DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
The amendment filed on May 26, 2025 has been entered. The following has occurred: Claims 1-4, 10, and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection has been withdrawn and new 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection has been added in light of the amendment.
Priority
The present application claims priority to US Provisional Application 63/539,351, filed on September 20, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer et al. (US 20170193829 A1, hereinafter “Bauer”) in view of Saha (US 20220383231 A1, hereinafter “Saha”).
Claims 1, Bauer discloses a method (abstract), comprising:
obtaining images captured using a camera of an unmanned aerial vehicle during an exploration inspection of a structure (para. [0026], [0027], and [0113]) disclosing UAV travels over a property to obtain sensor information (e.g., images) for the purpose of gathering data for subsequent, more detailed inspection);
determining components depicted within the images (para. [0026] and [0039] disclosing processing the sensor information from the initial flight to identify locations of damages or likely damages on the rooftop. The damaged areas are a type of structural component. In para. [0071] Bauer discloses using “visual classifiers” and “computer vision algorithms” to automatically classify the damage);
generating, as a visual representation of the components, a hierarchical text representation of the structure (para. [0025] discloses generating an interactive report that includes a graphical representation of the property and/or rooftop with damaged area identified. Para. [0037] and [0121] discloses that the sensor information from the initial flight can be used to generate a 3D model of the property or a stitched-image for the operator to review. Para. [0134], textual information describing the determined damage, sensor information (e.g., images) of each damaged area, and the presented report.); and
outputting the visual representation of the components to a user device in communication with the unmanned aerial vehicle to enable selections of ones of the components for further inspection using the unmanned aerial vehicle (para. [0026], Bauer states that after the initial flight, an operator can identify locations of damage or likely damage… and the identified locations can be provided to the UAV to affect the subsequent operation. Para. [0039] and [0062], Bauer discloses operator can interact with the user device to indicate locations on the rooftop. The UAV can receive a new flight plan with the identified damaged locations as waypoint and obtain detailed sensor information of each location).
While Bauer discloses the use of “visual classifiers” to classify the damage, Bauer does not explicitly teach the use language of a hierarchical “taxonomy” for components and using a machine learning model trained to generate a taxonomy of hierarchical organization of structure components.
Specifically, Bauer fails to expressly teach (italic emphasis):
generating, for the structure based on the images and using a machine learning model trained based on structure inspection data, a taxonomy that includes a nested hierarchical organization of structure components of the structure;
determining components depicted within the images using the taxonomy;
Saha is in the similar field of evaluating construction of physical structures using robot/drone, which specifically teaches:
generating, for the structure based on the images and using a machine learning model trained based on structure inspection data, a taxonomy that includes a nested hierarchical organization of structure components of the structure (Saha para. [0066] teaches receiving construction data, which explicitly includes sensor data based on sensor scans of the particular structure, such as LIDAR data, image data captured by a construction monitoring system that uses a robot. In Saha para. [0017], teaches processing the sensor data to generate a computer model that includes identifying functional and structural object types as basic building blocks of a hierarchical ontology, representing relationships among object types. Para. [0018], [0043]-[0049] states the hierarchical configuration has a tree structure that defines branches including a system, a subsystem, a component, and/or subcomponent at respective levels. Para. [0017] teaches the models “can comprise and/or be generated using machine learning models.” In sum, Saha teaches using a machine learning model, based on image data from a robot/UAV, to generate a taxonomy comprising a nested hierarchical organization of structure components).
determining components depicted within the images using the taxonomy (Saha para. [0064]-[0066] teaches mapping the updated image data to the specific elements within the generated hierarchical configuration to determine their status).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling of the invention to modify the system and method of Bauer for UVA inspection of damage component of structure and generate model to include the feature of machine learning models trained on site data with images to automatically generate nested hierarchical ontology of a structure’s components (para. [0018]) as taught by Saha for the motivation of improving the system to allow a drone operator to effectively understand, navigate, and select from the entire structural composition of the inspected property, rather than just isolated damage area, for timely evaluation of construction (para. [0004]).
