DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 2, 5, 10, 12, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 5, 7, 25 and 28 of U.S. Patent No. 12203862 in view of Bashkansky et al. (5418797).
In regards to claims 1, 12203862 teaches a Raman spectroscopy system comprising: a pump light source configured to produce a pump beam of light at a pump frequency; a Stokes light source configured to produce a Stokes beam of light at a Stokes frequency, wherein the pump and Stokes frequencies are offset by a frequency offset Ω (claim 1, lines 1-7); one or more optical elements configured to (i) direct the pump and Stokes beams to a sample located external to the system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system, wherein the Raman signal is produced by coherent Raman scattering of the pump and Stokes beams of light at the sample; an optical receiver configured to detect the Raman signal (claim 1, lines 8-12), the optical receiver comprising: a probe light source configured to produce a probe beam of light at a probe frequency; an optical detector configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light to produce a corresponding photocurrent signal; and an electronic circuit configured to produce a digital output signal corresponding to the photocurrent signal; and a processor configured to determine a characteristic of the photocurrent signal based on the digital output signal (claim 1, lines 13-26), but does not specifically teach one or more optical fibers. Bashkansky teaches one or more optical fibers (80/90) configured to (i) direct an input beam (Si) to a sample (17) located external to a system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system (Ss) (see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the optical elements of 12203862 be optical fibers in the Raman spectroscopy system similar to Bashkansky in order to more efficiently guide light to and from the sample with less light loss providing for higher quality light detection and measurements.
Claims 2, 5, 10, 12, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 and 24 are obvious over claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 25 and 28 of U.S. Patent No. 12203862 in view of Bashkansky.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 12, 20, 22 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 22-24 of copending Application No. 18/762420 in view of Bashkansky et al. (5418797).
In regards to claim 1, 18/762420 teaches a Raman spectroscopy system comprising: a pump light source configured to produce a pump beam of light at a pump frequency; a Stokes light source configured to produce a Stokes beam of light at a Stokes frequency, wherein the pump and Stokes frequencies are offset by a frequency offset Ω (claim 1, lines 1-4); one or more optical elements configured to (i) direct the pump and Stokes beams to a sample located external to the system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system, wherein the Raman signal is produced by coherent Raman scattering of the pump and Stokes beams of light at the sample; an optical receiver configured to detect the Raman signal (claim 1, lines 5-9), the optical receiver comprising: a probe light source configured to produce a probe beam of light at a probe frequency; an optical detector configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light to produce a corresponding photocurrent signal; and an electronic circuit configured to produce a digital output signal corresponding to the photocurrent signal; and a processor configured to determine a characteristic of the photocurrent signal based on the digital output signal (claim 1, lines 10-15), but does not specifically teach one or more optical fibers. Bashkansky teaches one or more optical fibers (80/90) configured to (i) direct an input beam (Si) to a sample (17) located external to a system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system (Ss) (see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the optical elements of 18/762420 be optical fibers in the Raman spectroscopy system similar to Bashkansky in order to more efficiently guide light to and from the sample with less light loss providing for higher quality light detection and measurements.
Claims 2, 5, 10, 12, 20, 22 and 25 are obvious over claims 1 and 22-24 of provisional application 18/762420 in view of Bashkansky.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 12, 20, 22 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 8 and 18 of copending Application No. 18/762415 in view of Bashkansky et al. (5418797).
In regards to claim 1, 18/762415 teaches a Raman spectroscopy system comprising: a pump light source configured to produce a pump beam of light at a pump frequency; a Stokes light source configured to produce a Stokes beam of light at a Stokes frequency, wherein the pump and Stokes frequencies are offset by a frequency offset Ω (claim 1, lines 1-4); one or more optical elements configured to (i) direct the pump and Stokes beams to a sample located external to the system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system, wherein the Raman signal is produced by coherent Raman scattering of the pump and Stokes beams of light at the sample; an optical receiver configured to detect the Raman signal (claim 1, lines 5-8), the optical receiver comprising: a probe light source configured to produce a probe beam of light at a probe frequency; an optical detector configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light to produce a corresponding photocurrent signal; and an electronic circuit configured to produce a digital output signal corresponding to the photocurrent signal; and a processor configured to determine a characteristic of the photocurrent signal based on the digital output signal (claim 1, lines 9-15), but does not specifically teach one or more optical fibers. Bashkansky teaches one or more optical fibers (80/90) configured to (i) direct an input beam (Si) to a sample (17) located external to a system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system (Ss) (see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the optical elements of 18/762415 be optical fibers in the Raman spectroscopy system similar to Bashkansky in order to more efficiently guide light to and from the sample with less light loss providing for higher quality light detection and measurements.
