DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is written in response to an amendment filed on 7/8/2026. As directed by amendment: Claims 1, 5, and 14 were amended. No new claims were added and no claims were cancelled. Thus, Claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection still stands.
Argument 1: Amended independent claim 1 recites obtaining, for each of the plurality of nodes, a set of operational characteristics associated with the corresponding node. Amended independent claim 1 further recites that the set of operational characteristics indicates at least traffic data associated with the corresponding node from the plurality of nodes, the traffic data indicating activity relating to sending and/or receiving of data associated with the corresponding node. Amended independent claim 1 further recites determining a health status of each of the plurality of nodes based on the corresponding set of operational characteristics obtained for the corresponding node.
The amended independent claim 1 requires a node-specific correspondence. The
operational characteristics are associated with the corresponding node, the traffic data is associated with the corresponding node, and the health status is determined based on the corresponding set of operational characteristics obtained for that corresponding node.
Morara describes receiving subscriber statuses of customer premises equipment (CPE) of a communication network represented as a network tree having a root node and leaf nodes. Each leaf node corresponds to a CPE. Morara further describes determining Bayesian posterior probabilities of a communication cut at nodes of the network tree based on the subscriber statuses of the CPEs, and determining a network node status topology based on the determined Bayesian
posterior probabilities. Morara also describes receiving a heartbeat signal from each CPE and determining the subscriber status of each CPE based on the corresponding heartbeat signal.
However, Morara does not describe obtaining, for each node whose health status is determined, a set of operational characteristics associated with that corresponding node. Morara determines node status topology by inference from subscriber statuses of leaf CPEs and Bayesian posterior probabilities. For network tree nodes other than the observed CPE/leaf nodes, Morara does not obtain operational characteristics from the corresponding node and does not determine that node's health status based on a set of operational characteristics obtained for that same corresponding node.
Further, Morara does not describe the claimed traffic data. The claimed traffic data indicates activity relating to sending and/or receiving of data associated with the corresponding node. Morara's heartbeat signal and OK/Fault or connectivity status are status inputs used to determine subscriber status or infer a network cut. A heartbeat/status signal used for fault inference is not traffic data indicating activity relating to sending and/or receiving of data associated with the corresponding node.
Accordingly, Morara does not anticipate the features of "obtain, for each of the plurality of nodes, a set of operational characteristics associated with the corresponding node," "the traffic data indicating activity relating to sending and/or receiving of data associated with the corresponding node," and "determine a health status of each of the plurality of nodes based on the corresponding set of operational characteristics obtained for the corresponding node," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Examiner’s Response: Morara teaches obtain, for each of the plurality of nodes, a set of operational characteristics associated with the corresponding node, the set of operational characteristics indicating at least traffic data associated with the corresponding node from the plurality of nodes (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes.);
the traffic data indicating activity relating to sending or receiving of data associated with the corresponding node (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes. The level of connectivity of the nodes relates to sending or receiving of data associated with the corresponding node.);
determine a health status of each of the plurality of nodes based on the corresponding set of operational characteristics (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes. The health status is the node status of OK or Fault.).
The level of connectivity of the nodes relates to sending or receiving of data.
The claims do not specify what the corresponding node is. It can be viewed as any node among the plurality of nodes. Further, the amended claims now raise a 112(b) issue.
Therefore, Morara still teaches the amended claim limitations.
Argument 2: The Applicant submits that dependent claims 2, 6, and 15 are also not anticipated by Morara based at least on the dependence on amended independent claims 1, 5, and 14, respectively.
Further, dependent claims 2, 6, and 15 recite that the set of operational characteristics further comprises at least one of test data, network data, historical network data, performance data, or traffic data, as applicable. The Office Action maps each enumerated type of data to Morara's OK/Fault or connectivity status. However, Morara's OK/Fault or connectivity status is not the claimed set of operational characteristics associated with the corresponding node, and is not traffic data indicating activity relating to sending and/or receiving of data associated with the corresponding node. At least for these reasons, claims 2, 6, and 15 are believed to be patentable.
Examiner’s Response: The claims do not specify what the corresponding node is. It can be viewed as any node among the plurality of nodes. Further, the amended claims now raise a 112(b) issue.
Therefore, Morara still teaches the amended claim limitations.
Argument 3: Claims 11 and 20 recite updating the network architecture periodically to reflect the current health status of the plurality of nodes.
Morara describes example schematic views of network trees and network node status topologies, including examples in Figs. 3A-3C. However, Morara does not describe periodically updating the displayed network architecture to reflect the current health status of the plurality of nodes. Separate example schematic views of network node status topologies are not a disclosure of periodically updating the claimed network architecture. Accordingly, claims 11 and 20 are not anticipated by Morara.