Claim 2, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the method of claim 1. Bauer further discloses,
wherein determining the components depicted within the images using the taxonomy comprises: performing a computer vision process to detect the components within the images (para. [0071], computer vision algorithms. In para. [0026] and [0136] discloses the computer vision process is to detect components within the captured images); and
identifying the components by object type using the taxonomy (Bauer, [0026], [0039], and [0071] disclosing the processing of images to identify components of a specific type, namely damaged areas using visual classifiers, thereby identifying a component by its type).
While Bauer teaches identifying components by a type by binary classification, Bauer does not expressly teach using a taxonomy to identify components by specific structural object types.
Nonetheless, Saha specifically teaches (italic emphasis) identifying the components by object type using the taxonomy (para. [0016]-[0018] teaches generating hierarchical ontology which is taxonomy categorizing elements by object types and defines across multiple levels including a group and a system, a subsystem, component or subcomponents. Further see [0043]-[0048] and [0065]-[0066] for hierarchical configuration and the use of computer vision model for identifying specific object type as pipe or wall as defined by the hierarchical taxonomy).
The rationales to modify/combine the teachings of Bauer with/and the teachings of Saha are presented in the examining of independent claim 1 Fand incorporated herein.
Claim 3, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the method of claim 2. Saha further teaches,
using the machine learning model to process the detected components against the taxonomy (claim 1 and para. [0017], [0065]-[0066] disclosing generating of the hierarchical taxonomy (hierarchical ontology) using machine learning models and evaluating the new image data against generated hierarchical model to determine the status of specific elements).
Claim 4, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the method of claim 2. Bauer further discloses,
updating the taxonomy based on the detected components using a machine learning model (para. [0071] and [0085], visual classifier can be updated to incorporate the correctly labeled damaged).
Claim 5, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the method of claim 2. Saha further teaches,
wherein the computer vision process includes at least one of object detection or image segmentation (Para. [0016]-[0017], [0066] Saha teaches receiving sensor data comprising LIDAR data, image data, or both and uses the data to evaluate the status of specific elements (e.g., pipes, ducts, walls) within the structure).
Claim 6, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the method of claim 1. Bauer further discloses,
wherein the visual representation of the components includes a three-dimensional graphical representation of the structure and generating the hierarchical text representation of the structure comprises: labeling respective portions of the three-dimensional graphical representation of the structure according to information associated with the components (para. [0036] and [0121], discloses the sensor information captured during the initial flight can be used to generate a 3D model of the property. In para. [0025] Bauer discloses generating an interactive report that includes a graphical representation of the property and/or rooftop with damaged areas identified (e.g., highlighted). The highlighting of the specific areas on the visual representation constitutes the “labeling”).
Claim 7, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the method of claim 6. Bauer further discloses,
wherein labeling the respective portions of the three-dimensional graphical representation of the structure according to information associated with the components comprises: annotating a portion of the three-dimensional graphical representation corresponding to a component with an unfavorable status to indicate the unfavorable status (para. [0025], the system generates a visual representation with damaged areas identified (e.g., highlighted). A damaged area is a component with an unfavorable status and highlighting it on the graphical representation is a direct teaching of annotating that portion to indicate its status).
Claim 8, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the method of claim 1. Bauer further discloses,
wherein generating the hierarchical text representation of the structure comprises: generating the hierarchical text representation of the structure according to an arrangement of the components within the taxonomy (para. [0134], textual information describing the determined damage, sensor information (e.g., images) of each damaged area, and the presented report).
Further, it would have been obvious in design choice in the field of user interface design, for one ordinary skilled int the art, having generated set of components organized by taxonomy in hierarchical text list in addition to or as an alternative to a graphical model for the motivation of providing a more compact, easily searchable, and navigable interface for the user to identify and select components of the structure.
Claim 9, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the method of claim 1. Bauer further discloses,
obtaining, from the user device, user input indicating the selections of the ones of the components within a graphical user interface within which the visual representation of the components is output for display (para. [0026] and [0039] disclosing interacting with a user interface of the user device, an operator can identify locations of damages).
