DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to the Application filed on 09/20/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 19 and 20 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 13, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 20220207837 A1).
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a method comprising:
at an electronic device in communication with a display and one or more input devices (“FIG. 1A illustrates an example of a virtual reality system 50 worn by a user 102. In particular embodiments, the virtual reality system 50 may comprise a head-mounted VR display device 135, a controller 106, and a computing system 110,” Lee paragraph 0025):
while displaying, within a three-dimensional environment, a first portion of a virtual scene at a first region of the three-dimensional environment and a second portion of the virtual scene at a second region of the three-dimensional environment ("FIG. 9 illustrates an example method 900 for determining spatial awareness in a VR setting using a passthrough view. The method may begin at step 910, where a computing system may include rendering for one or more displays of a VR display device 135, a first output image of a VR environment based on a field of view of a user, wherein the VR environment comprises a virtual boundary corresponding to a real-world environment," Lee paragraph 0054; "FIG. 1D illustrates a perspective view of a passthrough view 130 of the real-world environment 100 within the VR environment 140. The VR environment 140 may be rendered within the real-world environment 100. As a user approaches a virtual boundary, a portion of the passthrough view 130 can appear to show the user a real-world object that the user may risk running into (e.g., the real-world object 145). Thus, as the user gets close to the virtual boundary, a portion of the rendering of the VR environment 140 may transition to appear as a rendering showing the portion of the passthrough view 130," Lee paragraph 0038, first and second portion of a virtual scene is displayed and as the user moves to the boundary a part of the virtual scene (i.e., the second portion) transitions to a view of the real-world), detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first event, wherein the first event includes movement of a viewpoint of a user of the electronic device from a first viewpoint to a second viewpoint ("At step 920, the method may include determining whether the user is approaching within a first threshold distance of the virtual boundary. At step 930, the method may include determining responsive to the user approaching within the first threshold distance of the virtual boundary, a direction of movement and the field of view of the user," Lee paragraph 0054); and
in response to detecting the first event, and in accordance with a determination the viewpoint of the user satisfies one or more first criteria:
maintaining display of the first portion of the virtual scene within the first region of the three-dimensional environment; and replacing display of the second portion of the virtual scene with a representation of a first portion of a physical environment of the user ("At step 940, the method may include accessing one or more images of the real-world environment captured by one or more cameras of the VR display device. At step 950, the method may include rendering, for the one or more displays of the VR display device, a second output image comprising a portion of the VR environment and a portion of a passthrough view of the real-world environment based on the accessed images, wherein the portion of the passthrough view is based on the determined direction of movement and the field of view of the user," Lee paragraph 0054; "In particular embodiments, the computing system 110 may determine whether the user is approaching within a first threshold distance of the virtual boundary 115. The computing system 110 may determine whether the user is approaching within a first threshold distance of the virtual boundary 115 using sensors, accelerometers, gyroscopes, or other position sensors of the camera 105 and/or the VR display device 135. The first threshold distance may be a predetermined distance (e.g., 1, 5, 10, etc. meters) from the virtual boundary 115," Lee paragraph 0037; "FIG. 1D illustrates a perspective view of a passthrough view 130 of the real-world environment 100 within the VR environment 140. The VR environment 140 may be rendered within the real-world environment 100. As a user approaches a virtual boundary, a portion of the passthrough view 130 can appear to show the user a real-world object that the user may risk running into (e.g., the real-world object 145). Thus, as the user gets close to the virtual boundary, a portion of the rendering of the VR environment 140 may transition to appear as a rendering showing the portion of the passthrough view 130," Lee paragraph 0038, if user moves within a threshold distance of the boundary (i.e., a first criteria) the first region of the scene maintains display while a second region of the scene is replaced with a passthrough representation of the physical environment).
As to claim 2, Lee further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to detecting the first event, and in accordance with a determination that the viewpoint of the user does not satisfy the one or more first criteria:
maintaining display of the first portion of the virtual scene within the first region of the three-dimensional environment; and maintaining display of the second portion of the virtual scene within the second region of the three-dimensional environment ("FIG. 1D illustrates a perspective view of a passthrough view 130 of the real-world environment 100 within the VR environment 140. The VR environment 140 may be rendered within the real-world environment 100. As a user approaches a virtual boundary, a portion of the passthrough view 130 can appear to show the user a real-world object that the user may risk running into (e.g., the real-world object 145). Thus, as the user gets close to the virtual boundary, a portion of the rendering of the VR environment 140 may transition to appear as a rendering showing the portion of the passthrough view 130," Lee paragraph 0038, if the user moves in a way that he/she does not approach the boundary then the full VR scene with both the first and second portion is displayed).
As to claim 3, Lee further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more first criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the movement of the viewpoint to the second viewpoint of the user corresponds to movement beyond a border surrounding one or more portions of the virtual scene including the first portion of the virtual scene ("In particular embodiments, the computing system 110 may determine whether the user is approaching within a first threshold distance of the virtual boundary 115. The computing system 110 may determine whether the user is approaching within a first threshold distance of the virtual boundary 115 using sensors, accelerometers, gyroscopes, or other position sensors of the camera 105 and/or the VR display device 135. The first threshold distance may be a predetermined distance (e.g., 1, 5, 10, etc. meters) from the virtual boundary 115," Lee paragraph 0037).