Examiner’s Response: Morara teaches further comprising updating the network architecture periodically to reflect the current health status of the plurality of nodes (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-52; Fig. 3B, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 53-67; Fig. 3C, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 8 lines 1-23).
Morara teaches a monitoring system that monitors for faults in nodes and reflects the current health status as shown in Figs. 3A-3C. The monitoring system monitors the network over a period of time, and therefore does so periodically to show the current health status of the nodes.
Argument 4: Claim 13 recites generating alerts based on the determined health status of the plurality of nodes.
Morara describes heartbeat signals received from CPEs and used to determine subscriber status. The heartbeat signals are inputs to the fault-determination process. The Office Action relies on those heartbeat signals as the alleged alert. However, the cited heartbeat signals are received before the determined health status and are used to determine subscriber status. The cited heartbeat signals are not alerts generated based on the determined health status of the plurality of nodes. Accordingly, claim 13 is not anticipated by Morara.
Examiner’s Response: Morara teaches further comprising generating alerts based on the determined health status of the plurality of nodes (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes. The health status is the node status of OK or Fault. The network architecture is the schematic view of an example network tree. The alert is the heartbeat signals.).
Col. 7 lines 33-36 of Morara states “The leaf nodes 232, 232a-d may report their corresponding node statuses 232 (e.g., via the heart beats 142) to the root node 210, which may be in communication with the monitoring system 300.”
Therefore, the alerts (heartbeat 142) are generated based on the determined health status (corresponding node status 232) of the plurality of nodes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 recites the limitation "the corresponding node" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claims 2-4, Dependent Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for inheriting the deficiencies of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 recites the limitation "the corresponding node" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claims 6-13, Dependent Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for inheriting the deficiencies of Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 recites the limitation "the corresponding node" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claims 15-20, Dependent Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for inheriting the deficiencies of Claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 10-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Morara et al (“Morara”, US 9948384).
Regarding Claim 1, Morara teaches a system for determining a health status of a plurality of nodes of a network, comprising: a memory configured to store computer executable instructions (Col. 20 lines 30-60);
and one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to (Col. 20 lines 30-60):
obtain, for each of the plurality of nodes, a set of operational characteristics associated with the corresponding node, the set of operational characteristics indicating at least traffic data associated with the corresponding node from the plurality of nodes (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes.);
the traffic data indicating activity relating to sending or receiving of data associated with the corresponding node (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes. The level of connectivity of the nodes relates to sending or receiving of data associated with the corresponding node.);
determine a health status of each of the plurality of nodes based on the corresponding set of operational characteristics (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes. The health status is the node status of OK or Fault.),
wherein the health status indicates a current working condition of each of the plurality of nodes (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes. The health status is the node status of OK or Fault.);
and based on the determined health status, output a network architecture of the network to display, the network architecture indicating a hierarchical node-level view of the plurality of nodes (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes. The health status is the node status of OK or Fault. The network architecture is the schematic view of an example network tree.),
wherein the network architecture indicates health status of each of the plurality of nodes (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes. The health status is the node status of OK or Fault. The network architecture is the schematic view of an example network tree.).
Regarding Claim 2, Morara teaches the system of claim 1.
Morara further teaches wherein the set of operational characteristics of a node further comprises at least one of:
test data (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes.),
network data (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes.),
historical network data (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes.),
performance data (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes.),
or the traffic data (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes.).
Regarding Claim 4, Morara teaches the system of claim 1.
Morara further teaches wherein the plurality of nodes relate to network resources of the network (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes. The health status is the node status of OK or Fault. The network architecture is the schematic view of an example network tree.).
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 10, Morara teaches the method of claim 5.
Morara further teaches wherein the network architecture is displayed in a hierarchical manner (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36).
Regarding Claim 11, Morara teaches the method of claim 5.
Morara teaches further comprising updating the network architecture periodically to reflect the current health status of the plurality of nodes (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-52; Fig. 3B, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 53-67; Fig. 3C, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 8 lines 1-23).
Regarding Claim 12, Morara teaches the method of claim 5.
Morara further teaches wherein the network architecture includes a visual indicator for each node to represent its health status (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36).
Regarding Claim 13, Morara teaches the method of claim 5.
Morara teaches further comprising generating alerts based on the determined health status of the plurality of nodes (Fig. 3A, elements {142, 220, 220a, 220b, 232, 232a, 232b}, Col. 7 lines 18-36; The operational characteristics are the level of connectivity of the nodes. The health status is the node status of OK or Fault. The network architecture is the schematic view of an example network tree. The alert is the heartbeat signals.).
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 19, Claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 20, Claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claims 3, 7-9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morara in view of Jen et al (“Jen”, US 20180295529).