Claim 10, Bauer discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle (para. [0028] and Fig. 1, Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV)), comprising:
one or more cameras (para. [0025], camera);
one or more memories (para. [0158], memory); and
one or more processors configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to (para. [0158], processor):
capture one or more images of a structure using the one or more cameras (para. [0026], [0027], and [0113]) disclosing UAV travels over a property to obtain sensor information (e.g., images) for the purpose of gathering data for subsequent, more detailed inspection);
determine components depicted within the images using the taxonomy (para. [0026] and [0039] disclosing processing the sensor information from the initial flight to identify locations of damages or likely damages on the rooftop. The damaged areas are a type of structural component. In para. [0071] Bauer discloses using “visual classifiers” and “computer vision algorithms” to automatically classify the damage. The visual classifier is suggestion of taxonomy); and
output, as a visual representation of the components, a hierarchical text representation of the structure to a user device to enable selections of ones of the components for inspection (para. [0025] discloses generating an interactive report that includes a graphical representation of the property and/or rooftop with damaged area identified. Para. [0037] and [0121] discloses that the sensor information from the initial flight can be used to generate a 3D model of the property or a stitched-image for the operator to review. Para. [0026], Bauer states that after the initial flight, an operator can identify locations of damage or likely damage… and the identified locations can be provided to the UAV to affect the subsequent operation. Para. [0039] and [0062], Bauer discloses operator can interact with the user device to indicate locations on the rooftop. The UAV can receive a new flight plan with the identified damaged locations as waypoint and obtain detailed sensor information of each location. Para. [0134], textual information describing the determined damage, sensor information (e.g., images) of each damaged area, and the presented report).
While Bauer discloses the use of “visual classifiers” to classify the damage, Bauer does not explicitly teach the use language of a hierarchical “taxonomy” for components and using a machine learning model trained to generate a taxonomy of hierarchical organization of structure components.
Specifically, Bauer fails to expressly teach (italic emphasis):
generate, for the structure based on the one or more images and using a machine learning model trained based on structure inspection data, a taxonomy that includes a nested hierarchical organization of structure components of the structure;
determine components depicted within the images using the taxonomy.
Saha is in the similar field of evaluating construction of physical structures using robot/drone, which specifically teaches:
generate, for the structure based on the one or more images and using a machine learning model trained based on structure inspection data, a taxonomy that includes a nested hierarchical organization of structure components of the structure (Saha para. [0066] teaches receiving construction data, which explicitly includes sensor data based on sensor scans of the particular structure, such as LIDAR data, image data captured by a construction monitoring system that uses a robot. In Saha para. [0017], teaches processing the sensor data to generate a computer model that includes identifying functional and structural object types as basic building blocks of a hierarchical ontology, representing relationships among object types. Para. [0018], [0043]-[0049] states the hierarchical configuration has a tree structure that defines branches including a system, a subsystem, a component, and/or subcomponent at respective levels. Para. [0017] teaches the models “can comprise and/or be generated using machine learning models.” In sum, Saha teaches using a machine learning model, based on image data from a robot/UAV, to generate a taxonomy comprising a nested hierarchical organization of structure components).
determine components depicted within the images using the taxonomy (Saha para. [0064]-[0066] teaches mapping the updated image data to the specific elements within the generated hierarchical configuration to determine their status).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling of the invention to modify the system and method of Bauer for UVA inspection of damage component of structure and generate model to include the feature of machine learning models trained on site data with images to automatically generate nested hierarchical ontology of a structure’s components (para. [0018]) as taught by Saha for the motivation of improving the system to allow a drone operator to effectively understand, navigate, and select from the entire structural composition of the inspected property, rather than just isolated damage area, for timely evaluation of construction (para. [0004]).
