DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 14-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MOTOROLA MOBILITY ET AL ( Support for Untrusted and Trusted non-3GPP access to SNPN", 3GPP DRAFT; S2-2003137, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES ; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX ; FRANCE, January 2022).
Regarding claim 1, MOTOROLA MOBILITY teaches A non-public network access method, comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal, first information (paragraph 5.30.2.8b "The UE initiates the access network selection procedure specified in clause 6.3.12.2 and constructs a list of available SNPNs. This list contains the SNPNs advertised by all discovered non-3GPP access networks. A non-3GPP access network may advertise (e.g. with ANQP), not only the PLMNs with which 5G connectivity is supported (as specified in clause 6.3.12.2), but also the SNPNs with which 5G connectivity is supported); and
accessing, by the terminal, a non-public network in a non-3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) access mode based on the first information (paragraph 5.30.2.8b To access SNPN services via a Trusted non-3GPP access network, the UE follows the same procedures used for accessing a PLMN via a Trusted non-3GPP access network); wherein
the first information comprises at least one of the following:
information about whether a non-3GPP access network is able to connect to a non-public network (paragraph 5.30.2.8b A non-3GPP access network may advertise (e.g. with ANQP), not only the PLMNs with which 5G connectivity is supported (as specified in clause 6.3.12.2), but also the SNPNs with which 5G connectivity is supported);
identification information of a non-public network to which the non-3GPP access network is able to connect (paragraph 5.30.2.8b The UE initiates the access network selection procedure specified in clause 6.3.12.2 and constructs a list of available SNPNs. This list contains the SNPNs advertised by all discovered non-3GPP access network);
information about whether the non-public network to which the non-3GPP access network is able to connect supports online subscription;
information about whether the non-public network to which the non-3GPP access network is able to connect supports emergency call;
mode information for accessing the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network by the terminal; or
online subscription-supporting non-public network selection information.
Regarding claim 2, MOTOROLA MOBILITY teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the accessing, by the terminal, a non-public network in a non-3GPP access mode based on the first information comprises:
accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network or a non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information (paragraph 5.30.2.8b To access SNPN services via a Trusted non-3GPP access network, the UE follows the same procedures used for accessing a PLMN via a Trusted non-3GPP access network).
Regarding claim 14, MOTOROLA MOBILITY teaches A terminal ((paragraph 5.30.2.8 a UE), comprising a processor and a memory (Note: inherent in a UE), wherein a program or instruction capable of running on the processor is stored in the memory, wherein the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
obtaining first information (paragraph 5.30.2.8b "The UE initiates the access network selection procedure specified in clause 6.3.12.2 and constructs a list of available SNPNs. This list contains the SNPNs advertised by all discovered non-3GPP access networks. A non-3GPP access network may advertise (e.g. with ANQP), not only the PLMNs with which 5G connectivity is supported (as specified in clause 6.3.12.2), but also the SNPNs with which 5G connectivity is supported); and
accessing a non-public network in a non-3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) access mode based on the first information (paragraph 5.30.2.8b To access SNPN services via a Trusted non-3GPP access network, the UE follows the same procedures used for accessing a PLMN via a Trusted non-3GPP access network); wherein
the first information comprises at least one of the following:
information about whether a non-3GPP access network is able to connect to a non-public network (paragraph 5.30.2.8b A non-3GPP access network may advertise (e.g. with ANQP), not only the PLMNs with which 5G connectivity is supported (as specified in clause 6.3.12.2), but also the SNPNs with which 5G connectivity is supported);
identification information of a non-public network to which the non-3GPP access network is able to connect (paragraph 5.30.2.8b The UE initiates the access network selection procedure specified in clause 6.3.12.2 and constructs a list of available SNPNs. This list contains the SNPNs advertised by all discovered non-3GPP access network);
information about whether the non-public network to which the non-3GPP access network is able to connect supports online subscription;
information about whether the non-public network to which the non-3GPP access network is able to connect supports emergency call;
mode information for accessing the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network by the terminal; or
online subscription-supporting non-public network selection information.
