DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to the Amendment to Application # 18/891,907 filed on April 7, 2026 in which claims 1 and 2 were amended and claim 13 was added.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending, which are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §§ 112(b) and 103.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a first control unit that performs drive control of an electric motor for driving an electric vehicle on the basis of first electric power” and “performs protection processing for protecting a target from the induced voltage using the induced voltage.” (Emphasis added). Each of these limitations appears to recite a function (i.e., perform a drive control and perform protection processing) followed by a statement of the use of that function. In other words, the claims do not appear to affirmatively require the vehicle to be driven on the basis of the first electric power or actually protecting a target from the induced voltage.
“An intended use or purpose usually will not limit the scope of the claim because such statements usually do no more than define a context in which the invention operates.” Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. v. Schering-Plough Corp., 320 F.3d 1339, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Although “[s]uch statements often . . . appear in the claim’s preamble,” In re Stencel, 828 F.2d 751, 754 (Fed. Cir. 1987), a statement of intended use or purpose can appear elsewhere in a claim. Id; Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see also Roberts v. Ryer, 91 U.S. 150, 157 (1875) (‘The inventor of a machine is entitled to the benefit of all the uses to which it can be put, no matter whether he had conceived the idea of the use or not.’). Thus, it is usually improper to construe non-functional claim terms in system claims in a way that makes infringement or validity turn on their function. Paragon Solutions, LLC v. Timex Corp., 566 F.3d 1075, 1091 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, this claim includes the limitation “performs protection processing for protecting a target from the induced voltage using the induced voltage.” This appears to be a machine translation and contains idiomatic errors. For instance, it is unclear how a target can be protected from an induced voltage, which implies separation, by using the voltage, which implies keeping the two together. Therefore, the examiner cannot determine the metes and bounds of this limitation, rendering it indefinite.
Regarding claims 2-13, these claims depend from claim 1 and, therefore, inherit the rejection of that claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al., US Publication 2007/0216452 (hereinafter Matsumoto) in view of McGettrick et al., US Publication 2019/0017311 (hereinafter McGettrick).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto discloses an in-vehicle control device (Matsumoto Fig. 3) comprising “a first control unit that performs drive control of an electric motor for driving an electric vehicle on the basis of first electric power; and a second control unit that performs predetermined drive control on the basis of second electric power smaller than the first electric power” (Matsumoto ¶¶ 5, 18) by disclosing a hybrid motorcycle (Matsumoto ¶ 18), where Matsumoto describes the hybrid vehicle has having two batteries, a high voltage battery and a low voltage battery. (Matsumoto ¶ 5, see also Matsumoto ¶ 36). Matsumoto Abstract states that this motor is a drive motor (i.e., for driving an electric vehicle). Further, Matsumoto discloses “wherein the first control unit performs the drive control of the electric motor by receiving the first electric power and the second electric power” (Matsumoto ¶¶ 21, 36) where the controls of the functions of each the high and low voltage batteries are performed.
Matsumoto does not appear to explicitly disclose “in a case of receiving an induced voltage of the electric motor while the first electric power and the second electric power are not received, performs protection processing for protecting a target from the induced voltage using the induced voltage.”
However, McGettrick discloses a control device comprising “a first control unit that performs drive control of an … motor for driving a .. vehicle, on the basis of first electric power” (McGettrick ¶ 51) by disclosing the presence of a motor vehicle, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand to control the performance of driving the vehicle on the basis of electric power supplied by a standard 12 volt car battery. Additionally, on the basis of first electric power discloses “a second control unit that performs predetermined drive control on the basis of second electric power smaller than the first electric power” (McGettrick ¶¶ 53, 59) where electric motor 22 controls power drive unit 12 (McGettrick ¶ 53) and example is given of the power being 5 volts (McGettrick ¶ 59), which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand to be less than the 12 volts of a standard 12 volt car battery. Finally, McGettrick discloses “in a case of receiving an induced voltage of the electric motor while the first electric power and the second electric power are not received, performs protection processing for protecting a target from the induced voltage using the induced voltage” (McGettrick ¶ 63) where detection of the back electromotive force (i.e., an induced voltage) from the motor caused by the manual opening of the lift gate causes a wake up signal to be processed in order to “dissipate the electrical output of the power drive unit” (McGettrick ¶ 14).
Matsumoto and McGettrick are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of vehicle electrical systems.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Matsumoto and McGettrick before him or her to modify the high and low voltage battery systems of Matsumoto to include the back EMF protection of McGettrick.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide safety mechanisms for auxiliary functions of the vehicle. (McGettrick ¶ 84).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “the first control unit executes startup processing on the basis of the induced voltage and performs the protection processing on the basis of a result of the startup processing” (McGettrick ¶ 63) where a wake up action is “startup processing.”
