DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Preliminary Remarks
This is a reply to the amendments filed on 07/15/2026, in which, claims 1, 6, 16, and 20 are amended; and claim 5 is cancelled. Claims 1-4 and 6-20 remain pending in the present application with claims 1, 16, and 20 being independent claims.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-10, Applicant argues that “Lyons discloses that video editing tools 3120 can be used to modify the temporal sequence of the video frame and to synchronize audio tracks with video tracks. Lyons, para. [0304]. Jia only discloses that video generator 140 generates the target video by using at least some of the target clips. When the target video is generated based on the target clips, a background music of a video may be added. The background music may be selected by the user or may be previously selected. Jia, para. [0086]. In rejecting claim 5, the Examiner appears to interpret "modify the temporal sequence of the video frame and to synchronize audio tracks with video tracks" as the claimed "input from the user on the first identifier," and interpret Jia's video generator 140 as the claimed "first video editing window." However, Lyons is silent regarding in response to modifying the temporal sequence of the video frame and to synchronizing audio tracks with video tracks, displaying and editing window of the video frame for the user to update video parameter information of the video frame. Thus, Lyons does not disclose that "displaying a first editing window of the first video clip in response to receiving a fifth input from the user on the first identifier corresponding to the determined first video clip in the first video, wherein the first editing window is provided for the user to update video parameter information of the first video clip," now required by proposed claim 1. Jia does not cure the deficiencies of Lyons. Jia only discloses that video generator 140 generates the target video by using the video clips and adds background music selected by the user to the generated target video, rather than displaying video generator 140 in the form of editing window to receive the target clips or background music selected by the user. Jia is silent about providing an editing window for the user to add the selected background music to the generated target video. Thus, Jia does not cure the deficiencies of Lyons.”
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the amended claim 1 refers to fifth user input that lacks coherence or logic with the afterward limitations in the amended claim 1. Secondly, even the “fifth user input” is a typo of “second user input”, Lyons is not silent regarding updating video parameter information of the first video clip. The navigation tool disclosed in Lyons allows a user to select navigation markers to navigate to the location of clips or composite presentation parts in the composite display area (see Lyons, paragraph [0099]: “After creating and populating the composite presentation part structure, the process 200 associates (at 250) the new composite presentation part with the composite presentation currently being composited by the media editing application. As mentioned above, some embodiments have a navigation tool that allows a user to select navigation markers to navigate to the location of clips or composite presentation parts in the composite display area”); and Lyons also discloses that user can modify a previously defined composite presentation part to redefine the borders of an existing composite presentation part or to move a composite presentation part, etc. (see Lyons, paragraph [0073]: “A user may select this item in order to create a new composite presentation part (CPP) that includes a set of media clips in the timeline. Alternatively, the user may select this item in order to view and modify a previously defined composite presentation part (e.g., to redefine the borders of an existing composite presentation part, to move a composite presentation part, etc.)”). Therefore, Lyons does disclose displaying a first editing window of the first video clip in response to receiving a fifth input from the user on the first identifier corresponding to the determined first video clip in the first video (see Lyons, paragraph [0099]), wherein the first editing window is provided for the user to update video parameter information of the first video clip (see Lyons, paragraph [0073]) recited in the amended claim 1. Therefore, Applicant's arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyons et al. (US 20100278504 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Lyons”) in view of Jia et al. (US 20210210119 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Jia”).