As to claim 4, Lee further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
while the viewpoint of the user is the first viewpoint, the electronic device displays a first view of the virtual scene; and in response to the first event, the electronic device displays a second view of the virtual scene ("In particular embodiments, the computing system 110 may render, for one or more displays of the VR display device 135, a first output image of the VR environment 140 based on a field of view 120 of a user," Lee paragraph 0036; "FIG. 1D illustrates a perspective view of a passthrough view 130 of the real-world environment 100 within the VR environment 140. The VR environment 140 may be rendered within the real-world environment 100. As a user approaches a virtual boundary, a portion of the passthrough view 130 can appear to show the user a real-world object that the user may risk running into (e.g., the real-world object 145). Thus, as the user gets close to the virtual boundary, a portion of the rendering of the VR environment 140 may transition to appear as a rendering showing the portion of the passthrough view 130," Lee paragraph 0038).
As to claim 5, Lee further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, while displaying the virtual scene within the three-dimensional environment:
displaying, via the display, a border between the first region of the three-dimensional environment and the second region of the three-dimensional environment ("While in the directional passthrough view, the user can see where the virtual boundary (e.g., the virtual line drawn by the user) is, to help the user stay in the safe zone," Lee paragraph 0024).
As to claim 6, Lee further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the border is displayed before the first event is detected and is displayed while the first portion of the virtual scene is displayed at the first region of the three-dimensional environment and while the second portion of the virtual scene is displayed at the second region of the three-dimensional environment ("While in the directional passthrough view, the user can see where the virtual boundary (e.g., the virtual line drawn by the user) is, to help the user stay in the safe zone," Lee paragraph 0024, border is displayed at all times to help the user stay in the safe zone).
As to claim 7, Lee further discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising:
while displaying the second portion of the virtual scene including the representation of the first portion of the physical environment of the user, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an indication of one or more inputs requesting a change in one or more dimensions of the border ("The virtual boundary 115 may be drawn by the user (e.g., by having the user manually draw the virtual boundary 115 using the controller 106), automatically determined (e.g., an image processor may determine a safe boundary and automatically determines the boundary wall), or semi-automatically determined (e.g., an image processor may determine or suggest a safe boundary and the boundary wall 115, and the user may manually augment or edit the determined boundary wall 115)," Lee paragraph 0036, user can edit the boundary); and
in response to detecting the indication of the one or more inputs:
updating the one or more dimensions of the border in accordance with the indication of the one or more inputs ("The virtual boundary 115 may be drawn by the user (e.g., by having the user manually draw the virtual boundary 115 using the controller 106), automatically determined (e.g., an image processor may determine a safe boundary and automatically determines the boundary wall), or semi-automatically determined (e.g., an image processor may determine or suggest a safe boundary and the boundary wall 115, and the user may manually augment or edit the determined boundary wall 115)," Lee paragraph 0036, user input to edit the boundary);
changing one or more dimensions of the first region of the three-dimensional environment including the virtual scene in accordance with the indication ("FIG. 1D illustrates a perspective view of a passthrough view 130 of the real-world environment 100 within the VR environment 140. The VR environment 140 may be rendered within the real-world environment 100. As a user approaches a virtual boundary, a portion of the passthrough view 130 can appear to show the user a real-world object that the user may risk running into (e.g., the real-world object 145). Thus, as the user gets close to the virtual boundary, a portion of the rendering of the VR environment 140 may transition to appear as a rendering showing the portion of the passthrough view 130," Lee paragraph 0038, first and second portion of the scene depends on where the edited virtual boundary is); and
changing one or more dimensions of the second region of the three-dimensional environment including the representation of the physical environment of the user in accordance with the indication ("FIG. 1D illustrates a perspective view of a passthrough view 130 of the real-world environment 100 within the VR environment 140. The VR environment 140 may be rendered within the real-world environment 100. As a user approaches a virtual boundary, a portion of the passthrough view 130 can appear to show the user a real-world object that the user may risk running into (e.g., the real-world object 145). Thus, as the user gets close to the virtual boundary, a portion of the rendering of the VR environment 140 may transition to appear as a rendering showing the portion of the passthrough view 130," Lee paragraph 0038, first and second portion of the scene depends on where the edited virtual boundary is).
As to claim 13, Lee further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the representation of the physical environment of the user is displayed consuming a portion of a viewport of the electronic device ("FIG. 1D illustrates a perspective view of a passthrough view 130 of the real-world environment 100 within the VR environment 140. The VR environment 140 may be rendered within the real-world environment 100. As a user approaches a virtual boundary, a portion of the passthrough view 130 can appear to show the user a real-world object that the user may risk running into (e.g., the real-world object 145). Thus, as the user gets close to the virtual boundary, a portion of the rendering of the VR environment 140 may transition to appear as a rendering showing the portion of the passthrough view 130," Lee paragraph 0038).
