CTFR 18/891,993 CTFR 76282 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-20 are presented for examination Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 7 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed May 8, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11, and 20 under U.S.C. 10 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained. Applicant argued that the reference does not teach detect whether current consumption from the first voltage rail is greater than or equal to a current threshold, but rather a voltage detection that exceeds a limit. It is a common knowledge that power is related to voltage and current. For example, in paraphrase 0052 of the reference, it shows that the power consumption of the rail is related to the current flow and the voltage as shown below. [0052] In this example, current cross-conduction can only occur in one direction between the memory supply power rail 504 M with the higher memory voltage V.sub.DD(M) to the logic supply power rail 504 L with the lower logic voltage V.sub.DD(L). Thus, the diode drop control circuit 600 is configured to regulate the voltage on the output power rail 506 in a forward bias configuration in this example. For example, with the memory voltage V.sub.DD(M) on the memory supply power rail 504 M being higher than the logic voltage V.sub.DD(L) on the logic supply power rail 504 L, the diode drop control circuit 600 will be in a forward bias configuration. The diode drop control circuit 600 is configured to allow current to flow from the memory supply power rail 504 M to the output power rail 506 to maintain an output voltage V.sub.DD(A) on the output power rail 506 . In one example, the diode drop control circuit 600 is configured to regulate the output voltage V.sub.DD(A) on the output power rail 506 to a threshold voltage of the diode drop control circuit 600 less than the memory voltage V.sub.DD(M). As the output voltage V.sub.DD(A) on the output power rail 506 discharges to the threshold voltage of the diode drop control circuit 600 less than the memory voltage V.sub.DD(M), the diode drop control circuit 600 will allow current to flow to maintain the voltage (e.g., 0.8 V) to a threshold voltage (e.g., 0.2 V) of the diode drop control circuit 600 less than the memory voltage V.sub.DD(M) (e.g., 1 V). In this manner, the output voltage V.sub.DD(A) is continuously provided to the memory array 508 during the diode drop operation mode even when switching the coupling of the memory supply power rail 504 M to the logic supply power rail 504 L, to the output power rail 506 , but without creating a current cross-conduction path between the memory supply power rail 504 M to the logic supply power rail 504 L. To reduce power consumption during the diode drop operation mode, the memory array 508 may be configured to be in a retention or reduced power consumption state where only leakage currents are drawn from the output power rail 506 in a non-limiting example. In addition to that, Lee teaches in Figure 2, the power level detector 205 of the first rail VCC_INT is used to measure current at the rail with the usage of current limiter 222. Where the overall process is used to limit peak current at the rail. To help with the prosecution of this application, additional rejection is given below for independent claims 1 and 11 Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA ((a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Swope (US Patent Application 20060242435) . As per claim 1 , Swope teaches an apparatus [ 10, fig. 1 ] for power control, comprising: a memory [ 18a, fig. 1 ] configured to consume power from a first voltage rail [ 50a, fig. 1 ] [0018, 0023, as pointed out the loads 18a, 18b, and 18c can be memory, CPUs, and other subsystems where they consume power from specific power rail. For example, controller 12 is coupled to loads 18a-18c by paths 50a-50c, respectively]. a controller [ 12, fig. 1 ] configured to: detect whether current consumption from the first voltage rail is greater than or equal to a current threshold [0020-0021, 0023, as pointed out current consumed by each loaded is determined. For example, if the current used by load 18a is greater than the currents used by loads 18b and 18c, then controller 12 couples voltage value Va to load 18a. If the current used by load 18b is greater than the currents used by loads 18a and 18c, then controller 12 couples voltage value Vb to load 18b. If the current used by load 18c is greater than the currents used by loads 18a and 18b, then controller 12 couples voltage value Vc to load 18c ]. determine whether a voltage of a second voltage rail is greater than a voltage threshold in response to the current consumption being greater than or equal to the current threshold [0023,0029 , figures 2 and 4 as pointed out it can be determined when the voltage of one rail that connect the load is greater than specific amount, For example, the condition for the variable comparison for voltage source 14a is that A1 must be greater than or equal to A2 and A1 must be greater than or equal to A3 ]. cause the memory to consume current from the second voltage rail instead of the first voltage rail based on the voltage being greater than the voltage threshold [0023, 0029, figures 2 and 4, when the current consumed by one load is greater than specific value, then the controller do a rail change to manage power consumption. For example, controller 12 sends a switching duty cycle signal to controller 20a that enables voltage source 14a to provide voltage Va at output terminal 40a, and controller 12 activates switch 16a and ensures that switches 16b and 16c are deactivated, in order to couple voltage Va at output terminal 40a to load 18a ]. As per claim 11 , they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claim 11 is also anticipated by Swope