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 2 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “the startup processing includes determining whether the drive control of the electric motor is possible” (McGettrick ¶ 71) by confirming wakeup capability.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 2 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “the first control unit starts the startup processing in response to an absolute value of the induced voltage reaching a first threshold, and starts the protection processing in response to the absolute value reaching a second threshold larger than the first threshold” (McGettrick ¶¶ 59, 63) where the comparator “indicat[es] which of the negative comparator input 42 and the positive comparator input 44 is larger,” which a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as an absolute value (McGettrick ¶ 59), the value of which is then compared to a threshold (McGettrick ¶ 63).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses the control device of claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “a wheel.” (Matsumoto ¶ 18). Additionally, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “an electric motor for rotating the wheel.” (Matsumoto ¶ 19). Finally, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “a battery unit that generates the first electric power.” (Matsumoto ¶ 21).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 6 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “a second battery unit that generates the second electric power” (McGettrick ¶¶ 53, 59) where electric motor 22 controls power drive unit 12 (McGettrick ¶ 53)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 6 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “a motor driver that receives a control signal from the first control unit and the first electric power and drives the electric motor” (Matsumoto ¶ 21) where the control of a function of the high voltage battery is performed.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 6 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “a start unit for bringing the vehicle into a starting state, wherein the second control unit is configured to be able to receive the second electric power in a state in which the start unit allows the vehicle to start” (McGettrick ¶ 63) where detection of the back electromotive force (i.e., an induced voltage) caused by the manual opening of the lift gate causes a wake up signal to be processed in order to “dissipate the electrical output of the power drive unit” (McGettrick ¶ 14).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 6 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “the second control unit performs drive control of an auxiliary machine on the basis of the second electric power” (McGettrick ¶ 52) where the auxiliary machine may be, but is not limited to, a lift gate, a tail gate, a sliding closure, or a window.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 6 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “the vehicle is a straddle type vehicle” (Matsumoto ¶ 18) where a motorcycle is “a straddle type vehicle.”
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 11 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “the vehicle is a two-wheeled vehicle” (Matsumoto ¶ 18) where a motorcycle is “a straddle type vehicle.”
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 11 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses “wherein the first control unit determines a state of the vehicle based on presence/absence of the second electric power, and performs the protection processing based on a determination result” (McGettrick Abstract, ¶¶ 61, 64) where the control unit determines a state of the control unit in the form of determining whether to wake the control unit or not, which necessarily requires determining that the control unit is not awake. (McGettrick Abstract). McGettrick further discloses that this may occur via a dedicated wake connection, meaning that the presence of an electric power causes the system wake up and, therefore, perform the determination. (McGettrick ¶ 61). Finally, McGettrick discloses that the protection occurs based on whether the wake-up trigger input was received. (McGettrick ¶ 64). A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would have recognized that when McGettrick was combined with Matsumoto, this process of McGettrick would be applied to the vehicle of Matsumoto.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto in view of McGettrick, as applied to claim1 above, and in further view of Plaideau et al., US Publication 2015/0130383 (hereinafter Plaideau).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, the combination of Matsumoto and McGettrick does not appear to explicitly disclose “the protection processing includes making phase voltages of a stator coil of the electric motor equal to each other.”
However, Plaideau discloses a vehicle electrical system including protection processing, “the protection processing includes making phase voltages of a stator coil of the electric motor equal to each other” (Plaideau Claim 1) where discharging the energy (i.e., the protection processing) is performed by making the two voltages substantially equal.
Matsumoto, McGettrick, and Plaideau are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor,” namely that of vehicle electrical systems.
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Matsumoto, McGettrick, and Plaideau before him or her to modify the electrical protection system of Matsumoto and McGettrick to include the equal voltage of Plaideau.
The motivation for doing so would have been to further enhance the safety of the device during electrical discharge. (Plaideau ¶ 53).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 7, 2026, with respect to the objection to the title (Remarks 6) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the title has been withdrawn.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed April 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant argues “Matsumoto fails to teach or suggest a back electromotive force that occurs in a motor that is used for driving a vehicle” and “McGettrick fails to teach or suggest a back electromotive force generated by the motor that is used for driving the vehicle.” (Remarks 7-8).
First, in response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Second, in response to Applicant's argument that “McGettrick fails to teach or suggest a back electromotive force generated by the motor that is used for driving the vehicle,” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
/ANDREW R DYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662