Regarding claim 15, MOTOROLA MOBILITY teaches the terminal according to claim 14, wherein when accessing a non-public network in a non-3GPP access mode based on the first information, the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
accessing the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network or a non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information (paragraph 5.30.2.8b To access SNPN services via a Trusted non-3GPP access network, the UE follows the same procedures used for accessing a PLMN via a Trusted non-3GPP access network).
Regarding claim 20, MOTOROLA MOBILITY teaches A non-transitory readable storage medium (Note: inherent in a UE), wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instruction, wherein the program or instruction, when executed by a processor of a terminal, causes the terminal to perform:
obtaining first information (paragraph 5.30.2.8b "The UE initiates the access network selection procedure specified in clause 6.3.12.2 and constructs a list of available SNPNs. This list contains the SNPNs advertised by all discovered non-3GPP access networks. A non-3GPP access network may advertise (e.g. with ANQP), not only the PLMNs with which 5G connectivity is supported (as specified in clause 6.3.12.2), but also the SNPNs with which 5G connectivity is supported); and
accessing a non-public network in a non-3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) access mode based on the first information (paragraph 5.30.2.8b To access SNPN services via a Trusted non-3GPP access network, the UE follows the same procedures used for accessing a PLMN via a Trusted non-3GPP access network); wherein
the first information comprises at least one of the following:
information about whether a non-3GPP access network is able to connect to a non-public network (paragraph 5.30.2.8b A non-3GPP access network may advertise (e.g. with ANQP), not only the PLMNs with which 5G connectivity is supported (as specified in clause 6.3.12.2), but also the SNPNs with which 5G connectivity is supported);
identification information of a non-public network to which the non-3GPP access network is able to connect (paragraph 5.30.2.8b The UE initiates the access network selection procedure specified in clause 6.3.12.2 and constructs a list of available SNPNs. This list contains the SNPNs advertised by all discovered non-3GPP access network);
information about whether the non-public network to which the non-3GPP access network is able to connect supports online subscription;
information about whether the non-public network to which the non-3GPP access network is able to connect supports emergency call;
mode information for accessing the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network by the terminal; or
online subscription-supporting non-public network selection information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-9 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOTOROLA MOBILITY in view of 3GPP TS 23.501, V16.6.0 (3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; System architecture for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 16))
Regarding claim 3, MOTOROLA MOBILITY teaches the method according to claim 2,but does not teach wherein the accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network or a non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information comprises:
obtaining, by the terminal, priority information of the non-public network; and
accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network or the non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information and the priority information.
In a similar endeavor, 3GPP TS 23.501 teaches
wherein the accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network or a non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs) comprises:
obtaining, by the terminal, priority information of the non-public network (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.3, "An SNPN-enabled UE is configured with the following information for each subscribed SNPN: ...
- User controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPN;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of GINs.); and
accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network or the non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information and the priority information (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs in the following order: ...
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of GINs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified MOTOROLA MOBILITY by incorporating 3GPP TS 23.501. preferred SNPNs to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have accessed a prioritized SNPN.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and 3GPP TS 23.501 teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through the non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information and the priority information (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs in the following order:..) comprises:
in a case that the mode information in the first information indicates that the terminal supports accessing a non-public network through a non-3GPP access network in an untrusted manner (MOTOROLA MOBILITY paragraph 5.30.2.8b To access SNPN services via a Trusted non-3GPP access network, the UE follows the same procedures used for accessing a PLMN via a Trusted non-3GPP access network), if the terminal fails to select a non-3GPP access network able to directly connect to the non-public network, obtaining, by the terminal, identification information of a first non-public network based on the priority information (3GPP TS 23.501 par 5.30.2.1-par 5.30.2.2 The combination of a PLMN ID and Network identifier (NID) identifies an SNPN . . . NG-RAN nodes which provide access to SNPNs broadcast the following information: - - One or multiple PLMN IDs List of NIDs per PLMN ID identifying the non-public networks NG-RAN provides access to);
constructing a domain name of a non-3GPP access gateway based on the identification information of the first non-public network (3GPP TS 23.501 par 5.30.2.1 NIDs are chosen individually by SNPNs at deployment time.. An optional human-readable network name helps to identify an SNPN during manual SNPN selection);
establishing, by the terminal, a connection to a non-3GPP access gateway corresponding to the domain name through a non-3GPP access network (3GPP TS 23.501 par 5.30.2.1 An optional human-readable network name helps to identify an SNPN during manual SNPN selection. The human readable network name and how it is used for SNPN manual selection is specified in TS 22.261 [2] and TS 23.122 [17]); and
accessing, by the terminal, the first non-public network through the connection (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs).