Regarding claim 1, Lyons discloses a video editing method, comprising:
receiving a first input from a user at a video playback interface for determining a first video clip of a first video (see Lyons, paragraph [0277]: “The process next receives (at 2625) a selection of a media clip from the user for insertion into the CPP. In some embodiments, a user may select a clip from a media library, or another clip in the composite display area”);
displaying a first identifier in response to the first input, wherein the first identifier corresponds to the determined first video clip in the first video (see Lyons, paragraph [0291]: “the user uses the drawing element 2935 to draw a boundary to define a composite presentation part, and the drawing module 2930 captures the boundary as boundary data and returns it to the grouping processor 2910 for creation of a composite presentation part. In some embodiments, the drawing tool 2930 also enables user selection of a composite presentation part for move, edit, or other operations on the composite presentation part”);
displaying a first editing window of the first video clip in response to receiving a fifth input from the user on the first identifier corresponding to the determined first video clip in the first video (see Lyons, paragraph [0099]: “After creating and populating the composite presentation part structure, the process 200 associates (at 250) the new composite presentation part with the composite presentation currently being composited by the media editing application. As mentioned above, some embodiments have a navigation tool that allows a user to select navigation markers to navigate to the location of clips or composite presentation parts in the composite display area”), wherein the first editing window is provided for the user to update video parameter information of the first video clip (see Lyons, paragraph [0073]: “A user may select this item in order to create a new composite presentation part (CPP) that includes a set of media clips in the timeline. Alternatively, the user may select this item in order to view and modify a previously defined composite presentation part (e.g., to redefine the borders of an existing composite presentation part, to move a composite presentation part, etc.)”); and
receiving a second input from the user on the first identifier or on a control (see Lyons, paragraph [0287]: “the present application describes the use of a cursor in the graphical user interface to control (e.g., select, move) objects in the graphical user interface. However, in some embodiments, objects in the graphical user interface can also be controlled or manipulated through other controls, such as touch control. In some embodiments, touch control is implemented through an input device that can detect the presence and location of touch on a display of the device. An example of such a device is a touch screen device. In some embodiments, with touch control, a user can directly manipulate objects by interacting with the graphical user interface that is displayed on the display of the touch screen device. For instance, a user can select a particular object in the graphical user interface by simply touching that particular object on the display of the touch screen device”).
Regarding claim 1, Lyons discloses all the claimed limitations with the exception of storing the first identifier instead of the determined first video clip in response to the second input.
Jia from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses storing the first identifier instead of the determined first video clip in response to the second input (see Jia, paragraph [0221]: “calculates correlation between the video clips of the source videos stored in the photo album and searches for necessary video clips. In other words, in 1802, the program installed on the smartphone filters the video clips of the source videos in the smartphone according to user requirements in order to obtain target clips”; and paragraph [0257]: “At the time point t, input information of the LSTM network includes yt−1, st−1, and gt, and output information thereof is st, which is a hidden state feature at the time point t, and indicates information recorded by LSTM network. Here, yt−1 represents the index (that is, the identifier) of the target clip output by the generation module at a last time point, i.e., at a time point t−1. In other words, yt−1 is the index of the target clip determined in the previous operation”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Jia with the teachings as in Lyons. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the ability to use the video generation method disclosed in Jia to calculate correlation between the video clips of the source videos stored in the photo album; to search for necessary video clips and to determine index/identifier of the target clip output by the generation module at a last time point thus storing the first identifier in response to the second input in order to trigger the electronic device to save the video clip in memory space based on user input so that the electronic device doesn’t need allocate a large memory space for storing all extracted video clips.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 1, wherein before receiving the first input from the user at the video playback interface for determining the first video clip of the first video, the method further comprises:
receiving a third input from the user on an identification control (see Lyons, paragraph [0272]: “a user may edit the composite presentation part by pressing a hotkey”); and
making the first video in an editable state in response to the third input (see Lyons, paragraph [0272]: “when the user presses a hotkey to add a media clip to the grouping, the added clip is inserted at a location based on a playhead in the timeline”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 1, wherein the first input comprises a first sub-input and a second sub-input (see Lyons, paragraph [0238]: “the thumbnail images are images of the media clips (e.g., thumbnail images of frames of video clips, cover art of audio clips, etc.) that are at or near the fixed locations. Alternatively, for some of the embodiments that define each navigable location as the location of a media clip or a set of associated media clips, the thumbnail images are images of the media clips associated with the navigable locations”);
