first information (in step 3 of figure 4, Matsukawa showsUE 50 is receiving paging information from eNB 100B. Paging information interpreted to be first information) (also see figures 5-11),
wherein the first information is used to indicate a terminal device capability of a first terminal device (in par 0095 Matsukawa teaches “When the MME 300 transmits the paging message to the eNB 100B (Step 3), at this step, the MME 300 transmits the UE Radio Capability for Paging of the UE 50. As explained above, the UE Radio Capability for Paging transmitted by the MME 300 includes the information elements of ue-CategoryDL-v1310 and ce-ModeA-r13, ce-ModeB-r13”).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16:
Matsukawa further discloses wherein the first information is used to determine whether to transmit a paging message for the first terminal device (in par 0095 Matsukawa teaches “When the MME 300 transmits the paging message to the eNB 100B (Step 3), at this step, the MME 300 transmits the UE Radio Capability for Paging of the UE 50. As explained above, the UE Radio Capability for Paging transmitted by the MME 300 includes the information elements of ue-CategoryDL-v1310 and ce-ModeA-r13, ce-ModeB-r13”. In par 0097 Matsukawa teaches “the eNB 100B determines the paging type to be executed with the UE 50 (Step 4). Specifically, the eNB 100B determines that the paging for Normal Mode UE is to be executed, and executes the paging for Normal Mode UE (Step 5)”).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17:
Matsukawa further discloses wherein the first terminal device capability is a half-duplex capability (normal mode interpreted to be a half-duplex capability. See par 0062-0067) or a capability of accessing a non-terrestrial network.
Regarding claims 4 and 11:
Matsukawa further discloses wherein the first information indicates that the first terminal device has (par 0015-0019, 0062-0067) or does not have a half-duplex capability; and/or the first information indicates that the first terminal device has or does not have a capability of accessing a non-terrestrial network.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 18:
Matsukawa further discloses wherein the first information is carried in a paging message received by the first access network device (figure 5 shows paging information sends by the MME/SGSN 300,210 (the first access network device) is carried in a paging message) (see par 0095-0097).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19:
Matsukawa further discloses wherein the first information is carried in a paging message triggered by a radio access network (figures 4-5 shows paging information message triggered by a eNB (100B) (radio access network)) (see par 0095-0097) or a paging message triggered by a core network.
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20:
Matsukawa further discloses wherein the first terminal device is a reduced-capability terminal device (paging corresponding to a non-enhancement mode interpreted to be is a reduced-capability. See par 0054).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TAN et al. (US 20230144654) disclose a mothed for determining paging capability indication information, where the paging capability indication information indicates the paging capability of the first communication node in an inactive state, and transmitting the paging capability indication information to a third communication node.
/KABIR A TIMORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631