As to claim 14, Lee further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first event including movement of the viewpoint of the user satisfies the one or more first criteria when the viewpoint changes from the first viewpoint to the second viewpoint at a rate greater than a threshold rate ("In particular embodiments, referring again to FIGS. 2A-2D, 3A-3D, and 4A-4D, the computing system 110 may determine a speed of the movement of the user. An area (e.g., the size) of the portion of the passthrough view 130 may be based on the determined speed of the user. The portion of the passthrough view 130 may be a spherical cap of a spherical second output image (e.g., the portion of the passthrough view is a portion of a spherical surface, where the spherical surface corresponds to the a VR environment that is rendered on a “spherical dome” around the user). If the user is moving at faster speeds, then the area of the portion of the passthrough view 130 may be relatively larger for a faster determined speed of the movement of the user than it may be for a user moving at a slower determined speed. As such, the portion of the passthrough view may take up a larger area of the output image displayed by the VR display device 135. If the user is moving at slower speeds, then the area of the portion of the passthrough view 130 may be relatively smaller for a slower determined speed of the movement of the user than it may be for a user moving at a faster determined speed. As such, the portion of the passthrough view may take up a smaller area of the output image displayed by the VR display device 135. If the output image is rendered as a spherical dome around the user, then the portion of the VR passthrough view may be a spherical cap in the spherical dome," Lee paragraph 0045).
As to claim 19, Lee discloses an electronic device in communication with a display and one or more input devices (“FIG. 1A illustrates an example of a virtual reality system 50 worn by a user 102. In particular embodiments, the virtual reality system 50 may comprise a head-mounted VR display device 135, a controller 106, and a computing system 110,” Lee paragraph 0025), the electronic device comprising:
one or more processors (“In particular embodiments, processor 1102 includes hardware for executing instructions, such as those making up a computer program. As an example and not by way of limitation, to execute instructions, processor 1102 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1104, or storage 1106; decode and execute them; and then write one or more results to an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1104, or storage 1106,” Lee paragraph 0071);
memory (“In particular embodiments, processor 1102 includes hardware for executing instructions, such as those making up a computer program. As an example and not by way of limitation, to execute instructions, processor 1102 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1104, or storage 1106; decode and execute them; and then write one or more results to an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1104, or storage 1106,” Lee paragraph 0071); and
one or more programs stored in the memory, wherein the one or more programs are configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions to perform a method (“In particular embodiments, processor 1102 includes hardware for executing instructions, such as those making up a computer program. As an example and not by way of limitation, to execute instructions, processor 1102 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1104, or storage 1106; decode and execute them; and then write one or more results to an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1104, or storage 1106,” Lee paragraph 0071) comprising:
while displaying, within a three-dimensional environment, a first portion of a virtual scene at a first region of the three-dimensional environment and a second portion of the virtual scene at a second region of the three-dimensional environment ("FIG. 9 illustrates an example method 900 for determining spatial awareness in a VR setting using a passthrough view. The method may begin at step 910, where a computing system may include rendering for one or more displays of a VR display device 135, a first output image of a VR environment based on a field of view of a user, wherein the VR environment comprises a virtual boundary corresponding to a real-world environment," Lee paragraph 0054; "FIG. 1D illustrates a perspective view of a passthrough view 130 of the real-world environment 100 within the VR environment 140. The VR environment 140 may be rendered within the real-world environment 100. As a user approaches a virtual boundary, a portion of the passthrough view 130 can appear to show the user a real-world object that the user may risk running into (e.g., the real-world object 145). Thus, as the user gets close to the virtual boundary, a portion of the rendering of the VR environment 140 may transition to appear as a rendering showing the portion of the passthrough view 130," Lee paragraph 0038, first and second portion of a virtual scene is displayed and as the user moves to the boundary a part of the virtual scene (i.e., the second portion) transitions to a view of the real-world), detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first event, wherein the first event includes movement of a viewpoint of a user of the electronic device from a first viewpoint to a second viewpoint ("At step 920, the method may include determining whether the user is approaching within a first threshold distance of the virtual boundary. At step 930, the method may include determining responsive to the user approaching within the first threshold distance of the virtual boundary, a direction of movement and the field of view of the user," Lee paragraph 0054); and
in response to detecting the first event, and in accordance with a determination the viewpoint of the user satisfies one or more first criteria:
maintaining display of the first portion of the virtual scene within the first region of the three-dimensional environment; and replacing display of the second portion of the virtual scene with a representation of a first portion of a physical environment of the user ("At step 940, the method may include accessing one or more images of the real-world environment captured by one or more cameras of the VR display device. At step 950, the method may include rendering, for the one or more displays of the VR display device, a second output image comprising a portion of the VR environment and a portion of a passthrough view of the real-world environment based on the accessed images, wherein the portion of the passthrough view is based on the determined direction of movement and the field of view of the user," Lee paragraph 0054; "In particular embodiments, the computing system 110 may determine whether the user is approaching within a first threshold distance of the virtual boundary 115. The computing system 110 may determine whether the user is approaching within a first threshold distance of the virtual boundary 115 using sensors, accelerometers, gyroscopes, or other position sensors of the camera 105 and/or the VR display device 135. The first threshold distance may be a predetermined distance (e.g., 1, 5, 10, etc. meters) from the virtual boundary 115," Lee paragraph 0037; "FIG. 1D illustrates a perspective view of a passthrough view 130 of the real-world environment 100 within the VR environment 140. The VR environment 140 may be rendered within the real-world environment 100. As a user approaches a virtual boundary, a portion of the passthrough view 130 can appear to show the user a real-world object that the user may risk running into (e.g., the real-world object 145). Thus, as the user gets close to the virtual boundary, a portion of the rendering of the VR environment 140 may transition to appear as a rendering showing the portion of the passthrough view 130," Lee paragraph 0038, if user moves within a threshold distance of the boundary (i.e., a first criteria) the first region of the scene maintains display while a second region of the scene is replaced with a passthrough representation of the physical environment).
