Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second main side of the chassis is fully covered by a second rigid part of the display and a part of a flexible part of the display” (Claim 17, ln. 1-4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The above limitation refers to the retracted position, labeled as P1 in fig. 2 and fig. 18; both figures show second main side 22c of chassis 22 only partially covered by second rigid part 7b and flexible part 7c; however the disclosure does not appear to show second main side of the chassis fully covered by second rigid part and part of flexible part of the display as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 10878728 B2, and Yoon hereinafter) in view of O’Brien (US 8711566 B2, and O’Brien hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoon discloses a rolling display arrangement for an electronic device, the rolling display arrangement comprising:
a display (including 2, fig. 2);
a shaft (34, fig. 2); and
wherein the display comprises:
a flexible display (2, fig. 2); and
a display support (4, fig. 2), the display support comprising a first rigid part (bottom flat portion of 42 in fig. 4A, “4 may be formed of a metal material such as stainless steel or aluminum”, Col. 11, ln. 66-67), a second rigid part (41, fig. 2), and a flexible part (43, fig. 2; “elastic part 43”, Col. 12, ln. 6) arranged between the first rigid part and the second rigid part (fig. 2);
wherein the flexible part partially encloses the shaft (fig. 4A);
wherein the shaft comprises a drive shaft (34, fig. 2).
Yoon does not explicitly disclose at least one transmission module; wherein the at least one transmission module is configured to transfer rotational movement of the shaft and the transmission module to linear movement of the display; wherein the shaft comprises a drive shaft gear; wherein the at least one transmission module is interconnected with the first rigid part and the second rigid part of the display, and with the drive shaft gear of the shaft.
O’Brien discloses at least one transmission module (210, fig. 2); wherein the at least one transmission module is configured to transfer rotational movement of the shaft and the transmission module to linear movement of the display (fig. 2, “The carrier tracks 210 roll around the fixed-radius rollers 208 that are integrated in the first housing part of the device, and as the carrier tracks bend, the flexible display bends around a fixed radius 216 to position a first, viewable section 218 of the flexible display approximately parallel to a second, retracted section 220 of the flexible display in the retracted position 202 of the expandable mobile device”, Col. 3, ln. 61 through Col. 4, ln. 1);
wherein a shaft (212, fig. 2) comprises a drive shaft gear (208, fig. 2; “The expandable mobile device includes rollers 208 … carrier tracks 210 that are implemented to gear-engage the rollers”, Col. 3, ln. 47-49);
wherein the at least one transmission module is interconnected with a display support (fig. 2; display including 230 and 234), and with the drive shaft gear of the shaft (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoon to incorporate the teachings of O’Brien so that it comprises at least one transmission module; wherein the at least one transmission module is configured to transfer rotational movement of the shaft and the transmission module to linear movement of the display; wherein the shaft comprises a drive shaft gear; wherein the at least one transmission module is interconnected with the display support, and with the drive shaft gear of the shaft, in order to assist with the sliding movement of the display (“As the roller rotates, the display 312 may be pulled in or out … roller may be rotated by the attracting force of the electronic device 101 or be assisted in operation by a mechanism or structure”, Col. 14, ln. 34-41 of Choi). Furthermore, since the first rigid part and the second rigid part are parts of the display support of Choi, modifying the device of Choi so that one transmission module is interconnected with a display support would necessarily make the at least one transmission module to be interconnected with the first rigid part and the second rigid part of the display.
Regarding Claim 9, Yoon/O’Brien discloses the rolling display arrangement according to claim 1, wherein counterclockwise rotational movement of the drive shaft is transferred to linear movement of the first rigid part in a first direction (ID, fig. 4A of Yoon) and linear movement of the second rigid part in a second direction (OD, fig. 4A of Yoon), the second direction being opposite to the first direction (fig. 4A of Yoon); wherein clockwise rotational movement of the drive shaft is transferred to linear movement of the first rigid part in the second direction (fig. 4B of Yoon) and linear movement of the second rigid part in the first direction (fig. 4B of Yoon).
Regarding Claim 10, Yoon/O’Brien discloses the rolling display arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the linear movement of the display (figs. 4A-B, linear movement along X-axis) is perpendicular to a second center axis display (fig. 4A, center axis of 34 along the Y-axis).
