Detailed Office Action
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The analysis of the claims’ subject matter eligibility will follow the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50-57 (January 7, 2019) (“2019 PEG”).
101 Analysis - With respect to Claim 9
Claims 1, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis - Step 1:
Claim 1 is directed towards a system which is directed to the statutory category of a machine. Claim 9 is directed towards a method which is directed to the statutory category of a process. Claim 14 is directed towards a non-transitory computer readable medium which is directed to the statutory category of a manufacture. Therefore Claims 1, 9, and 14 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis- Step 2A Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental process.
Independent claim 9 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claim 9 recites, inter alai:
“A method comprising:
determining, by a computing device, a state of a trailed recreational vehicle that is coupled to a towing vehicle;
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling, receiving, by the computing device, via a head unit in the towing vehicle, first user input to control a vehicle system,
determine that the vehicle system is not available,
access a first operational system that corresponds to the vehicle system,
control the first operational system,
and provide data related to the first operational system via the head unit; and
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is camping, receiving, by the computing device,
second user input to control a second operational system of the trailed recreational vehicle,
and control the second operational system.”
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind.
For example, “determining” in the context of this claim, all encompass a person looking at available data and forming a simple judgement (determination, analysis, comparison, etc.) either manually or using a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea. The examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
As drafted, the above claims, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental processes performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion), that are merely completed via generic computer components. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
Regarding Prong Two of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application”.
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
Claim 9 recites, inter alai:
“A method comprising:
determining, by a computing device, a state of a trailed recreational vehicle that is coupled to a towing vehicle;
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling, receiving, by the computing device, via a head unit in the towing vehicle, first user input to control a vehicle system,
determine that the vehicle system is not available,
access a first operational system that corresponds to the vehicle system,
control the first operational system,
and provide data related to the first operational system via the head unit; and
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is camping,
receiving, by the computing device, second user input to control a second operational system of the trailed recreational vehicle,
and control the second operational system.”
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitation of “receiving, by the computing device...a first user input…” and “receiving, by the computing device, second user input…”, these limitation merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general purpose vehicle control environment. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. at 223 (“[T]he mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”). The device(s) and processor(s) are recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the steps.
Regarding the additional limitations of “access a first operational system…”, “control the first operational system”, “ provide data related to the first operational system…”, and “control the second operational system”, these limitations merely describes the sending, receiving, and displaying of data which is in insignificant extra solution activity. See MPEP § 2106.05(g).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claims do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer components to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, the act of collecting data and displaying data amounts to no more than merely storing and displaying information of the exception and thus is an extra-solution activity. The claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding dependent claims 2-8, 10-13, and 15-20, no claim further adds a limitation that introduces any practical applications to the claimed invention, the dependent claims merely add more mental process, mathematical concepts, and post-solution activities and are thus not patent eligible.
Therefore, Claims 1-20 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5, 7, 9-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorenson et al (US 12384222 B1) in view of Diamond et al (DE 102022119410 A1). Hereafter referred to as Sorenson and Diamond respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Sorenson teaches a system comprising:
a trailed recreational vehicle that is coupled with a towing vehicle, wherein the trailed recreational vehicle comprises a plurality of operational systems, and wherein the towing vehicle comprises at least one vehicle system (see at least Sorenson [C2 L43-57] FIG. 1C shows a towable recreational vehicle 140 that includes a hitch 142 positioned at a front end of the recreational vehicle 140. The recreational vehicle 140 can be what is referred to a toy hauler, 5th-wheel, travel trailer, or other types of towable recreational vehicles. As shown in FIG. 1C, the recreational vehicle 140 is coupled to a vehicle 144 such as a car, truck, or sport utility vehicle...the recreational vehicle 140 can also be commutatively and electrically coupled to the vehicle 144 (or other types of vehicles such as all-terrain vehicles or motorcycles) such that the vehicles can exchange data and power signals)
a head unit that is coupled with the towing vehicle (see at least Sorenson [C17 L 23-28] the recreational vehicles 100/120/140 can be communicatively coupled to the vehicles such as cars, trucks, and sport utility vehicles. Communications between the vehicles can be facilitated by the electrical connectors 500/510/520 or other types of electrical connectors and managed by the controller 302)
a local computing device that is coupled with the trailed recreational vehicle that comprises a processor and a memory component for storing logic (see at least Sorenson [C2 L 43-57, C9 54-62, C17 L 23-28, C9 L4-L39] the recreational vehicle 140 can also be commutatively and electrically coupled to the vehicle 144...The controller 302 can also be communicatively coupled to a user device 342 such as a mobile phone or detachable control panel…that enables the user device 342 to communicate with the controller 302 directly or indirectly (e.g., via the network interface 334 and network 336). The user device 342 can have its own display and/or user inputs for sending information and commands to the controller 302....the recreational vehicles 100/120/140 can be communicatively coupled to the vehicles such as cars, trucks, and sport utility vehicles. Communications between the vehicles can be facilitated by the electrical connectors 500/510/520 or other types of electrical connectors and managed by the controller 302).