Claims 2, 5, 10, 12, 20, 22 and 25 are obvious over claims 1, 7, 8 and 18 of provisional application 18/762415 in view of Bashkansky.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 12, 16, 19-23 and 26 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 27-31, 33, 37 and 41 of copending Application No. 18/774723 in view of Bashkansky et al. (5418797).
In regards to claim 1, 18/774723 teaches a Raman spectroscopy system comprising: a pump light source configured to produce a pump beam of light at a pump frequency; a Stokes light source configured to produce a Stokes beam of light at a Stokes frequency, wherein the pump and Stokes frequencies are offset by a frequency offset Ω (claim 1, lines 1-6); one or more optical elements configured to (i) direct the pump and Stokes beams to a sample located external to the system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system, wherein the Raman signal is produced by coherent Raman scattering of the pump and Stokes beams of light at the sample; an optical receiver configured to detect the Raman signal (claim 1, lines 7-12), the optical receiver comprising: a probe light source configured to produce a probe beam of light at a probe frequency; an optical detector configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light to produce a corresponding photocurrent signal; and an electronic circuit configured to produce a digital output signal corresponding to the photocurrent signal; and a processor configured to determine a characteristic of the photocurrent signal based on the digital output signal (claim 1, lines 13-26), but does not specifically teach one or more optical fibers. Bashkansky teaches one or more optical fibers (80/90) configured to (i) direct an input beam (Si) to a sample (17) located external to a system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system (Ss) (see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the optical elements of 18/774723 be optical fibers in the Raman spectroscopy system similar to Bashkansky in order to more efficiently guide light to and from the sample with less light loss providing for higher quality light detection and measurements.
Claims 2, 5, 10, 12, 16, 19-23 and 26 are obvious over claims 1, 27-31, 33, 37 and 41 of provisional application 18/774723 in view of Bashkansky.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 12, 13, 16, 19, 20, 21, 22 and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-35 of copending Application No. 18/821845 in view of Bashkansky et al. (5418797).
In regards to claim 1, 18/821845 teaches a Raman spectroscopy system comprising: a pump light source configured to produce a pump beam of light at a pump frequency; a Stokes light source configured to produce a Stokes beam of light at a Stokes frequency, wherein the pump and Stokes frequencies are offset by a frequency offset Ω (claim 1, lines 1-5); one or more optical elements configured to (i) direct the pump and Stokes beams to a sample located external to the system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system, wherein the Raman signal is produced by coherent Raman scattering of the pump and Stokes beams of light at the sample; an optical receiver configured to detect the Raman signal (claim 1, lines 6-8), the optical receiver comprising: a probe light source configured to produce a probe beam of light at a probe frequency; an optical detector configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light to produce a corresponding photocurrent signal; and an electronic circuit configured to produce a digital output signal corresponding to the photocurrent signal; and a processor configured to determine a characteristic of the photocurrent signal based on the digital output signal (claim 1, lines 9-16), but does not specifically teach one or more optical fibers. Bashkansky teaches one or more optical fibers (80/90) configured to (i) direct an input beam (Si) to a sample (17) located external to a system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system (Ss) (see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the optical elements of 18/821845 be optical fibers in the Raman spectroscopy system similar to Bashkansky in order to more efficiently guide light to and from the sample with less light loss providing for higher quality light detection and measurements.
Claims 2, 5, 10, 12, 13, 16, 19, 20, 21, 22 and 23 are obvious over claims 1-35 of provisional application 18/821845 in view of Bashkansky.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1, 2, 5, 10, 12 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/550791 in view of Bashkansky et al. (5418797).