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of O’Brien, further in view of Porter (US 20180125228 A1, and Porter hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 2, Yoon/O’Brien discloses the rolling display arrangement according to claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose, wherein the at least one transmission module comprises: a drive belt (210, fig. 2 of O’Brien. See rejection of claim 1 above);
a transmission gear arrangement driving the drive belt (“the carrier tracks are implemented as caterpillar-type tracks that roll around and are geared to the fixed-radius rollers 208”, Col. 3, ln. 50-52 of O’Brien);
Yoo/O’Brien does not explicitly disclose a first display clamp; and a second display clamp arranged on the drive belt; wherein the first display clamp is interconnected with the first rigid part of the display support, and wherein the second display clamp is interconnected with the second rigid part of the display support.
Porter discloses a display clamp (159, fig. 10) arranged on a drive belt (156, fig. 10);
wherein the display clamp is interconnected with a first rigid part of a display support (annotated figure I below, taking into account “driving belt 156 that would be clamped to a lifting frame of the display via a clamp 159”, [0037]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoon and O’Brien to incorporate the teachings of Porter so that it further comprises a first display clamp arranged on the drive belt; wherein the first display clamp is interconnected with the first rigid part of the display support, in order to affix the belt to the display and transmit the motion of the belt to the display support ([0037] of Porter). Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill would have recognized that including a second display clamp arranged on the drive belt, as claimed would represent a mere duplication of parts. Duplication of parts has been ruled to carry no patentable weight (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See also MPEP § 2144.04, VI). A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to incorporate said modification because it would make the transmission of the linear motion from the belt to the support element of the display more uniformly distributed.
Regarding Claim 3, Yoon/O’Brien/Porter discloses the rolling display arrangement according to claim 2, wherein the drive belt is arranged between the first rigid part and the second rigid part of the display support (first rigid part and second rigid parts of Yoon, (see figs. 4A-B and 1A-1B) are disposed covering the region from top to bottom of the display apparatus, and Yoon by O’Brien would necessarily place elements such as the drive belt between the first rigid and second rigid part of the display support).
Regarding Claim 5, Yoon/O’Brien/Porter discloses the rolling display arrangement according to claim 2, wherein the first display clamp and the second display clamp (see rejection of Claim 2 above) of the at least one transmission module each comprise a protrusion extending from the drive belt (156, fig. 10 of Porter shows clamp 159 protrudes from drive belt 156);
Yoon/O’Brien/Porter does not explicitly disclose the first rigid part and the second rigid part of the display support each comprises a recess for accommodating the protrusion.
However, given the functional role of the clamp to transmit the motion of the belt to the display support, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and second rigid part of the display support each comprises a recess for accommodating the protrusion, in order to affix the clamp to the rigid part (by means of inserting a portion of one into the other)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of O’Brien and Porter, further in view of Takayanagi (US 20160324021 A1, and Takayanagi hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 4, Yoon/O’Brien/Porter discloses the rolling display arrangement according to claim 2 but does not explicitly disclose the transmission gear arrangement comprises: a drive belt gear driving the drive belt; and a synchronizing gear meshing with the drive shaft gear of the shaft; wherein the drive belt gear and the synchronizing gear share a first center axis.
Takayanagi discloses a transmission gear arrangement (gears shown in fig. 5) comprising:
a drive belt gear (123, fig. 5) driving a drive belt (147, fig. 5); and
a synchronizing gear (123a, fig. 5) meshing with a drive shaft gear (61b, figs. 5 and 8) of a shaft (62, fig. 8);
wherein the drive belt gear and the synchronizing gear share a first center axis (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoon, O’Brien, and Porter to incorporate the teachings of Takayanagi so that the transmission gear arrangement comprise: a drive belt gear driving the drive belt; and a synchronizing gear meshing with the drive shaft gear of the shaft; wherein the drive belt gear and the synchronizing gear share a first center axis, in order to coordinate the motion of the belt and the shaft so that the display and rigid support members are synchronously pulled out of/inserted into the body of the device (“the first and second support members 120 and 130 are synchronously pulled out of/inserted into the first body 1. The power connection device may include, for example, gears, belts, timing belts, or wires”, Col. 8, ln. 52-55 of Takayanagi).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon and O’Brien in view of Liao (WO 2018120086 A1, and Liao hereinafter. Citations to Liao will be made with respect to the English-translated document attached in the present office action).
Regarding Claim 6, Yoon/O’Brien discloses the rolling display arrangement according to claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the shaft further comprises: a freely rotatable outer shaft; and a stationary center shaft; wherein the outer shaft, the drive shaft, and the center shaft share a second center axis; wherein the drive shaft is arranged between the outer shaft and the center shaft; and wherein the outer shaft is in abutment with the flexible part of the display support.