The motivation of doing so would have easily identified a prioritized SNPN.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and 3GPP TS 23.501 teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network based on the first information and the priority information comprises:
obtaining, by the terminal, identification information of a second non-public network based on the priority information (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.3, "An SNPN-enabled UE is configured with the following information for each subscribed SNPN: ...
- User controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPN;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of GINs.);
selecting, by the terminal based on the first information, at least one first non-3GPP access network that is able to connect to the second non-public network (MOTOROLA MOBILITY paragraph 5.30.2.8b The UE selects an SNPN that is included in the list of available SNPNs , 3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs in the following order: ...
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of GINs); and
accessing the second non-public network through the at least one first non-3GPP access network (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs).
The motivation of doing so would have easily identified a prioritized SNPN.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and 3GPP TS 23.501 teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the selecting, by the terminal based on the first information, at least one first non-3GPP access network that is able to connect to the second non-public network comprises:
in a case that the terminal needs to execute an emergency call service, determining, based on the first information, whether the second non-public network supports emergency call (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.1 Emergency services are supported in SNPN access mode as defined in clause 5.16.4.1); and
in a case that the second non-public network supports emergency call, selecting the at least one first non-3GPP access network that is able to connect to the second non-public network (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.1 When the UE is set to operate in SNPN access mode the UE only selects and registers with SNPNs), or in a case that the second non-public network does not support emergency call, re-obtaining identification information of a second non-public network based on the priority information.
The motivation of doing so would have easily identified a prioritized SNPN.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and 3GPP TS 23.501 teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the obtaining, by the terminal, identification information of a second non-public network based on the priority information comprises:
in a case that the terminal needs to execute an emergency call service, determining, based on the first information, at least one third non-public network capable of supporting emergency call 3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.1 Emergency services are supported in SNPN access mode as defined in clause 5.16.4.1); and
based on the priority information, obtaining the identification information of the second non-public network from the at least one third non-public network (3GPP TS 23.501 par 5.30.2.1-par 5.30.2.2 The combination of a PLMN ID and Network identifier (NID) identifies an SNPN . . . NG-RAN nodes which provide access to SNPNs broadcast the following information: - - One or multiple PLMN IDs List of NIDs per PLMN ID identifying the non-public networks NG-RAN provides access to).
The motivation of doing so would have easily identified a prioritized SNPN.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and 3GPP TS 23.501 teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the accessing the non-public network through the at least one first non-3GPP access network comprises:
selecting a target non-3GPP access network from at least two first non-3GPP access networks based on a first parameter (MOTOROLA MOBILITY paragraph 5.30.2.8b The UE selects an SNPN that is included in the list of available SNPNs , 3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.6 UEs operating in SNPN access mode only select cells and networks broadcasting both PLMN ID and NID of the selected SNPN); and
accessing the non-public network through the target non-3GPP access network (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs); wherein
the first parameter comprises at least one of the following: a signal strength of the first non-3GPP access network, a bandwidth parameter of the first non-3GPP access network, or a priority of the first non-3GPP access network (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.3, "An SNPN-enabled UE is configured with the following information for each subscribed SNPN: ...
- User controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPN;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of GINs.).
The motivation of doing so would have easily identified a prioritized SNPN.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and 3GPP TS 23.501 teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the priority information indicates priorities of the following types of non-public networks:
a home non-public network of the terminal (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 -the SNPN the UE was last registered with);
a non-public network in a user-controlled non-public network list (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 - SNPNs in the user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs);
a non-public network in a credentials holder (CH)-controlled non-public network list (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 -SNPNs in the Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs); and
a non-public network in a CH-controlled prioritized list of group IDs for network selection (GINs) (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 -SNPNs, which additionally broadcast a GIN contained in the Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred GINs).
