Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 Line 1 recites “A pulling force switching device based on the pulling force switching method”, it is suggested that Applicant replace the limitation of “based on” with --of--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 Lines 1-2 recite “A pulling force switching device based on the pulling force switching method according to claim 1”. Claim 1 is a method claim and although Claim 2 is considered an independent claim it is referencing from an independent method claim and therefore it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the method is in claims 2-9. In order to proceed, the Office will interpret the claim such that it is not dependent from the method of Claim 1 but rather is directed towards the device. However, it is suggested that Applicant separate claim 2 into an independent claim that does not incorporate dependency from a method claim.
Claim 5 Lines 1-2 recites “wherein the connector is defined as a second connector, and the pull rod is defined as a second pull rod”, however Claim 3 in which Claim 5 is dependent from does not disclose a first connector or first pull rod and therefore it is unclear if a first connector or first pull rod is required. In order to proceed, the Office will interpret the “second” as --first--.
Claim 6 Lines 1-2 recites “wherein the connector is defined as a third connector, and the pull rod is defined as a third pull rod”, however Claim 3 in which Claim 5 is dependent from does not disclose a 1st or 2nd connector or 1st or 2nd pull rod and therefore it is unclear if a 1st or 2nd connector or 1st or 2nd pull rod is required. In order to proceed, the Office will interpret the “third” as --first--.
Claim 7 Lines 1-2 recites “wherein the connector is defined as a fourth connector, and the pull rod is defined as a fourth pull rod”, however Claim 3 in which Claim 5 is dependent from does not disclose a 1st, 2nd, & 3rd connector or 1st, 2nd, & 3rd pull rod and therefore it is unclear if a 1st, 2nd, & 3rd connector or 1st, 2nd, & 3rd pull rod is required. In order to proceed, the Office will interpret the “fourth” as --first--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 20220096891 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang teaches a pulling force switching method, comprising the following steps: S1: lifting a weight stack 50 to a position below a movable pulley 223 (Refer to Figs. 3&4), and connecting a rope 60 at a first side of the movable pulley 223 to a handle 70 as a force application end; S2: winding the rope at a second side of the movable pulley 223 upwards around an upper fixed pulley 24 located higher than the movable pulley 223, winding the rope downwards around a lower fixed pulley 26 located lower than the movable pulley, and finally fixing the rope to a connector 611,613, wherein the connector is detachably connected to the movable pulley 223 (Refer to annotated Fig. 3 below and Figs. 4&5 Paragraph [0027]:” The cable member 60 has a first end 61, a second end 62 opposite to the first end 61, and an intermediate section 63 connected between the first and second ends 61, 62. The retaining unit includes a retaining ball 613 connected to the first end 61, a fastening piece 611 fixed on top of the retaining ball 613, and an insert pin 612. The intermediate section 63 is looped around the lower pulleys 26, the second upper pulleys 25, a counterweight pulley 522 of the counterweight unit 50, and the first upper pulleys 24. The second end 62 passes between the pair of pulleys 223, and is connected with a retaining ball 621 to retain externally of the pivoting member 222 for connection with one of the handles 70.”);
a support member 333 is located below the connector 611,612; and the support member 33 is configured to restrict a lower limit position of the connector (Refer to Fig. 4); and S3: separating the connector 611,612 from the movable pulley 223, and pulling the handle 70, such that the connector is supported by the support member 333, and a pulling force at the force application end is half of a gravity of the weight stack 50 (Refer to Fig. 4..The Office takes the position that the force application end if half of a gravity of the weight stack is the selector is positioned at the half of the weight stack such that only half of the weights are lifted); and connecting the connector 611,612 to the movable pulley 223, and pulling the handle 70, such that the connector is driven by the movable pulley 223, and the pulling force at the force application end is equal to the gravity of the weight stack 50 (Refer to Figs. 4&5 Paragraph [0030] =:”The first end 61 of the cable member 60 is movable between a first position and a second position. In the first position, as shown in FIG. 5, the first end 61 of the cable member 60 is positioned on the first sliding seat 22 to place the comprehensive training device 100 in a first exercise mode, in which various cable machine exercises may be performed. In the second position, as shown in FIG. 4, the first end 61 of the cable member 60 is positioned on the second sliding seat 33 to place the comprehensive training device 100 in a second exercise mode, in which various Smith machine exercises may be performed.”..The Office takes the position that the force application end is equal to the gravity of the weight stack if the selector is positioned at the half of the weight stack such that only half of the weights are lifted ).