Liao teaches a freely rotatable outer shaft (201-203, fig. 28; “When the reel 201 is rotated, the first end cap 202 follows the reel 201”, Pg. 8, ln 42); and
a stationary center shaft (205, fig. 28; “When the flexible screen 50 is unfolded and the reel 201 is rotated, the shaft 205 remains stationary”, pg. 10, ln. 19);
wherein the outer shaft, and the center shaft share a second center axis (figs. 35, 37); and
wherein the outer shaft is in abutment with the flexible part of the display support (figs. 28, 45; “The end cap 203 is used for winding the flexible screen 50, and the deployment of the flexible screen 50 drives the reel 201 to rotate”, pg. 8, ln. 40-41).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoon and O’Brien to incorporate the teachings of Liao so that the shaft further comprises a freely rotatable outer shaft; and a stationary center shaft; wherein the outer shaft, the drive shaft and the center shaft share a second center axis; wherein the drive shaft is arranged between the outer shaft and the center shaft; and wherein the outer shaft is in abutment with the flexible part of the display support, in order to provide axial support to the rotating drive shaft and allow greater radius of curvature without excessive weight (e.g. in the case of hollow cylindrical outer shafts). Shaft assemblies for rotating systems is a common technique in the art of rolling and winding devices, and assembling them coaxially is considered within the level of ordinary skill.
Regarding Claim 7, Yoon/O’Brien/Liao discloses the rolling display arrangement according to claim 6, wherein the outer shaft is configured to rotate in response to the linear movement of the display (figs. 4A-B of Yoon).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon and O’Brien in view of Kim et al. (US 11194363 B2, and Kim hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 11, Yoon/O’Brien discloses the rolling display arrangement according to claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose the rolling display arrangement further comprises an electric motor; wherein a motor gear of the electric motor meshes with a synchronizing gear of the at least one transmission module; and wherein the electric motor effectuates the rotational movement of the shaft and the at least one transmission module.
Kim teaches a rolling display arrangement comprises an electric motor (M, fig. 9);
wherein a motor gear (B, fig. 9) of the electric motor meshes with a synchronizing gear (g, fig. 9) of a transmission module (including 941, fig. 9); and
wherein the electric motor effectuates the rotational movement of the shaft (horizontal element that goes through the center of 941, fig. 9) and the at least one transmission module.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoon and O’Brien to incorporate the teachings of Kim so that it further comprises an electric motor; wherein a motor gear of the electric motor meshes with a synchronizing gear of the at least one transmission module; and wherein the electric motor effectuates the rotational movement of the shaft and the at least one transmission module, in order to automate the inserting/drawing of the flexible display (“may automatically configure a driving source for performing an operation of inserting or withdrawing a slider in a main body”, Col. 8, ln. 19-22 of Kim).
Claim 12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Song et al. (US 20200264660 A1, and Song hereinafter) and O’Brien.
Regarding Claim 12, Yoon discloses an electronic device, comprising:
two end caps (31 and 32, fig. 2); and
a rolling display arrangement, wherein the rolling display arrangement comprises a display (2, fig. 2), a shaft (34, fig. 2);
Yoon does not explicitly disclose a chassis; the two end caps are arranged at opposite short sides of the chassis; the rolling display arrangement comprises at least one transmission module; wherein the at least one transmission module is configured to transfer rotational movement of the shaft and the at least one transmission module to linear movement of the display; the wherein the rolling display arrangement partially encloses the chassis; wherein the rolling display arrangement is interlocked with the chassis via the end caps; wherein the shaft of the rolling display arrangement extends adjacent a long side of the chassis between the end caps; and wherein each transmission module of the rolling display arrangement extends between a short side of the chassis and a respective end cap.
Song discloses a chassis (102, fig. 2);
a rolling display arrangement (including 1028 and 151, fig. 5) partially enclosing the chassis (fig. 5);
wherein the rolling display arrangement is interlocked with the chassis via end cap (side of 1022 illustrated in fig. 9);
wherein a shaft (1028, fig. 8(a)) of the rolling display arrangement extends adjacent a long side of the chassis (vertical direction in fig. 8(a)) between the end caps (fig. 8);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoon to incorporate the teachings of Song so that it comprises a chassis; a rolling display arrangement partially enclosing the chassis; wherein the rolling display arrangement is interlocked with the chassis via the end caps; wherein a shaft of the rolling display arrangement extends adjacent a long side of the chassis; in order to provide a stable support structure that defines a space to accommodate internal components (“the second frame 102 also accommodates various components”, Col. 14, ln. 5-6 of Song).
