DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 12-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/892,349 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/892,349, though narrower in scope, include all of the limitations of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14-15 recite the limitation "the protrusion part" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen 265 (CN 11488265A machine translation cited in IDS), and in further view of Wen 624 (CN 102903624 machine translation cited in IDS)
Regarding claim 1, Wen 265 figures 1a-6 teach a semiconductor processing device, comprising:
a lower chamber (210) having a first supporting area (212 first supporting region) for supporting a wafer (100);
an upper chamber (220) having a second supporting area (222 second supporting region), wherein when the upper chamber is engaged with the lower chamber, the wafer (100) is placed between the first supporting area and the second supporting area; and
a first channel (230) formed at an edge area of the first supporting area or the second supporting area, wherein the first channel is configured to provide a first space for flow of one or more chemical fluids for etching an edge of the wafer.[pages 6-7]
Wen 265 is silent to a temperature control component disposed adjacent to the upper chamber and/or the lower chamber, configured to adjust a temperature of the upper chamber and/or the lower chamber by adjusting its own temperature.
Wen 624 is directed towards a temperature control semiconductor processing device where figure 1-10 teach the temperature control module is the lower chamber section (202) is formed for the heat conducting medium flow of curved micro-channel 204 for adjusting the temperature needs.[0037-38]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a temperature control module as taught in Wen 624 to adjust the processing speed of the semiconductor wafer.[0006]
Regarding claim 2, Wen 265 figure 2a teaches the upper chamber and/or the lower chamber comprises a positioning structure (240 raised portion/ convex part) being configured to press against an outer end of the edge of the wafer to align a center axis of the wafer with a center axis of the second supporting area (222 second support region).[page 7]
Regarding claim 3, Wen 265 figure 2a teaches the upper chamber (220) comprises the positioning structure (240 raised portion/ convex part) which is a protrusion part being configured to press against the outer end of the edge of the wafer to align the center axis of the wafer with the center axis of the second supporting area (222 second support region).[page 7]
Regarding claim 4, Wen 265 figures 2a-2c teach the raised portion 240 is connected to the second support region 222. When the upper chamber 220 is located in the second position, the convex part 240 extends to the lower chamber 210. As shown in FIGS. 2a and 2b, in this embodiment, the convex part 240 is located beside the first channel 230. Referring to FIG. 2a, the central axis X-X of the wafer 100 is perpendicular to the upper surface of the wafer 100 and the central ' X'-X' of the second support region 222 is perpendicular to the lower surface of the upper chamber 220. The upper surface 100 of the wafer is parallel to the lower surface of the second support region 222. In one embodiment, when the upper chamber 220 is located at the second position, a portion of the upper surface of the wafer 100 is overlapped with the lower surface of the second supporting region 222, and the central axis X-X of the wafer 100 and the central axis X ' -X' of the second supporting region 222 overlap. In some embodiments of the device 200 or any combination of the preceding embodiments, the convex portion 240 may be designed to surround the wafer 100 closed loop thereby reading on the protrusion part of the upper chamber is adjacent to the second supporting area and extends toward the lower chamber, the center axis of the wafer being perpendicular to an upper surface of the wafer, the center axis of the second supporting area being perpendicular to a lower surface of the upper chamber, and the upper surface of the wafer being parallel to the lower surface of the second supporting area; wherein the protrusion part comprises a curved part in closed loop arranged around the wafer, and the protrusion part is configured to uniformly press against the outer end of the edge of the wafer for overlapping the center axis of the wafer with the center axis of the second supporting area.[page 7-8]
Regarding claim 5, Wen 265 figures 3a-3e teach the convex part 340 comprises a
plurality of uniformly surrounding and against the wafer 100 of the edge area of the bump 342. Each tab 342 extends from the raised portion 340 to the first space 332 of the first channel 330. Referring to FIGS. 3c and 3d, the raised portion 340 includes four lugs (such as lugs 342a to 342d) thereby reading on the protrusion part comprises a plurality of juts being circularly and evenly arranged around the wafer to uniformly press against the outer end of the edge of the wafer.[page 10]
Regarding claim 6, Wen 265 figure 2b teaches the protrusion part (240 raised portion) comprises an inner surface (242) inclining at an angle to the center axis of the second supporting area, the inner surface being configured to press against the outer end of the edge of the wafer.[page 8]
Regarding claim 7, Wen 265 teaches the convex portion comprises a corner facing the central axis of the second support region, the corner is used for abutting the edge outer region of the wafer thereby reading on the protrusion part comprises an inner corner facing towards the center axis of the second supporting area, the inner corner being configured to press against the outer end of the edge of the wafer.[page 3]
