DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to applicant’s reply filed on 02/20/2026. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/20/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tennagels et al. (DE 102015009302) in view of Maxwell (U.S. Pat. 11188725).
Regarding claim 1, Tennagels discloses a communal connecting media system comprising: a support structure 2; a display housing 6 disposed atop the support structure 2; and mesh 26 attached to the support structure 2, where the mesh 26 is for securing padlocks 3 to.
Regarding claim 1, Tennagels is discussed above, and teaches the communal connecting media system. However, Tennagels fails to teach at least one electronic visual display disposed within the display housing 6. Maxwell teaches a connecting media system for memorializing significant moments, using visible insignias, such as “love locks,” (see discussion in col. 3, lines 31-34), comprising an electronic visual display 40, where the at least one electronic visual display 40 is for displaying text and imagery that is viewable from within viewing distance of the media system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communal connecting media system of Tennagels to have an electronic visual display, in order to provide a means to record and display information about the significant event, in a special location, or on a blockchain record, as taught to be desirable by Maxwell (see discussion in col. 2, lines 16-20).
Regarding claim 2, Maxwell discloses the communal connecting media system, where the electronic visual display(s) 40 is viewable from substantially all around the periphery of the support structure 2.
Regarding claim 3, Tennagels discloses the communal connecting media system, where the support structure 2 comprises connected cubical elements (as seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Tennagels discloses the communal connecting media system, further comprising: a receiver 9 for receiving media content; a computer 7 in communication with the receiver 9 and the electronic visual display(s) 40, where the computer 7 is capable of: (a) determining whether media content received by the receiver 9 is displayable on the electronic visual display(s) 40 according to predetermined criteria for making that determination; (b) determining a sequence for displaying displayable media content on the electronic visual display(s) 40 according to predetermined criteria for making that determination; and (c) displaying displayable media content on the electronic visual display(s) 40 in that sequence (as discussed in paras. [0082] & [0084]).
Regarding claim 5, Tennagels discloses a communal connecting media system comprising: a support structure 2; a display housing 6 disposed atop the support structure 2; a receiver 9 for receiving media content; a computer 7 in communication with the receiver 9; a plurality of inhabitable dwellings disposed within the vicinity of the support structure 2 (as discussed in para. [0016]), where each such dwelling has a designated user 4 associated therewith; and where each designated user 4 is enabled to transmit media content to the receiver 9 for potential display (as discussed in para. [0094]).
Regarding claim 5, Tennagels is discussed above, and teaches the communal connecting media system. However, Tennagels fails to teach at least one electronic visual display disposed within the display housing 6. Maxwell teaches a connecting media system for memorializing significant moments, using visible insignias, such as “love locks,” (see discussion in col. 3, lines 31-34), comprising an electronic visual display 40; where the computer 7 (of Tennagels) is capable of: (a) determining whether media content received by the receiver 9 is displayable on the visual display(s) 40 according to predetermined criteria for making that determination; (b) determining a sequence for displaying displayable media content on the visual display(s) 40 according to predetermined criteria for making that determination; and (c) displaying displayable media content on the visual display(s) 40 in that sequence; and where each designated user 4 is enabled to transmit media content to the receiver 9 for potential display on the visual display(s) 40 (see discussion in col. 3, lines 38-43 of Maxwell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communal connecting media system of Tennagels to have an electronic visual display, in order to provide a means to record and display information about the significant event, in a special location, or on a blockchain record, as taught to be desirable by Maxwell (see discussion in col. 2, lines 16-20).
Regarding claim 6, Tennagels discloses the communal media system, further comprising a media content transmitter 8 disposed within each dwelling, where each such transmitter 8 is enabled to transmit media content to the receiver 9 for potential display on the visual display(s) 40.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 19-Mar-26
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632