Regarding Claim 3, Morara teaches the system of claim 1.
Morara does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to: receive a request relating to at least one of: transmitting, or receiving of data; based on the request and the determined health status of each of the plurality of the nodes, identify at least one available node from the plurality of nodes; and cause to use the identified available node for completing the request.
Jen teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to: receive a request relating to at least one of: transmitting, or receiving of data (Fig. 2, elements {S210-S230}, par 26-31);
based on the request and the determined health status of each of the plurality of the nodes, identify at least one available node from the plurality of nodes (Fig. 2, elements {S210-S230}, par 26-31; The health status is whether the nodes have gone offline or are malfunctioning.);
and cause to use the identified available node for completing the request (Fig. 2, elements {S210-S230}, par 26-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Morara with the routing of Jen because it allows for connections to be made via an alternate path if a node in a path is disconnected or malfunctioning (Jen; par 31).
Regarding Claim 7, Morara teaches the method of claim 5.
Morara does not explicitly teach further comprising receiving a request relating to at least one of: transmitting or receiving of data.
Jen teaches further comprising receiving a request relating to at least one of: transmitting or receiving of data (Fig. 2, elements {S210-S230}, par 26-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Morara with the routing of Jen because it allows for connections to be made via an alternate path if a node in a path is disconnected or malfunctioning (Jen; par 31).
Regarding Claim 8, Morara and Jen teach the method of claim 7.
Morara does not explicitly teach further comprising, based on the request and the determined health status of each of the plurality of nodes, identifying at least one available node from the plurality of nodes.
Jen teaches further comprising, based on the request and the determined health status of each of the plurality of nodes, identifying at least one available node from the plurality of nodes (Fig. 2, elements {S210-S230}, par 26-31; The health status is whether the nodes have gone offline or are malfunctioning.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Morara with the routing of Jen because it allows for connections to be made via an alternate path if a node in a path is disconnected or malfunctioning (Jen; par 31).
Regarding Claim 9, Morara and Jen teach the method of claim 8.
Morara does not explicitly teach further comprising causing the identified available node to be used for completing the request.
Jen teaches further comprising causing the identified available node to be used for completing the request (Fig. 2, elements {S210-S230}, par 26-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Morara with the routing of Jen because it allows for connections to be made via an alternate path if a node in a path is disconnected or malfunctioning (Jen; par 31).
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 is rejected with the same reasoning as Claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cohen et al (US 20160378615), Abstract - Tracking health of component in a computer system is disclosed. A health score for software components is determined for each of a plurality of time periods. The computing system determines a problem software component whose health score indicates the unhealthy status at a certain point in time. The computing system determines a set of software components that are linked by dependency relationships to the problem software component. The computing system tracks events at which software components in the set have a health score that went from the healthy status to the unhealthy status. The computing system rolls back in time through the events to locate a software component in the set that was first in time to have its health score go from the healthy status to the unhealthy status.
Singh et al (US 20200313925), Abstract - A building automation system includes a plurality of subnets, an active broadcast management device configured on at least one of the subnets, a pool of virtual devices communicably connected to the active broadcast management device, each of the virtual devices in the pool of virtual devices configured to store a broadcast distribution table (BDT), one or more processors, and memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing instructions. When executed by the one or more processors, the instructions cause the one or more processors to transmit a health status message to each available virtual device in the pool of virtual devices, receive a health status response from each of the available virtual devices, and select, according to the health status responses, at least one of the virtual devices from among the available virtual devices as a backup virtual broadcast management device to the active broadcast management device.
Applin et al (US 20230297299), Abstract - A multi-function device (MFD) is disclosed. For example, the MFD includes, a communication interface to establish a communication session with other MFDs within a community of MFDs, a processor, and a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to determine a feature of the MFD is operating incorrectly, transmit a help message to the other MFDs within the community of MFDs, receive a configuration file for the feature that is operating incorrectly from a second MFD within the community of MFDs that has a health status of fully operational, upload the configuration file, determine the feature is operating correctly after the configuration file is uploaded, and update a health status of the MFD to fully operational.
Kerry (US 20230216765), Abstract - Various embodiments herein each include at least one of systems, methods, software, and devices for edge system health monitoring and auditing. One embodiment, in the form of a method includes performing a system audit over a first network of devices deployed within the facility to determine a status of each respective device. This embodiment further includes determining an overall system status for the facility based on results of the system audit including consideration of a status of each of the devices deployed within the facility and storing data representative of the overall system status of the facility. This embodiment also transmits at least a portion of the data representative of the overall system status of the facility over a second network to a facility system status monitoring application which may then present a single indicator of the overall system status or health.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAQIUL A CHOUDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2444