In regards to claim 1, 19/550791 teaches a Raman spectroscopy system comprising: a pump light source configured to produce a pump beam of light at a pump frequency; a Stokes light source configured to produce a Stokes beam of light at a Stokes frequency, wherein the pump and Stokes frequencies are offset by a frequency offset Ω (claim 1, lines 1-5); one or more optical elements configured to (i) direct the pump and Stokes beams to a sample located external to the system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system, wherein the Raman signal is produced by coherent Raman scattering of the pump and Stokes beams of light at the sample; an optical receiver configured to detect the Raman signal (claim 1, lines 6-8), the optical receiver comprising: a probe light source configured to produce a probe beam of light at a probe frequency; an optical detector configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light to produce a corresponding photocurrent signal; and an electronic circuit configured to produce a digital output signal corresponding to the photocurrent signal; and a processor configured to determine a characteristic of the photocurrent signal based on the digital output signal (claim 1, lines 9-16), but does not specifically teach one or more optical fibers. Bashkansky teaches one or more optical fibers (80/90) configured to (i) direct an input beam (Si) to a sample (17) located external to a system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system (Ss) (see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the optical elements of 19/550791 be optical fibers in the Raman spectroscopy system similar to Bashkansky in order to more efficiently guide light to and from the sample with less light loss providing for higher quality light detection and measurements.
Claims 2, 5, 10, 12 are obvious over claim 1 of provisional application 19/550791 in view of Bashkansky.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 12, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 and 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6, 11, 20-24 of copending Application No. 18/930095 in view of Bashkansky et al. (5418797).
In regards to claim 1, 18/930095 teaches a Raman spectroscopy system comprising: a pump light source configured to produce a pump beam of light at a pump frequency; a Stokes light source configured to produce a Stokes beam of light at a Stokes frequency, wherein the pump and Stokes frequencies are offset by a frequency offset Ω (claim 1, lines 1-4); one or more optical elements configured to (i) direct the pump and Stokes beams to a sample located external to the system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system, wherein the Raman signal is produced by coherent Raman scattering of the pump and Stokes beams of light at the sample; an optical receiver configured to detect the Raman signal (claim 1, lines 5-9), the optical receiver comprising: a probe light source configured to produce a probe beam of light at a probe frequency; an optical detector configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light to produce a corresponding photocurrent signal; and an electronic circuit configured to produce a digital output signal corresponding to the photocurrent signal; and a processor configured to determine a characteristic of the photocurrent signal based on the digital output signal (claim 1, lines 10-20), but does not specifically teach one or more optical fibers. Bashkansky teaches one or more optical fibers (80/90) configured to (i) direct an input beam (Si) to a sample (17) located external to a system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system (Ss) (see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the optical elements of 19/550791 be optical fibers in the Raman spectroscopy system similar to Bashkansky in order to more efficiently guide light to and from the sample with less light loss providing for higher quality light detection and measurements.
Claims 2, 5, 10, 12, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 and 24 are obvious over claim 1, 3, 6, 11, 20-24 of provisional application 18/930095 in view of Bashkansky.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1, 2, 5, 10, 12, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 and 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of copending Application No. 19/020038 in view of Bashkansky et al. (5418797).
In regards to claim 1, 19/020038 teaches a Raman spectroscopy system comprising: a pump light source configured to produce a pump beam of light at a pump frequency; a Stokes light source configured to produce a Stokes beam of light at a Stokes frequency, wherein the pump and Stokes frequencies are offset by a frequency offset Ω (claim 1, lines 1-4); one or more optical elements configured to (i) direct the pump and Stokes beams to a sample located external to the system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system, wherein the Raman signal is produced by coherent Raman scattering of the pump and Stokes beams of light at the sample; an optical receiver configured to detect the Raman signal (claim 1, lines 5-9), the optical receiver comprising: a probe light source configured to produce a probe beam of light at a probe frequency; an optical detector configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light to produce a corresponding photocurrent signal; and an electronic circuit configured to produce a digital output signal corresponding to the photocurrent signal; and a processor configured to determine a characteristic of the photocurrent signal based on the digital output signal (claim 1, lines 10-20), but does not specifically teach one or more optical fibers. Bashkansky teaches one or more optical fibers (80/90) configured to (i) direct an input beam (Si) to a sample (17) located external to a system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system (Ss) (see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the optical elements of 19/020038 be optical fibers in the Raman spectroscopy system similar to Bashkansky in order to more efficiently guide light to and from the sample with less light loss providing for higher quality light detection and measurements.
Claims 2, 5, 10, 12, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 and 24 are obvious over claim 1-28 of provisional application 19/020038 in view of Bashkansky.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 12, 20, 22 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of copending Application No. 18/762420 in view of Bashkansky et al. (5418797).