when executed by the processor causes the system to perform at least the following:
determine a state of the trailed recreational vehicle (see at least Sorensen [C9 L40-54] The controller 302 can also be communicatively coupled to a display 338 and an input device 340…the various subsystems and devices of the recreational vehicle 100 periodically or by request send status updates to the controller 302, which can store the status updates in the memory 328. For example, the drivetrain subsystem 306 can send information about the recreational vehicle's current fuel level or remaining stored battery power. As such, the controller302 can store or otherwise have access to snapshots of the system's status at various points in time. This information can be used by the controller 302 in various routines described below)
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is camping, receive second user input to control a second operational system of the plurality of operational systems, and control the second operational system (see at least Sorensen [C9 L41-50] FIG. 6A shows the display 338 in a parked screen mode. As just one example of the types of information the display 338 can show, the display 338 in FIG. 6A includes a visual indicator 356 (e.g., graphics, icons) that visually represents the current state of charge. The display 338 can also include a numerical indicator 358 that shows the current state of charge. The display 338 can include many other screens as part of a graphical user interface, such as screens with icons, buttons, or indicators for controlling and viewing aspects of the various subsystems and devices of the vehicles).
However, Sorenson does not explicitly teach when executed by the processor causes the system to perform at least the following:
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling,
receive via the head unit, first user input to control the at least one vehicle system,
determine that the at least one vehicle system is not available,
access a first operational system of the plurality of operational systems that corresponds to the at least one vehicle system, control the first operational system, and provide data related to the first operational system via the head unit.
Diamond, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches when executed by the processor causes the system to perform at least the following:
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling, receive via the head unit, first user input to control the at least one vehicle system (see at least Diamond [English Translation pg.5 para.3-6, pg.4 para.2-4] The towing vehicle 102 may also receive information from the towed vehicle 104, such as specifications, instructions, or sensor outputs such as cameras, accelerometer data, radar, LiDAR, etc. to ensure towing is performed correctly...The towing application 216 may be configured to use towing procedure detection and orientation validation to identify how the towing vehicle 102 is towing the towed vehicle 104…The communication 106 may provide the towing information 108 to enable the towing vehicle 102 to control and/or restrict driving maneuvers and orientation of the towing vehicle 102 to ensure that the towed vehicle 104 does not experience undesirable side effects…HMI controller 202-G may be configured to receive user input via various buttons or other controls)
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling…determine that the at least one vehicle system is not available (see at least Diamond [English Translation pg.5 para.3, pg.4 para.2, pg.5 para.6] The communication 106 may provide the towing information 108 to enable the towing vehicle 102 to control and/or restrict driving maneuvers and orientation of the towing vehicle 102 to ensure that the towed vehicle 104 does not experience undesirable side effects)
