Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann et al. (US 2019/0362616) in view of Scarola et al. (US 2011/0234598), and further in view of Murphy et al. (US 2022/0079394).
Claim 1, Hermann teaches a hand washing monitoring system (abstract) comprising:
a soap dispenser disposed at a site (Fig. 2, sanitization unit 22);
a proximity sensor configured to sense one or more persons within proximity of the soap dispenser at the site (par. 56: the proximity detector/sensor 26 is mounted to the housing and determines proximity of a person with respect to the detector/sensor 26).
Hermann does not teach:
an accelerometer configured to detect whether soap is dispensed from the soap dispenser; and
a radar sensor configured to determine how many people are present at the site.
In the field of endeavor, Scarola teaches sensor 115 can be a motion detector or accelerometer operable to regulate the transmission from the dispenser transmitter 110 in response to detecting release of sanitizer 125 from the dispenser 120 (par. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Hermann’s dispensing sensor by substituting with an accelerometer sensor for dispensing detection as taught by Scarola, a finding that that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
The combination does not teach:
a radar sensor configured to determine how many people are present at the site.
In the field of endeavor, Murphy teaches using radar sensor for tracking position and a quantity of users in the vicinity of an automated dispenser (par. 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination’s dispenser unit detection sensor by substituting with a radar sensor for tracking user as taught by Murphy, a finding that that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the proximity sensor is integrated with or coupled to the soap dispenser (Hermann Fig. 2, proximity sensor 26).
Claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the accelerometer is integrated with or coupled to the soap dispenser (Hermann Fig. 2, switch/usage sensor 40).
Claim 4, the combination teaches wherein the radar sensor is integrated with or coupled to the soap dispenser (Murphy Fig. 1, user sensor 133).
Claim 5, the combination teaches wherein each of the people present at the site is equipped with an identifying device (Hermann par. 14: electronic tags worn by one or more persons), the system further comprising a first wireless interface for detecting the identifying device and a second wireless interface for providing detection information from the first wireless interface to a gateway, cloud, or database (Fig. 6, par. 14: the one or more electronic tags may be operative to communicate with one or more dispensers, a central computing system/station, and/or a data collection server, and may transmit information from one or more sensors operatively connected to the one or more electronic tags. As shown in Fig. 6, communication between server with dispensing station, and from dispensing station to tag required communication interfaces).
Claim 6, the combination teaches wherein the identifying device is configured to identify the one or more persons in proximity to the soap dispenser (Hermann par. 15: a tag radio frequency module operative to communicate with the at least one sanitization unit and the central computing system; and 3) one or more sensors for tracking a location of the at least one tag).
Claim 7, the combination teaches further comprising one of a display and a sound device configured to signal whether one or more of the people present at the site have not washed their hands (Hermann par. 52: In specific embodiments, the alarm sounds when the person fails to dispense antiseptic solution from the dispenser within a predetermined period of time after moving within a predetermined range of the detector).
Claim 8, the combination teaches further comprising a solar cell coupled to the soap dispenser and configured to provide power to one or more of the proximity sensor, the accelerometer, and the radar sensor from ambient light at the site (Hermann par. 71: power source may be rechargeable by solar energy (via one or more solar panels not shown)).
Claim(s) 9, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann et al. (US 2019/0362616) in view of Scarola et al. (US 2011/0234598).
Claim 9, Hermann teaches disinfectant dispenser (Fig. 2, unit 22) comprising:
a proximity sensor configured to sense one or more persons within proximity of the disinfectant dispenser (par. 56: the proximity detector/sensor 26 is mounted to the housing and determines proximity of a person with respect to the detector/sensor 26);
a disinfectant reservoir (Fig. 2, dispenser 28 includes reservoir); and
a dispensing nozzle coupled to the disinfectant reservoir and configured to dispense disinfectant (par. 55: dispensing hygiene product such as sanitizer through nozzle).
Hermann does not teach an accelerometer configured to detect whether disinfectant is dispensed.
