DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to reply dated March 17, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 of currently pending Application No. 18/891,863 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/105,496 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of currently pending Application No. 18/891,863 are broader and obvious variants of the claims of copending Application No. 18/105,496.
For example, claim 1, lines 5 and 6 of currently pending Application No. 18/891,863 recite “storing a traveling route traveled by the vehicle according to the driving operation of the user in a training traveling mode”. Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/105,496 recites “storing a traveling route traveled by the vehicle according to a driving operation of a user in a training traveling mode”, see claim 1, lines 3 and 4 dated December 20, 2024.
Claim 1, lines 9 and 10 of currently pending Application No. 18/891,863 recite “displaying a target route from the traveling start position to the target parking position in an automatic traveling mode”. Claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/105,496 recites “displaying of the target route, superimposing the target route in the automatic traveling mode on the traveling route in the training traveling mode.” Note, the stored traveling route in the training traveling mode can be the same as, or different from, the target route in the automatic traveling mode.
Claim 1, lines 11 and 12 of currently pending Application No. 18/891,863 recite “wherein the target route in the automatic traveling mode is shorter than the traveling route in the training traveling mode”. Claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/105,496 recites “wherein the target route is a shortcut route of the traveling route.”, see claim 4, dated December 20, 2024.
Claim 1, lines 12-15 of currently pending Application No. 18/891,863 recite “and a first number of turns of the vehicle in the training traveling mode is same as a second number of turns of the vehicle in the automatic traveling mode, the traveling route includes a first turning point at a first position, and the target route does not include the first turning point at the first position.” With respect to claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/105,496, the stored traveling route in the training traveling mode can be the same as the target route in the automatic traveling mode. That is, a first number of turns of the vehicle in the training traveling mode is same as a second number of turns of the vehicle in the automatic traveling mode. In addition, claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/105,496 recites “wherein the target route is a shortcut route of the traveling route.”, see claim 4, dated December 20, 2024. That is, the route can be slightly left or right of the traveling route which keeps the target route’s turning points/positions off the traveling route’s turning points/positions.
Although copending Application No. 18/105,496 does not disclose displaying the traveling route from a traveling start position to a target parking position in the training traveling mode, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Iwama (US 2018/0246515 A1) into copending Application No. 18/105,496.
For example, Iwama teaches providing the driver with feedback. Iwama teaches a system that displays the traveling route from a traveling start position to a target parking position in the training traveling mode (see at least [0092] | [0075]). One of ordinary skill in the art clearly recognizes that this provides the driver with immediate visual feedback as to what their learned route looks like.
Claims 2-7 of currently pending Application No. 18/891,863 correspond to claims 2-7 of copending Application No. 18/105,496.
As outlined above, independent claim 8 of currently pending Application No. 18/891,863 would correspond to independent claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/105,496.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez (DE 102019115712 A1) in view of Iwama (US 2018/0246515 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rodriguez discloses a driving assistance method of performing automatic traveling of a vehicle based on a driving operation of a user (see at least Figures 1-3 | [0001]), the driving assistance method comprising:
storing a traveling route traveled by the vehicle according to the driving operation of the user in a training traveling mode (see at least Figure 2, items TR=26→24→22 | [0039] note the traveling route (TR) corresponds to the driving trajectory);
displaying the traveling route from a traveling start position to a target parking position (see at least [0050] note the driving trajectory and at least one optimized trajectory is output via a display device); and
displaying a target route from the traveling start position to the target parking position in an automatic traveling mode (see at least [0001] note autonomous parking | [0050] note the driving trajectory and at least one optimized trajectory, which either can correspond to the target route (TAR) if selected by the user, is output via a display device | [0027] note a target route (TAR), which includes the driving trajectory and at least one optimized trajectory, can be selected while driving on an already selected target route),
wherein the target route in the automatic traveling mode is shorter than the traveling route in the training traveling mode (see at least annotated Figure 2, note the traveling route (TR, solid line), target route (TAR, dashed line), point(s) of turn (•) and positions (1P, 2P) | [0028] note at least one criterion can correspond to reducing the total length of the trajectory and/or reducing the total driving time for the trajectory and/or not reducing the number of steering maneuvers (i.e., turns)), and
a first number of turns of the vehicle in the training traveling mode is same as a second number of turns of the vehicle in the automatic traveling mode (see at least [0028] note at least one criterion can correspond to not selecting reducing a number of steering maneuvers for the trajectory, that is, the first number of turns is the same, not less or more, than the second number of turns, see annotated Figure 2 above),
the traveling route includes a first turning point at a first position (see annotated Figure 2 above, note the first turning point (•) at a first position (1P) on the traveling route (TR)), and
the target route does not include the first turning point at the first position (see annotated Figure 2 above, note first turning point (•) at the first position (1P) on the target route (TAR) does not include the first turning point (•) at the first position (1P) on the traveling route (TR)).
