Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henry et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0267432).
As to independent claim 1, Henry et al. teaches an electric motor and controller assembly (150), comprising: an electric motor assembly (10) including a mounting base (65) joined to a motor end cap (60); a motor output shaft (30) having a first end extending through the mounting base (65) and a second end extending through the motor end cap (60); a fan (70) mounted on the second end of the motor output shaft (30); a controller mounting bracket (see annotated figure 2) attached to the electric motor assembly (10); and a motor controller (120) mounted on the controller mounting bracket and electrically connected to the electric motor assembly (10) by means of an electrical connector (165, see paragraph [0025]); wherein the fan (70) is oriented to direct an airflow across both the motor end cap (60) and at least a portion of the motor controller (120) during operation of the electric motor (10) and controller assembly (120) as shown in figure 2.
As to claim 6/1, Henry et al. teaches wherein the controller mounting bracket (85) comprises at least one bracket that presents a flat mounting surface (106) for the heat sink portion (95) of motor controller (105) as shown in figures 1 and 3.
As to claim 7/6, Henry et al. teaches wherein the at least one bracket (see annotated figure 2) extends from a compartment cover that attaches over an open end of the motor end cap (60) as shown in figure 2.
As to claim 8/1, further comprising a compartment cover (see annotated figure 2) having a central hole through which the second end of the motor shaft (30) passes, the compartment cover (see annotated figure 2) comprising a plurality of arms (see figure 2) extending radially away from the central hole and beyond an outer circumference of the motor end cap (60) as shown in figure 2.
As to claim 9/8, Henry et al. teaches further comprising a fan shroud 75) covering over the fan (70), the fan shroud (75) removably attached to one or more of the plurality of arms of the compartment cover (see annotated figure 1) as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 10/9, Henry et al. teaches further comprising a bridge spanning between two of the plurality of arms (see figure 2) of the compartment cover (see annotated figure 2), the bridge forming at least a portion of the controller (120) mounting bracket (see annotated figure 2) as shown in figure 2.
As to claim 11/1, Henry et al. teaches further comprising an electrical compartment (85) extending from the motor end cap (60), wherein the electrical connector (165, see paragraph [0025]) extends from the motor controller (120) to the electrical compartment (85) as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 12/11, Henry et al. teaches wherein the electrical connector (165, see paragraph [0025]) extends no more than ninety degrees around an outer circumference of the electric motor assembly (10) as shown in figures 2 and 5.
As to independent claim 13, Henry et al. teaches an electric motor and controller assembly (150), comprising: an electric motor assembly (10) including a mounting base (65) joined to a motor end cap (60), the motor end cap (60) comprising a compartment with an opening facing away from the mounting base (65); a compartment cover (see annotated figure 2) attached to the motor end cap (60) to seal the compartment; a motor output shaft (30) having a first end extending through the mounting base (65) and a second end extending through the compartment cover (see annotated figure 2); a fan (70) mounted on the second end of the motor output shaft (30); a fan shroud (75) attached to the compartment cover; a controller mounting bracket (see annotated figure 2) mounted on the electric motor assembly (10); and a motor controller (120) mounted on the controller mounting bracket (see annotated figure 2) ; wherein the fan (70) operates to cool the electric motor assembly (10) and the motor controller (120) during operation of the electric motor (10)and controller assembly (120) as shown in figure 2.
As to claim 14/13, Henry et al. teaches further comprising: an electrical compartment (85) extending from a side of the electric motor assembly (10), and an electrical connector (165, see paragraph [0025]) extending from the motor controller (120) to the electrical compartment (85) as shown in figures 2 and 5.
As to claim 15/14, Henry et al. teaches wherein the electrical connector (165, see paragraph [0025]) extends no more than ninety degrees around an outer circumference of the electric motor assembly (10) as shown in figures 2 and 5.
As to claim 21/1, Henry et al. teaches wherein the motor controller (120) comprises a heat sink portion (110) and the controller mounting bracket serves to place the heat sink portion(110) in the airflow as shown in figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0267432) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Okubo et al. (US PG Pub 2003/0230942).
As to claim 2/1, Henry et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a first set of fasteners each of which fastens the mounting base to the motor end cap and also fastens the controller mounting bracket to the electric motor assembly.
Okubo et al. teaches a first set of fasteners (see figures 1-3), each of which fastens the mounting base (21) to the motor end cap (14) and also fastens the controller mounting bracket (33) to the electric motor assembly (1) as shown in figures 1-3, for the advantageous benefit of improving space efficiency of a unit containing a circuit and to further downsize a motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Henry et al. by using a first set of fasteners each of which fastens the mounting base to the motor end cap and also fastens the controller mounting bracket to the electric motor assembly, as taught by Okubo et al., to improve space efficiency of a unit containing a circuit and to further downsize a motor.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0267432) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Jin (CN 206250873).
As to claim 3/1, Henry et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the controller mounting bracket comprises a mounting arm and a controller mounting platform oriented perpendicular to the mounting arm.
Ji teaches the mounting bracket comprises a mounting arm (see annotated figure 1) and a mounting platform (see annotated figure 1) oriented perpendicular to the mounting arm (see annotated figure 1) as shown in figure 1, enhancing the motor bracket and the motor connection stability and structural strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Henry et al. by using the controller mounting bracket comprises a mounting arm and a controller mounting platform oriented perpendicular to the mounting arm, as taught by Jin, to enhance the motor bracket and the motor connection stability and structural strength.