The motivation of doing so would have easily identified a prioritized SNPN.
Regarding claim 16, MOTOROLA MOBILITY teaches the terminal according to claim 15,but does not teach wherein when accessing the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network or a non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information, the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
obtaining priority information of the non-public network; and
accessing the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network or the non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information and the priority information.
In a similar endeavor, 3GPP TS 23.501 teaches
wherein the accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network or a non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs) comprises:
obtaining, by the terminal, priority information of the non-public network (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.3, "An SNPN-enabled UE is configured with the following information for each subscribed SNPN: ...
- User controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPN;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of GINs.); and
accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network or the non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information and the priority information (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs in the following order: ...
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of GINs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified MOTOROLA MOBILITY by incorporating 3GPP TS 23.501. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have accessed a prioritized SNPN.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and 3GPP TS 23.501 teaches the terminal according to claim 16, wherein when accessing the non-public network through the non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information and the priority information (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs), the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
in a case that the mode information in the first information indicates that the terminal supports accessing a non-public network through a non-3GPP access network in an untrusted manner (MOTOROLA MOBILITY paragraph 5.30.2.8b To access SNPN services via a Trusted non-3GPP access network, the UE follows the same procedures used for accessing a PLMN via a Trusted non-3GPP access network), if the terminal fails to select a non-3GPP access network able to directly connect to the non-public network, obtaining, by the terminal, identification information of a first non-public network based on the priority information (3GPP TS 23.501 par 5.30.2.1 The combination of a PLMN ID and Network identifier (NID) identifies an SNPN);
constructing a domain name of a non-3GPP access gateway based on the identification information of the first non-public network (3GPP TS 23.501 par 5.30.2.1-par 5.30.2.2 The combination of a PLMN ID and Network identifier (NID) identifies an SNPN . . . NG-RAN nodes which provide access to SNPNs broadcast the following information: - - One or multiple PLMN IDs List of NIDs per PLMN ID identifying the non-public networks NG-RAN provides access to);
establishing, by the terminal, a connection to a non-3GPP access gateway corresponding to the domain name through a non-3GPP access network (3GPP TS 23.501 par 5.30.2.1 An optional human-readable network name helps to identify an SNPN during manual SNPN selection. The human readable network name and how it is used for SNPN manual selection is specified in TS 22.261 [2] and TS 23.122 [17]); and
accessing, by the terminal, the first non-public network through the connection (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs).
The motivation of doing so would have easily identified a prioritized SNPN.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and 3GPP TS 23.501 teaches the terminal according to claim 16, wherein when accessing the non-public network through the non-3GPP access network based on the first information and the priority information, the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
obtaining, by the terminal, identification information of a second non-public network based on the priority information (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.3, "An SNPN-enabled UE is configured with the following information for each subscribed SNPN: ...
- User controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPN;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of GINs.);
selecting, by the terminal based on the first information, at least one first non-3GPP access network that is able to connect to the second non-public network (MOTOROLA MOBILITY paragraph 5.30.2.8b The UE selects an SNPN that is included in the list of available SNPNs , 3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs in the following order: ...
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs;
- Credentials Holder controlled prioritized list of GINs); and
accessing the second non-public network through the at least one first non-3GPP access network (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.2 the UE selects and attempts registration on available SNPNs).
The motivation of doing so would have easily identified a prioritized SNPN.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and 3GPP TS 23.501 teaches the terminal according to claim 18, wherein when selecting based on the first information, at least one first non-3GPP access network that is able to connect to the second non-public network, the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
in a case that the terminal needs to execute an emergency call service, determining, based on the first information, whether the second non-public network supports emergency call (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.1 Emergency services are supported in SNPN access mode as defined in clause 5.16.4.1); and
in a case that the second non-public network supports emergency call, selecting the at least one first non-3GPP access network that is able to connect to the second non-public network (3GPP TS 23.501 paragraph 5.30.2.4.1 When the UE is set to operate in SNPN access mode the UE only selects and registers with SNPNs), or in a case that the second non-public network does not support emergency call, re-obtaining identification information of a second non-public network based on the priority information.