Claim 11, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 10. Bauer further discloses,
wherein the components are detected based on a computer vision process performed against the one or more images and identified by object type using the taxonomy (para. [0071], computer vision algorithms. In para. [0026] and [0136] discloses the computer vision process is to detect components within the captured images. Bauer, [0026], [0039], and [0071] disclosing the processing of images to identify components of a specific type, namely damaged areas using visual classifiers, thereby identifying a component by its type).
While Bauer teaches identifying components by a type by binary classification, Bauer does not expressly teach using a taxonomy to identify components by specific structural object types.
Nonetheless, Saha specifically teaches (italic emphasis) identified by object type using the taxonomy (para. [0016]-[0018] teaches generating hierarchical ontology which is taxonomy categorizing elements by object types and defines across multiple levels including a group and a system, a subsystem, component or subcomponents. Further see [0043]-[0048] and [0065]-[0066] for hierarchical configuration and the use of computer vision model for identifying specific object type as pipe or wall as defined by the hierarchical taxonomy).
The rationales to modify/combine the teachings of Bauer with/and the teachings of Saha are presented in the examining of independent claim 10 and incorporated herein.
Claim 12, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 10. Bauer further discloses,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to: generate the visual representation of the components based on the determination of the components (para. [0036] and [0121], discloses the sensor information captured during the initial flight can be used to generate a 3D model of the property. In para. [0025] Bauer discloses generating an interactive report that includes a graphical representation of the property and/or rooftop with damaged areas identified (e.g., highlighted). The highlighting of the specific areas on the visual representation constitutes the “labeling”).
Claim 13, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 10. Bauer further discloses,
wherein the visual representation includes one or both of a three-dimensional graphical representation of the structure (para. [0036] and [0121], discloses the sensor information captured during the initial flight can be used to generate a 3D model of the property. Para. [0134], textual information describing the determined damage, sensor information (e.g., images) of each damaged area, and the presented report).
Claim 14, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the unmanned aerial vehicle of claim 10. Bauer further discloses,
wherein user input indicating the selections of the ones of the components is obtained from the user device to configure the unmanned aerial vehicle to perform an inspection of the selected ones of the components (para. [0026] and [0039] disclosing interacting with a user interface of the user device, an operator can identify locations of damages).
Claim 15, Bauer discloses a system (abstract), comprising:
an unmanned aerial vehicle (para. [0028] and Fig. 1, Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV)); and
a user device in communication with the unmanned aerial vehicle (para. [0019]),
wherein the unmanned aerial vehicle is configured to (para. [0028] and [0158]):
capture images of a structure during an exploration inspection of the structure (para. [0026], [0027], and [0113]) disclosing UAV travels over a property to obtain sensor information (e.g., images) for the purpose of gathering data for subsequent, more detailed inspection);
determine components depicted within the images using the taxonomy (para. [0026] and [0039] disclosing processing the sensor information from the initial flight to identify locations of damages or likely damages on the rooftop. The damaged areas are a type of structural component. In para. [0071] Bauer discloses using “visual classifiers” and “computer vision algorithms” to automatically classify the damage. The visual classifier is suggestion of taxonomy); and
output, to the user device, a visual representation of the components to enable selections of ones of the components for further inspection, wherein the visual representation of the components includes a hierarchical text representation of the structure (para. [0025] discloses generating an interactive report that includes a graphical representation of the property and/or rooftop with damaged area identified. Para. [0037] and [0121] discloses that the sensor information from the initial flight can be used to generate a 3D model of the property or a stitched-image for the operator to review. Para. [0026], Bauer states that after the initial flight, an operator can identify locations of damage or likely damage… and the identified locations can be provided to the UAV to affect the subsequent operation. Para. [0039] and [0062], Bauer discloses operator can interact with the user device to indicate locations on the rooftop. The UAV can receive a new flight plan with the identified damaged locations as waypoint and obtain detailed sensor information of each location. Para. [0134], textual information describing the determined damage, sensor information (e.g., images) of each damaged area, and the presented report.).
While Bauer discloses the use of “visual classifiers” to classify the damage, Bauer does not explicitly teach the use language of a hierarchical “taxonomy” for components and using a machine learning model trained to generate a taxonomy of hierarchical organization of structure components.