In regards to claim 1, 18/762420 teaches a Raman spectroscopy system comprising: a pump light source configured to produce a pump beam of light at a pump frequency; a Stokes light source configured to produce a Stokes beam of light at a Stokes frequency, wherein the pump and Stokes frequencies are offset by a frequency offset Ω (claim 1, lines 1-4); one or more optical elements configured to (i) direct the pump and Stokes beams to a sample located external to the system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system, wherein the Raman signal is produced by coherent Raman scattering of the pump and Stokes beams of light at the sample; an optical receiver configured to detect the Raman signal (claim 1, lines 5-9), the optical receiver comprising: a probe light source configured to produce a probe beam of light at a probe frequency; an optical detector configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light to produce a corresponding photocurrent signal; and an electronic circuit configured to produce a digital output signal corresponding to the photocurrent signal; and a processor configured to determine a characteristic of the photocurrent signal based on the digital output signal (claim 1, lines 10-15), but does not specifically teach one or more optical fibers. Bashkansky teaches one or more optical fibers (80/90) configured to (i) direct an input beam (Si) to a sample (17) located external to a system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system (Ss) (see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the optical elements of 18/762420 be optical fibers in the Raman spectroscopy system similar to Bashkansky in order to more efficiently guide light to and from the sample with less light loss providing for higher quality light detection and measurements.
Claims 2, 5, 10, 12, 20, 22 and 25 are obvious over claims 1-30 of provisional application 18/762420 in view of Bashkansky.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10, 11, 19, 20, 22, 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20090213370) in view of Bashkansky et al. (US 5418797) and Tamada (US 20140268131).
Re claim 1: Kim teaches a Raman spectroscopy system (fig. 4) comprising: a pump light source (401) configured to produce a pump beam of light at a pump frequency (paragraph 45, fig. 5); a Stokes light source (402) configured to produce a Stokes beam of light at a Stokes frequency, wherein the pump and Stokes frequencies are offset by a frequency offset Ω (paragraph 45, fig. 5); one or more optical elements (413/413/415) configured to (i) direct the pump and Stokes beams to a sample (S) located external to the system (see fig. 4) and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system, wherein the Raman signal is produced by coherent Raman scattering of the pump and Stokes beams of light at the sample (S) (see fig. 4); an optical receiver (419/410/430) configured to detect the Raman signal, the optical receiver (419/410/430) comprising: a probe light source (410) configured to produce a probe beam of light at a probe frequency (see fig. 4 and 5); an optical detector (419) configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light to produce a corresponding photocurrent signal (see fig. 4 and 5, paragraphs 45-53); and a processor (430) configured to determine a characteristic of the photocurrent signal based on the digital output signal (paragraph 5 and 50), but does not specifically teach the optical elements are one or more optical fibers and an electronic circuit configured to produce a digital output signal corresponding to the photocurrent signal. Bashkansky teaches one or more optical fibers (80/90) configured to (i) direct an input beam (Si) to a sample (17) located external to a system and (ii) direct a Raman signal to the system (Ss) (see fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the optical elements of Kim be optical fibers in the Raman spectroscopy system similar to Bashkansky in order to more efficiently guide light to and from the sample with less light loss providing for higher quality light detection and measurements. Kim as modified by Bashkansky does not specifically teach an electronic circuit configured to produce a digital output signal corresponding to the photocurrent signal. Tamada teaches an electronic circuit (1043/1041) configured to produce a digital output signal corresponding to a photocurrent signal (paragraph 59-61). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an electronic circuit for converting the photocurrent signal to a digital output signal similar to Tamada with the receiver of Kim as modified by Bashkansky in order to reduce noise and signals that are easier to process providing for more efficient processing.
Re claim 5: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, wherein the one or more optical fibers comprise: an output optical fiber (Bashkansky, 80) configured to direct the pump and Stokes beams to the sample (Bashkansky, see fig. 1); and an input optical fiber (Bashkansky, 90) configured to direct the Raman signal to the optical receiver (Bashkansky, see fig. 1).
Re claim 10: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches wherein the one or more optical fibers comprise an optical fiber having a terminal end that is configured to produce a free-space beam comprising the pump and Stokes beams (Bashkansky, fig. 1, there is free space from the fibers 80/90 to the sample).
Re claim 11: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, further comprising a lens configured to collimate the free-space beam or focus the free-space beam (Bashkansky, col. 7, lines 50-67, col. 8, lines 1-10 and col. 9, lines 38-65).
Re claim 19: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, wherein the processor is further configured to associate a Raman frequency shift with the determined characteristic of the photocurrent signal, wherein the Raman frequency shift equals Vpu - Vpr, wherein Vpu is the pump frequency, and Vpr is the probe frequency (Kim, paragraph 41).
