Claims 60-72 are presented for examination.
Applicants’ drawings, information disclosure statement, and preliminary amendment filed September 20, 2024 have been received and entered.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 60-72 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,208,096 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between the present application’s claims and the patented application’s claims lies in that the present application’s claims have additional agents, such as a second antidepressant medication and/or an antipsychotic combined with presently claimed active agent, (4-benzylpiperazin-1-yl)-[2-(3-methylbutylamino)pyridine-3-yl]methanone or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
The present application’s claims would anticipate the patented application’s claims because the patented application’s claim recite “comprising” and thus opens the claim to the inclusion of additional agents.
Claims 60-72 are not allowed.
Double Patenting
Claims 60-72 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/528,485 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present application teaches a method for selecting a treatment for major depressive disorder in a human patient having impaired verbal memory comprising administering to the patient about 80 mg of (4-benzylpiperazin-1-yl)-[2-(3-methylbutylamino)pyridine-3-ylmethanone or a. pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof daily, and the copending application teaches a method for selecting a treatment for major depressive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorders, or one or more symptoms thereof in a human patient and treating the patient comprising: (a) objectively assessing whether the patient has impaired learning and/or memory and (b) upon an assessment from step (a) initiating oral administration of from about 40 to about 240 mg of (4- benzylpiperazin-1-yl)-[2-(3-methylbutylamino)pyridine-3-yl]methanone or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof daily.
Note in the copending application in claim 2, the patient has objectively determined impaired verbal learning and/or memory.
Note in the copending application, claim 8, the active agent’s dose of about 80 mg.
Note in the copending application, clam 10, the human patient suffers from impaired learning and/or memory by VM-REACT (Verbal Memory REcAll Computerized Test).
Note in the copending application, claims 11 and 12, the human patient is not concurrently treated with a second antidepressant medication, or the human patient is concurrently treated with a second antidepressant medication.
Note in the copending application, claims 17 and 18, the human patient is concurrently treated with an antipsychotic.
Claims 60-72 are not allowed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 65, 66, 68 and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This is a Written Description rejection.
A lack of adequate written description issue arises if the knowledge and level of skill in the art would not permit one skilled in the art to immediately envisage the product claimed from the disclosed process. See, e.g., Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a "laundry list" disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not "reasonably lead" those skilled in the art to any particular species); In re Ruschig, 379 F.2d 990, 995, 154 USPQ 118, 123 (CCPA 1967).
An applicant may also show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics.
In particular, the specification as original filed fails to provide sufficient written bases of any of the agents demonstrating wherein possession of use of the broad terms: second antidepressant medication and a selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor. The mere fact that Applicant may have discovered one type of second antidepressant medication in combination with 80 mg of (4-benzylpiperazin-1-yl)-[2-(3-methylbutylamino)pyridine-3-yl]methanone or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to treat major depressive disorder is not sufficient to claim the entire genus.
The mere fact that Applicant may have discovered one type of selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor in combination with 80 mg of (4-benzylpiperazin-1-yl)-[2-(3-methylbutylamino)pyridine-3-yl]methanone or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to treat major depressive disorder is not sufficient to claim the entire genus.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]."
Claims 65, 66, 68 and 71 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 64 is rendered indefinite and vague by the phrase “task”, should the phrase be –test—since the phrase refers back to.
Claim 64 is not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 60-62, 66-68, 71 and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johe (9,572,807 B2) in view of WO 2019/222629 A1, hereby known as Johe and/or WO 2019/094032 A1, hereby known as Johe and further in view of Sennfelt et al., “Bupropion in the Treatment of Major Depressive Disorder in Real-life Practice”, Clinical Drug Investigation, Vol. 31, Supp. 1, pages 19-24 (2011), Clevenger et al., “The role of selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors in preventing relapse of major depressive disorder”, Therapeutic Advances in Psychopharmacology, Vol. 8, No. 1, pages 49-58 (2018), and Tran et al., Quetiapine for Major Depressive Disorder: A Review of Clinical Effectiveness, Cost-Effectiveness, and Guidelines, Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (January 30, 2020).
Johe teaches a method to treating major depressive disorder (MDD) in a human subject with the administration of (4-benzylpiperazin-1-yl)-[2-(3-methylbutylamino)pyridine-3- yl|methanone or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof daily (see column 8, compound 1). Note column 2, lines 28-42 teach the active agent can administer orally and various dosage range of 10 mg/day and 130 mg/day, once or twice daily, including 80 mg.
The instant invention differs from the cited reference in that the cited reference does not teach the active agent is effective in treating impaired learning and/or memory. However, the secondary reference(s), Johe '629 and/or Johe '032. Johe '629 teaches on page 6, section [0032] that NSI-189 improves memory. Also note on the same page 6, section [0033] that NSI-189 ameliorated the learning disability. Johe '032 teaches NSI-198 is effective to ameliorate cognitive deficiencies, wherein cognitive deficiencies are decreases in attention and memory.
Clearly, one skilled in the art would have assumed the administration of NSI-189 to teach to treat major depressive disorder in a human patient would obviously teach or improve the human patient's impaired learning and/or memory in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
The instant invention differs from the cited references in that the cited references do not teach the additional of a second antidepressant medication or an antipsychotic. However, the tertiary, quaternary and quinary references, Sennfelt et al., Clevenger et al., and Tran et al. teach the second antidepressant medication, and an antipsychotic are effective in the treatment of major depressive disorder. Sennfelt et al. teach the bupropion (an antidepressant medication) is effective in the treatment of major depressive disorder. Clevenger et al. teach selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors are effective in the treatment and prevention of major depressive disorder. Finally, Tran et al. teach an antipsychotic, quetiapine, is effective in the treatment of major depressive disorder.
Clearly, one skilled in the art would have assumed the addition of a second antidepressant medication with the primary active agent, (4-benzylpiperazin-1-yl)-[2-(3-methylbutylamino)pyridine-3- yl|methanone or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, into a single composition would give an additive effect in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 60-62, 66-68, 71 and 72 are not allowed.
KEVIN E. WEDDINGTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1629
/KEVIN E WEDDINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629