However, Rodriguez does not specifically disclose displaying in the training traveling mode.
It is known to provide a driver with feedback. For example, Iwama teaches a system that displays a traveling route in a training traveling mode (see at least [0092]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Iwama into Rodriguez. This provides the driver with immediate visual feedback as to what their learned route looks like.
Regarding claim 2, Rodriguez in view of Iwama teach wherein the traveling route includes points of turn (see at least annotated Figure 2, items TR, 1P, 2P of Rodriguez).
Regarding claim 3, Rodriguez in view of Iwama teach in the displaying of the target route, superimposing the target route in the automatic traveling mode on the traveling route in the training traveling mode (see at least [0050] of Rodriguez, note an output of at least one optimized trajectory and the driving trajectory, or the traveling route, are displayed to the user | [0027] of Rodriguez, note a target route, which includes the driving trajectory and at least one optimized trajectory, can be selected while driving on an already selected target route).
Regarding claim 4, Rodriguez in view of Iwama teach wherein the target route is a shortcut route of the traveling route (see at least annotated Figure 2 of Rodriguez, note TAR | [0028] of Rodriguez, note reducing the total length of a trajectory and reducing the total driving time for a trajectory correspond to shortcut routes of the learned traveling route).
Regarding claim 5, Rodriguez in view of Iwama teach displaying an icon to select whether to change the traveling route to the shortcut route (see at least [0050-0051] of Rodriguez, note that the user simply selects the shortcut route on the display | [0023] of Rodriguez).
Regarding claim 7, Rodriguez in view of Iwama teach parking the vehicle in a parking space (see at least Figure 2, item 28 of Rodriguez).
Regarding claim 8, Rodriguez discloses a system for performing automatic traveling of a vehicle based on a driving operation of a user (see at least Figures 1-3 | [0001]) comprising:
storing a traveling route traveled by the vehicle according to the driving operation of the user in a training traveling mode (see at least Figure 2, items TR=26→24→22 | [0039] note the traveling route (TR) corresponds to the driving trajectory);
displaying the traveling route from a traveling start position to a target parking position (see at least [0050] note the driving trajectory and at least one optimized trajectory is output via a display device); and
displaying a target route from the traveling start position to the target parking position in an automatic traveling mode (see at least [0001] note autonomous parking | [0050] note the driving trajectory and at least one optimized trajectory, which either can correspond to the target route (TAR) if selected by the user, is output via a display device | [0027] note a target route (TAR), which includes the driving trajectory and at least one optimized trajectory, can be selected while driving on an already selected target route),
wherein the target route in the automatic traveling mode is shorter than the traveling route in the training traveling mode (see at least annotated Figure 2, note the traveling route (TR, solid line), target route (TAR, dashed line), point(s) of turn (•) and positions (1P, 2P) | [0028] note at least one criterion can correspond to reducing the total length of the trajectory and/or reducing the total driving time for the trajectory and/or not reducing the number of steering maneuvers (i.e., turns)),
a first number of turns of the vehicle in the training traveling mode is same as a second number of turns of the vehicle in the automatic traveling mode (see at least [0028] note at least one criterion can correspond to not selecting reducing a number of steering maneuvers for the trajectory, that is, the first number of turns is the same, not less or more, than the second number of turns, see annotated Figure 2 above),
the traveling route includes a first turning point at a first position (see annotated Figure 2 above, note the first turning point (•) at a first position (1P) on the traveling route (TR)), and
the target route does not include the first turning point at the first position (see annotated Figure 2 above, note first turning point (•) at the first position (1P) on the target route (TAR) does not include the first turning point (•) at the first position (1P) on the traveling route (TR)).
However, Rodriguez does not specifically disclose a non-transitory recording medium that stores a driving assistance program that is readable by a computer for performing automatic traveling of a vehicle based on a driving operation of a user, wherein the driving assistance program causes the computer to perform operations including displaying in the training traveling mode.
It is known to provide a driver with feedback. For example, Iwama teaches a system that displays a traveling route in a training traveling mode (see at least [0001] | [0017] | [0073] | [0092]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Iwama into Rodriguez. This provides the driver with immediate visual feedback as to what their learned route looks like.
Regarding claim 9, Rodriguez in view of Iwama teach wherein the target route includes the first turning point at a second position different from the first position (see at least annotated Figure 2, items TAR and 1P of Rodriguez).
Regarding claim 12, Rodriguez in view of Iwama teach wherein the target route does not include a second turning point included in the traveling route, the target route does not include a third turning point included in the traveling route, and in the target route, the vehicle travels from a first point, which is a predetermined point between the traveling start position in the target route and the second turning point, to a second point, which is a predetermined point between the third turning point and the target parking position in the target route (see annotated Figure 2 of Rodriguez below | [0028] of Rodriguez, note reducing the total length of the trajectory).
