DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The independent claims recite the limitations “accessing an access token baseline from a memory, the access token baseline comprising a baseline attribute that corresponds to the current attribute; and evaluating the current attribute against the baseline attribute and determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute; and based on the determination that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute, performing a corrective action relating to the execution of the process on the device.”. None of the prior-filed applications discloses or mentions a “baseline” but instead refers to an initial or prior state of the token. A “baseline” is a significantly more expansive concept that merely an initial or prior state of the token, and on that basis, the prior-filed applications fail to provide adequate support for the claimed limitation, and as such, the instant application does not receive the benefit of the earlier filing dates of the prior-filled applications. Accordingly, the instant application is considered to have an effective filing date of 16 October 2024.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The specification contains no mention of the word “baseline”, and as such lacks antecedent basis for its use in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant recites a baseline in the independent claims. The specification is silent as to a baseline, as the word is never used. The baseline as recited in the independent claim is a generic statement of the boundaries of the claim. “Generic claim language in the original disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement if it fails to support the scope of the genus claimed. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349-50, 94 USPQ2d at 1171 ("[A]n adequate written description of a claimed genus requires more than a generic statement of an invention’s boundaries.") (citing Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1405-06); Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (holding that generic claim language appearing in ipsis verbis in the original specification did not satisfy the written description requirement because it failed to support the scope of the genus claimed); Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1170, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (rejecting the argument that "only similar language in the specification or original claims is necessary to satisfy the written description requirement" “ (MPEP 2161.01) The claimed “baseline” represents an entire genus of values that could be used, and the language of the claims only serves to support a fraction of the possible species. “The Federal Circuit has explained that a specification cannot always support expansive claim language and satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112 "merely by clearly describing one embodiment of the thing claimed." LizardTech v. Earth Resource Mapping, Inc., 424 F.3d 1336, 1346, 76 USPQ2d 1731, 1733 (Fed. Cir. 2005). The issue is whether a person skilled in the art would understand the inventor to have invented, and been in possession of, the invention as broadly claimed.” (MPEP 2161.01). Accordingly, Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are rejected as depending fron a rejected claim and failing to correct the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-11, 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 11,314,859 to Singh et al.
As to claims 1 and 11, Singh discloses a computer-implemented method/medium of exploit protection comprising:
registering with an operating system of a device to receive selected types of notifications (Singh: Fig 5; Col 14, Line 64 – Col 15, Line 41; creation of monitored process);
receiving, based on the registering, a notification associated with a process executing on the device (Singh: Fig 5; Col 14, Line 64 – Col 15, Line 41; detection of suspicious activity for a monitored process);
identifying a current access token that is associated with the process (Singh: Fig 5; Col 14, Line 64 – Col 15, Line 41; current token state for process identified);
evaluating a current state of the current access token, the current state of the current access token comprising a current attribute associated with the current access token (Singh: Fig 5; Col 14, Line 64 – Col 15, Line 41; current token state for process identified), wherein evaluating the current state of the current access token comprises:
accessing an access token baseline from a memory, the access token baseline comprising a baseline attribute that corresponds to the current attribute (Singh: Col 3, Line 56 – Col 4, Line 14; obtain baseline token for comparison) and
evaluating the current attribute against the baseline attribute and determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute (Singh: Col 3, Line 56 – Col 4, Line 14; baseline token state compared to current token state); and
based on the determination that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute, performing a corrective action relating to the execution of the process on the device (Singh: Fig 5; Col 14, Line 64 – Col 15, Line 41; malicious access token reported).
As to claims 4 and 14, Singh further discloses wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a privilege level for the process from the current access token does not match a privilege specified by the access token baseline (Singh: Fig 5; Col 14, Line 64 – Col 15, Line 41; detection of privilege escalation by child process).
As to claims 5 and 15, Singh further discloses wherein the access token baseline is a previous access token state of an access token previously associated with the process (Singh: Col 3, Line 56 – Col 4, Line 14; stored token state for process).
As to claims 6 and 16, Singh further discloses wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a current address of the current access token does not match a previous access token address (Singh: Col 10, Lines 3-19; address pointer in token information).
As to claims 7 and 17, Singh further discloses wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an access token identifier for the current access token does not match a previous access token identifier (Singh: Col 3, Line 56 – Col 4, Line 14; user identifier one of points of comparison).
As to claims 9 and 19, Singh further discloses wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a privilege level for the process from the current access token does not match a previous privilege level for the process (Singh: Fig 5; Col 14, Line 64 – Col 15, Line 41; detection of privilege escalation by child process).