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling…access a first operational system of the plurality of operational systems that corresponds to the at least one vehicle system, control the first operational system, and provide data related to the first operational system via the head unit (see at least Diamond [English Translation pg.4 para.2, pg.5 para.3, pg.4 para.4] The towing vehicle 102 may also receive information from the towed vehicle 104, such as specifications, instructions, or sensor outputs such as cameras, accelerometer data, radar, LiDAR, etc. to ensure towing is performed correctly…This communication 106 may provide the towing information 108 to allow the towing vehicle 102 to control and/or restrict driving maneuvers and orientation of the towing vehicle 102 to ensure that the towed vehicle 104 does not experience undesirable side effects....an autonomous controller 202-D may be configured to provide commands to control the powertrain, steering, or other aspects; a climate control management controller 202-E may be configured to provide control for heating and cooling system components…controller 202-F may be configured to provide vehicle location information; and an HMI controller 202-G may be configured to receive user input via various buttons or other controls, as well as provide a driver with vehicle status information, such as fuel level information, engine operating temperature information, and the current location of the tow vehicle 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Sorensen to contain a system for when executed by the processor causes the system to perform at least the following: determine a state of the trailed recreational vehicle; in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling, receive via the head unit, first user input to control the at least one vehicle system, determine that the at least one vehicle system is not available, access a first operational system of the plurality of operational systems that corresponds to the at least one vehicle system, control the first operational system, and provide data related to the first operational system via the head unit with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of ensuring proper towing is being performed when the trailed vehicle is moving and to ensure that no driver inputs may be performed that may effect the proper travel of the trailed vehicle as discussed in Diamond (see at least Diamond [English Translation pg.5 para.3] communication 106 may provide the towing information 108 to enable the towing vehicle 102 to control and/or restrict driving maneuvers and orientation of the towing vehicle 102 to ensure that the towed vehicle 104 does not experience undesirable side effects).
Regarding Claim 9, Sorenson teaches a method comprising:
determining, by a computing device, a state of the trailed recreational vehicle that is coupled to a towing vehicle (see at least Sorensen [C2 L43-57, C9 L63 to C10 L5] FIG. 1C shows a towable recreational vehicle 140 that includes a hitch 142 positioned at a front end of the recreational vehicle 140…The controller 302 can also be communicatively coupled to a display 338 and an input device 340…the various subsystems and devices of the recreational vehicle 100 periodically or by request send status updates to the controller 302, which can store the status updates in the memory 328. For example, the drivetrain subsystem 306 can send information about the recreational vehicle's current fuel level or remaining stored battery power. As such, the controller 302 can store or otherwise have access to snapshots of the system's status at various points in time. This information can be used by the controller 302 in various routines described below)
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is camping, receiving, by the computing device, second user input to control a second operational system of the trailed recreational vehicle, and control the second operational system (see at least Sorensen [C9 L41-50] FIG. 6A shows the display 338 in a parked screen mode. As just one example of the types of information the display 338 can show, the display 338 in FIG. 6A includes a visual indicator 356 (e.g., graphics, icons) that visually represents the current state of charge. The display 338 can also include a numerical indicator 358 that shows the current state of charge. The display 338 can include many other screens as part of a graphical user interface, such as screens with icons, buttons, or indicators for controlling and viewing aspects of the various subsystems and devices of the vehicles).
However, Sorenson does not explicitly teach in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling,
receiving, by the computing device, via a head unit in the towing vehicle, first user input to control a vehicle system
determine that the at least one vehicle system is not available,
access a first operational system that corresponds to the vehicle system, control the first operational system, and provide data related to the first operational system via the head unit.