As to claim 20, Lee discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device in communication with a display and one or more input devices cause the electronic device to perform a method (“In particular embodiments, processor 1102 includes hardware for executing instructions, such as those making up a computer program. As an example and not by way of limitation, to execute instructions, processor 1102 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1104, or storage 1106; decode and execute them; and then write one or more results to an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1104, or storage 1106,” Lee paragraph 0071; “FIG. 1A illustrates an example of a virtual reality system 50 worn by a user 102. In particular embodiments, the virtual reality system 50 may comprise a head-mounted VR display device 135, a controller 106, and a computing system 110,” Lee paragraph 0025) comprising:
while displaying, within a three-dimensional environment, a first portion of a virtual scene at a first region of the three-dimensional environment and a second portion of the virtual scene at a second region of the three-dimensional environment ("FIG. 9 illustrates an example method 900 for determining spatial awareness in a VR setting using a passthrough view. The method may begin at step 910, where a computing system may include rendering for one or more displays of a VR display device 135, a first output image of a VR environment based on a field of view of a user, wherein the VR environment comprises a virtual boundary corresponding to a real-world environment," Lee paragraph 0054; "FIG. 1D illustrates a perspective view of a passthrough view 130 of the real-world environment 100 within the VR environment 140. The VR environment 140 may be rendered within the real-world environment 100. As a user approaches a virtual boundary, a portion of the passthrough view 130 can appear to show the user a real-world object that the user may risk running into (e.g., the real-world object 145). Thus, as the user gets close to the virtual boundary, a portion of the rendering of the VR environment 140 may transition to appear as a rendering showing the portion of the passthrough view 130," Lee paragraph 0038, first and second portion of a virtual scene is displayed and as the user moves to the boundary a part of the virtual scene (i.e., the second portion) transitions to a view of the real-world), detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first event, wherein the first event includes movement of a viewpoint of a user of the electronic device from a first viewpoint to a second viewpoint ("At step 920, the method may include determining whether the user is approaching within a first threshold distance of the virtual boundary. At step 930, the method may include determining responsive to the user approaching within the first threshold distance of the virtual boundary, a direction of movement and the field of view of the user," Lee paragraph 0054); and
in response to detecting the first event, and in accordance with a determination the viewpoint of the user satisfies one or more first criteria:
maintaining display of the first portion of the virtual scene within the first region of the three-dimensional environment; and replacing display of the second portion of the virtual scene with a representation of a first portion of a physical environment of the user ("At step 940, the method may include accessing one or more images of the real-world environment captured by one or more cameras of the VR display device. At step 950, the method may include rendering, for the one or more displays of the VR display device, a second output image comprising a portion of the VR environment and a portion of a passthrough view of the real-world environment based on the accessed images, wherein the portion of the passthrough view is based on the determined direction of movement and the field of view of the user," Lee paragraph 0054; "In particular embodiments, the computing system 110 may determine whether the user is approaching within a first threshold distance of the virtual boundary 115. The computing system 110 may determine whether the user is approaching within a first threshold distance of the virtual boundary 115 using sensors, accelerometers, gyroscopes, or other position sensors of the camera 105 and/or the VR display device 135. The first threshold distance may be a predetermined distance (e.g., 1, 5, 10, etc. meters) from the virtual boundary 115," Lee paragraph 0037; "FIG. 1D illustrates a perspective view of a passthrough view 130 of the real-world environment 100 within the VR environment 140. The VR environment 140 may be rendered within the real-world environment 100. As a user approaches a virtual boundary, a portion of the passthrough view 130 can appear to show the user a real-world object that the user may risk running into (e.g., the real-world object 145). Thus, as the user gets close to the virtual boundary, a portion of the rendering of the VR environment 140 may transition to appear as a rendering showing the portion of the passthrough view 130," Lee paragraph 0038, if user moves within a threshold distance of the boundary (i.e., a first criteria) the first region of the scene maintains display while a second region of the scene is replaced with a passthrough representation of the physical environment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20220207837 A1) in view of Rudman et al. (US 11948263 B1) in further view of Wang (US 20240414432 A1).