Regarding claim 8, Wen 265 figures 2a-2c teach a first groove (250 first channel) is formed at a peripheral area of the lower chamber (210) and configured to provide a first groove space (252 first channel space) for the flow of one or more chemical fluids, and wherein a passage (260 passageway) is formed between the upper chamber and the lower chamber, the passage connects the first space with the first groove space, allowing the one or more chemical fluids to flow from the first space to the first groove space through the passage.[page 8]
Regarding claim 9, Wen 265 teaches the first channel is located in the edge area of the lower chamber, providing one or more chemical fluid flow of the first channel space, at the same time, forming a channel between the upper chamber and the lower chamber. The passage is connected with the first space and the first channel space, one or more chemical fluids are caused to flow into the first channel space from the first space through the channel thereby reading on a second groove is formed at a peripheral area of the upper chamber and positioned above the first groove, wherein an elastic component is placed between the first groove and the second groove, the elastic component being configured to block the one or more chemical fluids flowing from the first space to the first groove space, wherein the first channel is formed at the edge area of the second supporting area, and the upper chamber comprises a first through hole configured to allow the one or more chemical fluids to flow between the first space and the outside of the device, wherein a second channel is formed at the edge area of the first supporting area and configured to provide a second space for the flow of the one or more chemical fluids for etching the edge area of the wafer, wherein the lower chamber comprises a second through hole configured to allow the one or more chemical fluids to flow between the second space and the outside of the device, wherein the first channel is formed at the edge area of the first supporting area, and wherein the lower chamber comprises a first through hole configured to allow the one or more chemical fluids to flow between the first space and the outside of the device.[pages 3-4]
Regarding claim 10, Wen 624 teaches the heat conducting medium comprises heating fluid and cooling fluid to adjust the temperature when processing the wafer.[0017] As Wen 624 teaches the structure of temperature control component, Wen 624 is capable of performing the limitations of fine-tuning a position of the positioning structure by utilizing a heat-expansion and cold-contraction of the upper chamber and/or the lower chamber, further thereby adjusting an alignment accuracy of the central axis of the wafer and the central axis of the second supporting area.
Regarding claim 11, Wen 624 teaches the temperature control semiconductor processing device has a temperature control mechanism of the micro chamber different area. The temperature control mechanism can through multiple regions of the micro-cavity part adopt the same or different temperature control strategy to adjust the chemical preparation for processing speed of semiconductor wafer in each region of the micro-cavity portion thereby suggesting the temperature control component is set at a pre-set temperature value, the upper chamber is engaged with the lower chamber to etch the edge of the wafer; etching effect of the edge of the wafer can be measured to determine whether the etching effect meets requirements, if not, increasing or decreasing the temperature value of the temperature control component, continuously etching the edge of the wafer and measuring the etching effect, until the requirements are met to be an obvious modification.[0006-0022]
Regarding claim 12, Wen 624 teaches in figure 7 a plurality of temperature control unit 704, the number of temperature control unit 704 uniformly and densely arranged in the lower cavity portion 700, each temperature control unit 704 corresponding to the different areas of the wall in said lower chamber, and each of temperature control of the temperature control unit 704 are independent from each other thereby reading on the temperature control component comprises a temperature adjustment part the temperature adjustment part comprises a plurality of electric heating units.[0049]
Wen 624 figure 1 teaches the upper cavity portion 120 and lower cavity portion 140, the upper chamber portion 120 to form an upper chamber inner wall and upper perimeter portion, said lower cavity portion 140 formed in the inner wall of the lower chamber 142 and lower perimeter portion 144. Therefore, the lower perimeter portion reads on the limitation of a heat diffusion part, wherein the heat diffusion part is arranged between the temperature adjustment part and the upper chamber and/or the lower chamber.[0036]
Regarding claim 13, Wen 265 figures 1a-6 teach a semiconductor processing system, comprising:
a semiconductor processing device(200) ; and
a material storage device (520) connected to the semiconductor processing device for storing and exchanging one or more chemical fluids in the semiconductor processing device;
wherein a semiconductor processing device, comprising:
a lower chamber (210) having a first supporting area (212 first supporting region) configured to support a wafer (100);
an upper chamber (220) having a second supporting area (222 second supporting region), wherein when the upper chamber is engaged with the lower chamber, the wafer is placed between the first supporting area and the second supporting area; and
a first channel (230) formed at an edge area of the first supporting area or the second supporting area, wherein the first channel is configured to provide a first space for flow of one or more chemical fluids for etching an edge of the wafer.[pages 6-7]
Wen 265 is silent to a temperature control component disposed adjacent to the upper chamber and/or the lower chamber, configured to adjust a temperature of the upper chamber and/or the lower chamber by adjusting its own temperature.