Re claim 20: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, wherein the characteristic (Kim, phase) of the photocurrent signal comprises one or more of: a peak amplitude, an average amplitude, an amplitude at a particular frequency, an amplitude at a particular time, an amplitude at a frequency center, an amplitude at a temporal center, a DC offset, an area, a frequency, a phase, and a polarization (Kim, fig. 4 and 5, paragraph 53).
Re claim 22: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, wherein: the frequency offset Ω is approximately equal to a vibrational frequency of a particular material; and the processor is further configured to determine, based on the characteristic of the photocurrent signal, (i) whether the particular material is present in the sample or (ii) an amount or a concentration of the particular material in the sample (Kim, paragraphs 8, 9 and 41-53).
Re claim 25: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, wherein the electronic circuit (Tamada, 1041/1043) comprises: an electronic amplifier (Tamada, 1041) configured to amplify the photocurrent signal to produce a voltage signal corresponding to the photocurrent signal; and a digitizer (Tamada, 1043) configured to produce a digital representation of the voltage signal, wherein the digital representation of the voltage signal is part of the digital output signal (Tamada, paragraph 59-61).
Re claim 26: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, wherein coherently mixing the Raman signal with the probe beam of light to produce the corresponding photocurrent signal comprises coherently mixing a portion of the Raman signal with the probe beam of light, wherein the portion of the Raman signal that is coherently mixed comprises optical frequency components of the Raman signal located within a particular frequency range of the probe frequency, wherein the particular frequency range depends on an electronic bandwidth of the detector (Kim, paragraph 19, 22 and 45-53).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20090213370) as modified by Bashkansky et al. (US 5418797) and Tamada (US 20140268131) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rigneault et al. (US 20210381985).
Re claim 2: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the one or more optical fibers (Bashkansky, 80/90) configured to (i) direct the pump and Stokes beam (Kim, omega p and omega s, Bashkansky, Si) to the sample (Kim, S, Bashkansky, 17) located external to the system and (ii) direct the Raman signal to the system (Kim, fig. 4, Bashkansky, see fig. 1), but does not specifically teach the one or more optical fibers is one optical fiber. Rigneault teaches wherein one or more optical fibers (753) comprise one optical fiber (753), wherein the one optical fiber (753) is configured to direct pump and Stokes beams (731/732) to a sample (S) and direct a Raman signal to a system (fig. 7, paragraph 122). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the multiple fibers of Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada be a single optical fiber similar to Rigneault in order to reduce the size of the device by reducing the number of optical fibers providing for a compact design.
Re claim 3: Kim as modified by Bashkansky, Tamada and Rigneault teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, further comprising a lens (Rigneault, 755) located near a terminal end of the optical fiber (Rigneault, 753), wherein the lens (Rigneault, 755) is configured to: receive the pump and Stokes beams (Rigneault, 731/732) from the terminal end of the optical fiber (Rigneault, 753) and produce a free-space beam that is directed to the sample (Rigneault, S, see fig. 7, there is space with no lenses/fibers/mirrors/optics to the sample, so free space); and receive the Raman signal from the sample and couple the Raman signal into the optical fiber via the terminal end (Rigneault, S, see fig. 7, there is space with no lenses/fibers/mirrors/optics to the sample, so free space, Bashkansky, fig. 1, free space between the fibers 80/90 and the sample S).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20090213370) as modified by Bashkansky et al. (US 5418797), Tamada (US 20140268131) and Rigneault et al. (US 20210381985) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Dogariu (US 20140226157).
Re claim 4: Kim as modified by Bashkansky, Tamada and Rigneault teaches wherein the one or more optical fibers (Rigneault, 753) comprise the one optical fiber (Rigneault, 753), wherein the one optical fiber (Rigneault, 753) is configured to direct pump and Stokes beams (Rigneault, 731/732) to the sample (Rigneault, S) and direct the Raman signal to the system (Rigneault, fig. 7, paragraph 122), but does not specifically teach a circulator. Dogariu teaches further comprising an optical circulator (860) configured to: receive a pump and Stokes beams and direct the pump and Stokes beams to an optical fiber; and receive a Raman signal from the optical fiber and direct the Raman signal to an optical receiver (365) (see fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a circulator similar to Dogariu with the fiber of Kim as modified by Bashkansky, Tamada and Rigneault in order to reduce the number of optics in the system reducing loss of light providing for compact design with higher quality light detection.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20090213370) as modified by Bashkansky et al. (US 5418797) and Tamada (US 20140268131) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20110282166).
