DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-6 are currently pending in the present application. Claim 1 is currently amended; claims 2-6 are original; and claims 7-8 are canceled. The amendment dated September 10, 2026 has been entered into the record.
Claims 1-8 were previously rejected for nonstatutory double patenting over U.S. Patent No. 11156878 B2. The rejection is now withdrawn as the applicant has filed a terminal disclaimer with respect to the U.S. Patent.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of “in plan view, the first conductive layer overlaps the second conductive layer in the seal region, and the second conductive layer is larger in an outer shape than the fourth layer in plan view, and in a cross-sectional view taken along the first direction, the second conductive layer is larger in an outer shape than the first conductive layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) (see Figure 4 of the applicant, annotated by the examiner below). No new matter should be entered.
<Figure 4 in the present specification>
20: a second substrate
52: a seal member
71`: a first conductive layer
11`: a second conductive layer
71: a third layer or a fourth layer
11: a fourth layer or a third layer
Note that Figure 4 does not illustrate 11 is larger in an outer shape than 71` or 11`.
Response to Arguments
(1) The applicant argues that “In Aoki (e.g., Fig. 11 and par. [0049]), the "scanning signal lead-out line 4" is located outside the "display area 2" (which corresponds to the claimed pixel area). In contrast, the claimed fourth layer (as compared to the "scanning signal line 3" of Aoki) is explicitly required to be "disposed in the pixel area" (Remarks, Pages 7-8).
Regarding the arguments, “"scanning signal lead-out line 4" is located outside the "display area 2", not in the pixel area”, the examiner respectively disagrees because 4 further extends and is disposed in the display area 2. See Fig. 11 below, annotated by the examiner.
<Figure 11 of Aoki annotated by the examiner>
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ((1) Line 4 of Aoki further extends and is disposed in the display area 2.)]
(2) The applicant further argues that “Even if the "scanning signal lead-out line 4" and the "scanning signal line 3" of Aoki are formed from the same layer of material, their pattern widths (i.e., their outer shapes) are not necessarily the same” (Remarks, Page 8).
The examiner respectively disagrees, because Figs. 11 and 12 of Aoki illustrate a plan view and a cross-sectional view thereof, respectively, and teach widths of layers. Regarding the widths of 3, 4, 7a and/or 7b, see Figs. 11-12 below, annotated by the examiner.
<Figures 11-12 of Aoki, annotated by the examiner>
[AltContent: textbox ((2) Paras. [0038]-[0039] teach that Fig. 11 is a plan view and Fig. 12 is a side view taken along the line G-G′ of FIG. 11.
The widths of layers shown in Figs. 11-12 (i.e., a plan view and a side view thereof) teach the width of 7a is larger than that of 4 or 3, where Para. [0049] further teaches 3 are 4 are formed using the same conductive layer.)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (widths of lines 3 and 4 of Aoki in the display area 2 in a plan view.)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoki (US 2007/0030409), of record.
Regarding claim 1, Aoki discloses an electro-optical device (Figs. 1-3 and 11-12; see Paras. [0038]-[0039] and [0064] identifying the embodiment shown in Figs. 1-3 and 11-12) comprising:
a first substrate (1) having transmissivity (Para. [0045]);
a second substrate (20);
a seal member (8) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate so as to bond the first substrate and the second substrate together (Para. [0054]), the seal member being disposed in a seal region (22) defined around a pixel area (2) in which pixels included in a plurality of pixels are aligned (Para. [0046]), the seal member extending in a first direction (see “ x-direction” denoted by the examiner in Fig. 11 above; Paras. [0038], [0054]);
a first conductive layer (7b) disposed between the first substrate and the seal member, the first conductive layer extending in a second direction (“y-direction”; Para. [0085]) which intersects with the first direction;
a second conductive layer (7a) disposed between the first substrate and the first conductive layer (Fig. 12), the second conductive layer extending in the second direction (Fig. 11);
a third layer (5) disposed in the pixel area, the third layer formed of the first conductive layer (Para. [0050] “the common signal line 7 b is formed using a material for the display signal line 5”); and
a fourth layer (3) disposed in the pixel area, the fourth layer formed of the second conductive layer (Para. [0050] “the common signal line 7 a is formed using a material for the scanning signal line 3”),
wherein:
in plan view, the first conductive layer overlaps the second conductive layer in the seal region (Fig. 12), and the second conductive layer is larger in an outer shape than the fourth layer in plan view (see Figs. 11-12; the examiner considers Fig. 11 is a plan view and Fig. 12 is a side view taken along the line G-G′ of FIG. 11), and
in a cross-sectional view taken along the first direction, the second conductive layer is larger in an outer shape than the first conductive layer (Fig. 12; Para. [0085]).
Regarding claim 4, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are metal layers (Para. [0086]).
Regarding claim 5, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the first conductive layer provides a corresponding pattern with the second conductive layer pattern (see the pattern created by 7, comprising 7a and 7b).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoki as evidenced by Toda (US 6654083), of record..
Regarding claim 3, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are light-shielding layers (Para. [0086] “The lines of the first to fifth embodiments are formed using metal thin films such as Al”), where a metal film such as Al is a light-shielding layer as evidenced by Toda (column 6 line 67 - column 7 line 2, "light-shielding film ... such as Al").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki in view of Jeong (US 20080143945), of record.
Regarding claim 6, Aoki discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
However, Aoki does not disclose the seal member includes a photo curable material.
Jeong discloses a seal member includes a photo curable material (Para. [0049] “the seal line 400 includes photo-curable resin”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Aoki seal member with the teachings of Jeong, wherein the seal member includes a photo curable material as disclosed by Jeong. One would have been motivated to use photo-curable resin for a seal member so that the photo-curable resin can be cured by an external light such as UV light (Para. Jeong: [0049]).
Regarding the finality of the rejection, the examiner considers the rejection set forth in the Office action is an existing ground of rejection of record, rather than a new ground, wherein the substance of the rejection was already of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871