Diamond, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling,
receiving, by the computing device, via a head unit in the towing vehicle, first user input to control a vehicle system (see at least Diamond [English Translation pg.5 para.3-6, pg.4 para.2-4] The towing vehicle 102 may also receive information from the towed vehicle 104, such as specifications, instructions, or sensor outputs such as cameras, accelerometer data, radar, LiDAR, etc. to ensure towing is performed correctly...The towing application 216 may be configured to use towing procedure detection and orientation validation to identify how the towing vehicle 102 is towing the towed vehicle 104…The communication 106 may provide the towing information 108 to enable the towing vehicle 102 to control and/or restrict driving maneuvers and orientation of the towing vehicle 102 to ensure that the towed vehicle 104 does not experience undesirable side effects…HMI controller 202-G may be configured to receive user input via various buttons or other controls)
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling…determine that the at least one vehicle system is not available (see at least Diamond [English Translation pg.5 para.3, pg.4 para.2, pg.5 para.6] The communication 106 may provide the towing information 108 to enable the towing vehicle 102 to control and/or restrict driving maneuvers and orientation of the towing vehicle 102 to ensure that the towed vehicle 104 does not experience undesirable side effects)
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling…access a first operational system that corresponds to the vehicle system, control the first operational system, and provide data related to the first operational system via the head unit (see at least Diamond [English Translation pg.4 para.2, pg.5 para.3, pg.4 para.4] The towing vehicle 102 may also receive information from the towed vehicle 104, such as specifications, instructions, or sensor outputs such as cameras, accelerometer data, radar, LiDAR, etc. to ensure towing is performed correctly…This communication 106 may provide the towing information 108 to allow the towing vehicle 102 to control and/or restrict driving maneuvers and orientation of the towing vehicle 102 to ensure that the towed vehicle 104 does not experience undesirable side effects....an autonomous controller 202-D may be configured to provide commands to control the powertrain, steering, or other aspects; a climate control management controller 202-E may be configured to provide control for heating and cooling system components…controller 202-F may be configured to provide vehicle location information; and an HMI controller 202-G may be configured to receive user input via various buttons or other controls, as well as provide a driver with vehicle status information, such as fuel level information, engine operating temperature information, and the current location of the tow vehicle 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Sorensen to contain a system for in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling, receiving, by the computing device, via a head unit in the towing vehicle, first user input to control a vehicle system, determine that the vehicle system is not available, access a first operational system that corresponds to the vehicle system, control the first operational system, and provide data related to the first operational system via the head unit with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of ensuring proper towing is being performed when the trailed vehicle is moving and to ensure that no driver inputs may be performed that may effect the proper travel of the trailed vehicle as discussed in Diamond (see at least Diamond [English Translation pg.5 para.3] communication 106 may provide the towing information 108 to enable the towing vehicle 102 to control and/or restrict driving maneuvers and orientation of the towing vehicle 102 to ensure that the towed vehicle 104 does not experience undesirable side effects).
Regarding Claim 14, Sorenson teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores logic (see at least Sorensen [C9 L4-11] memory 328 (e.g., random access memory (RAM), flash memory, and/or other dynamic storage devices), read only memory (ROM) 330, a data storage device 332 (e.g., a hard disk drive, optical disk drive, or solid state drive), and/or a network interface 334)
that, when executed by a computing device, causes the computing device to perform at least the following:
determine a state of a trailed recreational vehicle that is coupled to a towing vehicle (see at least Sorensen [C2 L43-57, C9 L63 to C10 L5] FIG. 1C shows a towable recreational vehicle 140 that includes a hitch 142 positioned at a front end of the recreational vehicle 140…The controller 302 can also be communicatively coupled to a display 338 and an input device 340…the various subsystems and devices of the recreational vehicle 100 periodically or by request send status updates to the controller 302, which can store the status updates in the memory 328. For example, the drivetrain subsystem 306 can send information about the recreational vehicle's current fuel level or remaining stored battery power. As such, the controller 302 can store or otherwise have access to snapshots of the system's status at various points in time. This information can be used by the controller 302 in various routines described below)
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is camping, receiving, by the computing device, second user input to control a second operational system of the trailed recreational vehicle, and control the second operational system (see at least Sorensen [C9 L41-50] FIG. 6A shows the display 338 in a parked screen mode. As just one example of the types of information the display 338 can show, the display 338 in FIG. 6A includes a visual indicator 356 (e.g., graphics, icons) that visually represents the current state of charge. The display 338 can also include a numerical indicator 358 that shows the current state of charge. The display 338 can include many other screens as part of a graphical user interface, such as screens with icons, buttons, or indicators for controlling and viewing aspects of the various subsystems and devices of the vehicles).
