DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 8/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Moreno et al (9,521,984 B2) in view of Gregerson et al (US 10151810 B2).
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 8/13/2026 has been accepted and entered. Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10-11, 15-20 are amended. No claims are cancelled. No new clams are added. Thus, claims 1-20 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreno et al (9,521,984 B2) in view of Gregerson et al (US 10151810 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Moreno et al discloses an imaging system to acquire image data for generation of a long image of a subject, the imaging system comprising: a mobile base (1) (chassis) having a support portion and a mobility portion (See Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 52-57), wherein the mobility portion includes at least one moveable member configured to engage a surface and move the mobile base (See Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 52-57); and a telescoping assembly (2) operably connected between the gantry (x-ray head)) (4) and the support portion (5) (See Fig. 4); a gantry (x-ray head-gantry mounting member)) (4) movably connected to the support portion of the mobile base (col. 3, lines 67-col. 4, line 7), wherein the gantry (x-ray head, i.e. gantry mounting member) (4) is configured to move relative to the support portion (col. 3, lines 64-66); and a telescoping assembly (2) operably connected between the gantry (x-ray head, i.e. gantry mounting member) (4) and the support portion, wherein the telescoping assembly includes: a first rail member assembly (lower portion) (5) (col. 3, lines 58-60 and col. 4, lines 35-37) having a length along a movement axis between a first end and a second end, the first rail member assembly fixed to the support portion(1), a second rail member assembly (one mobile portion) (6) (col. 4, lines 1-2 and lines 22-25) movably connected to the first rail assembly (See Fig. 4) and configured to translate along the movement axis at least a selected portion of the length of the first rail assembly member (See Figs. 3, 4), and a gantry mounting member (x-ray head, i.e. gantry mounting member) (4) movably connected to the second rail assembly (mobile portions) (6) and configured to translate along the movement axis at least a portion of a length of the second rail member assembly and relative to the first rail member assembly (See Fig. 4 and col. 4, lines 39-43); wherein the telescoping assembly (2) is operable to support the gantry for a translation along the movement axis relative to the support portion (See Fig. 4 and col. 3, lines 58-66). Gregerson et al discloses a pivoting multi-directional x-ray imaging system with a pair of diametrically opposite vertical support columns tandemly movable along a stationary base support, comprising: a support columns (31)(33) retracted into the floor or celling such as in a telescoping fashion (col. 4, lines 61-63); gantry (40) comprising a O-shaped structure having a central imaging bore (116) housing having an internal cavity, and the imaging components such as and/or x-ray detector and circumferentially rotatable around the gantry within the internal cavity (col. 1, lines 36-49). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moreno et al of an imaging system to acquire image data with Gregerson et al of a pivoting multi-directional x-ray imaging system with a pair of diametrically opposite vertical support columns tandemly movable along a stationary base support. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this as it is well known in the art wherein an x-ray head is a gantry mounting member.
Regarding claim 2, Moreno et al in view of Gregerson et al discloses further comprising: an x-ray emitter; and an x-ray detector; wherein both x-ray emitter and x-ray detector are configured to move within the gantry and relative to the gantry (x-ray source and detector rotate within the gantry (40)) (col. 7,lines 65-col. 8, line 5).
Regarding claim 3, Moreno et al in view of Gregerson et al discloses further comprising: a drive motor (drive mechanism) (col. 7, lines 13-51); and a drive member driven by the drive motor; wherein the drive member is mounted to the gantry (40) mounting member and fixed relative to the support portion; and wherein the drive member is driven to move the gantry mounting member and the second rail member assembly (support columns (31)(33)) (col. 4, lines 61-63, col. 7, lines 13-44).
Regarding claim 4, Moreno et al in view of Gregerson et al discloses further comprising: an imaging system control system (controller) included with the mobile base, wherein the imaging control system is configured to receive an input to control movement of the gantry (col.7, lines 13-44).
Regarding claim 5, Moreno et al in view of Gregerson et al discloses wherein the imaging control system is configured to control movement of the gantry through the drive motor (col.7, lines 13-44).