Specifically, Bauer fails to expressly teach (italic emphasis):
generate, for the structure based on the images and using a machine learning model trained based on structure inspection data, a taxonomy that includes a nested hierarchical organization of structure components of the structure;
determine components depicted within the images using the taxonomy.
Saha is in the similar field of evaluating construction of physical structures using robot/drone, which specifically teaches:
generate, for the structure based on the images and using a machine learning model trained based on structure inspection data, a taxonomy that includes a nested hierarchical organization of structure components of the structure (Saha para. [0066] teaches receiving construction data, which explicitly includes sensor data based on sensor scans of the particular structure, such as LIDAR data, image data captured by a construction monitoring system that uses a robot. In Saha para. [0017], teaches processing the sensor data to generate a computer model that includes identifying functional and structural object types as basic building blocks of a hierarchical ontology, representing relationships among object types. Para. [0018], [0043]-[0049] states the hierarchical configuration has a tree structure that defines branches including a system, a subsystem, a component, and/or subcomponent at respective levels. Para. [0017] teaches the models “can comprise and/or be generated using machine learning models.” In sum, Saha teaches using a machine learning model, based on image data from a robot/UAV, to generate a taxonomy comprising a nested hierarchical organization of structure components).
determine components depicted within the images using the taxonomy (Saha para. [0064]-[0066] teaches mapping the updated image data to the specific elements within the generated hierarchical configuration to determine their status).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling of the invention to modify the system and method of Bauer for UVA inspection of damage component of structure and generate model to include the feature of machine learning models trained on site data with images to automatically generate nested hierarchical ontology of a structure’s components (para. [0018]) as taught by Saha for the motivation of improving the system to allow a drone operator to effectively understand, navigate, and select from the entire structural composition of the inspected property, rather than just isolated damage area, for timely evaluation of construction (para. [0004]).
Claim 16, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the system of claim 15. Bauer further discloses,
wherein the components are determined based on a detection of the components by a computer vision process performed against the images and object types of the detected components within the taxonomy (para. [0071], computer vision algorithms. In para. [0026] and [0136] discloses the computer vision process is to detect components within the captured images. Bauer, [0026], [0039], and [0071] disclosing the processing of images to identify components of a specific type, namely damaged areas using visual classifiers, thereby identifying a component by its type).
While Bauer teaches identifying components by a type by binary classification, Bauer does not expressly teach using a taxonomy to identify components by specific structural object types.
Nonetheless, Saha specifically teaches (italic emphasis) identified by object type using the taxonomy (para. [0016]-[0018] teaches generating hierarchical ontology which is taxonomy categorizing elements by object types and defines across multiple levels including a group and a system, a subsystem, component or subcomponents. Further see [0043]-[0048] and [0065]-[0066] for hierarchical configuration and the use of computer vision model for identifying specific object type as pipe or wall as defined by the hierarchical taxonomy).
The rationales to modify/combine the teachings of Bauer with/and the teachings of Saha are presented in the examining of independent claim 10 and incorporated herein.
Claim 17, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the system of claim 15. Bauer further discloses,
render a graphical user interface that outputs the visual representation of the components for display (para. [0025] discloses generating an interactive report that includes a graphical representation of the property and/or rooftop with damaged area identified. Para. [0037] and [0121] discloses that the sensor information from the initial flight can be used to generate a 3D model of the property or a stitched-image for the operator to review. Para. [0026], Bauer states that after the initial flight, an operator can identify locations of damage or likely damage… and the identified locations can be provided to the UAV to affect the subsequent operation. Para. [0039] and [0062], Bauer discloses operator can interact with the user device to indicate locations on the rooftop); and
obtain, via the graphical user interface, user input indicating the selections of the ones of the components (para. [0026] and [0039] disclosing interacting with a user interface of the user device, an operator can identify locations of damages).