However, Sorenson does not explicitly teach in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling,
receive via a head unit in the towing vehicle, first user input to control a vehicle system
determine that the vehicle system is not available,
access a first operational system that corresponds to the vehicle system, control the first operational system, and provide data related to the first operational system via the head unit.
Diamond, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling,
receive via a head unit in the towing vehicle, first user input to control a vehicle system (see at least Diamond [English Translation pg.5 para.3-6, pg.4 para.2-4] The towing vehicle 102 may also receive information from the towed vehicle 104, such as specifications, instructions, or sensor outputs such as cameras, accelerometer data, radar, LiDAR, etc. to ensure towing is performed correctly...The towing application 216 may be configured to use towing procedure detection and orientation validation to identify how the towing vehicle 102 is towing the towed vehicle 104…The communication 106 may provide the towing information 108 to enable the towing vehicle 102 to control and/or restrict driving maneuvers and orientation of the towing vehicle 102 to ensure that the towed vehicle 104 does not experience undesirable side effects…HMI controller 202-G may be configured to receive user input via various buttons or other controls)
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling…determine that the vehicle system is not available (see at least Diamond [English Translation pg.5 para.3, pg.4 para.2, pg.5 para.6] The communication 106 may provide the towing information 108 to enable the towing vehicle 102 to control and/or restrict driving maneuvers and orientation of the towing vehicle 102 to ensure that the towed vehicle 104 does not experience undesirable side effects)
in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling…access a first operational system that corresponds to the vehicle system, control the first operational system, and provide data related to the first operational system via the head unit (see at least Diamond [English Translation pg.4 para.2, pg.5 para.3, pg.4 para.4] The towing vehicle 102 may also receive information from the towed vehicle 104, such as specifications, instructions, or sensor outputs such as cameras, accelerometer data, radar, LiDAR, etc. to ensure towing is performed correctly…This communication 106 may provide the towing information 108 to allow the towing vehicle 102 to control and/or restrict driving maneuvers and orientation of the towing vehicle 102 to ensure that the towed vehicle 104 does not experience undesirable side effects....an autonomous controller 202-D may be configured to provide commands to control the powertrain, steering, or other aspects; a climate control management controller 202-E may be configured to provide control for heating and cooling system components…controller 202-F may be configured to provide vehicle location information; and an HMI controller 202-G may be configured to receive user input via various buttons or other controls, as well as provide a driver with vehicle status information, such as fuel level information, engine operating temperature information, and the current location of the tow vehicle 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Sorensen to contain a system for in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is traveling, receive via a head unit in the towing vehicle, first user input to control a vehicle system, determine that the vehicle system is not available, access a first operational system that corresponds to the vehicle system, control the first operational system, and provide data related to the first operational system via the head unit with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of ensuring proper towing is being performed when the trailed vehicle is moving and to ensure that no driver inputs may be performed that may effect the proper travel of the trailed vehicle as discussed in Diamond (see at least Diamond [English Translation pg.5 para.3] communication 106 may provide the towing information 108 to enable the towing vehicle 102 to control and/or restrict driving maneuvers and orientation of the towing vehicle 102 to ensure that the towed vehicle 104 does not experience undesirable side effects).
Regarding Claims 2, 10, and 15, Sorenson in view of Diamond teaches all limitations of the system of Claim 1, the method of Claim 9, and the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 14. Sorenson further teaches wherein the plurality of operational systems comprises at least one of the following: computing infrastructure, a lighting system, a freshwater system, a graywater system, a black water system, a climate control system, a trailed recreational vehicle tire pressure sensor, an appliance, a positioning system, a driver assistance system, a propulsion system, a trailed recreational vehicle camera, or a trailed recreational vehicle communication system (see at least Sorenson [C14 L33-L50] the home screen of the GUI 410 can include information relating to the power system 200 such as the state of charge of batteries, the remaining travel range, the time required to reach a full charge, and the like. As another example, the home screen can include information about the climate (e.g., temperature) internal to the recreational vehicle 100 and external. The home screen can also include buttons that allow a user to control the HVAC subsystem 308 such as cooling, heating, or automatic climate control settings. As another example, the home screen can include information about the water subsystem 322 such as the current levels of the fresh water, gray water, and black water tanks of the recreational vehicle 100. The home screen can also include buttons/links to other screens for viewing information about or controlling the power subsystem, drivetrain subsystem, HVAC subsystem, lighting subsystem, etc., of the recreational vehicle 100).