As to claim 8, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, however Lee does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the virtual scene is shared in a communication session between the electronic device and another electronic device different from the electronic device, the method further comprising:
while the communication session is ongoing:
obtaining, via the one or more input devices, an indication of a request to modify virtual content included in the virtual scene;
in response to obtaining the indication of the request to modify the virtual content:
in accordance with a determination that one or more second criteria are satisfied, modifying the virtual content in accordance with the indication of the request to modify the virtual content; and
in accordance with a determination that the one or more second criteria are not satisfied, forgoing the modifying of the virtual content.
Rudman teaches a limitation wherein the virtual scene is shared in a communication session between the electronic device and another electronic device different from the electronic device ("An extended reality video conference may occur completely in real time or may include some content recorded in real time and additional content prerecorded. In some examples, one or more participants in an extended reality conference may physically appear in a scene while one or more others may be simulated in the scene. As one example, an extended reality video conference may involve capturing, transmitting, receiving, and/or displaying videos of participants of the conference. A video conference may include a live meeting or conversation conducted over a communications network using multimedia technology, such as video and audio communications," Rudman column 154 lines 31-42; “At least one processor associated with a wearable extended reality appliance may receive a request to initiate a video conference between a plurality of participants. Receiving of the request to initiate the video conference may be performed in a variety of manners. As one example, the at least one processor associated with the wearable extended reality appliance may receive a video conference call from another device (e.g., in real-time), and a user of the wearable extended reality appliance may take the call to initiate a video conference,” Rudman column 155 lines 41-50), the method further comprising:
while the communication session is ongoing:
obtaining, via the one or more input devices, an indication of a request to modify virtual content included in the virtual scene ("Some embodiments involve analyzing the additional image data to identify a change of the at least one interference region in the physical environment. In some embodiments, the change causes at least part of the multiple distinct locations to overlap with the changed at least one interference region. The change of the at least one interference region may refer to, for example, any variation, alteration, modification, or adjustment of the at least one interference region. The change of the at least one interference region may include, for example, a change of the shape, size, volume, dimension, contour, number, or any other feature or characteristic, of the at least one interference region. The change of the at least one interference region may be determined based on, for example, changed physical conditions of the physical environment (e.g., as determined based on analyzing the additional image data). The change of the at least one interference region may cause at least part of the multiple distinct locations at which the visual representations of the plurality of participants may be displayed, to overlap with the changed at least one interference region. For example, the changed at least one interference region may extend over so as to cover at least partly the multiple distinct locations. Non-limiting examples of changes in an interference region may include a closed window shade, a display powered off, or any interfering object altered or moved in a way rendering the object no longer interfering," Rudman column 163 lines 47-67 and column 164 lines 1-5).
in response to obtaining the indication of the request to modify the virtual content:
modifying the scene ("Some embodiments involve causing the wearable extended reality appliance to move at least one visual representation to a different location that has no overlap with the changed at least one interference region, such that the changed at least one interference region is devoid of any of the visual representations the plurality of participants. For example, at least one processor associated with the wearable extended reality appliance may determine which one(s) of the multiple distinct locations may overlap with the changed at least one interference region (e.g., based on comparing the coordinates or other spatial descriptors for the multiple distinct locations and the changed at least one interference region). Based on identifying the location(s), of the multiple distinct locations, that may overlap with the changed at least one interference region, the at least one processor may move the visual representation(s) displayed at the identified location(s) to other location(s), in the physical environment, that may not overlap with the changed at least one interference region," Rudman column 164 lines 6-24).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee to allow shared virtual reality sessions as taught by Rudman. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow the finished product to support more kinds of virtual reality sessions thus enhancing the utility of the finished product.
However neither Lee nor Rudman appear to explicitly disclose in response to obtaining the indication of the request to modify the virtual content:
in accordance with a determination that one or more second criteria are satisfied, modifying the virtual content in accordance with the indication of the request to modify the virtual content; and
in accordance with a determination that the one or more second criteria are not satisfied, forgoing the modifying of the virtual content.
Wang teaches in response to obtaining the indication of the request to modify the virtual content:
in accordance with a determination that one or more second criteria are satisfied, modifying the virtual content in accordance with the indication of the request to modify the virtual content ("In the embodiments of this application, automatic adjustment or default adjustment may be performed on the display position of the small window. For example, the electronic device may detect a display position of the face in the large window and the display position of the small window. When the electronic device detects that the small window overlaps with a region in which the face is located, the electronic device may automatically adjust the display position of the small window until there is no overlapping region in the two regions. Alternatively, the electronic device may detect the position of the face and a position of a rectangular border of the small window. When the electronic device detects that a distance between the border and the face region is less than a threshold, the electronic device stops moving the small window in a direction toward the face by default, so that the small window cannot be moved to a region displaying the face," Wang paragraph 0165); and
in accordance with a determination that the one or more second criteria are not satisfied, forgoing the modifying of the virtual content ("In the embodiments of this application, automatic adjustment or default adjustment may be performed on the display position of the small window. For example, the electronic device may detect a display position of the face in the large window and the display position of the small window. When the electronic device detects that the small window overlaps with a region in which the face is located, the electronic device may automatically adjust the display position of the small window until there is no overlapping region in the two regions. Alternatively, the electronic device may detect the position of the face and a position of a rectangular border of the small window. When the electronic device detects that a distance between the border and the face region is less than a threshold, the electronic device stops moving the small window in a direction toward the face by default, so that the small window cannot be moved to a region displaying the face," Wang paragraph 0165, not allowing further movement so as not to obscure the face (i.e., forgoing further modification of the virtual content)).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee to not allow modifications that would obscure facial / avatar content as taught by Wang. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that avatars in the virtual scene would not be obscured without having to move the avatars as in Rudman and cause resulting jumps in the participants’ points of view, resulting in a more predictable scene for the participants and greater ease of use.