The motivation of doing so would have easily identified a prioritized SNPN.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOTOROLA MOBILITY in view of Ma et al. (WO2022002244A1)
Regarding claim 10, MOTOROLA MOBILITY teaches the method according to claim 2, but does not teach
wherein the accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through a non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information comprises:
constructing, by the terminal, a domain name of a non-3GPP access gateway based on identification information of a non-public network in online subscription-supporting non-public network selection information;
establishing, by the terminal, a connection to a non-3GPP access gateway corresponding to the domain name through a non-3GPP access network; and
accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through the connection.
In a similar endeavor, Ma et al. teaches
wherein the accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through a non-3GPP access gateway based on the first information comprises:
constructing, by the terminal, a domain name of a non-3GPP access gateway based on identification information of a non-public network in online subscription-supporting non-public network selection information (Han [0115] when a terminal device receives first information, if it determines that the access network device supports O-SNPN based on the first information ... it determines that the terminal device belongs to the terminal type indicated by the second information and can sign up online through the O-SNPN supported by the access network device));
establishing, by the terminal, a connection to a non-3GPP access gateway corresponding to the domain name through a non-3GPP access network (Ma [0114] establishing an RRC connection to provide online subscription services for the terminal device.); and
accessing, by the terminal, the non-public network through the connection (Ma [0004] the terminal device is allowed to access O-SNPN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified MOTOROLA MOBILITY by incorporating Ma et al. online SNPN to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have allowed the UE to access non-public networks.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and Ma et al. teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the identification information of the non-public network comprises at least one of the following:
an ID of the non-public network (Ma [0010] the first information includes the cell's identifier and first indication information for indicating that the SNPN in the cell supports online subscription services);
a public land mobile network (PLMN) ID of the non-public network ([0011] the first information includes the identifier of the PLMN and a second instruction indicating that the SNPN in the PLMN supports online contracting services );
a network identifier (NID) of the non-public network; or
a group ID for network selection (GIN).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and Ma et al. teaches the method according to claim 10, before the constructing, by the terminal, a domain name of a non-3GPP access gateway based on identification information of a non-public network in online subscription-supporting non-public network selection information, further comprising:
attempting, by the terminal, to select a second non-3GPP access network (Ma [0070] If the terminal device detects that the broadcast message sent by the access network device includes {O-SNPN1}, it will choose to sign up online through O-SNPN1), wherein the second non-3GPP access network is able to connect to a non-public network supporting online subscription (Ma [0070] the O-SNPNs connected to DCS1 include O-SNPN1, O-SNPN2, and O-SNPN3, and the SNPN IDs pre-configured to the terminal devices include {O-SNPN1, O-SNPN2, and O-SNPN3}); and
determining, by the terminal, that selection of the second non-3GPP access network fails ([0070] When the terminal device detects the broadcast message carrying {O-SNPN4} or {O-SNPN5}, it cannot select the appropriate O-SNPN based on the pre-configured SNPN ID, but in reality, an O-SNPN connected to DCS1 exists, causing a misjudgment and resulting in online subscription failure).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOTOROLA MOBILITY in view of Ma et al. (WO2022002244A1), and in further view of KEDALAGUDDE et al. (US 20230300674 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and Ma et al. teaches the method according to claim 12, but does not teach wherein
an N2 connection is present between an access gateway of the second non-3GPP access network and a mobility management network element of the non-public network supporting online subscription.
In a similar endeavor, KEDALAGUDDE et al. teach
an N2 connection is present between an access gateway of the second non-3GPP access network and a mobility management network element of the non-public network supporting online subscription (KEDALAGUDDE [0092] Once the TNGF receives the WLAN RAN measurements, it sends the WLAN RAN measurements report to AMF over N2 messaging ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of MOTOROLA MOBILITY and Ma et al. by incorporating KEDALAGUDDE N2 connection to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have used the N2 for message exchange between the AMF and the gateway.
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644