Regarding Claims 3, 11, and 16, Sorenson in view of Diamond teaches all limitations of the system of Claim 1, the method of Claim 9, and the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 14. Sorenson further teaches wherein the at least one vehicle system comprises at least one of the following: a braking system, and acceleration system, a turn signal system, a battery system, a vehicle communication system, a positioning system, an infotainment system, or a self-driving system (see at least Sorenson [C2 L43-L57] As shown in FIG. 1C, the recreational vehicle 140 is coupled to a vehicle 144 such as a car, truck, or sport utility vehicle. The vehicle 144 can be mechanically coupled to the recreational vehicle 144 (e.g., via the hitch 142) such that the vehicle 144 can tow or pull the recreational vehicle 140. As will be described in more detail below, the recreational vehicle 140 can also be commutatively and electrically coupled to the vehicle 144 (or other types of vehicles such as all-terrain vehicles or motorcycles) such that the vehicles can exchange data and power signals) Vehicles such as cars, trucks, or utility vehicles all include braking systems, acceleration systems, turn signal systems, etc.
Regarding Claims 4 and 17, Sorenson in view of Diamond teaches all limitations of the system of Claim 1 and the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 14. Sorenson further teaches wherein the head unit is communicatively coupled with the local computing device (see at least Sorenson [C9 L4-L62] The controller 302 includes a bus 324 or other communication mechanism for communicating information between or among one or more processors 326 (e.g., microprocessors), memory 328…The processor(s) 326 can execute software and/or firmware stored in the memory 328 of the controller 302. The software/firmware code contains instructions (e.g., computer code, machine-useable instructions, and the like) that, when executed by the processor 326, cause the controller 302 to perform the functions of the control algorithm described herein…The controller 302 can also be communicatively coupled to a user device 342 such as a mobile phone or detachable control panel).
Regarding Claims 5 and 18, Sorenson in view of Diamond teaches all limitations of the system of Claim 1 and the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 14. Sorenson further teaches wherein providing data related to the first operational system via the head unit comprises providing an output of the first operational system as a user interface on the head unit (see at least Sorenson [C9 L54-L62, C6 L46-51] The controller 302 can also be communicatively coupled to a user device 342 such as a mobile phone or detachable control panel. For example, the user device 342 may include an application (e.g., an app downloaded from an app store) that enables the user device 342 to communicate with the controller 302 directly or indirectly (e.g., via the network interface 334 and network 336). The user device 342 can have its own display and/or user inputs for sending information and commands to the controller 302…the controller 302 itself outputs commands directly in a given protocol).
Regarding Claims 6, 12, and 19, Sorenson in view of Diamond teaches all limitations of the system of Claim 1, the method of Claim 9, and the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 14. Sorenson further teaches wherein in response to determining that the state of the trailed recreational vehicle is camping, the logic further causes the system to receive, additional user input to control the at least one vehicle system, determine that the at least one vehicle system is not available, access the first operational system that corresponds to the at least one vehicle system, control the first operational system, and provide data related to the first operational system via the head unit (see at least Sorenson [C13 L53-67, C9 L54-L62] the recreational vehicle 100 may include a sensor that is arranged and configured to detect when an awning is extended/open. In certain embodiments, if the controller 302 determines that the awning is open and that there is currently or soon to be windy conditions (e.g., winds at 20+ miles per hour), then the controller 302 can be programmed to send a warning or alert to the user's mobile application or can cause the awning to be retracted automatically. As another example, if the controller 302 determines that the awning is open, the controller 302 can be programmed to send a signal (e.g., command or message) to the drive train subsystem 306 to prevent the drivetrain subsystem 306 from being driven (e.g., preventing the transmission from shifting from park to drive)...The controller 302 can also be communicatively coupled to a user device 342 such as a mobile phone or detachable control panel. For example, the user device 342 may include an application (e.g., an app downloaded from an app store) that enables the user device 342 to communicate with the controller 302 directly or indirectly (e.g., via the network interface 334 and network 336). The user device 342 can have its own display and/or user inputs for sending information and commands to the controller 302).
