DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on September 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugihara et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0042544).
With regard to independent claim 1, Sugihara et al teaches an electronic device (page 1, paragraphs [0005]-[0014] and Figures 1 and 2B), comprising: a frame (page 5, paragraph [0110] and Figure 2B); a window secured to the frame (page 5, paragraph [0112], wherein the frame may or may not have a lens and broadly, without a lens, the frame forms a window); a waveguide configured to direct light displayed at the window (Figure 1, element 50); and a securement arm (Figure 1, element 10) including an electronic port electrically coupled to the waveguide (Figure 2B, elements CP1 and CF1), the electronic port comprising: a through-hole defined by an inner surface of the securement arm (see annotated Figure 2B below); a first electrical contact defining the inner surface (Figure 2B, element TP1); and a second electrical contact defining the inner surface (Figure 2B, element TP2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugihara et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0042544).
With regard to dependent claim 8, although Sugihara et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, further including such an electronic device wherein the securement arm comprises: a proximal end secured to the frame (see annotated Figure 2B above); and a distal end opposite the proximal end (see annotated Figure 2B above), Sugihara et al fails to teach such an electronic device wherein the electronic port is disposed at the distal end, but does teach the electronic port as being disposed on the proximal end. It should be noted that it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 67), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to move the electronic port from a proximal end to a distal end as a design alternative.
With regard to dependent claim 9, although Sugihara et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 8, Sugihara et al fails to teach such an electronic device wherein the electronic port is configured to be positioned behind the ear of a user when the user dons the electronic device. However, it should be noted, as outlined above, that providing the electronic port on the distal end of the securement arm is an obvious variant of the electronic device as taught by Sugihara et al, wherein placement of the electronic port at the distal end would provide the electronic port to be positioned behind the ear of a user in a worn position, i.e., at the temple’s end.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper.
Although Sugihara et al teaches an electronic device (page 1, paragraphs [0005]-[0014] and Figures 1 and 2B), comprising: a frame (page 5, paragraph [0110] and Figure 2B); a window secured to the frame (page 5, paragraph [0112], wherein the frame may or may not have a lens and broadly, without a lens, the frame forms a window); a waveguide configured to direct light displayed at the window (Figure 1, element 50); and a securement arm (Figure 1, element 10) including an electronic port electrically coupled to the waveguide (Figure 2B, elements CP1 and CF1), the electronic port comprising: a through-hole defined by an inner surface of the securement arm (see annotated Figure 2B below); a first electrical contact defining the inner surface (Figure 2B, element TP1); and a second electrical contact defining the inner surface (Figure 2B, element TP2), and further teaches wherein: the securement arm includes a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; the securement arm includes a thickness defined between the first surface and the second surface, Sugihara et al fails to teach such an electronic device wherein the through-hole extends entirely through the thickness of the securement arm, as claimed in dependent claim 2.
Again, Sugihara et al teaches al of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, but fails to teach such an electronic device further comprising: a third electrical contact defining the inner surface; a first insulating portion defining the inner surface between the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact; and a second insulating portion defining the inner surface between the second electrical contact and the third electrical contact, as claimed in dependent claim 4; or wherein the first electrical contact comprises an expandable ring having a first terminal end and a second terminal end opposite the first terminal end, as claimed in dependent claim 6.
With regard to dependent claims 3, 5 and 7, claims 3, 5 and 7 are allowable as they depend, directly or indirectly, from dependent claims 2, 4 and 6, respectively and therefore inherit all of the limitations of the claim from which they depend.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kanuganti et al (WO 2019/108980 A1), Klosinski , Jr. et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0255029), El-Ghoroury et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0108697) and Ronzani et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2002/0163486) all teach electronic devices comprising a securement arm having an electronic port.
/DARRYL J COLLINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
23 September 2026