receiving the first input from the user at the video playback interface of the first video (see Lyons, paragraph [0233]: “FIG. 22 illustrates a graphical user interface (“GUI”) 2200 of a media editing application with such a navigation tool”) comprises:
receiving the first sub-input from the user on a first image frame in the first video and the second sub-input from the user on a second image frame in the first video (see Lyons, paragraph [0185]: “The navigation marker element 1340 of some embodiments includes data defining a navigation marker. The data includes a navigation marker identifier, a thumbnail image, a navigable location in the timeline, and a reference to a CPP data element”); and
displaying the first identifier in response to the first input comprises:
displaying a start marker point in response to the first sub-input (see Lyons, paragraph [0076]: “the user uses the cursor controller (1) to move the drawing element 185 to a desired starting location for a border”); and
displaying an end marker point and the first identifier in response to the second sub-input (see Lyons, paragraph [0076]: “perform a click-and-drag operation that starts at this location and ends at another location”), wherein
the first video clip is a video clip between the first image frame and the second image frame (see Lyons, paragraph [0077]: “allow a user to activate the drawing element 185 by touching the display screen at a location that displays a particular part of the composite display area and then moving the contact with the display screen to define a border in the composite display area”), and
the first identifier is determined based on the start marker point and the end marker point (see Lyons, paragraph [0182]: “As shown in FIG. 13, the timeline clip data element 1330 of some embodiments include a clip identifier, a reference to a source media, in and out points in the source media, and start and end times in the timeline. The clip data element 1330 also includes a reference (e.g., a pointer) to a CPP data element from the set 1325 with which the clip is associated”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 3, wherein after displaying the end marker point and the first identifier, the method further comprises:
receiving a fourth input from the user at a target marker point, wherein the target marker point comprises at least one of the following: the start marker point or the end marker point (see Lyons, paragraph [0174]: “The third stage 1203 illustrates a user's selection of a control point 1295 a. Some embodiments visually distinguish (e.g., by highlighting or thickening) a selected control point. In some embodiments, a user can redefine the boundary 1270 by dragging one of its control points (e.g., 1295 a) elsewhere in the composite display area 150. In some embodiments, the user selects a control point by using a cursor pointer or touching the screen at the position of the point”); and
updating, in response to the fourth input, a location of the target marker point and the first video clip corresponding to the first identifier (see Lyons, paragraph [0175]: “adjustment of the boundary 1270 by moving the control point 1295 a from a position 1297 to a position 1298 in the composite display area 150”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 1, wherein the first editing window comprises at least one of the following controls: a filter control (see Jia, paragraph [0162]: “the clip selection is used to filter respective action clips”), a text control (see Jia, paragraph [0162]: “The user inputs the content to be searched in the form of a voice or text”), or a background music control (see Jia, paragraph [0086]: “The background music may be selected by the user or may be previously selected”),
wherein the filter control is used to update filter information of the first video clip (see Jia, paragraph [0163]: “clip filtering may be performed by calculating correlation between the intention features and the respective clip features of the action clips”), the text control is used to update text information of the first video clip (see Lyons, paragraph [0070]: “the media library area 120 may include audio clips, video clips, text overlays, pictures, and/or other media”), and the background music control is used to update background music of the first video clip (see Jia, paragraph [0086]: “The background music may be selected by the user or may be previously selected”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 1, wherein storing the first identifier comprises:
storing, in an identification folder in an album, a first identification thumbnail corresponding to the first identifier (see Lyons, paragraph [0186]: “FIG. 14 illustrates an example of a project file 1400 that includes source media data elements 1405, timeline clip data elements 1410, navigation markers 1415, CPP data elements 1420, and the relationships between these elements. For each of these data elements, FIG. 14 shows one example. Specifically, it shows Source Media H, Timeline Clip L, CPP Data Element X, and Navigation Marker Data Element D”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 7, wherein the identification folder further comprises a second identification thumbnail corresponding to a second identifier, and the second identifier is used to indicate a second video clip in the first video (see Jia, FIG. 20 and paragraph [0257]: “In the example shown of FIG. 20, y1, y2, and yn respectively represent the indexes of the target clips selected at the initial time point, the second time point, and the n-th time point”),
wherein video image frames in the second video clip are different from video image frames in the first video clip, or video image frames in the second video clip are partially the same as video image frames in the first video clip (see Lyons, paragraph [0239]: “when generating a thumbnail image for a particular video clip or set of video clips, some embodiments initially identify a representative video frame for the clip or set of clips, and then generate a thumbnail image from the identified frame. Different embodiments identify the representative video frame for a clip or set of clips differently. For example, some embodiments identify the frame based on location within the clip, based on an analysis of the clip, etc.”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 7, wherein after storing, in the identification folder in the album, the first identification thumbnail corresponding to the first identifier, the method further comprises:
