CTNF 18/892,619 CTNF 80950 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. The action is responsive to the following communication: an application filed on 09/23/2024 where: Claims 1-12 are currently pending. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5 and 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4, 6 and 10-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukata et al. (US 2009/0063493, hereinafter Fukata) . Regarding claim 1, Fukata teaches: An information processing apparatus (Abstract, An information processing apparatus includes a processor and a memory unit connected to the processor. The memory unit stores a setting value and an web application) communicable with a client terminal that can use a web browser ([0210], n FIG. 14A, an web browser in the web client machine 20 requests a top page of an web site on the image forming apparatus 10,), comprising: a memory ([0152], programs in the PROM 13); and a processor connected to the memory (Abstract. An information processing apparatus includes a processor and a memory unit connected to the processor. The memory unit stores a setting value and an web application), wherein the processor receives request information including request setting information set to the web browser ([0018], it is known that a user can change his/her "my page" browsed to refer to various information in an image forming apparatus by using a terminal device connected to the image forming apparatus via a network.), performs authentication processing of a user who uses the information processing apparatus via the web browser in a case where the request information is received by the receiving (fig. 4, steps S10 and S11, [0172], and [0226], Further, in case that it is determined that the user does not have a valid authority (i.e. an administrator privilege), a user ID and a password are input on a screen displayed based on NOTAUTH.HTM by an web browser in the web client machine 20, and then a request message that contains the user ID and the password is transmitted to the image forming apparatus 10. ), and changes personal setting information associated with the user based on the request setting information in a case where the authentication processing of the user by performing the authentication processing succeeds, and the personal setting information and the request setting information are different from each other ([0037], According to the first aspect, if a request for changing a setting value is one from a user with administrator privilege, the setting value stored in the memory unit is updated; otherwise, the setting value is returned to a client as a cookie. Therefore, in terms of a non-complex configuration of the apparatus, it is prevented that a setting value common to all user is not changed carelessly. In addition, a setting value in a cookie and common setting values are used as setting values for a user, and a setting value in the cookie is used if both a setting value in the cookie and a common setting value are available to one setting item.). Regarding claim 2, Fukata teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the request setting information received from the web browser includes setting information indicating prioritized display language ([0190=-0192], The language has been set as a default at first, and then it is changed as mentioned below.). Regarding claim 4, Fukata teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor notifies of whether to change the personal setting information associated with the user based on the request setting information in a case where the authentication processing of the user by performing the authentication processing succeeds, and the personal setting information and the request setting information are different from each other ([0037, 0267] The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor notifies of whether to change the personal setting information associated with the user based on the request setting information in a case where the authentication processing of the user by performing the authentication processing succeeds, and the personal setting information and the request setting information are different from each other). Regarding claim 6, Fukata teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case where a request is received to display the same screen on the web browser as a screen displayed on the information processing apparatus, the processor incorporates the screen to be displayed on the information processing apparatus into the screen of the web browser ([0016], In the image forming system, the image forming apparatus causes the terminal device to display a "my page" to indicate the information. In a "my page" of a user, items selected by the user are placed at the respective positions specified by the user. The items are transmitted as cookies to the image forming apparatus.). Regarding claim 10, Fukata teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the request information is information received by communication using an HTTP protocol ([0021, 0022, 0103]. a main web server that causes the processor to generate an HTTP processing thread upon receipt of a request message and to transmit a response message to the client in terms of the HTTP processing thread). Claims 11 and 12 are rejected for reasons similar to claim 1 above . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukata et al. (US 2009/0063493, hereinafter Fukata) in view of Badr. (US 2024/0048547) . Regarding claim 3, Fukata teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 1. Fukata does not explicitly teach: wherein the request setting information received from the web browser includes setting information of either of a dark mode and a light mode. However, Badr teaches: wherein the request setting information received from the web browser includes setting information of either of a dark mode and a light mode ([0037], he preference data can be descriptive of notification preferences, clothes preferences and sizes, preferred addresses (e.g., preferred mailing address and/or a preferred email address), viewing preferences (e.g., dark mode versus light mode, portrait versus landscape, etc.), and/or vulgarity preference (e.g., child protection settings).). Therefore, the Applicant's claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fukuta to include wherein the request setting information received from the web browser includes setting information of either of a dark mode and a light mode as taught by Badr. The motivation/suggestion would have been to further enhance/improve the information processing apparatus since doing so would allow for viewing preferences such as dark mode or light mode. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREW H LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7969 and fax number is 571-270-8969. The examiner can normally be reached on 9AM-5PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benny Tieu can be reached on 571-272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW H LAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/892,619 Page 2 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/892,619 Page 3 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/892,619 Page 4 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/892,619 Page 5 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/892,619 Page 6 Art Unit: 2682