In the field of endeavor, Scarola teaches sensor 115 can be a motion detector or accelerometer operable to regulate the transmission from the dispenser transmitter 110 in response to detecting release of sanitizer 125 from the dispenser 120 (par. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Hermann’s dispensing sensor by substituting with an accelerometer sensor for dispensing detection as taught by Scarola, a finding that that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Claim 10, the combination teaches wherein the proximity sensor is configured to identify the one or more persons in proximity thereof by communicating with an identifying device of the one or more persons (Hermann par. 14-15: par. 14: electronic tags worn by one or more persons … a tag radio frequency module operative to communicate with the at least one sanitization unit and the central computing system; and 3) one or more sensors for tracking a location of the at least one tag).
Claim 12, the combination teaches further comprising a solar cell configured to provide power to at least one of the proximity sensor and the accelerometer (Hermann par. 71: power source may be rechargeable by solar energy (via one or more solar panels not shown)).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann et al. (US 2019/0362616) in view of Scarola et al. (US 2011/0234598), and further in view of Ali et al. (US 2023/0068765).
Claim 11, the combination does not teach further comprising a radar sensor configured to be powered on after the proximity sensor determines presence of one or more persons.
In the field of endeavor, Ali teaches keeping a radar module in a sleep state until presence detected through an infrared sensor (par. 145).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination’s dispenser sensing by further including a radar sensor activation through another proximity detection sensor as taught by Ali in order to provide availability of power for other communication functionality and the results of the combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (Ali par. 145).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,492. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are of similar scope.
Claim 2 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12165492.
Claim 3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12165492.
Claim 4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12165492 in view of Murphy et al. (US 2022/0079394). Murphy teaches wherein the radar sensor is integrated with or coupled to the soap dispenser (Murphy Fig. 1, user sensor 133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the radar sensor placement by integrating or coupling the radar sensor with a soap dispenser, since it was held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12165492 in view of Hermann et al. (US 2019/0362616). Hermann teaches wherein each of the people present at the site is equipped with an identifying device (Hermann par. 14: electronic tags worn by one or more persons), the system further comprising a first wireless interface for detecting the identifying device and a second wireless interface for providing detection information from the first wireless interface to a gateway, cloud, or database (Fig. 6, par. 14: the one or more electronic tags may be operative to communicate with one or more dispensers, a central computing system/station, and/or a data collection server, and may transmit information from one or more sensors operatively connected to the one or more electronic tags. As shown in Fig. 6, communication between server with dispensing station, and from dispensing station to tag required communication interfaces).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilized equipped each of the people present at the site with an identifying device and communicating the identifying device information to a remote server as taught by Hermann in order to provide an alternative means of identifying each user detected.
Claim 6 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12165492 in view of Hermann et al. (US 2019/0362616). Hermann teaches wherein the identifying device is configured to identify the one or more persons in proximity to the soap dispenser (Hermann par. 15: a tag radio frequency module operative to communicate with the at least one sanitization unit and the central computing system; and 3) one or more sensors for tracking a location of the at least one tag).
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,492.
Claim 8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12165492 in view of Hermann et al. (US 2019/0362616). Hermann teaches further comprising a solar cell coupled to the soap dispenser and configured to provide power to one or more of the proximity sensor, the accelerometer, and the radar sensor from ambient light at the site (Hermann par. 71: power source may be rechargeable by solar. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilized a solar cell coupled to soap dispenser as taught by Hermann in order to provide alternative power source to other electronics devices.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,492.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,492.
Claim 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12165492 in view of Ali et al. (US 2023/0068765). Ali teaches keeping a radar module in a sleep state until presence detected through an infrared sensor (par. 145).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination’s dispenser sensing by further including a radar sensor activation through another proximity detection sensor as taught by Ali in order to provide availability of power for other communication functionality and the results of the combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (Ali par. 145).
Claim 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12165492 in view of Hermann et al. (US 2019/0362616). Hermann teaches further comprising a solar cell configured to provide power to at least one of the proximity sensor and the accelerometer (Hermann par. 71: power source may be rechargeable by solar energy (via one or more solar panels not shown)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilized a solar cell coupled to soap dispenser as taught by Hermann in order to provide alternative power source to other electronics devices.
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 13-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 9-20 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,165,492. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/AN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686