As to claim 4/3, Henry et al. in view of Jin teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the mounting arm fits against an exterior circumference of the electric motor assembly and extends greater than ninety degrees around the exterior circumference.
However Jin teaches the mounting arm (see annotated figure 1) fits against an exterior circumference of the electric motor assembly (see figure 1) and extends greater than ninety degrees around the exterior circumference as shown in figure 1, enhancing the motor bracket and the motor connection stability and structural strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Henry et al. in view of Jin by using the mounting arm fits against an exterior circumference of the electric motor assembly and extends greater than ninety degrees around the exterior circumference, as taught by Jin, to enhance the motor bracket and the motor connection stability and structural strength.
As to claim 5/3, Henry et al. in view of Jin teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a plurality of fasteners for connecting the mounting arm to the motor end cap, wherein each of the plurality of fasteners also fasten to the mounting base.
However Jin teaches a plurality of fasteners (1-6) for connecting the mounting arm (see annotated figure 1) to the motor end cap (1-5), wherein each of the plurality of fasteners (1-6) also fasten to the mounting base (see annotated figure 1) as shown in figure 1, enhancing the motor bracket and the motor connection stability and structural strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Henry et al. in view of Jin by using a plurality of fasteners for connecting the mounting arm to the motor end cap, wherein each of the plurality of fasteners also fasten to the mounting base, as taught by Jin, to enhance the motor bracket and the motor connection stability and structural strength.
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0267432) in view of Jin (CN 206250873).
As to independent claim 16, Henry et al. teaches an electric motor and controller assembly (150) comprising: an electric motor (10) positioned between a motor mounting base (65) and a motor end cap (60), the motor end cap (60) having a cylindrical outer surface; an electrical compartment (85) presenting an electrical connector (165, see paragraph [0025]) facing away from the motor end cap (60); a controller mounting bracket comprising a mounting platform (106) and a mounting arm (110), wherein the mounting platform (106) provides a flat surface for mounting a controller (120), and wherein the mounting arm (110) extends perpendicularly away from the flat surface (106); a motor controller (120) mounted to the flat surface of the mounting platform (106); and an electrical cable (see figure 5) extending from the motor controller (120) and having a mating end for connection to the electrical connector (165, see paragraph [0025]) as shown in figure 2 and 5.
However Henry et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except the mounting arm extends perpendicularly away from the flat surface to connect with the motor end cap.
Jin teaches the mounting arm (see annotated figure 1) extends perpendicularly away from the flat surface to connect with the motor end cap (1-5) as shown in figure 1, enhancing the motor bracket and the motor connection stability and structural strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Henry et al. by using the mounting arm extends perpendicularly away from the flat surface to connect with the motor end cap, as taught by Jin, to enhance the motor bracket and the motor connection stability and structural strength.
As to claim 17/16, Henry et al. in view of Jin teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the mounting arm has a curved mounting surface configured to align with and wrap around at least a portion of the cylindrical outer surface of the motor end cap.
However Jin teaches the mounting arm (see annotated figure 1) has a curved mounting surface (see annotated figure 1) configured to align with and wrap around at least a portion of the cylindrical outer surface of the motor end cap (1-5) as shown in figure 1, enhancing the motor bracket and the motor connection stability and structural strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Henry et al. in view of Jin by using the mounting arm has a curved mounting surface configured to align with and wrap around at least a portion of the cylindrical outer surface of the motor end cap, as taught by Jin, to enhance the motor bracket and the motor connection stability and structural strength.
As to claim 18/16, Henry et al. teaches wherein the electrical cable (see figure 1) has a total length that is less than a length around the cylindrical outer surface of the motor end cap (60) as shown in figure 2.
As to claim 19/16, Henry et al. teaches further comprising: a motor output shaft (10) extending through the electric motor and having a first end and a second end; a fan (70) connected to and rotatable with the first end of the motor output shaft (30); and a fan shroud (65) that coves over the fan (60) as shown in figure 2.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al. (US PG Pub 2009/0267432) as applied in claim 19 above, and further in view of Kopel et al. (US PG Pub 2005/0220637).
As to claim 20/19, Henry et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a compartment cover (85) that fits over an open end of the motor end cap (60) and presents a plurality of arms (see annotated figure 2) that extend beyond the cylindrical outer surface of the motor end cap (60) to receive locking of the fan shroud (75) to hold the fan shroud (75) in place over the fan (70) as shown in figure 2.
However Henry et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except a plurality of arms that extend beyond the motor end cap to receive locking tabs of the fan shroud to hold the fan shroud in place.
Kopel et al. teaches a plurality of arms (72) that extend beyond the end cap (44) to receive locking tabs (66) of the fan shroud (60) to hold the fan shroud (60) in place as shown in figure 4, for the advantageous benefit of providing a fan shroud that can readily and inexpensively be attached.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Henry et al by using a plurality of arms that extend beyond the motor end cap to receive locking tabs of the fan shroud to hold the fan shroud in place, as taught by Kopel et al., to provide a fan shroud that can readily and inexpensively be attached.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 July 8, 2026