receiving a sixth input from the user to the identification folder (see Lyons, paragraph [0249]: “the desired number of neighboring clips and the location of the retrieved clip in the composite display area can be specified by a user through preference settings of the media editing application”);
displaying P identification thumbnails and a video editing control in response to the sixth input, wherein the P identification thumbnails comprise the first identification thumbnail, and P is a positive integer (see Lyons, paragraph [0249]: “a desired number of neighboring clips (or desired neighboring ranges along the timeline) are presented along with the clip that is brought up in response to a navigation selection through the tool 2270”);
receiving a seventh input from the user on the video editing control (see Lyons, paragraph [0235]: “The navigation tool activation item 2265 is a conceptual illustration of one or more user interface (“UI”) items that allows the navigation tool 2270 to be invoked. Different embodiments of the invention implement this UI item differently. Some embodiments implement it as a UI button, others as an option that can be selected in a pull-down or drop-down menu, and still others as a command that can be invoked through one or more keystroke operations”); and
displaying a video editing interface in response to the seventh input control (see Lyons, paragraph [0235]: “The media editing application displays the navigation tool 2270 once it is invoked through the activation item 2265”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 9, wherein the video editing interface comprises a first display area and a second display area, the first display area comprises at least one video thumbnail, each video thumbnail corresponds to a video clip, and the second display area comprises at least one identification thumbnail (see Lyons, paragraph [0234]: “media clips may be displayed with different appearances in different areas of the GUI 2200. For instance, the media clips in the media library 2260 in this example are represented using thumbnail view (i.e., represented using a set of equally-sized images), while the media clips in the composite display area are represented using a clip view (i.e., represented using a set of rectangular representations where the length of the rectangle provides a visual indicator of the length of the associated clip)”); and
after displaying the video editing interface (see Lyons, paragraph [0235]: “The media editing application displays the navigation tool 2270 once it is invoked through the activation item 2265”), the method further comprises:
receiving an eighth input from the user on a target video thumbnail of the at least one video thumbnail, and receiving a ninth input from the user on a target identification thumbnail of the at least one identification thumbnail (see Lyons, paragraph [0236]: “In the example of FIG. 22, the application's navigation tool 2270 includes several selectable navigation markers 2272 that are associated with several navigable locations in the composite representation that is displayed in the composite display area. When a navigation marker is selected, the composite display area presents the navigable location that is associated with the selected navigation marker. In this manner, the navigation tool allows a user to navigate through a large number of media clips”);
displaying the target video thumbnail and the target identification thumbnail in a third display area of the video editing interface in response to the eighth input and the ninth input (see Lyons, paragraph [0237]: “the navigation markers are associated with the media clips in the composite display area, and in turn through this association, are associated with the locations in the composite representation as the media clips have specified locations in the composite representation”),
wherein an arrangement order of the target video thumbnail and the target identification thumbnail is in an association relationship with the eighth input and the ninth input (see Lyons, paragraph [0238]: “In the example of FIG. 22, the navigation markers are thumbnail images of the media clips in the composite presentation. In some of the embodiments that have fixed locations in the composite representation as navigable locations, the thumbnail images are images of the media clips (e.g., thumbnail images of frames of video clips, cover art of audio clips, etc.) that are at or near the fixed locations. Alternatively, for some of the embodiments that define each navigable location as the location of a media clip or a set of associated media clips, the thumbnail images are images of the media clips associated with the navigable locations”); and
generating a target video based on a third video clip corresponding to the target video thumbnail and a fourth video clip corresponding to the target identification thumbnail (see Lyons, paragraph [0239]: “when generating a thumbnail image for a particular video clip or set of video clips, some embodiments initially identify a representative video frame for the clip or set of clips, and then generate a thumbnail image from the identified frame”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 10, wherein after displaying the target video thumbnail and the target identification thumbnail in the third display area of the video editing interface, the method further comprises:
receiving a tenth input from the user on the third display area (see Lyons, paragraph [0241]: “allow the navigation markers to scroll through the navigation tool's display area”); and
updating display information of the third display area in response to the tenth input (see Lyons, paragraph [0241]: “provide zoom controls to adjust the size of the navigation markers that are displayed in the tool's display area”),