As to claim 9, Lee as modified by Rudman and Wang further discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
while the first portion of the physical environment of the user is visible, displaying, via the display, a representation of a participant corresponding to the other electronic device at a position within the first portion of the virtual scene, wherein the one or more second criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the position of the representation of the participant is different from one or more positions corresponding to where the virtual content is modified ("In the embodiments of this application, automatic adjustment or default adjustment may be performed on the display position of the small window. For example, the electronic device may detect a display position of the face in the large window and the display position of the small window. When the electronic device detects that the small window overlaps with a region in which the face is located, the electronic device may automatically adjust the display position of the small window until there is no overlapping region in the two regions. Alternatively, the electronic device may detect the position of the face and a position of a rectangular border of the small window. When the electronic device detects that a distance between the border and the face region is less than a threshold, the electronic device stops moving the small window in a direction toward the face by default, so that the small window cannot be moved to a region displaying the face," Wang paragraph 0165).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20220207837 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20190310757 A1, hereinafter Lee2).
As to claim 10, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, however Lee does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the virtual scene is shared in a communication session between the electronic device and another electronic device, different from the electronic device, the method further comprising:
while the communication session is ongoing:
in accordance with a determination that one or more characteristics of the other electronic device satisfy one or more second criteria, including a representation of a participant of the communication session that is using the other electronic device within the three-dimensional environment; and
in accordance with a determination that one or more characteristics of the other electronic device do not satisfy the one or more second criteria, forgoing inclusion of the representation of the participant within the three-dimensional environment.
Lee2 teaches a limitation wherein the virtual scene is shared in a communication session between the electronic device and another electronic device, different from the electronic device ("As discussed above, an AR system may fashion three-dimensional, AR meeting spaces for users to collaborate within using AR headsets or other suitable technologies," Lee2 paragraph 0296; "The collaborative meeting space launcher displayed in screen display 6500A may allow a user accessing an AR system from a mobile phone, laptop, or computing device to view accessible AR meeting spaces… A user may select a particular meeting room using a suitable input gesture, e.g., a click, a swipe, a touch, a keyboard entry, etc., to enter into the spectator view of the meeting room, which is discussed in further detail below with reference to FIG. 65B," Lee2 paragraph 0299; "Spectator overview 6501 may further display the avatars and digital objects in appropriate locations, based on current position information associated with each avatar/user and digital object," Lee2 paragraph 0301; "In 6610, a user, e.g., user 202, may choose to view a three-dimensional local scene recreation from a mobile device or laptop computer. For example, a user may select 3D button 6504 from within a spectator mode as described above with reference to FIG. 65. AR/VR cloud system 206 may determine other users currently participating in the AR meeting space. AR/VR cloud system 206 may retrieve three-dimensional position information about users to place the users in particular places in the room. AR/VR cloud system 206 may retrieve additional information about the users in the AR meeting space that is needed to create the local scene, e.g., information about what the users are doing, an avatar representing the user, an indication that the user is speaking, a length of time that the users have been in the room, etc.," Lee2 paragraph 0314, user on a mobile phone or laptop can view the virtual scene in spectator mode and will not have an avatar in spectator mode), the method further comprising:
while the communication session is ongoing:
in accordance with a determination that one or more characteristics of the other electronic device satisfy one or more second criteria, including a representation of a participant of the communication session that is using the other electronic device within the three-dimensional environment ("As discussed above, an AR system may fashion three-dimensional, AR meeting spaces for users to collaborate within using AR headsets or other suitable technologies," Lee2 paragraph 0296; “Spectator overview 6501 may further display the avatars and digital objects in appropriate locations, based on current position information associated with each avatar/user and digital object,” Lee2 paragraph 0301); and
in accordance with a determination that one or more characteristics of the other electronic device do not satisfy the one or more second criteria, forgoing inclusion of the representation of the participant within the three-dimensional environment ("The collaborative meeting space launcher displayed in screen display 6500A may allow a user accessing an AR system from a mobile phone, laptop, or computing device to view accessible AR meeting spaces… A user may select a particular meeting room using a suitable input gesture, e.g., a click, a swipe, a touch, a keyboard entry, etc., to enter into the spectator view of the meeting room, which is discussed in further detail below with reference to FIG. 65B," Lee2 paragraph 0299; "Spectator overview 6501 may further display the avatars and digital objects in appropriate locations, based on current position information associated with each avatar/user and digital object," Lee2 paragraph 0301; "In 6610, a user, e.g., user 202, may choose to view a three-dimensional local scene recreation from a mobile device or laptop computer. For example, a user may select 3D button 6504 from within a spectator mode as described above with reference to FIG. 65. AR/VR cloud system 206 may determine other users currently participating in the AR meeting space. AR/VR cloud system 206 may retrieve three-dimensional position information about users to place the users in particular places in the room. AR/VR cloud system 206 may retrieve additional information about the users in the AR meeting space that is needed to create the local scene, e.g., information about what the users are doing, an avatar representing the user, an indication that the user is speaking, a length of time that the users have been in the room, etc.," Lee2 paragraph 0314, user on a mobile phone or laptop can view the virtual scene in spectator mode and will not have an avatar in spectator mode).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee to allow shared virtual reality sessions as taught by Lee2. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow the finished product to support more kinds of virtual reality sessions thus enhancing the utility of the finished product.
