DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1, and 3 – 17) drawn to a compound represented by Formula (1),
wherein R1-8 are defined and the species election of compound 1-13
in the reply filed on September 22nd, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II (a method of producing), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 22nd, 2026.
However, upon the initial search the elected species
was found to be free of the prior art; therefore, the search was expanded, and all non-elected species were rejoined. Thus the election of species required in the Restriction Requirement mailed July 22nd, 2026 is withdrawn; but, the restriction between Groups I and Group II is maintained.
Hence claims 1, and 3 – 17 are being examined on the merits herein.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: low picture quality for some of the chemical structures in the specification. See specification page 30 as an example.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 – 5, and 13 – 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent Application Publication Number JP 2019-12159 A to Mitsufuji et. al. (Mitsufuji’159; English machine translation used for the rejection; cited on the IDS dated December 19th, 2024) in view of Beverina et. al. ((2011), Bulk Heterojunction Solar Cells - Tuning of the HOMO and LUMO Energy Levels of Pyrrolic Squaraine Dyes, Euro. J. Org. Chem., 5555 – 5563; cited on the IDS dated December 19th, 2024) and Lang et.al. ((2022), A Review on Modeling Cure Kinetics and Mechanisms of Photopolymerization, Polymers, 14, 1 – 58).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 6 – 12, Mitsufuji’159 teach a resin composition for a color correction optical filter used in a liquid crystal display, a color correction optical filter containing the resin composition, and a liquid crystal display device equipped with the color correction optical filter. See Mitsufuji’159 translation page 2 paragraph 0001. See claim 11 limitation for a resin composition comprising: the compound according to claim 1; and a resin. Additionally, Mitsufuji’159 teach a coloring composition for a color correction optical filter used in a liquid crystal display using an LED as a light source, wherein the following formula (1)
where X is
for a compound of structure (F)
. See Mitsufuji’159 translation page 14 – 15 paragraph 0011, Mitsufuji’159 original page 5 paragraphs 0012 – 0014 and page 9 paragraph 0037. Specifically, Mitsufuji’159 teach compound no. 5 of structure
where examined R1 = R2 = R5 = R6 = CH3; examined R7 = R8 = H; and examined R3 = R4 = hexane. See Mitsufuji’159 original page 10 paragraphs 0043. See claim 1 limitation for a compound represented by Formula (1)
where R1 = R2 = R3 = R4 = R5 = R6 = substituent; and R7 = R8 = H. See claim 3 limitation for the compound of claim 1 where in Formula (1) where R1 = R2 = R3 = R4 = R5 = R6 = alkyl group; and R7 = R8 = H. Furthermore, Mitsufuji’159 teach compounds of the disclosure which includes compound no. 5, as a squarylium compound having at least one pyrrole ring represented by the following formula (1) as an organic dye and having an ultraviolet-visible absorption spectrum of specific parameters, in a color correction filter that absorbs unwanted light with poor color purity that passes through the color filter. See Mitsufuji’159 translation page 14 paragraph 0010. See claim 6 limitation for the compound according to claim 1 where the compound is a squarylium coloring agent. See claim 9 limitation for the polymerizable composition according to claim 7 further comprising: an ultraviolent absorber.
Additionally, Mitsufuji’159 teach a resin composition wherein the transparent resin comprises a polymer or copolymer made from an acrylic acid alkyl ester monomer where the acrylic acid alkyl ester monomer is one or more selected from the group consisting of (meth)acrylate n-butyl, (meth)acrylate t-butyl, and (meth)acrylate. See Mitsufuji’159 translation page 15 paragraph 0015. See claim 7 limitation for a polymerizable composition comprising: the compound according to claim 1; and a polymerizable compound. See claim 8 limitation for the polymerizable composition of claim 7 where the selected polymerizable compound is acrylic acid alkyl ester. See claim 10 for the polymerizable composition according to claim 7; further comprising a polymer compound. See claim 12 limitation for a polymer comprising: a constitutional unit derived from the compound according to claim 1. Moreover, Mitsufuji’159 teach a resin composition as excellent at selectively absorbing light in the region of poor color purity (λmax 500 to 700 nm, particularly 570 to 610 nm) that passes through the color filter. See Mitsufuji’159 translation page 15 paragraph 0015.