As to claims 10 and 20, Singh further discloses wherein the corrective action comprises at least one of: displaying warnings indicating privilege information has been modified (Singh: Fig 5; Col 14, Line 64 – Col 15, Line 41; warning provided), deleting privilege information, replacing privilege information with a previous version of the privilege information, or terminating the process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11,314,859 to Singh et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0191880 by Conlan et al.
As to claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, Singh discloses all recited elements of claims 1, 5, 11 and 15 from which claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 depend.
Singh does not expressly disclose wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an integrity level associated with the current access token does not match an integrity level specified by the access token baseline.
Conlan discloses wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an integrity level associated with the current access token does not match an integrity level specified by the access token baseline (Conlan: Page 3,Sec 37: “The integrity level in the access token is compared against the integrity level in the security descriptor when the security reference monitor performs authorization before granting access to objects”.
Singh and Conlan are analogous art because they are from the common area of access monitoring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the integrity level check of Conlan in the system of Singh. The rationale would have been to protect the security of the processes (Conlan: Page 3,Sec 37).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-11, 14-15 and 19-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,728,034. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application represent an obvious variation and rearrangement of the claims of the ‘034 Patent
As to claim 1, the ‘034 Patent discloses a computer-implemented method of exploit protection comprising (Claim 10: A method comprising):
registering with an operating system of a device to receive selected types of notifications (Claim 11: The method of claim 10, further comprising registering to receive the notification from an operating system of a computing device);
receiving, based on the registering, a notification associated with a process executing on the device (Claim 10: receiving a notification associated with a process) ;
identifying a current access token that is associated with the process (Claim 10: identifying a security token associated with the process);
evaluating a current state of the current access token (Claim 10: wherein the identifying comprises determining an initial state of the security token), the current state of the current access token comprising a current attribute associated with the current access token (Claim 10: wherein determining that the current state of the security token has been modified comprises identifying a privilege escalation exploit), wherein evaluating the current state of the current access token comprises:
accessing an access token baseline from a memory, the access token baseline comprising a baseline attribute that corresponds to the current attribute (Claim 16: The method of claim 15, wherein the security context for the process is associated with a low privilege for the initial state of the security token and a high privilege for the current state of the security token); and
evaluating the current attribute against the baseline attribute and determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute (Claim 10: and determining that the current state of the security token has been modified, wherein determining that the current state of the security token has been modified comprises identifying a privilege escalation exploit); and
based on the determination that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute, performing a corrective action relating to the execution of the process on the device (Claim 10: and based on determining that the current state of the security token has been modified, performing one or more actions related to the process).
As to claim 4, the ‘034 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a privilege level for the process from the current access token does not match a privilege specified by the access token baseline (Claim 10: and determining that the current state of the security token has been modified, wherein determining that the current state of the security token has been modified comprises identifying a privilege escalation exploit).
As to claim 5, the ‘034 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, wherein the access token baseline is a previous access token state of an access token previously associated with the process (Claim 15: The method of claim 10, wherein the security token is associated with a security context describing a set of credentials for the process; and claim 16: The method of claim 15, wherein the security context for the process is associated with a low privilege for the initial state of the security token and a high privilege for the current state of the security token.).
As to claim 9, the ‘034 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 5, wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a privilege level for the process from the current access token does not match a previous privilege level for the process (Claim 15: The method of claim 10, wherein the security token is associated with a security context describing a set of credentials for the process; and claim 16: The method of claim 15, wherein the security context for the process is associated with a low privilege for the initial state of the security token and a high privilege for the current state of the security token.).
As to claim 10, the ‘034 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 5, wherein the corrective action comprises at least one of: displaying warnings indicating privilege information has been modified, deleting privilege information, replacing privilege information with a previous version of the privilege information, or terminating the process (Claim 17: The method of claim 10, wherein the one or more actions comprise at least one of: displaying warnings indicating the current state of the security token has been modified, deleting the security token, replacing the security token with a previous version of the security token, or terminating the process).
Claims 11, 14-15 and 19-20 recited a computer medium commensurate in scope to the method of claims 1, 4-5 and 9-10 and are thus rejected under a substantially similar rationale.
Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,728,034. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0191880 by Conlan et al.
As to claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, the ‘034 Patent discloses all recited elements of claims 1, 5, 11 and 15 from which claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 depend.