As to claim 11, Lee as modified by Lee2 discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the one or more characteristics of the other electronic device satisfies the one or more second criteria when the other electronic device is a head-mounted electronic device ("As discussed above, an AR system may fashion three-dimensional, AR meeting spaces for users to collaborate within using AR headsets or other suitable technologies," Lee2 paragraph 0296; “Spectator overview 6501 may further display the avatars and digital objects in appropriate locations, based on current position information associated with each avatar/user and digital object,” Lee2 paragraph 0301).
As to claim 12, Lee as modified by Lee2 discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the one or more characteristics of the other electronic device do not satisfy the one or more second criteria when the other electronic device is any one of a laptop computing device, a mobile handset, a tablet computing device, and a desktop computing device ("The collaborative meeting space launcher displayed in screen display 6500A may allow a user accessing an AR system from a mobile phone, laptop, or computing device to view accessible AR meeting spaces… A user may select a particular meeting room using a suitable input gesture, e.g., a click, a swipe, a touch, a keyboard entry, etc., to enter into the spectator view of the meeting room, which is discussed in further detail below with reference to FIG. 65B," Lee2 paragraph 0299; "Spectator overview 6501 may further display the avatars and digital objects in appropriate locations, based on current position information associated with each avatar/user and digital object," Lee2 paragraph 0301; "In 6610, a user, e.g., user 202, may choose to view a three-dimensional local scene recreation from a mobile device or laptop computer. For example, a user may select 3D button 6504 from within a spectator mode as described above with reference to FIG. 65. AR/VR cloud system 206 may determine other users currently participating in the AR meeting space. AR/VR cloud system 206 may retrieve three-dimensional position information about users to place the users in particular places in the room. AR/VR cloud system 206 may retrieve additional information about the users in the AR meeting space that is needed to create the local scene, e.g., information about what the users are doing, an avatar representing the user, an indication that the user is speaking, a length of time that the users have been in the room, etc.," Lee2 paragraph 0314, user on a mobile phone or laptop can view the virtual scene in spectator mode and will not have an avatar in spectator mode).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20220207837 A1) in view of Lal et al. (US 20240189704 A1, hereinafter Lal).
As to claim 15, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, however Lee does not appear to explicitly disclose a limitation wherein the first portion of the physical environment of the user corresponds to a respective portion of the three-dimensional environment within which one or more representation of physical individuals are displayed.
Lal teaches a limitation wherein the first portion of the physical environment of the user corresponds to a respective portion of the three-dimensional environment within which one or more representation of physical individuals are displayed ("Additionally, another person 112 may enter the area while user 102 is interacting with the VR content. If the other person 112 enters the play area, a notification may be presented to user 102 on VR headset 104 that person 112 has entered the play area. The movement of objects outside the play area, including person 112, may be detected. Based on the detected movements, VR headset 104 may determine whether an object is projected to enter the play area and only notify the user if it is determined that the object is projected to enter the play area," Lal paragraph 0050; "To help the user avoid physical harm while consuming VR content, VR display device 800 monitors the area surrounding VR display device 800 for movement. For example, VR display device 800 may use successive images captured by imaging sensor 802 to determine that an object in the area is moving. The distance moved and the time between successive captured images can be used to determine the velocity of the object, and the change in position between successive captured images can be used to determine the direction of travel. VR display device 800 may use image recognition techniques to identify the type of object that is moving. For example, the object may be another person, an animal, an inanimate object (e.g., a ball thrown in the area), or a self-propelled or autonomous device (e.g., a smart vacuum)... VR display device 800 may therefore display an alert or notification to the user informing them of the object or may enable a passthrough mode allowing the user to see their surroundings through the VR content," Lal paragraph 0059).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee to track objects such as human beings that move into the boundary area as taught by Lal. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the risk of accident or injury could be further reduced thus making the finished product safer for the user.