Re claim 6: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, wherein the one or more optical fibers comprise: an output optical fiber (Bashkansky, 80) configured to direct the pump and Stokes beams to the sample (Bashkansky, see fig. 1); and an input optical fiber (Bashkansky, 90) configured to direct the Raman signal to the optical receiver (Bashkansky, see fig. 1) and lenses (Bashkansky, col. 7, lines 50-64 and col. 9, lines 38-65), but does not specifically teach receive the pump and Stokes beams from a terminal end of the output optical fiber and produce a free-space beam that is directed to the sample; and receive the Raman signal from the sample and couple the Raman signal into the input optical fiber via a terminal end of the input optical fiber. Chen teaches a lens (46/48/44) for receiving a pump and Stokes beams from a terminal end of an output optical fiber (38) and produce a free-space beam that is directed to a sample (S) (see fig. 2, the free space between 44 and the sample); and receive a Raman signal from the sample and couple the Raman signal into the input optical fiber via a terminal end of an input optical fiber (34) (see fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the lens of Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada similar to the lens Chen in order to ensure the light is guided to and from the sample providing for more efficient light capture.
Claim(s) 7, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20090213370) as modified by Bashkansky et al. (US 5418797) and Tamada (US 20140268131) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Boppart et al. (US 648513).
Re claim 7: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, wherein the one or more optical fibers comprise: an output optical fiber (Bashkansky, 80) configured to direct the pump and Stokes beams to the sample (Bashkansky, see fig. 1); and an input optical fiber (Bashkansky, 90) configured to direct the Raman signal to the optical receiver (Bashkansky, see fig. 1) and lenses (Bashkansky, col. 7, lines 50-64 and col. 9, lines 38-65), but does not specifically teach an output lens configured to receive the pump and Stokes beams from the terminal end of the output optical fiber and produce a free-space beam that is directed to the sample; and an input lens configured to receive the Raman signal from the sample and couple the Raman signal into the input optical fiber via the terminal end of the input optical fiber. Boppart teaches an output lens (26) configured to receive a beam from a terminal end of an output optical fiber (see fig. 2) and produce a free-space beam that is directed to a sample (sample) (fig. 2); and an input lens (30) configured to receive a signal from the sample and couple the signal into an input optical fiber (see fig. 2) via a terminal end of the input optical fiber (see fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the lens of Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada similar to the input and output lens in Boppart in order to ensure the light is guided to and from the sample providing for more efficient light capture.
Re claim 12: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches wherein the one or more optical fibers comprise an optical fiber having a terminal end that is configured to produce a free-space beam comprising the pump and Stokes beams (Bashkansky, fig. 1, there is free space from the fibers 80/90 to the sample), but does not specifically teach wherein the terminal end of the optical fiber is configured to be positioned by an operator of the system to direct the free-space beam to the sample. Boppart teaches wherein a terminal end of an optical fiber is configured to be positioned by an operator of a system to direct a free-space beam to a sample (fig. 1, col. 6, lines 61-67 and col. 7, lines 1-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have end of the fiber of Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada moved by an operator similar to Boppart in order to ensure the light is guided to and from the sample is a specific region providing for a user friendly design with more efficient light capture.
Re claim 13: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches wherein the one or more optical fibers comprise an optical fiber having a terminal end that is configured to produce a free-space beam comprising the pump and Stokes beams (Bashkansky, fig. 1, there is free space from the fibers 80/90 to the sample), but does not specifically teach further comprising a visible light source configured to produce a visible beam of light, wherein the visible beam of light is combined with the pump and Stokes beams, and the visible beam of light is configured to produce a visible alignment spot at the sample where the pump and Stokes beams are incident on the sample. Boppart teaches further comprising a visible light source (46) configured to produce a visible beam of light, wherein the visible beam of light is combined with the pump and Stokes beams, and the visible beam of light is configured to produce a visible alignment spot at the sample where the pump and Stokes beams are incident on the sample (fig. 1, col. 6, lines 61-67 and col. 7, lines 1-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include an alignments source similar to Boppart with the fiber of Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada so that the fiber probe can moved by an operator to a desired region of the sample providing for a user friendly design with more efficient light capture.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20090213370) as modified by Bashkansky et al. (US 5418797) and Tamada (US 20140268131) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dogariu (US 20140226157).