Claim 18, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the system of claim 17. Bauer further discloses,
perform a further inspection of the ones of the components based on the user input (para. [0026], [0039], and [0062]).
Claim 19, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the system of claim 15. Bauer further discloses,
obtain a three-dimensional graphical representation of the structure; and generate the visual representation of the components by labeling respective portions of the three-dimensional graphical representation of the structure (para. [0036] and [0121], discloses the sensor information captured during the initial flight can be used to generate a 3D model of the property. In para. [0025] Bauer discloses generating an interactive report that includes a graphical representation of the property and/or rooftop with damaged areas identified (e.g., highlighted). The highlighting of the specific areas on the visual representation constitutes the “labeling”).
Claim 20, the combination of Bauer and Saha make obvious of the system of claim 15. Bauer further discloses,
generate the visual representation of the components according to an arrangement of the components within the taxonomy (para. [0134], textual information describing the determined damage, sensor information (e.g., images) of each damaged area, and the presented report).
Further, it would have been obvious in design choice in the field of user interface design, for one ordinary skilled int the art, having generated set of components organized by taxonomy in hierarchical text list in addition to or as an alternative to a graphical model for the motivation of providing a more compact, easily searchable, and navigable interface for the user to identify and select components.
Response to Remarks
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections:
The Examiner asserts that the Applicant’s arguments are directed towards amended claim limitations and are, therefore, considered moot. However, the Examiner has responded to the amended amendments, which the arguments are directed to, in the rejection above by introducing reference Saha to teach the amended claim limitations, thereby addressing the Applicant’s arguments.
Relevant Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure. The additional cited art, including but not limited to the excerpts below, further establishes the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s invention and shows the following was known:
Arksey et al. (US 20220398806 A1) is directed to a method comprising receiving a plurality of images of a scene captured by at least one drone; identifying features within the plurality of images; identifying similar images of the plurality of images based on the features identified within the plurality of images; comparing the similar images based on the features identified within the similar images to determine a proportion of features shared by the similar images; selecting a subset of the plurality of images that have a proportion of shared features that meets a predetermined range; generating a first 3D model of the scene from the subset of images using a first 3D model building algorithm; generating a second 3D model of the scene from the subset of images using a second 3D model building algorithm; computing errors for the first and second 3D models; and selecting as the model of the scene the first or second 3D mode.
Dasgupta et al. (US 20180158197 A1) is directed to systems and methods are disclosed for tracking objects in a physical environment using visual sensors onboard an autonomous unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV). In certain embodiments, images of the physical environment captured by the onboard visual sensors are processed to extract semantic information about detected objects. Processing of the captured images may involve applying machine learning techniques such as a deep convolutional neural network to extract semantic cues regarding objects detected in the images. The object tracking can be utilized, for example, to facilitate autonomous navigation by the UAV or to generate and display augmentative information regarding tracked objects to users
Bachrach et al. (US 20190378423 A1) is directed to a technique for user interaction with an autonomous unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) is described. In an example embodiment, perception inputs from one or more sensor devices are processed to build a shared virtual environment that is representative of a physical environment.
Jobanputra et al. (US 20200073385 A1), a development platform is provided that enables access to a developer console for developing software modules for use with an autonomous vehicle. Using the developer console, a developer user can specify instructions for causing an autonomous vehicle to perform one or more operations. For example, to control the behavior of an autonomous vehicle, the instructions can cause an executing computer system at the autonomous vehicle to generate calls to an application programming interface (API) associated with an autonomous navigation system of autonomous vehicle. Such calls to the API can be configured to adjust a parameter of a behavioral objective associated with a trajectory generation process performed by the autonomous navigation system that controls the behavior of the autonomous vehicle. The instructions specified by the developer can be packaged as a software module that can be deployed for use at autonomous vehicle.
Cazzato et al. “A Survey of Computer Vision Methods for 2D Object Detection from Unmanned Aerial Vehicles”; Journal of Imaging, 6(8), 78; Aug 4, 2020; https://doi.org/10.3390/jimaging6080078.
Conclusion
/WENREN CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626