As to claim 16, Lee as modified by Lal further discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising:
before the first event is detected and while the viewpoint of the user is the first viewpoint, displaying, via the display, a visual indication corresponding to the first portion of the physical environment of the user ("While in the directional passthrough view, the user can see where the virtual boundary (e.g., the virtual line drawn by the user) is, to help the user stay in the safe zone," Lee paragraph 0024).
As to claim 17, Lee as modified by Lal further discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising:
while the first portion of the physical environment of the user is visible, in response to the first event, and in accordance with the determination that the viewpoint of the user satisfies the one or more first criteria, displaying, via the display, one or more representations of physical individuals within the representation of the first portion of the physical environment of the user ("Additionally, another person 112 may enter the area while user 102 is interacting with the VR content. If the other person 112 enters the play area, a notification may be presented to user 102 on VR headset 104 that person 112 has entered the play area. The movement of objects outside the play area, including person 112, may be detected. Based on the detected movements, VR headset 104 may determine whether an object is projected to enter the play area and only notify the user if it is determined that the object is projected to enter the play area," Lal paragraph 0050; "To help the user avoid physical harm while consuming VR content, VR display device 800 monitors the area surrounding VR display device 800 for movement. For example, VR display device 800 may use successive images captured by imaging sensor 802 to determine that an object in the area is moving. The distance moved and the time between successive captured images can be used to determine the velocity of the object, and the change in position between successive captured images can be used to determine the direction of travel. VR display device 800 may use image recognition techniques to identify the type of object that is moving. For example, the object may be another person, an animal, an inanimate object (e.g., a ball thrown in the area), or a self-propelled or autonomous device (e.g., a smart vacuum)... VR display device 800 may therefore display an alert or notification to the user informing them of the object or may enable a passthrough mode allowing the user to see their surroundings through the VR content," Lal paragraph 0059).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20220207837 A1) in view of Lal et al. (US 20240189704 A1, hereinafter Lal) in further view of Noris et al. (US 11170575 B1, hereinafter Noris).
As to claim 17, Lee as modified by Lal discloses the method of claim 15, however neither Lee nor Lal appear to explicitly disclose a limitation further comprising:
before detecting the first event, while displaying the first portion of the virtual scene at the first region of the three-dimensional environment, and while displaying the second portion of the virtual scene at the second region of the three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second event including user input directed to the second portion of the virtual scene; and in response to detecting the second event, replacing display of the second portion of the virtual scene with the representation of the first portion of the physical environment of the user.
Noris teaches a limitation further comprising:
before detecting the first event, while displaying the first portion of the virtual scene at the first region of the three-dimensional environment, and while displaying the second portion of the virtual scene at the second region of the three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second event including user input directed to the second portion of the virtual scene; and in response to detecting the second event, replacing display of the second portion of the virtual scene with the representation of the first portion of the physical environment of the user ("In particular embodiments, the computing system associated with the user's HMD may provide an on-demand passthrough feature. When the user wishes to see information about his physical surroundings, he may issue a command to cause the computing system to display passthrough information. For example, the user may trigger the feature by pressing a button on a controller, providing a particular voice command, or making a particular gesture. In particular embodiments, the passthrough feature may be provided by the operating system of the artificial-reality device so that the feature could be invoked within any third-party application running on the operating system. This allows the passthrough feature to be invoked while the user is playing a game, exploring a virtual world, or watching a movie with friends. The particular command for enabling the passthrough feature may be reserved by the operating system so that the command does not conflate with any other action designed by individual applications. For example, the command may require a particular pattern of buttons to be pressed simultaneously, a particular button to be pressed for a threshold amount of time (e.g., 1 second, 2 seconds, etc.), a voice command that includes a particular trigger word (e.g., “passthrough”), a particular gesture (e.g., rotating one hand twice within a threshold amount of time), or any combination of the above," Noris paragraph 0027).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Noris to let the user use passthrough mode on demand as taught by Noris. One would have been motivated to make such a combination so that the user could engage with the real world without breaking immersion (Noris paragraph 0026).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 12437489 B2 to Zhang et al. discloses presenting meshed representations of physical objects within defined boundaries for interacting with artificial-reality content, and systems and methods of use thereof where representations of real physical objects are displayed to a user in a virtual reality scene as the user approaches the boundary of the virtual reality scene;
US 20160350973 A1 to Shapira et al. discloses shared tactile interaction and user safety in shared space multi-person immersive virtual reality where virtual reality users in a shared virtual reality experience are shown physical representations of the real world as they enter the shared virtual reality space;
US 20190043259 A1 to Wang et al. discloses depth sensor aided estimation of virtual reality boundaries where passthrough display in a virtual reality scene is enabled for real-world objects that stray within the virtual reality boundary; and
US 20210382305 A1 to Chang discloses a method for dynamically displaying a real-world scene, electronic device and computer readable medium where a portion of a virtual reality scene is replaced with a passthrough view when a user moves too close to the boundary of the virtual reality scene.
/DANIEL SAMWEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171