Wen 624 is directed towards a temperature control semiconductor processing device where figure 1-10 teach the temperature control module is the lower chamber section (202) is formed for the heat conducting medium flow of curved micro-channel 204 for adjusting the temperature needs.[0037-38]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a temperature control module as taught in Wen 624 to adjust the processing speed of the semiconductor wafer.[0006]
Regarding claim 14, Wen 265 figures 2a-2c teach the raised portion 240 is connected to the second support region 222. When the upper chamber 220 is located in the second position, the convex part 240 extends to the lower chamber 210. As shown in FIGS. 2a and 2b, in this embodiment, the convex part 240 is located beside the first channel 230. Referring to FIG. 2a, the central axis X-X of the wafer 100 is perpendicular to the upper surface of the wafer 100 and the central ' X'-X' of the second support region 222 is perpendicular to the lower surface of the upper chamber 220. The upper surface 100 of the wafer is parallel to the lower surface of the second support region 222. In one embodiment, when the upper chamber 220 is located at the second position, a portion of the upper surface of the wafer 100 is overlapped with the lower surface of the second supporting region 222, and the central axis X-X of the wafer 100 and the central axis X ' -X' of the second supporting region 222 overlap. In some embodiments of the device 200 or any combination of the preceding embodiments, the convex portion 240 may be designed to surround the wafer 100 closed loop thereby reading on the protrusion part of the upper chamber is adjacent to the second supporting area and extends toward the lower chamber, the center axis of the wafer being perpendicular to an upper surface of the wafer, the center axis of the second supporting area being perpendicular to a lower surface of the upper chamber, and the upper surface of the wafer being parallel to the lower surface of the second supporting area; wherein the protrusion part comprises a curved part in closed loop arranged around the wafer, and the protrusion part is configured to uniformly press against the outer end of the edge of the wafer for overlapping the center axis of the wafer with the center axis of the second supporting area.[page 7-8]
Regarding claim 15, Wen 265 figures 2a-2c teach the raised portion 240 is connected to the second support region 222. When the upper chamber 220 is located in the second position, the convex part 240 extends to the lower chamber 210. As shown in FIGS. 2a and 2b, in this embodiment, the convex part 240 is located beside the first channel 230. Referring to FIG. 2a, the central axis X-X of the wafer 100 is perpendicular to the upper surface of the wafer 100 and the central ' X'-X' of the second support region 222 is perpendicular to the lower surface of the upper chamber 220. The upper surface 100 of the wafer is parallel to the lower surface of the second support region 222. In one embodiment, when the upper chamber 220 is located at the second position, a portion of the upper surface of the wafer 100 is overlapped with the lower surface of the second supporting region 222, and the central axis X-X of the wafer 100 and the central axis X ' -X' of the second supporting region 222 overlap thereby reading on the protrusion part is adjacent to the second supporting area and extends toward the lower chamber, the center axis of the wafer being perpendicular to an upper surface of the wafer, the center axis of the second supporting area being perpendicular to a lower surface of the upper chamber, and the upper surface of the wafer being parallel to the lower surface of the second supporting area.[pages 7-8]
Wen 265 figures 3a-3e teach the convex part 340 comprises a plurality of uniformly surrounding and against the wafer 100 of the edge area of the bump 342. Each tab 342 extends from the raised portion 340 to the first space 332 of the first channel 330. Referring to FIGS. 3c and 3d, the raised portion 340 includes four lugs (such as lugs 342a to 342d) thereby reading on the protrusion part comprises a plurality of juts being circularly and evenly arranged around the wafer to uniformly press against the outer end of the edge of the wafer.[page 10]
Regarding claim 16, Wen 265 figures 2a-2c teach a first groove (250 first channel) is formed at a peripheral area of the lower chamber (210) and configured to provide a first groove space (252 first channel space) for the flow of one or more chemical fluids, and wherein a passage (260 passageway) is formed between the upper chamber and the lower chamber, the passage connects the first space with the first groove space, allowing the one or more chemical fluids to flow from the first space to the first groove space through the passage.[page 8]
Wen 265 teaches the first channel is located in the edge area of the lower chamber, providing one or more chemical fluid flow of the first channel space, at the same time, forming a channel between the upper chamber and the lower chamber. The passage is connected with the first space and the first channel space, one or more chemical fluids are caused to flow into the first channel space from the first space through the channel thereby reading on a second groove is formed at a peripheral area of the upper chamber and positioned above the first groove, wherein an elastic component is placed between the first groove and the second groove, the elastic component being configured to block the one or more chemical fluids flowing from the first space to the first groove space, wherein the first channel is formed at the edge area of the second supporting area, and the upper chamber comprises a first through hole configured to allow the one or more chemical fluids to flow between the first space and the outside of the device, wherein a second channel is formed at the edge area of the first supporting area and configured to provide a second space for the flow of the one or more chemical fluids for etching the edge area of the wafer, wherein the lower chamber comprises a second through hole configured to allow the one or more chemical fluids to flow between the second space and the outside of the device, wherein the first channel is formed at the edge area of the first supporting area, and wherein the lower chamber comprises a first through hole configured to allow the one or more chemical fluids to flow between the first space and the outside of the device.[pages 3-4]
Regarding claim 17, Wen 265 figure 2a teaches the upper chamber and/or the lower chamber comprises a positioning structure (240 raised portion/ convex part) being configured to press against an outer end of the edge of the wafer to align a center axis of the wafer with a center axis of the second supporting area (222 second support region).[page 7]
Wen 624 teaches the heat conducting medium comprises heating fluid and cooling fluid to adjust the temperature when processing the wafer.[0017] As Wen 624 teaches the structure of temperature control component, Wen 624 is capable of performing the limitations of fine-tuning a position of the positioning structure by utilizing a heat-expansion and cold-contraction of the upper chamber and/or the lower chamber, further thereby adjusting an alignment accuracy of the central axis of the wafer and the central axis of the second supporting area.