O’Brien discloses a rolling display arrangement comprising at least one transmission module (210, fig. 2); wherein the at least one transmission module is configured to transfer rotational movement of the shaft and the transmission module to linear movement of the display (fig. 2, “The carrier tracks 210 roll around the fixed-radius rollers 208 that are integrated in the first housing part of the device, and as the carrier tracks bend, the flexible display bends around a fixed radius 216 to position a first, viewable section 218 of the flexible display approximately parallel to a second, retracted section 220 of the flexible display in the retracted position 202 of the expandable mobile device”, Col. 3, ln. 61 through Col. 4, ln. 1);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoon and Song to incorporate the teachings of O’Brien so that it comprises at least one transmission module; wherein the at least one transmission module is configured to transfer rotational movement of the shaft and the transmission module to linear movement of the display, in order to assist with the sliding movement of the display (“As the roller rotates, the display 312 may be pulled in or out … roller may be rotated by the attracting force of the electronic device 101 or be assisted in operation by a mechanism or structure”, Col. 14, ln. 34-41 of Choi). Furthermore, given the location of the transmission module of O’Brien relative to the shaft (212, fig. 2 of O’Brien), the transmission module, when incorporated into the device of Yoon, would be located between the end caps and along the short side (x-direction, fig. 2 of Yoon), thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have each transmission module of the rolling display arrangement extending between a short side of the chassis and a respective end cap.
Regarding Claim 16, Yoon/Song/O’Brien discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the rolling display arrangement is configurable to be in a retracted position (fig. 1A of Yoon) or an extended position (fig. 1B of Yoon);
wherein based on the rolling display arrangement being in the retracted position, the display covers a first main side (bottom) of the chassis, and the display covers a part of a second main side (top) of the chassis (Yoon, as modified by Song would have a chassis corresponding to the space labeled as 35 in fig. 4A of Yoon. See rejection of Claim 12 above), wherein the second main side is opposite to the first main side of the chassis;
wherein based on the rolling display arrangement being in the extended position, the display protrudes past the first main side of the chassis (fig. 4B of Yoon), and the display covers a part of the second main side of the chassis which is smaller than the part of the second main side of the chassis covered by the display in the retracted position (figs. 4A-B; effective surface area covered by 43 in fig. 4B is smaller than in fig. 4A because etched pattern of 43 is stretched).
Regarding Claim 17, Yoon/Song/O’Brien discloses the electronic device according to claim 16, wherein, in the retracted position (fig. 4A of Yoon), the first main side of the chassis is fully covered by a first rigid part of the display (Yoon as modified by Song incorporates a chassis that would correspond to space 35 in fig. 4A of Yoon. See Claim 12 above for more details. Element 42, fig. 4A of Yoon, would necessarily fully cover the first main side (bottom) of said chassis), and the second main side of the chassis is covered by a second rigid part (41, fig. 4A of Yoon) of the display and a part of a flexible part of the display (43, fig. 4A of Yoon); and
wherein, in the extended position, the first main side (bottom) of the chassis is fully covered by the first rigid part of the display and a part of the flexible part of the display (fig. 4B of Yoon and taking into account modification of Yoon described in claim 12 above), and the second main side of the chassis is partially covered by the second rigid part of the display (fig. 4B of Yoon and taking into account modification of Yoon described in claim 12 above).
Yoon/Song/O’Brien does not explicitly disclose the second main side of the chassis is fully covered by the second rigid part of the display and a part of a flexible part of the display.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that fully covering the second main side of the chassis would represent a mere a change in size of the rigid part and/or the flexible part of the display. Changes in size/proportion have been ruled to carry no patentable weight (In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). MPEP § 2144.04, IV, A). A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to do said modification in order to provide full support to the flexible display (see bottom surface of the portion of 2 that is located in BA of fig. 4A of Yoon).
Regarding Claim 18, Yoon/Song/O’Brien discloses the electronic device according to claim 16, wherein the rolling display arrangement is movable to the extended position based on counterclockwise rotational movement of a drive shaft of the shaft (curly arow of 34, fig. 4B of Yoon) being transferred to linear movement of a first rigid part (42, fig. 4B of Yoon) of the display in a first direction (OD, fig. 4B of Yoon) and to linear movement of a second rigid part (41, fig. 4A of Yoon) of the display in a second, opposite direction (ID, figs. 44B of Yoon); and
wherein the rolling display arrangement is movable to the retracted position based on clockwise rotational movement of the drive shaft of the shaft (curly arow of 34, fig. 4A of Yoon) being transferred to linear movement of the first rigid part of the display in the second direction (fig. 4A of Yoon) and to linear movement of the second rigid part of the display in the first direction (fig. 4A of Yoon).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Song and O’Brien, further in view of Cha (US 10820433 B2, and Cha hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 13, Yoon/Song/O’Brien discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein a first rigid part of the display extends adjacent a first main side of the chassis (Yoon as modified by the chassis of Song would have rigid part 41 (fig. 3B of Yoon) extending adjacent the top side of said chassis), and a second rigid part of the display extends adjacent a second, opposite main side of the chassis (Yoon as modified by the chassis of Song would have rigid part 42 (fig. 3B of Yoon) extending adjacent the bottom side of said chassis); and a flexible part (43, fig. 3B of Yoon) but does not explicitly disclose the flexible part of the display extends from the first main side to the second main side.