Re claim 14: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, combining the pump beam of light and the Stokes beam of light to produce a combined pump-Stokes beam of light that is directed to one of the one or more optical fibers (Kim, see fig. 4, omega s and omega p are combined and output, Bashkansky, teaches output into an optical fiber 80, fig. 1), but does not specifically teach a fiber-optic combiner to combine the pump and Stokes beams. Dogariu teaches a fiber-optic combiner (840) configured to combine a pump beam of light and a Stokes beam of light to produce a combined pump-Stokes beam of light that is directed to one of one or more optical fibers (see fig. 8, paragraph 55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a fiber optic combiner similar to Dogariu to combine the pump and Stokes beams of Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada in order to efficiently combine two beams in a fiber optic system with less loss of light providing for higher quality light detection and measurements.
Re claim 15: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, further comprising a combiner (Kim, 418) configured to (i) combine the Raman signal and the probe beam of light to produce a combined probe-Raman signal and (ii) direct the combined probe-Raman signal to the optical detector (Kim, 419, fig. 4), but does not specifically teach a fiber-optic combiner. Dogariu teaches a fiber-optic combiner (840) configured to combine a beam of light and another beam of light to produce a combined beam of light that is directed to one of one or more optical fibers (see fig. 8, paragraph 55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a fiber optic combiner similar to Dogariu to replace the beam combiner of Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada in order to efficiently combine two beams in a fiber optic system with less loss of light and reduced number of optical elements providing for higher quality light detection and measurements in a compact more versatile design.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20090213370) as modified by Bashkansky et al. (US 5418797) and Tamada (US 20140268131) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (US 20220202292).
Re claim 17: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the pump light source, Stokes light source, optical receiver and the one or more optical fibers (Kim, fig. 4, Bashkansky, fig. 1), but does not specifically teach further comprising an enclosure, wherein the pump light source, Stokes light source, and optical receiver are contained within the enclosure, and at least a portion of the one or more optical fibers is located external to the enclosure. Anderson teaches further comprising an enclosure (10), wherein a pump light source, Stokes light source, and optical receiver are contained within the enclosure (10) (see fig. 1, 5 and 12), and at least a portion of one or more optical fibers (15a) is located external to the enclosure (10) (see fig. 1, 5 and 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include an enclosure similar to Anderson with the elements of Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada in order to protect the elements from external factors providing for a longer lasting spectroscopy system with a versatile design.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20090213370) as modified by Bashkansky et al. (US 5418797), Tamada (US 20140268131) and Anderson et al. (US 20220202292) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Ishihara et al. (US 20040247268).
Re claim 18: Kim as modified by Bashkansky, Tamada and Anderson teaches an enclosure (Anderson, 10), wherein a pump light source, Stokes light source, and optical receiver are contained within the enclosure (Anderson, 10) (Anderson, see fig. 1, 5 and 12), and at least a portion of one or more optical fibers (Anderson, 15a) is located external to the enclosure (Anderson, 10) (Anderson, see fig. 1, 5 and 12), but does not specifically teach further comprising a fiber-optic adapter, wherein the one or more optical fibers comprise an external optical fiber located external to the enclosure, and the fiber-optic adapter is configured to connect the external optical fiber to an internal optical fiber located inside the enclosure. Ishihara teaches further comprising a fiber-optic adapter (9/10), wherein the one or more optical fibers (7) comprise an external optical fiber located external to an enclosure (4), and the fiber-optic adapter (9/10) is configured to connect the external optical fiber (7) to an internal optical fiber (7) located inside the enclosure (4) (see fig. 1, 2 and 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a fiber adapter similar to Ishihara with the enclosure of Kim as modified by Bashkansky, Tamada and Anderson in order to connect various probe structures to the enclosure providing for a more versatile design.
Claim(s) 21, 23 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20090213370) as modified by Bashkansky et al. (US 5418797) and Tamada (US 20140268131) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Levenson et al. (US 4193690).