wherein the display information comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of target video thumbnails, locations of target video thumbnails, a quantity of target identification thumbnails, or locations of target identification thumbnails (see Lyons, paragraph [0242]: “The navigation markers 2272 are arranged in the same order as their associated locations within the composite display area. In this manner, each navigation marker 2272 of the navigation tool 2270 represents a relative location within the composite representation in the composite display area. For instance, a first marker that is to the left of a second marker in the navigation tool corresponds to a location in the composite display area that is earlier than a location corresponding to the second marker”. Note to the Applicants: The USPTO considers the Applicant’s "one of" language to be anticipated by any reference containing one of the subsequent corresponding elements).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 7, wherein after storing, in the identification folder in the album, the first identification thumbnail corresponding to the first identifier, the method further comprises:
receiving an eleventh input from the user on the first identification thumbnail (see Jia, paragraph [0077]: “the user may input an image of the person through an interface”); and
displaying a target interface in response to the eleventh input, wherein the target interface comprises video parameter information of the first video clip (see Jia, paragraph [0076]: “When the video generation request from the user is initiated, the video generation apparatus 100 may display a personalized information configuration interface for the target video”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 12, wherein after displaying the target interface, the method further comprises:
receiving a twelfth input from the user (see Lyons, paragraph [0294]: “The parts editor 2920 receives information from the grouping processor 2910 about making edits to a composite presentation part”); and
updating target information in response to the twelfth input (see Lyons, paragraph [0294]: “the parts editor 2920 retrieves and updates composite presentation part data located in storages 2955-2965. The parts editor 2920 also redefines any associations between clips and composite presentation parts as required”),
wherein the target information comprises at least one of the following: the video parameter information of the first video clip, or the first video clip (see Jia, paragraph [0078]: “Video features of the source videos and intention features of an intention of the video generation request are extracted according to the video generation request of the user”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a thirteenth input from the user at the video playback interface of the first video (see Lyons, paragraph [0249]: “the clip 2290 is fully visible in the composite display area along with other clips that neighbor it. Some embodiments automatically perform zoom adjustments (adjustments without direct user input) to adjust the zoom level in the composite display area so that a desired number of neighboring clips”); and
displaying S identifiers of the first video in response to the thirteenth input, wherein each identifier corresponds to a video clip in the first video, and S is a positive integer (see Lyons, paragraph [0249]: “the desired number of neighboring clips and the location of the retrieved clip in the composite display area can be specified by a user through preference settings of the media editing application”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose the video editing method according to claim 14, wherein after displaying the S identifiers of the first video, the method further comprises:
receiving a fourteenth input from the user on a target identifier of the S identifiers (see Jia, paragraphs [0279]-[0280]: “the video generation apparatus 100 generates a target video, based on the intention features and source videos … the source videos may be videos specified by the user, and also may be videos that the video generation apparatus 100 is authorized to obtain”); and
displaying, in response to the fourteenth input, a second editing window of a fifth video clip indicated by the target identifier (see Jia, paragraph [0282]: “after obtaining the video generation request of the user, the video generation apparatus 100 may display all obtainable videos and may use, as the source videos, videos selected by the user from among the displayed videos”),
wherein the second editing window is used to update video parameter information of the fifth video clip (see Jia, paragraph [0299]: “the video generation apparatus 100 may use both the visual features and the optical flow features in order to better ascertain the content in the source video and changing information of the content through different types of features. Thus, video clips that more satisfy the user intention and is rich with content may be selected, and a better target video may be generated”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above. In addition, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose an electronic device, comprising:
a processor (see Lyons, paragraph [0311]: “Computer system 3200 includes a bus 3205, at least one processing unit (e.g., a processor) 3210”); and
a memory a computer program or an instruction stored thereon (see Lyons, paragraph [0311]: “Computer system 3200 includes a bus 3205, at least one processing unit (e.g., a processor) 3210, a graphics processing unit (GPU) 3220, a system memory 3225, a read-only memory 3230, a permanent storage device 3235, input devices 3240, and output devices 3245”),
wherein the computer program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform operations (see Lyons, paragraph [0313]: “the processor 3210 retrieves instructions to execute and data to process in order to execute the processes of the invention”).
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above. In addition, the combination teachings of Lyons and Jia as discussed above also disclose a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program or an instruction that, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations (see Lyons, paragraph [0308]: “UI items that could be defined and stored on a computer readable storage medium for a media editing application incorporating some embodiments of the invention. In addition, the process 3000 is a conceptual process, and the actual implementations may vary. For example, different embodiments may define the various elements in a different order, may define several elements in one operation, may decompose the definition of a single element into multiple operations”).
Conclusion
NIENRU YANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/NIENRU YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484