Cha discloses a flexible part of a display (235b, fig. 6) extends from a first main side (top) to a second main side (bottom).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoon, Song, and O’Brien to incorporate the teachings of Cha so that the flexible part of the display extends from the first main side to the second main side, in order to use the portion with greater flexibility to correspond with the curved outer surface of the shaft element (“second transformation portion 235b of the rear plate 231 is transformed to correspond to the outer side surface of the first bearing 251”, Col. 10, ln. 20-22 of Cha).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Song and O’Brien, further in view of Lee (KR 101792692 B1, and Lee hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 14, Yoon/Song/O’Brien discloses the electronic device according to claim 12 but does not explicitly disclose a spring arranged between a first main side of the chassis and the display; wherein the spring comprises a spring support and a tension spring; wherein a first end of the tension spring is connected to the spring support, adjacent the end caps; wherein a second end of the tension spring is connected to a first rigid part of the display; and wherein the second end of the tension spring is movable in a first direction and in a second direction of linear movement along with the first rigid part.
Lee teaches a spring (including 9 and 94, fig. 3) arranged between a first main side (top) of a chassis (24, fig. 3) and a display (including 6 and 82, fig. 3); wherein the spring comprises a spring support (9, fig. 3) and a tension spring (94, fig. 3); wherein a first end of the tension spring is connected to the spring support (fig. 3), adjacent end caps (sidewalls of 2, figs. 3-4); wherein a second end of the tension spring (942, figs. 3-4) is connected to a first rigid part of the display (82, figs. 3-6); and wherein the second end of the tension spring is movable in a first direction (to the right, figs. 5-6) and in a second direction (to the left, figs. 5-6) of linear movement along with the first rigid part (figs. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoon, Song, and O’Brien to incorporate the teachings of Lee so that a spring arranged between a first main side of the chassis and the display; wherein the spring comprises a spring support and a tension spring; wherein a first end of the tension spring is connected to the spring support, adjacent the end caps; wherein a second end of the tension spring is connected to a first rigid part of the display; and wherein the second end of the tension spring is movable in a first direction and in a second direction of linear movement along with the first rigid part, in order for the elastic force of the spring to help maintain the open/closed state (“Accordingly, when the panel 82 is closed, the spring 94 acts to maintain the closed state. On the contrary, when the panel 82 opens, the panel 82 maintains the open state”).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Song and O’Brien, further in view of Liao.
Regarding Claim 15, Yoon/Song/O’Brien discloses the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the end caps are releasably interconnected with the shaft (fig. 2, of Yoon) but does not explicitly disclose a stationary center shaft.
Liao teaches a shaft (200, fig. 28) comprising a stationary center shaft (205, fig. 28; “When the flexible screen 50 is unfolded and the reel 201 is rotated, the shaft 205 remains stationary”, pg. 10, ln. 19);
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoon, Song, and O’Brien to incorporate the teachings of Liao so that the shaft further comprises a stationary center shaft, in order to provide enhanced axial support. Shaft assemblies for rotating systems is a common technique in the art of rolling and winding devices, and assembling them coaxially is considered within the level of ordinary skill. Since the shaft of Yoon is releasably interconnected to the end caps, adding the stationary center shaft as taught by Liao would necessarily make the end caps to be releasably interconnected with said stationary center shaft of the shaft.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims are overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the claim includes the specific limitations “a helix-shaped cut extending through the wall of the outer shaft, in the direction of the second center axis”. This limitation, in combination with the remaining elements or steps, is not taught or adequately suggested in the prior art of record.
Ukonaho (US 20090310895 A1), Merrill (US 10124829 B2), Constin (US9292048B2), and Liao (WO 2018120086 A1) are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a shaft, a cut or slot. However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant. For instance, Ukonaho discloses a helix-shaped cut extending through the wall of the outer shaft (24, fig. 7); however said groove transmit linear motion by means of a sliding part that is directly connected to the groove, and that translates in a direction parallel to the axis of the shaft, which is inconsistent with the shaft and transmission mechanism disclosed by Yoon.
Conclusion
/MARTIN ANTONIO ASMAT UCEDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841