The ‘034 Patent does not expressly disclose wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an integrity level associated with the current access token does not match an integrity level specified by the access token baseline.
Conlan discloses wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an integrity level associated with the current access token does not match an integrity level specified by the access token baseline (Conlan: Page 3,Sec 37: “The integrity level in the access token is compared against the integrity level in the security descriptor when the security reference monitor performs authorization before granting access to objects”.
The ‘034 Patent and Conlan are analogous art because they are from the common area of access monitoring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the integrity level check of Conlan in the system of the ‘034 Patent. The rationale would have been to protect the security of the processes (Conlan: Page 3,Sec 37).
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,728,034 in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,314,859 to Singh et al.
As to claims 6 and 16 the ‘034 Patent discloses all recited elements of claims 5 and 15 from which claims 6 and 16 depend.
The ‘034 Patent does not expressly disclose wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a current address of the current access token does not match a previous access token address.
Singh discloses wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a current address of the current access token does not match a previous access token address. (Singh: Col 10, Lines 3-19; address pointer in token information).
The ‘034 Patent and Singh are analogous art because they are from the common area of access monitoring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the address of Singh in the system of the ‘034 Patent. The rationale would have been to verify the token had not been modified (Singh: Col 10, Lines 3-19).
As to claims 7 and 17 the ‘034 Patent discloses all recited elements of claims 5 and 15 from which claims 7 and 17 depend.
The ‘034 Patent does not expressly disclose wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an access token identifier for the current access token does not match a previous access token identifier.
Singh discloses wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an access token identifier for the current access token does not match a previous access token identifier (Singh: Col 3, Line 56 – Col 4, Line 14; user identifier one of points of comparison).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the identifier of Singh in the system of the ‘034 Patent. The rationale would have been to verify the token had not been modified (Singh: Col 3, Line 56 – Col 4, Line 14).
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-11, 13-15 and 18-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,438,159. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application represent an obvious variation and rearrangement of the claims of the ‘159 Patent
As to claim 1, the ‘159 Patent discloses a computer-implemented method of exploit protection comprising (Claim 11: A method comprising):
registering with an operating system of a device to receive selected types of notifications (Claim 12: The method of claim 11, further comprising registering to receive the notification from an operating system of the device);
receiving, based on the registering, a notification associated with a process executing on the device (Claim 11: receiving a notification associated with an execution of a process on a device);
identifying a current access token that is associated with the process (Claim 11: identifying privilege information associated with the process and Claim 14: The method of claim 11, wherein identifying the privilege information comprises at least one of: parsing the notification, accessing a security token data store, and accessing a token issuing authority);
evaluating a current state of the current access token (Claim 1: periodically evaluating one or more attributes of the privilege information), the current state of the current access token comprising a current attribute associated with the current access token (Claim 8: The system of claim 1, wherein evaluating one or more attributes of the privilege information comprises comparing a current state of the one or more attributes to the previous state of the one or more attributes), wherein evaluating the current state of the current access token comprises:
accessing an access token baseline from a memory, the access token baseline comprising a baseline attribute that corresponds to the current attribute (Claim 6: The system of claim 1, wherein identifying the privilege information comprises identifying an initial state of a security token associated with the privilege information); and
evaluating the current attribute against the baseline attribute and determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute (Claim 11: determining that the one or more attributes of the privilege information has been modified from a previous state of the one or more attributes); and
based on the determination that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute, performing a corrective action relating to the execution of the process on the device (Claim 11: and upon determining that the one or more attributes of the privilege information has been modified from the previous state of the one or more attributes, performing one or more corrective actions relating to the execution of the process on the device).
As to claim 3, the ‘159 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an integrity level associated with the current access token does not match an integrity level specified by the access token baseline (Claim 7: The system of claim 6, wherein identifying the initial state of the security token comprises at least one of: determining an address of the security token, determining a privilege level of the security token, determining an integrity level of the security token, and determining a current execution environment executing the process).
As to claim 4, the ‘159 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a privilege level for the process from the current access token does not match a privilege specified by the access token baseline (Claim 7: The system of claim 6, wherein identifying the initial state of the security token comprises at least one of: determining an address of the security token, determining a privilege level of the security token, determining an integrity level of the security token, and determining a current execution environment executing the process).
As to claim 5, the ‘159 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, wherein the access token baseline is a previous access token state of an access token previously associated with the process (Claim 15: The method of claim 11, wherein the privilege information is associated with a security context describing a set of credentials for the process. And Claim 16: The method of claim 15, wherein the security context for the process is associated with a low privilege for an initial state of the privilege information and a high privilege for a current state of the privilege information).
