CTNF 18/891,914 CTNF 97316 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-22-07 The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 63 as seen in FIG. 8. 160 as seen in FIG. 18A. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: SLOTLESS ROTARY ELECTRIC MACHINE WITH COIL POSITION RESTRICTION MEMBER Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent No. 2013-118752 to Takeuchi (provided by Applicant on 9/20/2024) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0152128 to Takano et al. (hereinafter Takano) . Regarding claim 1, Takeuchi teaches a rotary electric machine (FIG. 1A, 10) comprising: a field element (FIG. 1A, 20) having magnetic poles (FIG. 1A, 200); an armature (FIG. 1A, 15) having a toothless structure (Paragraph [0016]), the armature including a multiphase armature winding (FIG. 1A; 100A, 100b), the field element and the armature facing each other in a radial direction of the rotary electric machine (FIG. 1A; 15, 20); a winding holding member (FIG. 1A, 115) having a cylindrical shape, the armature winding being attached to the winding holding member such that conductor portions of the armature winding are arranged in a circumferential direction of the rotary electric machine; a cylindrical covering member (FIG. 11A, 270) provided on a coil side of the armature that faces the field element in the radial direction, the cylindrical covering member having a cylindrical shape and covering the conductor portions of the armature winding, the conductor portions of the armature winding are interposed between the winding holding member and the cylindrical covering member (Paragraph [0034]); and a resin layer including a coil side resin portion (Paragraph [0032]-[0034]) filling a gap between the winding holding member and the cylindrical covering member on the coil side , and a coil end resin portion (FIG. 1A, 130) covering a portion of the armature winding on the coil end and being continuous with the coil side resin portion in an axial direction of the rotary electric machine (Paragraph [0016]). Takeuchi does not teach a position restriction member provided on a coil end of the armature, the position restriction member being a portion of the winding holding member or fixed to the winding holding member, and configured to restrict displacement of the armature winding in the circumferential direction relative to the winding holding member. However, Takano teaches a position restriction member (FIG. 5, 30) provided on a coil end of an armature, the position restriction member being fixed to the winding holding member (Paragraph [0042]), and configured to restrict displacement of the armature winding in the circumferential direction relative to the winding holding member (Paragraph [0034]-[0037]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary electric machine of Takeuchi with the teachings of Takano to add a position restriction member to further secure the positioning of the toothless armature windings. Regarding claim 2, Takeuchi in view of Takano teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Takeuchi further teaches the cylindrical covering member being formed of a non-magnetic material (Paragraph [0034]). Regarding claim 3, Takeuchi in view of Takano teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Takeuchi further teaches the cylindrical covering member being a long member having an elongated shape (FIG. 11A, 270) and wound around outer peripheries of the conductor portions (Paragraph [0032]). Regarding claim 5, Takeuchi in view of Takano teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Takeuchi further teaches each of the conductor portions being formed of gathered conductor wires (Paragraph [0009]), each of the conductor portions having a quadrangular shape in cross section (FIG. 3A, 100A), and the resin being interposed between each of the conductor portions and the cylindrical covering member facing each other in the radial direction (Paragraph [0032]-[0034]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Takano and in further view of Japanese Patent No. 2002-101591 to Yoshizawa (provided by Applicant on 9/20/2024) . Regarding claim 4, Takeuchi in view of Takano teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Takeuchi further teaches each of the conductor portions being formed of gathered conductor wires (Paragraph [0009]), each of the conductor portions having a quadrangular shape in cross section (FIG. 3A, 100A). Takeuchi in view of Takano does not teach the resin being interposed between each of the conductor portions and the winding holding member facing each other in the radial direction. However, Yoshizawa teaches a resin (FIG. 3(a), 5) interposed between conductor portions (FIG. 3(a), 2) and a winding holding member (FIG. 2(a), 1) facing each other in the radial direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary electric machine of Takeuchi in view of Takano with the teachings of Yoshizawa to provide resin between the conductor portions and the winding holding member to further physically protect the winding (Paragraph [0005]). Regarding claim 7, Takeuchi teaches a method of manufacturing a rotary electric machine (FIG. 1A, 10), the rotary electric machine including a field element (FIG. 1A, 20) having magnetic poles (FIG. 1A, 200), and an armature (FIG. 1A, 15) having a toothless structure (Paragraph [0016]), the armature including a multiphase armature winding (FIG. 1A; 100A, 100B), the field element and the armature being arranged to face each other in a radial direction of the rotary electric machine, the method comprising: attaching the armature winding to a winding holding member (FIG. 1A, 115) having a cylindrical shape to cause conductor portions of the armature winding to be arranged in a circumferential direction of the rotary electric machine; attaching a cylindrical covering member (FIG. 11A, 270) to a side of each of the conductor portions facing away from the winding holding member such that the cylindrical covering member covers a coil side of the armature winding that faces the field element in the radial direction (Paragraph [0034]); and filling a gap between the winding holding member and the cylindrical covering member with resin (Paragraph [0032]-[0034]), wherein the filling the gap with resin includes forming a resin layer including a coil side resin portion filling a gap between each of the conductor portions and the cylindrical covering member with the resin on the coil side of the armature without filling a gap between the cylindrical covering member and the field element with the resin (Paragraph [0032]-[0034]), and a coil end resin portion (FIG. 1A, 130) covering a portion of the armature winding on the coil end of the armature and being continuous with the coil side resin portion in an axial direction of the rotary electric machine (Paragraph [0016]). Takeuchi does not teach restricting displacement of the armature winding relative to the winding holding member with a position restriction member provided on a coil end of the armature, the position restriction member being a portion of the winding holding member or fixed to the winding holding member, and a coil side resin portion filling a gap between the winding holding member and each of the conductor portions. However, Takano teaches restricting displacement of an armature winding relative to the winding holding member (Paragraph [0034]-[0037] with a position restriction member (FIG. 5, 30) provided on a coil end of an armature, the position restriction member being fixed to the winding holding member (Paragraph [0042]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Takeuchi with the teachings of Takano to add a position restriction member to further secure the positioning of the toothless armature windings. Takeuchi in view of Takano does not teach a coil side resin portion filling a gap between the winding holding member and each of the conductor portions. However, Yoshizawa teaches a resin (FIG. 3(a), 5) interposed between conductor portions (FIG. 3(a), 2) and a winding holding member (FIG. 2(a), 1) facing each other in the radial direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Takeuchi in view of Takano with the teachings of Yoshizawa to provide resin between the conductor portions and the winding holding member to further physically protect the winding (Paragraph [0005]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi in view of Takano and in further view of Japanese Patent No. 2021-044916 to Tamura (provided by Applicant on 9/20/2024) . Regarding claim 6, Takeuchi in view of Takano teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Takeuchi further teaches the armature winding faces the field element in an air gap forming range (Paragraph [0016]; [0034]), the air gap forming range being a predetermined range extending in the axial direction, the armature winding has a first end portion (FIG. 5A, 100ACE1) that is one of opposite ends of the armature winding in the axial direction, and a second end portion (FIG. 5A, 100ACE2) that is another of the opposite ends in the axial direction, the cylindrical covering member extending toward the second end portion up to a boundary position of the air gap forming range, and extends toward the first end portion up to a position before another boundary position of the air gap forming range (FIG. 11A, 270), the resin not being provided on a face of the cylindrical covering member facing the field element (Paragraph [0032]-[0034]). Takeuchi in view of Takano does not teach the first end portion including a bent portion bent toward the field element in the radial direction. However, Tamura teaches a first end portion of a coil (FIG. 84, 740A) having a bent portion (FIG. 84, 745) bent toward the field element in the radial direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary electric machine of Takeuchi in view of Takano with the teachings of Tamura to bend the end portion of the coil as this structure results in a more rigid structure for the coils (Paragraph [0543]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSHUA KIEL MIGUEL RODRIGUEZ whose telephone number is (571)272-9881. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:30am - 7:00pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached at (571) 272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/891,914 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/891,914 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/891,914 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/891,914 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/891,914 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/891,914 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/891,914 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/891,914 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834