DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Appleby et al (“Appleby”, US 20070156898).
Regarding Claim 1, Appleby teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor (par 2; Although a processor is not explicitly stated, it is inherent that a server comprises a processor and memory.);
and at least one memory including instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (par 2; Although a processor is not explicitly stated, it is inherent that a server comprises a processor and memory.):
send, toward a control function, a request to establish a publish-subscribe control session between a publish-subscribe client and the control function (par 8-14; The control function is the requested publish or subscribe function. The publish-subscribe control session is the access to the requested publish or subscribe function.);
receive, based on the publish-subscribe control session, a response identifying a data function to be used by the publish-subscribe client for a publish-subscribe data session (par 8-14; The data function is also the requested publish or subscribe function. The publish-subscribe control session is the access to the requested publish or subscribe function. The publish-subscribe data session is also the access to the requested publish or subscribe function.);
and send, toward the data function, a request to establish the publish-subscribe data session between the publish-subscribe client and the data function (par 8-14; The data function is also the requested publish or subscribe function. The publish-subscribe data session is also the access to the requested publish or subscribe function.).
Regarding Claim 2, Appleby teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Appleby further teaches wherein the request to establish the publish-subscribe control session is sent over a connection between the publish-subscribe client and the control function and using a message of a publish-subscribe protocol (par 8-14; The control function is the requested publish or subscribe function. The publish-subscribe control session is the access to the requested publish or subscribe function. The message is the request.).
Regarding Claim 3, Appleby teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Appleby further teaches wherein the request to establish the publish-subscribe control session includes a parameter specified for the publish-subscribe data session, wherein the data function is selected from a set of available data functions based on the parameter specified for the publish-subscribe data session (par 8-14; The data function is the requested publish or subscribe function. The publish-subscribe control session is the access to the requested publish or subscribe function. The publish-subscribe data session is also the access to the requested publish or subscribe function. The parameter is the communication path used.).
Regarding Claim 4, Appleby teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
Appleby further teaches wherein the parameter specified for the publish-subscribe data session includes at least one of
a content type of content to be communicated on the publish-subscribe data session,
a client type of the publish-subscribe client,
or a location of the publish-subscribe client (par 8-14; The data function is the requested publish or subscribe function. The parameter is the communication path used.).
Regarding Claim 5, Appleby teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Appleby further teaches wherein the request to establish the publish-subscribe data session is sent over a connection between the publish-subscribe client and the data function and using a message of a publish-subscribe protocol (par 8-14; The data function is the requested publish or subscribe function. The publish-subscribe data session is also the access to the requested publish or subscribe function. The message is the request.).
Regarding Claim 6, Appleby teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Appleby further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: send, toward the data function based on the publish-subscribe data session, a request to publish content or a request to subscribe to content (par 8-14; The data function is the requested publish or subscribe function. The message is the request. The publish-subscribe data session is also the access to the requested publish or subscribe function.).
Regarding Claim 7, Appleby teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Appleby further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive a message identifying a second data function to be used by the publish-subscribe client for the publish-subscribe data session (par 8-14; The second data function is the requested publish or subscribe function for another request of a different communication path used.);
and send, toward the second data function, a request to establish the publish-subscribe data session between the publish-subscribe client and the second data function (par 8-14; The second data function is the requested publish or subscribe function for another request of a different communication path used. The publish-subscribe data session is also the access to the requested publish or subscribe function.).
Regarding Claim 8, Appleby teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
Appleby further teaches wherein the message identifying the second data function is received via the publish-subscribe control session (par 8-14; The second data function is the requested publish or subscribe function for another request of a different communication path used. The publish-subscribe control session is the access to the requested publish or subscribe function.).
Regarding Claim 9, Appleby teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
Appleby further teaches wherein the message identifying the second data function is received via the publish-subscribe data session (par 8-14; The second data function is the requested publish or subscribe function for another request of a different communication path used. The publish-subscribe data session is also the access to the requested publish or subscribe function.).
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Smith et al (US 20190141143), Abstract - There is disclosed in one example a data exchange layer (DXL) broker, including: a network interface to communicatively couple to a data exchange layer (DXL), the DXL including an enterprise service bus (ESB) configured to provide one-to-one device communications over a publish-subscribe fabric; hardware including at least a processor; and instructions encoded on one or more computer-readable mediums to instruct the processor to provide DXL broker software configured to: receive a DXL request message via the DXL, the request message directed to a DXL service; determine that the DXL service is available; and forward the request message to a DXL endpoint via the DXL.
Sherman et al (US 20180309831), Abstract - An Internet of Things (IoT) system may include a publisher computer connected to IoT devices. The publisher computer may execute operations to provide data for the IoT devices to a remote computer which may be included in a cloud infrastructure. The publisher computer can receive data from the IoT devices, convert the data to a publisher-subscriber format that conforms to a predetermined specification, and transmit the data to the cloud infrastructure or other remote computers.
Rahman et al (US 20060123116), Abstract - One or more system components participate in a SIP-enabled service discovery protocol. Participation includes using SIP capability to publish, subscribe to, and/or notify of services using: (a) a service description formatted according to a predefined service discovery protocol; and/or (b) a service description query formatted according to the predefined service discovery protocol. The predefined service discovery protocol can be SLP. The system component can be a service providing device, a service subscribing device, and/or a network node. Service subscribing devices can use subscribe and notify components of a SIP event package to send service description queries and obtain service descriptions. Service providing devices can advertise service descriptions using the SIP publish method. Network nodes can propagate service advertisements downstream using the SIP publish method, and/or can inform subscribing devices of services using the notify component of the SIP event package.
Hinton et al (US 20130227140), Abstract - A proxy is integrated within an F-SSO environment and interacts with an external identity provider (IdP) instance discovery service. The proxy proxies IdP instance requests to the discovery service and receives responses that include the IdP instance assignments. The proxy maintains a cache of the instance assignment(s). As new instance requests are received, the cached assignment data is used to provide appropriate responses in lieu of proxying these requests to the discovery service, thereby reducing the time needed to identify the required IdP instance. The proxy dynamically maintains and manages its cache by subscribing to updates from the discovery service. The updates identify IdP instance changes (such as servers being taken offline for maintenance, new services being added, etc.) occurring within the set of geographically-distributed instances that comprise the IdP service. The updates are provided via a publication-subscription model such that the proxy receives change notifications proactively.
Kim et al (US 20120166556), Abstract - A method, a device, and a system for real-time publish subscribe (RTPS) discovery based on a distributed hash table (DHT) are provided. The method for RTPS discovery based on a DHT includes: registering, by a participant peer of participants, the participants in a distributed hash table (DHT) of an overlay network; obtaining location information on relative participants to be discovered from the DHT; sharing information on entities of the relative participants by exchanging a discovery message with the participant peer based on the location information on the obtained relative participants; and performing handshaking between the entities of the participants and the entities of the relative participants. Therefore, the exemplary embodiments of the present invention can rapidly and efficiently perform the discover of the participants based on the DHT.
/RAQIUL A CHOUDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2444