Re claim 21: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, wherein: the probe light source (Kim, 410) comprises a variable wavelength filter (Kim, 417); the optical detector (Kim, 419) is further configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light (Kim, paragraph 50) to produce a plurality of corresponding photocurrent signals (Kim, paragraph 50, fig. 4 and 5); and the processor (Kim, 430) is further configured to determine a characteristic of each of the plurality of corresponding photocurrent signals (Kim, paragraph 5, 50 and 53, fig. 4 and 5), but does not specifically teach the probe light source comprises a wavelength-tunable laser, wherein the probe light source is further configured to sequentially change the probe frequency of the probe beam of light to a plurality of different frequencies; the optical detector is further configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light at each of the different frequencies to produce a plurality of corresponding photocurrent signals; and the processor is further configured to determine a characteristic of each of the plurality of corresponding photocurrent signals. Levenson teaches a probe light source comprises a wavelength-tunable laser, wherein the probe light source is further configured to sequentially change the probe frequency of the probe beam of light to a plurality of different frequencies (col. 5, lines 39-68 and col. 6, lines 1-15); the optical detector is further configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light at each of the different frequencies to produce a plurality of corresponding photocurrent signals (col. 1, lines 27-68, col. 2, lines 1-37, col. 5, lines 39-68 and col. 6, lines 1-15); and the processor is further configured to determine a characteristic of each of the plurality of corresponding photocurrent signals (col. 3, lines 25-59 and col. 4, lines 37-42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the probe light source include a wavelength-tunable laser similar to Levenson with Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada in order to increase the signal output providing for a more accurate measurements.
Re claim 23: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, wherein the pump light source or the Stokes light source comprises a pulsed laser (Kim, paragraph 45), but does not specifically teach the pump light source or the Stokes light source comprises a wavelength-tunable laser, wherein the frequency offset Ω is adjustable by changing a wavelength of the wavelength-tunable laser. Levenson teaches wherein a pump light source comprises a wavelength-tunable laser, wherein the frequency offset Ω is adjustable by changing a wavelength of the wavelength-tunable laser (col. 5, lines 39-60 and col. 6, lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pump light source include a wavelength-tunable laser similar to Levenson with Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada in order to increase the signal output providing for a more accurate measurements.
Re claim 27: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the optical detector (Kim, 419) configured to coherently mix the Raman signal with the probe beam of light to produce the corresponding photocurrent signal (Kim, see fig. 4 and 5, paragraphs 45-53); and the processor (Kim, 430) configured to determine the characteristic of the photocurrent signal based on the digital output signal (Kim, paragraph 5 and 50), but does not specifically teach wherein the photocurrent signal comprises a coherent-mixing term that is proportional to a product of (i) an amplitude of an electric field of the Raman signal and (ii) an amplitude of an electric field of the probe beam of light. Levenson teaches wherein a photocurrent signal comprises a coherent-mixing term that is proportional to a product of (i) an amplitude of an electric field of a Raman signal and (ii) an amplitude of an electric field of a probe beam of light (col. 4, lines 14-43, equation 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to detect a photocurrent signal with a coherent-mixing term similar to Levenson with the photocurrent signal of Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada in order to more accurately isolate the desired signal from the photocurrent providing for higher quality measurements.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20090213370) as modified by Bashkansky et al. (US 5418797) and Tamada (US 20140268131) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yonetani (US 20150204790).
Re claim 24: Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada teaches the Raman spectroscopy system, wherein the pump light source (Kim, 401) or the Stokes light source (Kim, 402) comprises a laser configured to produced light (Kim, paragraph 45), but does not specifically teach the pump or Stokes source is a seed laser configured to produced seed light and an optical amplifier configured to amplify the seed light to produce an output beam of light, wherein the optical amplifier comprises a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) or a fiber-optic amplifier. Yonetani teaches wherein a pump light source or a Stokes light source comprises a seed laser (paragraph 24 and 25, both sources 100 and 150 are seed lasers) configured to produced seed light and an optical amplifier (102 and 108) (paragraphs 24 and 25) configured to amplify the seed light to produce an output beam of light, wherein the optical amplifier (102 and 108) comprises a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) or a fiber-optic amplifier (paragraph 24 and 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the pump or the Stokes source in Kim as modified by Bashkansky and Tamada comprise a seed laser and optical amplifier similar to Yonetani in order to increase the signal output providing for higher quality Raman measurements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 8, the prior art of record individually or in combination fails to teach the Raman spectroscopy system of claims 5 and 1 as claimed, further comprising: an output lens configured to receive the pump and Stokes beams from the terminal end of the output optical fiber and produce a free-space beam that is directed to the sample; and more specifically in combination with a mirror comprising: a through hole that the free-space beam propagates through while traveling to the sample; and a reflective surface configured to receive the Raman signal from the sample and direct the Raman signal to a terminal end of the input optical fiber.
Claim 9 is objected to because of its dependency on claim 8.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER D BENNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2878