As to claim 8, the ‘159 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 5, wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an integrity level associated with the current access token does not match a previous integrity level (Claim 7: The system of claim 6, wherein identifying the initial state of the security token comprises at least one of: determining an address of the security token, determining a privilege level of the security token, determining an integrity level of the security token, and determining a current execution environment executing the process).
As to claim 9, the ‘159 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 5, wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a privilege level for the process from the current access token does not match a previous privilege level for the process (Claim 11: determining that the one or more attributes of the privilege information has been modified from a previous state of the one or more attributes).
As to claim 10, the ‘159 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 5, wherein the corrective action comprises at least one of: displaying warnings indicating privilege information has been modified, deleting privilege information, replacing privilege information with a previous version of the privilege information, or terminating the process (Claim 17: The method of claim 11, wherein the one or more corrective actions comprise at least one of: displaying warnings indicating a current state of the privilege information has been modified, deleting the privilege information, replacing the privilege information with a previous version of the privilege information, and terminating the process).
Claims 11, 13-15 and 18-20 recited a computer medium commensurate in scope to the method of claims 1, 3-5 and 8-10 and are thus rejected under a substantially similar rationale.
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,438,159 in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,314,859 to Singh et al.
As to claims 6 and 16 the ‘159 Patent discloses all recited elements of claims 5 and 15 from which claims 6 and 16 depend.
The ‘159 Patent does not expressly disclose wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a current address of the current access token does not match a previous access token address.
Singh discloses wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a current address of the current access token does not match a previous access token address. (Singh: Col 10, Lines 3-19; address pointer in token information).
The ‘159 Patent and Singh are analogous art because they are from the common area of access monitoring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the address of Singh in the system of the ‘034 Patent. The rationale would have been to verify the token had not been modified (Singh: Col 10, Lines 3-19).
As to claims 7 and 17 the ‘159 Patent discloses all recited elements of claims 5 and 15 from which claims 7 and 17 depend.
The ‘159 Patent does not expressly disclose wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an access token identifier for the current access token does not match a previous access token identifier.
Singh discloses wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an access token identifier for the current access token does not match a previous access token identifier (Singh: Col 3, Line 56 – Col 4, Line 14; user identifier one of points of comparison).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the identifier of Singh in the system of the ‘159 Patent. The rationale would have been to verify the token had not been modified (Singh: Col 3, Line 56 – Col 4, Line 14).
Claims 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,149,623. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application represent an obvious variation and rearrangement of the claims of the ‘623 Patent
As to claim 1, the ‘623 Patent discloses a computer-implemented method of exploit protection comprising (Claim 8: A method comprising):
registering with an operating system of a device to receive selected types of notifications (Claim 15: The non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the method further comprises registering to receive the notification from an operating system of the device);
receiving, based on the registering, a notification associated with a process executing on the device (Claim 8: receiving a notification associated with an execution of a process on a device);
identifying a current access token that is associated with the process (Claim 8: identifying privilege information associated with the process, including identifying a first security token for the process);
evaluating a current state of the current access token, the current state of the current access token comprising a current attribute associated with the current access token (Claim 8: periodically evaluating an attribute of the privilege information, including periodically comparing a current security token associated with the process with the first security token), wherein evaluating the current state of the current access token comprises:
accessing an access token baseline from a memory, the access token baseline comprising a baseline attribute that corresponds to the current attribute (Claim 10: The method of claim 8, wherein determining that the attribute of the privilege information has been modified from the previous state of the attribute comprises determining that a security token attribute of the current security token has been modified compared to the first security token); and
evaluating the current attribute against the baseline attribute and determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute (Claim 10: The method of claim 8, wherein determining that the attribute of the privilege information has been modified from the previous state of the attribute comprises determining that a security token attribute of the current security token has been modified compared to the first security token); and
based on the determination that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute, performing a corrective action relating to the execution of the process on the device (Claim 8: and upon determining that the attribute of the privilege information has been modified from the previous state of the attribute, performing a corrective action relating to the execution of the process on the device).
As to claim 2, the ‘623 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, further comprising: accessing a checkpoint list from the memory; and comparing the notification against the checkpoint list to determine that the notification matches a checkpoint, wherein the current access token is identified and the current state is evaluated based on the notification matching the checkpoint (Claim 24: The method of claim 8, wherein an evaluation of the attribute of the privilege information is performed at a time corresponding to at least one of: a process creation, a creation of a thread, a DLL loading event, or a system registry activity).
