DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US publication 2023/0170290 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee290.
Regarding claim 1, Lee290 teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 2a-2d and related text), comprising: a first conductive layer (110r/110s/110g or 120r/120s/120g, [0032-0048]), and a second conductive layer (120r/120s/120g or 130r/130s/130g, [0032-0048]) disposed opposite to the first conductive layer; wherein the first conductive layer comprises: a first grounding net (110g or 120g) having a first ground void (1290, [0050]); and a first signal ball-pad (portion of 110s where 500 is attached) in the first ground void; wherein the first signal ball-pad has a first ball-pad diameter (fig. 2a), the first ground void has a first ground void diameter (fig. 2a), and a ratio of the first ground void diameter to the first ball-pad diameter is equal to or greater than 1.2 (even though it does not explicitly teach a ratio of the first ground void diameter to the first ball-pad diameter is equal to or greater than 1.2, however, it is obvious that a ratio of the first ground void diameter to the first ball-pad diameter is greater than 1, fig. 2a).
Furthermore, it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. (MPEP §2144.05 II/III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Lee290 so that and a ratio of the first ground void diameter to the first ball-pad diameter is equal to or greater than 1.2 for the purpose of optimizing device performance and overall size of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Lee290 teaches wherein the first conductive layer is a bottom layer, the first signal ball-pad of the bottom layer is configured for connecting a contact (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 3, Lee290 teaches wherein the first conductive layer comprises: a first signal via-pad within the first ground void; wherein the first ground void has a second ground void diameter, the first signal via-pad has a first via-pad diameter, and a ratio of the second ground void diameter to the first via-pad diameter is equal to or greater than 1.2 (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 4, Lee290 teaches wherein the second conductive layer is disposed above the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer comprises: a second grounding net having a second ground void; and a second signal via-pad within the second ground void; wherein the second ground void has a third ground void diameter, the second signal via-pad has a second via-pad diameter, and a ratio of the third ground void diameter to the second via-pad diameter is equal to or greater than 1.2 (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 5, Lee290 teaches wherein the first ball-pad diameter is greater than the first via-pad diameter (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 6, Lee290 teaches wherein the first signal ball-pad at least partially overlaps the second ground void in a stack direction of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 7, Lee290 teaches wherein the second ground void diameter is greater than the first ball-pad diameter (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 8, Lee290 teaches wherein the first grounding net has a boundary, the first ground void extends to the boundary to form an opening, and the opening exposes the first signal ball-pad (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 9, Lee290 teaches wherein there is a first connection line of a center of the first signal ball-pad and a first edge of the opening, and there is a second connection line of the center of the first signal ball-pad and a second edge of the opening, wherein an angle included between the first connection line and the second connection line is equal to or greater than 60 degrees (fig. 2a-2d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US publication 2023/0170290 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee290.
Regarding claim 10, Lee290 teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 2a-2d and related text), comprising: a first conductive layer (110r/110s/110g or 120r/120s/120g, [0032-0048]), and a second conductive layer (120r/120s/120g or 130r/130s/130g, [0032-0048]) opposite to the first conductive layer; wherein the first conductive layer comprises: a first grounding net (110g or 120g) having a first ground void (1290, [0050]); and a first signal ball-pad (portion of 110s where 500 is attached) in the first ground void; wherein the first signal ball-pad has a first ball-pad diameter (fig. 2a, the first signal ball-pad is spaced from a lateral wall of the first ground void by a first minimum interval (fig. 2a), and the first minimum interval is greater than 0.1 times of the first ball-pad diameter (fig. 2a).
Regarding claim 11, Lee290 teaches wherein the first conductive layer is a bottom layer, the first signal ball-pad of the bottom layer is configured for connecting a contact (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 12, Lee290 teaches wherein the second conductive layer is disposed above the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer comprises: a second grounding net having a second ground void; and a second signal via-pad within the second ground void; wherein the second signal via-pad has a second via-pad diameter, the second signal via-pad is spaced from a lateral wall of the second ground void by a second minimum interval, and the second minimum interval is greater than 0.1 times of the second via-pad diameter (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 13, Lee290 teaches wherein the first signal ball-pad has a first ball-pad diameter, and the first ball-pad diameter is greater than the first via-pad diameter (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 14, Lee290 teaches wherein the first signal ball-pad at least partially overlaps the second ground void in a stack direction of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 15, Lee290 teaches wherein the first signal ball-pad has a first ball-pad diameter, and the second ground void has a second ground void diameter, wherein the second ground void diameter is greater than the first ball-pad diameter (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 16, Lee290 teaches wherein the first grounding net has a boundary, the first void extends to the boundary to form an opening, and the opening exposes the first signal ball-pad (fig. 2a-2d).
Regarding claim 17, Lee290 teaches wherein there is a first connection line of a center of the first signal ball-pad and a first edge of the opening, and there is a second connection line of the center of the first signal ball-pad and a second edge of the opening, wherein an angle included between the first connection line and the second connection line is equal to or greater than 60 degrees (fig. 2a-2d).
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897