However, Mitsufuji’159 fail to teach a compound represented by Formula (1)
where at least one of R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, or R8 represents a group which includes a polymerizable group having an ethylenically unsaturated bond. See claims 1, and 3 limitation.
Nevertheless, Beverina et.al. teach that 1,3-Squaraines (or squarilium dyes) are the condensation products of squaric acid and two equivalents of a suitable electron-rich precursor (heterocyclic anhydrobase or an activated arene). See page 5555 column 1 paragraph 1. Additionally, Beverina et.al. teach that squaraines have been employed in a number of technologically relevant fields including: nonlinearoptics, highly stable NIR-fluorescent dyes, photopatterning, bioimaging, photodynamic therapy, field-effect transistors, chemiluminescent materials, bulk heterojunction and hybrid solar cells and organic photodetectors. See page 5555 column 1 paragraph 1 and column 2 paragraph 1. Specifically, Beverina et.al. teach compound sq-Ph of structure
where examined R7 and R8 = 5-hexene or terminal vinyl group, that is an ethylenically unsaturated bond. See page 5556 Scheme 1.
However, Beverina et.al. fail to teach a motivation for having a compound represented by Formula (1)
where at least one of R1, R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, or R8 represents a group which includes a polymerizable group having an ethylenically unsaturated bond. See claims 1, and 3 limitation.
Nevertheless, Lang et.al. teach photopolymerization is a method for manufacturing highly-crosslinked polymer networks, in which the initiation of a chemical-physical reaction occurs by exposing photosensitive, monofunctional or multifunctional monomers to a high-intensity, generally ultraviolet (UV), light source. See page 1 paragraph 1. Moreover, Lang et.al. teach that photopolymerization is one of the most efficient methods for achieving quasi-instantaneous polymerization. See page 1 paragraph 1. Lang et. al. teach that there are also a number of problems and complexities associated with photopolymerization including volume shrinkage and stress, the presence of unreacted, potentially extractable polymer, and the susceptibility to oxygen inhibition in the case of free-radical photopolymerizations. See page 1 paragraph 1. Additionally, Lang et. al. teach that photocurable resins can be divided into two major classes, differing basically by their polymerization mechanism: photoinitiated free-radical polymerizations (such as the polymerizations of acrylates) and photoinitiated cationic polymerizations (such as the polymerizations of epoxides, lactones and vinyl ethers, which are inactive towards radicals). See page 2 paragraph 1. Moreover, Lang et.al. teach that photoinitiated cationic polymerizations, such as with vinyl ethers, have the distinct advantage that they lack sensitivity towards atmospheric oxygen whereas the loss of radicals to oxygen, known as oxygen inhibition, is a problem that is pervasive in free-radical photopolymerization. See page 2 paragraph 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify compound no. 5 of Mitsufuji’159, that is to replace the hexane chain on R3 and R4 in view of Beverina et.al. to replace the hexane chain on R3 and R4 with the 5-hexene of compound sq-Ph, in further view of Lang et.al, that is to for a terminal vinyl group. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid the number of problems and complexities associated with photopolymerization which include volume shrinkage and stress, the presence of unreacted, potentially extractable polymer, and the susceptibility to oxygen inhibition in the case of free-radical photopolymerizations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because photoinitiated cationic polymerizations, with vinyl ethers, have the distinct advantage that they lack sensitivity towards atmospheric oxygen whereas the loss of radicals to oxygen, known as oxygen inhibition, is a problem that is pervasive in free-radical photopolymerization.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3, and 6 – 12 are rejected. Claims 4 – 5, and 13 – 17 are objected.
/DAWANNA SHAR-DAY WHITE/Examiner, Art Unit 1627