DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 09/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yong-Xiong Chen (CN 114231976) (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Chen anticipates a double-mirror focusing inside-beam powder-feeding laser-cladding device, comprising: a first reflection beam splitter (center piece of reflector group 3), a second reflection beam splitter (right side of piece of reflector group 3), a focusing lens (7), a vertical piping powder feeding device (5), and a collimated lens group (2); wherein the first reflection beam splitter (1) is disposed at a side of the collimated lens group (2); the second reflection beam splitter (right side of piece of reflector group 3) is disposed outside the first reflection beam splitter (center piece of reflector group 3); the focusing lens (7) is disposed at a side of the second reflection beam splitter (right side of piece of reflector group 3) facing away from the collimated lens group (2); and the vertical piping powder feeding device (5) is disposed at a side of the first reflection beam splitter (center piece of reflector group 3) facing away from the collimated lens group (2); and wherein when the double-mirror focusing inside-beam powder-feeding laser-cladding device is in use, a laser beam is formed into a collimated beam through the collimated lens group (2), the collimated beam is then reflected by the first reflection beam splitter (center piece of reflector group 3) and the second reflection beam splitter (2), and is offset outwards relative to a central axis to form an annular laser beam, and the annular laser beam is irradiated and focused by the focusing lens (3) to form a light spot (10) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Chen anticipates a laser output device (1), wherein the laser output device (1) is disposed at a side of the collimated lens group (2) facing away from the first reflection beam splitter (center piece of reflector group 3), and the laser output device (1) is configured to connect to a transmission fiber to output the laser beam (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Chen anticipates a protective mirror (8), wherein the protective mirror (8) is disposed at a side of the focusing lens (7) facing away from the second reflection beam splitter (right side of piece of reflector group 3).
Regarding claim 4, Chen anticipates wherein the protective mirror (4) is of an annular structure (Embodiment 1).
Regarding claim 5, Chen anticipates wherein the first reflection beam splitter (center piece of reflector group 3) and the second reflection beam splitter (right side of piece of reflector group 3) are configured to shift the collimated beam outwards in parallel or at an angle relative to the central axis (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Chen anticipates wherein the focusing lens (7) is of an annular structure (Embodiment 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yong-Xiong Chen (CN 114231976) (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses diameter of focusing lens (7) is able to accommodate both spectrum of laser beam being deflected from reflector group (3) as indicated in Fig. 1. Thus, the diameter of focusing lens (7) would naturally be greater than a diameter of a cross-sectional circle of the second reflection beam (3) to allow the spectrum of laser beam to be diverted into a single spot light.
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses a plane mirror (4) is disposed between the second reflection beam splitter (3) and focusing lens (7), and the plane mirror (12) is capable of reflecting the annular laser beam with a deflection angle of 0-90 degrees, thereby to be focused by the focusing lens (7) (Fig.1). The examiner acknowledge Chen uses two plane mirror as opposed to single plane mirror. However, the claimed limitations are taught by Chen.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 1-6, 7 and 11 above, and further in view of Shi-hong Shi (CN 113005445 A) (hereinafter Shi).
Regarding claims 8-10, the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Chen as cited above. Chen is silent about limitations of claims 8-10.
Shi also discloses a double-mirror laser-cladding device. The apparatus discloses conical straight reflector (5) and annular conical straight reflector (6). Shi discloses the light path deviation of different hollow or solid light can be obtained by adjusting the relative position of the conical straight reflector (5) and the annular conical straight reflector (6) along the optical axis direction of the conical straight reflector (5) and the annular conical straight reflector (6) (Fig. 1). Thus, the adjustment of conical reflector in relation to annular reflector is well known within the art. The benefit of doing so would have been to obtain the desired diameter of the light spot.
Given the wealth of knowledge, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize adjustable reflectors as taught by Shi within the double-mirror focusing inside-beam powder-feeding laser-classing device as taught by Chen. The benefit of doing so would have been to obtain desired diameter of the light spot.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VISHAL I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746