for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1,3-4, 8-11, 13-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Sridhar (US Patent Application 20170346299) . As per claims 1, 10, and 15 , Sridhar teaches an apparatus [ 1400, fig. 14 ] for power control, comprising: a memory [ 1426, fig. 14 ] configured to consume power from a first voltage rail [ 1404M, fig. 14 ] [0006, 0074, as pointed out and shown from the listed paragraphs, figure 1 corresponds to figure 14, where memory 1426 is viewed as powered circuit 106 that is coupled to a power rail such as the first power rail based on operating condition]. a controller [ 400, fig. 4 ] configured to: detect whether current consumption from the first voltage rail is greater than or equal to a current threshold [0031, 0038, as pointed out the first supply power rail 204(1) may be configured to supply the first voltage V.sub.DD(1) capable of exceeding the minimum retention voltage for the powered circuit 208 which is the same as current consumption exceeding threshold. Where a comparator is used in the control circuit 222 of figure 4A to make the decision]. determine whether a voltage of a second voltage rail is greater than a voltage threshold in response to the current consumption being greater than or equal to the current threshold [0031, as pointed out, if the second voltage V.sub.DD(N) is higher than the minimum retention voltage of the powered circuit 208, the power multiplexing system 200 can switch the coupling of second voltage V.sub.DD(N) , which is the same as current consumption exceeding threshold. Where a comparator is used in the control circuit 222 of figure 4A to make the decision]. cause the memory to consume current from the second voltage rail instead of the first voltage rail based on the voltage being greater than the voltage threshold [0031, as pointed out if the second voltage V.sub.DD(N) is higher than the minimum retention voltage of the powered circuit 208, the power multiplexing system 200 can switch the coupling of second voltage V.sub.DD(N) to the output power rail 206 to multiplex the second voltage V.sub.DD(N) to the powered circuit 208 for operation . As pointed out when the second voltage is higher power can be provided from the second rail]. As per claim 11 , Shridhar teaches, a method [ 300, fig. 3 ] for power control, comprising: consuming, via a memory, power from a first voltage rail [0006, 0074, power is supplying to the memory via the first power rail]. detecting, via a controller, whether current consumption from the first voltage rail is greater than or equal to a current threshold [0031, 0038, as pointed out the first supply power rail 204(1) may be configured to supply the first voltage V.sub.DD(1) capable of exceeding the minimum retention voltage for the powered circuit 208 which is the same as current consumption exceeding threshold. Where a comparator is used in the control circuit 222 of figure 4A to make the decision]. determining, via the controller, whether a voltage of a second voltage rail is greater than a voltage threshold in response to the current consumption being greater than or equal to the current threshold [0031, as pointed out, if the second voltage V.sub.DD(N) is higher than the minimum retention voltage of the powered circuit 208, the power multiplexing system 200 can switch the coupling of second voltage V.sub.DD(N) , which is the same as current consumption exceeding threshold. Where a comparator is used in the control circuit 222 of figure 4A to make the decision]. causing, via the controller, the memory to consume current from the second voltage rail instead of the first voltage rail based on the voltage being greater than the voltage threshold [0031, as pointed out if the second voltage V.sub.DD(N) is higher than the minimum retention voltage of the powered circuit 208, the power multiplexing system 200 can switch the coupling of second voltage V.sub.DD(N) to the output power rail 206 to multiplex the second voltage V.sub.DD(N) to the powered circuit 208 for operation . As pointed out when the second voltage is higher power can be provided from the second rail]. As per clam 20 , Shridhar teaches an electronic device [ 1400, fig. 14 ] comprising: a memory [ 1426, fig. 14 ] configured to consume power from a memory voltage rail [ 1404M, fig. 14 ] [0074, as shown in figure 14, memory power rail 1404M supply voltage to memory 1426]. a central processing unit (CPU) [ 1412, fig. 14 ] configured to consume power from a CPU voltage rail [ 1404L, fig. 14 ] [0074, as shown in figure 14, logic supply power rail provides power to the processor]. a cache [ 1408, fig. 14 ] associated with the CPU and configured to consume power from the memory voltage rail [0074, as shown in figure 14 the processor include cash 1408 the processor receives power from the logic power supply rail]. a controller [ 400, fig. 4 ] configured to: detect whether current consumption from the memory voltage rail is greater than or equal to a current threshold [0031, 0038, as pointed out the first supply power rail 204(1) may be configured to supply the first voltage V.sub.DD(1) capable of exceeding the minimum retention voltage for the powered circuit 208 which is the same as current consumption exceeding threshold. Where a comparator is used in the control circuit 222 of figure 4A to make the decision]. determine whether a voltage of the CPU voltage rail is greater than a voltage threshold in response to the current consumption being greater than or equal to the current threshold [0031, as pointed out, if the second voltage V.sub.DD(N) is higher than the minimum retention voltage of the powered circuit 208, the power multiplexing system 200 can switch the coupling of second voltage V.sub.DD(N) , which is the same as current consumption exceeding threshold. Where a comparator is used in the control circuit 