Regarding claim 18, Wen 624 teaches the temperature control semiconductor processing device has a temperature control mechanism of the micro chamber different area, can through multiple regions of the micro-cavity part adopts the same or different temperature control strategy to adjust the chemical preparation for processing speed of semiconductor wafer in each region of the micro-cavity portion thereby suggesting the temperature control component is set at a pre-set temperature value, the upper chamber is engaged with the lower chamber to etch the edge of the wafer; etching effect of the edge of the wafer can be measured to determine whether the etching effect meets requirements, if not, increasing or decreasing the temperature value of the temperature control component, continuously etching the edge of the wafer and measuring the etching effect, until the requirements are met to be an obvious modification.[0006-0022]
Wen 624 teaches in figure 7 a plurality of temperature control unit 704, the number of temperature control unit 704 uniformly and densely arranged in the lower cavity portion 700, each temperature control unit 704 corresponding to the different areas of the wall in said lower chamber, and each of temperature control of the temperature control unit 704 are independent from each other thereby reading on the temperature control component comprises a temperature adjustment part the temperature adjustment part comprises a plurality of electric heating units.[0049]
Regarding claim 19, Wen 265 teaches in figure 6 a semiconductor edge positioning method, comprising:
placing a wafer on a first supporting area of a lower chamber of a semiconductor processing device (Step 602);
engaging an upper chamber with the lower chamber of the semiconductor processing device so that the wafer is disposed between the first supporting area and a second supporting area, wherein a positioning structure of the upper chamber and/or the lower chamber is configured to press against an outer end of the edge of the wafer to align a center axis of the wafer with a center axis of the second supporting area (step 604);
injecting one or more chemical fluids into a first space for etching an edge of the wafer, wherein a first channel is formed at an edge area of the first supporting area or the second supporting area, and the first channel is provided with the first space (step 610).[pages 14-15]
Wen 265 is silent to the semiconductor processing device comprises a temperature control component disposed adjacent to the upper chamber and/or the lower chamber, and configured to adjust its own temperature and to be set to a pre-set temperature value; and measuring etching effect of the edge of the wafer to determine whether the etching effect meets the requirements, if not, increasing or decreasing the temperature value of the temperature control component, continuously etching the wafer edge and measuring the etching effect, until the requirements are met.
Wen 624 is directed towards a temperature control semiconductor processing device where figure 1-10 teach the temperature control module is the lower chamber section (202) is formed for the heat conducting medium flow of curved micro-channel 204 for adjusting the temperature needs.[0037-38]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a temperature control module as taught in Wen 624 to adjust the processing speed of the semiconductor wafer.[0006]
Wen 624 teaches the temperature control semiconductor processing device has a temperature control mechanism of the micro chamber different area. The temperature control mechanism can through multiple regions of the micro-cavity part adopt the same or different temperature control strategy to adjust the chemical preparation for processing speed of semiconductor wafer in each region of the micro-cavity portion thereby suggesting the temperature control component is set at a pre-set temperature value, the upper chamber is engaged with the lower chamber to etch the edge of the wafer; etching effect of the edge of the wafer can be measured to determine whether the etching effect meets requirements, if not, increasing or decreasing the temperature value of the temperature control component, continuously etching the edge of the wafer and measuring the etching effect, until the requirements are met to be an obvious modification.[0006-0022]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Peh (US 2015/0332942) where figure 4 teaches the pedestal assembly 200 with the dielectric puck 202 removed showing the top of the heater plate 308.
Lee (US 2019/0333788) where figure 3 teaches a clamping member 500, movable members 550, and a temperature adjustment unit 800.
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711