Regarding claim 6, Moreno et al in view of Gregerson et al discloses wherein the gantry is configured to move along the movement axis that is at least parallel to a subject axis (col.7, lines 13-44).
Regarding claim 7, Moreno et al in view of Gregerson et al discloses wherein the gantry is able to move at least 55 cm along the movement axis (col. 8, lines 21-63).
Regarding claim 8, Moreno et al discloses a method of providing an imaging system to acquire image data for generation of a long image of a subject, the imaging system comprising: providing a mobile base (1) (chassis) having a support portion and a mobility portion (See Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 52-57), wherein the mobility portion includes at least one moveable member configured to engage a surface and move the mobile base (1) (See Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 52-57); providing a gantry connected to the support portion of the mobile base, wherein the gantry (x-ray head, i.e. gantry mounting member) (4) is configured to move relative to the mobile base portion (1) (col. 3, lines 64-66); providing a telescoping portion (2) including: a first rail member assembly (lower portion) (5) (col. 3, lines 58-60 and col. 4, lines 35-37) having a length along a movement axis between a first end and a second end, the first rail member assembly fixed to the support portion, connecting a second rail member assembly (one mobile portion) (6) (col. 4, lines 1-2 and lines 22-25) to move relative to the first rail assembly (See Fig. 4) to translate along the movement axis at least a selected portion of the length of the first rail member assembly, and connecting a translating member to move relative to the second rail assembly and to translate along the movement axis at least a portion of a length of the second rail member assembly and relative to the first rail member assembly (See Fig. 4 and col. 4, lines 39-43); and connecting the gantry (x-ray head, i.e. gantry mounting member) (4) to the support portion (1); wherein the translating member is operable to support the gantry for an extended translation along the movement axis relative to the mobile base (See Fig. 4 and col. 3, lines 58-66). Gregerson et al discloses a pivoting multi-directional x-ray imaging system with a pair of diametrically opposite vertical support columns tandemly movable along a stationary base support, comprising: a support columns (31)(33) retracted into the floor or celling such as in a telescoping fashion (col. 4, lines 61-63); gantry (40) comprising a O-shaped structure having a central imaging bore (116) housing having an internal cavity, and the imaging components such as and/or x-ray detector and circumferentially rotatable around the gantry within the internal cavity (col. 1, lines 36-49). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moreno et al of an imaging system to acquire image data with Gregerson et al of a pivoting multi-directional x-ray imaging system with a pair of diametrically opposite vertical support columns tandemly movable along a stationary base support. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this as it is well known in the art wherein an x-ray head is a gantry mounting member.
Regarding claim 9, Moreno et al in view of Gregerson et al discloses further comprising: an x-ray emitter; and an x-ray detector; wherein both x-ray emitter and x-ray detector are configured to move within the gantry and relative to the gantry (x-ray source and detector rotate within the gantry (40)) (col. 7,lines 65-col. 8, line 5).
Regarding claim 10, Moreno et al in view of Gregerson et al discloses further comprising: a drive motor (drive mechanism) (col. 7, lines 13-51); and a drive member driven by the drive motor; wherein the drive member is mounted to the gantry (40) mounting member and fixed relative to the support portion; and wherein the drive member is driven to move the gantry mounting member and the second rail member assembly (support columns (31)(33)) (col. 4, lines 61-63, col. 7, lines 13-44).
Regarding claim 11, Moreno et al in view of Gregerson et al discloses further comprising: an imaging system control system (controller) included with the mobile base, wherein the imaging control system is configured to receive an input to control movement of the gantry (col.7, lines 13-44).
Regarding claim 12, Moreno et al in view of Gregerson et al discloses wherein the imaging control system is configured to control movement of the gantry through the drive motor (col.7, lines 13-44).
Regarding claim 13, Moreno et al in view of Gregerson et al discloses wherein the gantry is configured to move along the movement axis that is at least parallel to a subject axis (col.7, lines 13-44).
Regarding claim 14, Moreno et al in view of Gregerson et al discloses wherein the gantry is able to move at least 55 cm along the movement axis (col. 8, lines 21-63).