222 of figure 4A to make the decision]. cause the cache to consume current from the CPU voltage rail instead of the memory voltage rail based on the voltage being greater than the voltage threshold [0031, as pointed out if the second voltage V.sub.DD(N) is higher than the minimum retention voltage of the powered circuit 208, the power multiplexing system 200 can switch the coupling of second voltage V.sub.DD(N) to the output power rail 206 to multiplex the second voltage V.sub.DD(N) to the powered circuit 208 for operation . As pointed out when the second voltage is higher power can be provided from the second rail]. As per claim 3 , Sridhar teaches the memory is associated with a CPU [ 1412, fig. 14 ] [as shown in figure 14, CPU 1412]. As per claim 4 , Shridhar teaches the CPU memory comprises a cache [ 1408, fig. 14 ] for the CPU [as shown in figure 14. Cash 1408 is associated or connected to CPU 1412]. As per claim 8 , Shridhar teaches the controller is configured to cause the memory to consume current from the second voltage rail instead of throttling one or more components configured to consume power from the first voltage rail [0031, as pointed out, if the second voltage V.sub.DD(N) is higher than the minimum retention voltage of the powered circuit 208, the power multiplexing system 200 can switch the coupling of second voltage V.sub.DD(N) to the output power rail 206 to multiplex the second voltage V.sub.DD(N) to the powered circuit 208 for operation ]. As per claim 9 , Shridhar teaches the memory comprises a cache [ 1408, fig. 14 ] for a central processing unit (CPU) [ 1412, fig. 14 ] [as shown in figure 14, CACHE is connected to CPU 1412]. As per claim 10 , Shridhar teaches further comprising another memory [ 1428, fig. 14 ], wherein the first voltage rail is coupled to a power supply input of the other memory [0074, 0075, fig. 14, memory controller provide access to memory 1428 where memory 1428 receive power from the memory power rail 1404M via multiplexer 1401]. As per claims 13-14 and 18-19 , they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claim 13-14 and 18-19 are also anticipated by Shridhar for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 6, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sridhar (US Patent Application 20170346299) in the view of Lee (US Patent Application 20150058644) . As per claim 2 , Sridhar does not teach the controller is configured to detect whether the current consumption is greater than or equal to the current threshold by detecting whether the current consumption is at a peak current capability associated with the first voltage rail. However, Lee teaches the controller is configured to detect whether the current consumption is greater than or equal to the current threshold by detecting whether the current consumption is at a peak current capability associated with the first voltage rail [0019-0020, as shown in figure 2, as pointed out the first voltage rail to a current monitor circuit that detects the current level and perform a comparison for peak current]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Sridhar to include the method of Lee to add a peak current detection circuit in order to detect peak current and compare to specific threshold. As per claim 6 , Shridhar does not teach the controller is further configured to cause the voltage of the second voltage rail to increase above the voltage threshold based on the determination that the voltage of the second voltage rail is less than the voltage threshold. the controller is configured to cause the memory to consume the current from the second voltage rail after the voltage of the second voltage rail has been increased above the voltage threshold. However, Lee teaches the controller is further configured to cause the voltage of the second voltage rail to increase above the voltage threshold based on the determination that the voltage of the second voltage rail is less than the voltage threshold [0020, increase voltage level based on comparator decision]. the controller is configured to cause the memory to consume the current from the second voltage rail after the voltage of the second voltage rail has been increased above the voltage threshold [0022, as shown in figure 2, the activation enable power to be supply to the memory]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Sridhar to include the method of Lee to allow the increase of the voltage of the rail based on comparison. As per claims 12 and 16 , they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claims 12 and 16 are also rejected as being unpatentable over Sridhar in view of Lee for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above . Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VOLVICK DEROSE whose telephone number is (571)272-6260. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9AM-6PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jaweed Abbaszadeh can be reached on 571.270.1640. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /VOLVICK DEROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/891,993 Page 2 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/891,993 Page 3 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/891,993 Page 4 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/891,993 Page 5 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/891,993 Page 7 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/891,993 Page 8 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/891,993 Page 9 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/891,993 Page 10 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/891,993 Page 11 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/891,993 Page 12 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/891,993 Page 13 Art Unit: 2176 Application/Control Number: 18/891,993 Page 14 Art Unit: 2176