Regarding claim 13, Rodriguez in view of Iwama teach wherein the target route does not include points of turn between the first point and the second point (see annotated Figure 2 of Rodriguez above).
Regarding claim 14, Rodriguez in view of Iwama teach wherein the vehicle travels at a non-zero vehicle speed while traveling from the first point to the second point (see at least [0012] of Rodriguez, note the autonomously moves along the parking trajectory (i.e., it does not stop)).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez (DE 102019115712 A1) in view of Iwama (US 2018/0246515 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Tashiro (US 2020/0346639 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Rodriguez in view of Iwama strongly suggest displaying all of the traveling route from the traveling start position to the target parking position in the traveling route by a solid line arrow (see at least Figure 2, item 24 of Rodriguez | [0050] of Rodriguez | [0092] of Iwama).
However, Rodriguez in view of Iwama do not specifically teach a solid line arrow.
It is known to convey routes in different ways. For example, Tashiro teaches a display system that displays all of a route from a traveling start position to a target parking position in by a solid line arrow (see at least Figures 13-14 | [0090-0091]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Tashiro into Rodriguez in view of Iwama. This provides the ability to convey a route (and other routes) to a driver.
Claims 10, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez (DE 102019115712 A1) in view of Iwama (US 2018/0246515 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yamada (US 2019/0176813 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Rodriguez in view of Iwama do not specifically teach wherein the target route does not include a first section in which a first route and a second route overlap each other by a predetermined distance in the traveling route.
It is known for target routes to vary from traveling routes. For example, Yamada teaches a system wherein the target route (see Figure 5) does not include a first section (see the end of TR_actual before WP _shift in Figure 5) in which a first route and a second route overlap each other by a predetermined distance in the traveling route (see Figure 4 | Figure 9, item TR1-9 | [0067]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Yamada into Rodriguez in view of Iwama. This provides the ability to integrate overlapping routes and create a smooth (shorter) transition.
Regarding claim 11, Rodriguez in view of Iwama and Yamada teach wherein the vehicle travels forward in the first route, and the vehicle travels backward in the second route (see at least Figures 4-5 of Yamada).
Regarding claim 15, Rodriguez in view of Iwama and Yamada teach further comprising: cutting unnecessary routes before and after the first turning point in the traveling route, in order to generate the target route (see at least Figures 4-5 of Yamada, note removal of unnecessary routes).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 16, Rodriguez (DE 102019115712 A1), Iwama (US 2018/0246515 A1), Tashiro (US 2020/0346639 A1) and Yamada (US 2019/0176813 A1) do not disclose and/or fairly suggest further comprising: in the cutting of the unnecessary routes, identifying, according to connection conditions, a first point and a second point, the first turning point being included between the first point and the second point on the traveling route, wherein the connection conditions include a difference in the orientation of the vehicle at the first point and the second point in the traveling route being less than a first threshold, and a distance between the first point and the second point being less than a second threshold, and the driving assistance method determines a connection position between the first point and the second point as a second turning point in the target route instead of the first turning point in the traveling route, in order to generate the target route.
Claims 17-20 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed March 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s remarks concerning IDS dated November 19, 2024, it has been considered.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments concerning the nonstatutory double patenting rejection, claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/105,496, the stored traveling route in the training traveling mode can be the same as the target route in the automatic traveling mode. That is, a first number of turns of the vehicle in the training traveling mode is same as a second number of turns of the vehicle in the automatic traveling mode. In addition, claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/105,496 recites “wherein the target route is a shortcut route of the traveling route”, see claim 4, dated December 20, 2024. That is, the route can be slightly left or right of the traveling route which keeps the target route’s turning points/positions off the traveling route’s turning points/positions. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
It is noted that claim 16, if incorporated in its entirety into the independent claims, would overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Applicant asserts “The Applicant-Initiated Interview Summary asserts that, since RODRIGUEZ teaches reducing a total length of the trajectory, RODRIGUEZ necessarily discloses/teaches that turning points are in different locations. Applicant respectfully disagrees with the propriety of such assertion. Nothing in RODRIGUEZ discloses or teaches that an initial traveling route includes a first turning point at a first position, while the optimized trajectory does not include the first turning point at the first position (with the initial traveling route and the optimized trajectory including a same number of turns). Indeed, RODRIGUEZ is completely silent about moving turning points to different locations (while also keeping a same number of turns).”
In response, when Rodriguez keeps the amount of turns the same as the traveling route, but shortens the route, the target route shifts from to the left of the traveling route (see annotated Figure 2 below). Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689