Regarding claim 15, Moreno et al discloses further comprising: connecting the support portion of the translating member; positioning the provided telescoping portion (2) between the support portion and the mobile base (1); and configuring the support portion to move relative to the mobile base via the provided telescoping portion (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Moreno et al discloses further comprising: connecting the gantry (x-ray head-gantry mounting member)) (4) of the translating member; positioning the provided telescoping portion (2) between the support portion (1) and the gantry (4); and configuring the gantry to move relative to the support portion via the provided telescoping portion (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Moreno et al discloses further comprising: connecting the support portion of the translating member; positioning the provided telescoping portion (2) between the support portion and the mobile base (1); and configuring the support portion to move relative to the mobile base via the provided telescoping portion (See Fig. 4). Although Moreno et al is silent with regards to a second telescoping portion, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a second telescoping portion, since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F .2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 18, Moreno et al discloses an imaging system to acquire image data for generation of a long image of a subject having a movement assembly, the movement assembly comprising: a first rail member assembly (lower portion) (5) (col. 3, lines 58-60 and col. 4, lines 35-37) having a length along a movement axis between a first end and a second end, the first rail member assembly fixed to a support portion (1), a second rail member assembly (one mobile portion) (6) (col. 4, lines 1-2 and lines 22-25) movably connected to the first rail assembly and configured to translate along the movement axis at least a selected portion of the length of the first rail member assembly, and a translating member movable connected to the second rail assembly and configured to translate along the movement axis at least a portion of a length of the second rail member assembly and relative to the first rail member assembly (See Fig. 4 and col. 4, lines 39-43); wherein the movement assembly is configured to be connected between a gantry (x-ray head-gantry mounting member)) (4) and at least one of a support portion or a mobile base (1); and wherein the telescoping assembly translating member is operable to support the gantry (x-ray head-gantry mounting member)) (4) for an extended translation along the movement axis relative to the support portion (See Fig. 4 and col. 3, lines 58-66). Gregerson et al discloses a pivoting multi-directional x-ray imaging system with a pair of diametrically opposite vertical support columns tandemly movable along a stationary base support, comprising: a support columns (31)(33) retracted into the floor or celling such as in a telescoping fashion (col. 4, lines 61-63); gantry (40) comprising a O-shaped structure having a central imaging bore (116) housing having an internal cavity, and the imaging components such as and/or x-ray detector and circumferentially rotatable around the gantry within the internal cavity (col. 1, lines 36-49). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moreno et al of an imaging system to acquire image data with Gregerson et al of a pivoting multi-directional x-ray imaging system with a pair of diametrically opposite vertical support columns tandemly movable along a stationary base support. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this as it is well known in the art wherein an x-ray head is a gantry mounting member.
Regarding claim 19, Moreno et al discloses further comprising: the mobile base (1) having the support portion and a mobility portion (1), wherein the mobility portion includes at least one moveable member configured to engage a surface and move the mobile base (col. 3, lines 64-col. 4, line 7); and the gantry movably configured to be connected to the translating member, wherein the gantry is configured to move relative to the support portion via the movement assembly (See Fig. 4 and col. 4, lines 39-43).
Regarding claim 20, Moreno et al discloses further comprising: a drive motor; and a drive member (drive mechanism) (col. 7, lines 13-51) driven by the drive motor; wherein the drive member is mounted to the gantry mounting member and fixed relative to the support portion; wherein the drive member is driven to move the gantry mounting member and the second rail member assembly (support columns (31)(33)) (col. 4, lines 61-63, col. 7, lines 13-44).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DiRisio et al (US 8,876,379 B2) discloses a mobile radiography apparatus has a portable transport frame and a sectioned vertical column mounted on the frame and defining a vertical axis and having a base section having a fixed vertical position relative to the vertical axis and at least one movable section that is translatable to a variable vertical position along the vertical axis. A counterbalance apparatus is coupled to the at least one movable section of the vertical column with an actuator that is energizable to translate the at least one movable section along the vertical axis. A boom apparatus Supports an X-ray source and is coupled to the at least one movable section for vertical displacement of the boom apparatus to a height position. A height sensing element provides a signal that is indicative of the height position of the boom apparatus.
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884