Regarding Claim 2, Yang continues to teach a pulling force switching device based on the pulling force switching method according to claim 1, comprising a frame 10, wherein the weight stack 50 is movably provided on the frame 10; the weight stack 50 is detachably connected to the movable pulley 223; the upper fixed pulley 24 and the lower fixed pulley 25 are fixedly provided on the frame 10; a position of the upper fixed pulley 24 is higher than a position of the movable pulley 223; and a position of the lower fixed pulley 25 is lower than the position of the movable pulley 223; and the rope 60 is wound around the movable pulley 223 (Refer to Figs. 2, 4, &5 Paragraph [0027]); the rope 60 at the first side of the movable pulley 223 is connected to the handle 70, and the rope 60 at the second side of the movable pulley 223 is wound around the upper fixed pulley 24 and the lower fixed pulley 25 sequentially and fixed to the connector 611,612; the connector is movable 611,612 (Refer to Figs. 4&5); the support member 333 is located below the connector 611,612 to restrict the lower limit position of the connector 611,612; and the connector 611,612 is detachably connected to the movable pulley (Refer to Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Yang continues to teach wherein a guide shaft 13 is fixedly provided on the frame 10; the weight stack 50 is slidably connected to the guide shaft 13; a pull rod 52 is suspended below the movable pulley 223 (Refer to Fig. 6); the weight stack 50 is detachably connected to the movable pulley 223 through the pull rod 52; and the connector 611,612 is detachably connected to the movable pulley 223 through the pull rod 52 (Refer to Figs. 2&6 Paragraph [0034]:” [0034] The counterweight units 50 are respectively disposed on the side frame portions 12, and are respectively movable along the pairs of counterweight guide rods 13”…” The selection rod 52 has a plurality of insertion holes 523 spaced apart from each other along a length thereof, and a pulley bracket 521 disposed on top thereof. The counterweight pulley 522 is pivotally connected to the pulley bracket 521. Each counterweight 53 has a rectangular shape, and is formed with a through hole 531 at a central portion thereof and extending in a width direction thereof. The selection pin 54 is removably inserted into the through hole 531 of a selected one of the counterweights 53 and a corresponding one of the insertion holes 523 in the selection rod 52.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Yang continues to teach wherein the pull rod 52 is provided with a plurality of weight stack connection holes (Refer to Fig. 6); a side of the weight stack 50 is provided with through-holes; positions of the plurality of weight stack connection holes correspond to positions of the through-holes of the weight stack; and the pull rod is connected to the weight stack 50 through the plurality of weight stack connection holes (Refer to Fig. 2 Paragraph [0034]:” The selection rod 52 has a plurality of insertion holes 523 spaced apart from each other along a length thereof, and a pulley bracket 521 disposed on top thereof. The counterweight pulley 522 is pivotally connected to the pulley bracket 521. Each counterweight 53 has a rectangular shape, and is formed with a through hole 531 at a central portion thereof and extending in a width direction thereof. The selection pin 54 is removably inserted into the through hole 531 of a selected one of the counterweights 53 and a corresponding one of the insertion holes 523 in the selection rod 52.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Yang continues to teach wherein after extending upwards, the rope 60 on the movable pulley close to the force application end is wound around a plurality of fixed pulleys and connected to the handle; the handle is restricted by a fly sliding sleeve; and the fly sliding sleeve is rotatably connected to a sliding sleeve connector (Refer to Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang continues to teach wherein the sliding sleeve connector is slidably provided on a longitudinal adjustment beam of the frame; the longitudinal adjustment beam is made of a square tube profile and provided with a plurality of adjustment holes; and the sliding sleeve connector is provided with a spring pin and connected to the longitudinal adjustment beam through the spring pin (Refer to Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Yang, Giannelli et al (US 20160346590 A1), Myers et al (US 20030096681 A1), and Tolles (US 20010034290 A1) are the closest prior arts to the claimed invention but fails to teach the claimed invention as a whole further comprising wherein the connector is defined as a first connector, and the pull rod is defined as a first pull rod; the first connector comprises an inner core and an outer cylinder; the outer cylinder is sleeved outside the inner core and fixedly connected to the inner core; the inner core is fixedly connected to an end of the rope; an inner wall of the outer cylinder is provided with a protrusion; a bottom of the first pull rod is provided with a groove, the groove is matched with the protrusion; the groove is in an inverted L-shape; and a long side of the groove is communicated with an end position of the first pull rod/ the connector is provided with a hook; a bottom of the pull rod is provided with a suspension ring, and the suspension ring is matched with the hook/the connector is provided with an internal thread; a bottom of the pull rod is provided with an external thread, and the external thread is matched with the internal thread/ the connector is provided with a ball head; a bottom of the pull rod is provided with an open groove, and the open groove is matched with the ball head, and/or wherein after extending upwards.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to attached list of references cited for prior arts pertinent to claimed and unclaimed subject matter.
/NYCA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784