DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 6/19/2026. Claims 1-15 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US2017/0010027) in view of Tamaki et al. (US2013/0312443).
Regarding Claim 15, Liu teaches a multi-split air conditioner outdoor unit [fig 2], comprising: a manifold [at least the pipe containing valve 10] connected between a discharge port of a compressor and a first port [at least port A of valve 4; 0040-0043; fig 2]; a valve [10] disposed in the first manifold [0040-0043; fig 2].
Liu does not explicitly teach a second manifold connected between a suction port of the compressor and a second port; and a second valve disposed in the second manifold.
However, Tamaki teaches a refrigeration cycle apparatus [fig 1] having a manifold connected between a suction port of a compressor [1] and a port [see fig 1; Drawing I]; and a valve [21] disposed in the second manifold [See fig 1; Drawing I] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide pressure equalizing control for the system [0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Liu to have a second manifold connected between a suction port of the compressor and a second port; and a second valve disposed in the second manifold in view of the teachings of Tamaki where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide pressure equalizing control for the system.
Drawing I
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 1, the prior art does not teach “…a first manifold connected between the discharge port of the compressor and the first port; a third valve disposed in the first manifold; a second manifold connected between the suction port of the compressor and the third port; and a switching device connected to the second manifold, the fourth port, and the second valve, and capable of being switched between a first switching state and a second switching state, in the first switching state, the switching device connects the fourth port to the second valve, and in the second switching state, the switching device connects the second manifold to the second valve.”
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art does not teach “…the multi-split air conditioner outdoor unit further comprises: a first manifold connected between the discharge port of the compressor and the first port; a third valve disposed in the first manifold; a third manifold connected between the suction port of the compressor and the third port; and a fourth valve disposed in the third manifold.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY L FURDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763