DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 12-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 has the limitation “the same dielectric layer first dielectric layer” it is believed this should read “the same dielectric layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beck et al (US 2019/0267193).
Regarding claim 1, Beck discloses a multilayer electronic component (Fig. 1-6), comprising: a body (Fig. 4, 6) including a plurality of first dielectric layers (Fig. 4, 9), an internal electrode (Fig. 4, 10/11/12) including first (Fig. 4, 10) and second internal electrodes (Fig. 4, 11) spaced apart from each other on the same first dielectric layer (Fig. 4), and floating electrodes (Fig. 4, 12) alternately disposed with the internal electrode in a first direction (Fig. 4, up and down) with the first dielectric layer interposed therebetween (Fig. 4); and first and second external electrodes (Fig. 4, 7/8) disposed on the body and connected to the first and second internal electrodes, respectively (Fig. 4), wherein the body includes a double internal electrode comprising bilayered internal electrodes (Fig. 4, 10 above and below 13) disposed adjacently to each other in the first direction with a second dielectric layer (Fig. 4, 13) interposed therebetween (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Beck further discloses that the double internal electrode is disposed in a center portion of the body in the first direction (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Beck further discloses that the number of the double internal electrode is one (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Beck further discloses that the second dielectric layer has a different composition from a composition of the first dielectric layers ([0024]).
Regarding claim 7, Beck further discloses that when an average size of the first dielectric layer in the first direction is referred to as td1 and an average size of the second dielectric layer in the first direction is referred to as td2, td2 < td1 is satisfied (Fig. 4, 9 has thicker portions than 13).
Regarding claim 10, Beck further discloses that the floating electrodes partially overlap the first and second internal electrodes in the first direction to form capacitance (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Beck further discloses that the double internal electrode comprises: double first internal electrodes (Fig. 4, 10) including a double first-first internal electrode and a double first-second internal electrode (Fig. 4, 10 above and below 13) alternatively arranged with the second dielectric layer interposed therebetween (Fig. 4); and double second internal electrodes (Fig. 4, 11) including a double second-first internal electrode and a double second-second internal electrode (Fig. 4, 11 above and below 13) alternatively arranged with the second dielectric layer interposed therebetween (Fig. 4), wherein the double first-first internal electrode and the double second-first internal electrode are spaced apart from each other and disposed on one surface of the second dielectric layer (Fig. 4, indirectly on the surface of 13), and wherein the double first-second internal electrode and the double second-second internal electrode are spaced apart from each other and disposed on another surface of the second dielectric layer (Fig. 4, indirectly on the surface of 13).
Claim(s) 12-13, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SEO et al (US 2015/0179339).
Regarding claim 12, SEO discloses a multilayer electronic component (Fig. 1-3), comprising: a body (Fig. 3, 110) including a plurality of first dielectric layers (Fig. 3, 111), an internal electrode (Fig. 3, 121/122) including first (Fig. 3, 121) and second internal electrodes (Fig. 3, 122) spaced apart from each other on the same dielectric layer (Fig. 3), and floating electrodes (Fig. 3, 123) alternately arranged with the internal electrode in a first direction (Fig. 3, up and down) with the first dielectric layer interposed therebetween (Fig. 3); and first and second external electrodes disposed on the body and connected to the first and second internal electrodes (Fig. 3, 131/132), respectively, wherein the body includes a double floating electrode (Fig. 3, 123/123’) comprising bilayered floating electrodes disposed adjacently to each other in the first direction with a second dielectric layer interposed therebetween (Fig. 3, 123 in center, 111 between 123 is considered a second dielectric layer).
Regarding claim 13, SEO further discloses that the double floating electrode is disposed in a center portion of the body in the first direction (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, SEO further discloses that when an average size of the first dielectric layer in the first direction is referred to as td1 and an average size of the second dielectric layer in the first direction is referred to as td2, td2 < td1 is satisfied (Fig. 3, 111 between layers is smaller Table 1).
Regarding claim 20, SEO further discloses that the floating electrodes partially overlap the first and second internal electrodes in the first direction to form capacitance (Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8-9, 14-17, and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious, alone or in combination, the limitation of “wherein when the number of pores per 1 μm2 included in a cross-section of the first dielectric layer is referred to as A, and the number of pores per 1 μm2 included in a cross-section of the second dielectric layer is referred to as B, B < A is satisfied” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious, alone or in combination, the limitation of “wherein when the number of pores per 1 μm2 included in a cross-section of the second dielectric layer is referred to as B, 1000 × B ≤ 5.00 is satisfied” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious, alone or in combination, the limitation of “wherein 8 × td2 ≤ td1 is satisfied” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious, alone or in combination, the limitation of “wherein when an average size of the first dielectric layer in the first direction is referred to as td1 and an average size of at least one of the floating electrodes in the first direction is referred to as te3, 2 × te3 < td1 is satisfied” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious, alone or in combination, the limitation of “wherein the number of the double internal electrode is one” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious, alone or in combination, the limitation of “wherein the second dielectric layer has a different composition from a composition of the first dielectric layer” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious, alone or in combination, the limitation of “wherein when the number of pores per 1 μm2 included in a cross-section of the second dielectric layer is referred to as B, and the number of pores per 1 μm2 included in a cross-section of the first dielectric layer is referred to as A, B < A is satisfied” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious, alone or in combination, the limitation of “wherein when the number of pores per 1 μm2 included in a cross-section of the second dielectric layer is referred to as B, 1000 × B ≤ 5.00 is satisfied” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious, alone or in combination, the limitation of “wherein 8 × td2 ≤ td1 is satisfied” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Additional Relevant Prior Art:
Ellmore et al (US 2015/0146343) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-2.
Bultitude (US 2018/0012706) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-11.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL P MCFADDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847