Regarding Claims 7, 13, and 20, Sorenson in view of Diamond teaches all limitations of the system of Claim 1, the method of Claim 9, and the non-transitory computer readable medium of Claim 14. Sorenson further teaches further comprising a mobile device that receives the second user input to control the second operational system, wherein the mobile device communicates at least a portion of the second user input to the head unit (see at least Sorenson [C9 L54-L62, C14 L33-L50] The controller 302 can also be communicatively coupled to a user device 342 such as a mobile phone or detachable control panel. For example, the user device 342 may include an application (e.g., an app downloaded from an app store) that enables the user device 342 to communicate with the controller 302 directly or indirectly (e.g., via the network interface 334 and network 336). The user device 342 can have its own display and/or user inputs for sending information and commands to the controller 302...the home screen of the GUI 410 can include information relating to the power system 200 such as the state of charge of batteries, the remaining travel range, the time required to reach a full charge, and the like. As another example, the home screen can include information about the climate (e.g., temperature) internal to the recreational vehicle 100 and external. The home screen can also include buttons that allow a user to control the HVAC subsystem 308 such as cooling, heating, or automatic climate control settings. As another example, the home screen can include information about the water subsystem 322 such as the current levels of the fresh water, gray water, and black water tanks of the recreational vehicle 100. The home screen can also include buttons/links to other screens for viewing information about or controlling the power subsystem, drivetrain subsystem, HVAC subsystem, lighting subsystem, etc., of the recreational vehicle 100).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorenson et al (US 12384222 B1) in view of Diamond et al (DE 102022119410 A1) and Liu et al (US 12366855 B2). Hereafter referred to as Sorenson, Diamond, and Liu respectively.
Regarding Claim 8, Sorenson in view of Diamond teaches all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Sorenson does not explicitly teach wherein the head unit is onboard the towing vehicle and the local computing device is onboard the trailed recreational vehicle and wherein the at least one vehicle system is a vehicle camera and the first operational system is a trailed recreational vehicle camera.
Liu, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the head unit is onboard the towing vehicle and the local computing device is onboard the trailed recreational vehicle and wherein the at least one vehicle system is a vehicle camera and the first operational system is a trailed recreational vehicle camera (see at least Liu [Abstract, C1 L27-42, C3 L30-42, C4 L45-58] An environment of a tow vehicle may be monitored by displaying at least one image on a display remote from the tow vehicle based on data provided by a camera supported by the tow vehicle. The tow vehicle may be positioned on a trailer. The display may be supported by a tow vehicle towing the tow vehicle. In some instances, a recreational vehicle comprises a plurality of cameras, such that a subset of cameras may be automatically determined for presentation to an operator of the recreational vehicle, thereby presenting relevant information to the operator for use when maneuvering the vehicle....one or more cameras supported by the towed vehicle provide visual information to a remote display which is positioned within an operating area of a tow vehicle, such as a truck...the method further comprises generating the at least one image by stitching together the data from the recreational vehicle camera and the data from the tow vehicle camera…The recreational vehicle comprising… a plurality of cameras supported by the frame, the plurality of cameras operatively coupled to the control system to monitor at least a portion of the environment surrounding the recreational vehicle, wherein the control system: automatically selects a camera of the plurality of cameras based on data from at least one of the propulsion system and the steering system; and provides data captured by the selected camera for display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Sorenson to contain a system for wherein the head unit is onboard the towing vehicle and the local computing device is onboard the trailed recreational vehicle and wherein the at least one vehicle system is a vehicle camera and the first operational system is a trailed recreational vehicle camera with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the safe travel of the vehicle-trailer combination by providing the driver with video information regarding the surrounding environment as discussed in Liu (see at least Liu [Abstract] presenting relevant information to the operator for use when maneuvering the vehicle).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ANDERSON YANOSKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664