As to claim 3, the ‘623 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an integrity level associated with the current access token does not match an integrity level specified by the access token baseline (Claim 11: The method of claim 8, wherein determining that the attribute of the privilege information has been modified from the previous state of the attribute comprises at least one of: determining that an address of the current security token has been modified from the first security token, determining that an integrity level of the current security token has been modified from the first security token, determining that a privilege level granted by the current security token has been modified from the first security token).
As to claim 4, the ‘623 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a privilege level for the process from the current access token does not match a privilege specified by the access token baseline (Claim 11: The method of claim 8, wherein determining that the attribute of the privilege information has been modified from the previous state of the attribute comprises at least one of: determining that an address of the current security token has been modified from the first security token, determining that an integrity level of the current security token has been modified from the first security token, determining that a privilege level granted by the current security token has been modified from the first security token).
As to claim 5, the ‘623 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, wherein the access token baseline is a previous access token state of an access token previously associated with the process (Claim 10: The method of claim 8, wherein determining that the attribute of the privilege information has been modified from the previous state of the attribute comprises determining that a security token attribute of the current security token has been modified compared to the first security token).
As to claim 6, the ‘623 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 5, wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a current address of the current access token does not match a previous access token address (Claim 11: The method of claim 8, wherein determining that the attribute of the privilege information has been modified from the previous state of the attribute comprises at least one of: determining that an address of the current security token has been modified from the first security token, determining that an integrity level of the current security token has been modified from the first security token, determining that a privilege level granted by the current security token has been modified from the first security token).
As to claim 8, the ‘623 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 5, wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an integrity level associated with the current access token does not match a previous integrity level (Claim 11: The method of claim 8, wherein determining that the attribute of the privilege information has been modified from the previous state of the attribute comprises at least one of: determining that an address of the current security token has been modified from the first security token, determining that an integrity level of the current security token has been modified from the first security token, determining that a privilege level granted by the current security token has been modified from the first security token).
As to claim 9, the ‘623 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 5, wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that a privilege level for the process from the current access token does not match a previous privilege level for the process (Claim 11: The method of claim 8, wherein determining that the attribute of the privilege information has been modified from the previous state of the attribute comprises at least one of: determining that an address of the current security token has been modified from the first security token, determining that an integrity level of the current security token has been modified from the first security token, determining that a privilege level granted by the current security token has been modified from the first security token).
As to claim 10, the ‘623 Patent discloses the computer-implemented method of Claim 5, wherein the corrective action comprises at least one of: displaying warnings indicating privilege information has been modified, deleting privilege information, replacing privilege information with a previous version of the privilege information, or terminating the process (Claim 13: The method of claim 8, wherein the corrective action comprises at least one of: displaying warnings indicating a current state of the privilege information has been modified, deleting the privilege information, replacing the privilege information with a previous version of the privilege information, or terminating the process).
Claims 11-16 and 18-20 recited a computer medium commensurate in scope to the method of claims 1-6 and 8-10 and are thus rejected under a substantially similar rationale.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,149,623 in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,314,859 to Singh et al.
As to claims 7 and 17 the ‘623 Patent discloses all recited elements of claims 5 and 15 from which claims 7 and 17 depend.
The ‘623 Patent does not expressly disclose wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an access token identifier for the current access token does not match a previous access token identifier.
Singh discloses wherein determining that the current attribute does not match the baseline attribute comprises determining that an access token identifier for the current access token does not match a previous access token identifier (Singh: Col 3, Line 56 – Col 4, Line 14; user identifier one of points of comparison).
The ‘623 Patent and Singh are analogous art because they are from the common area of access monitoring.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the identifier of Singh in the system of the ‘623 Patent. The rationale would have been to verify the token had not been modified (Singh: Col 3, Line 56 – Col 4, Line 14).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0055579 by Kanda et al. discloses the distribution of security policies in a network
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0107037 by Lincoln et al. discloses the authentication of transactions
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0014397 by Ukeda et al. discloses distributing license information
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0133756 by Taylor discloses data integrity in a client-server environment
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0210415 by Somani et al. discloses push notifications
U.S. Patent No. 8,572,716 to Chander et al. discloses integrated systems
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0101044 by Martin et al. discloses using an event model to determine system states
U.S. Patent No. 9,250,811 to Patiejunas discloses data queueing.
Conclusion
MICHAEL S. MCNALLY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2432
/Michael S McNally/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432