DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed on 9/25/2026 has been entered into the record. Claims 1 and 2 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koehler et al. (10,302,177 B2), hereafter referred to as Koehler.
Consider claim 1. Koehler teaches an apparatus for distributing material into a tub, the apparatus comprising: one or more surfaces (14, 16) configured to rotate about a vertical axis (via 22), the surfaces being located between a material source (12) and a reservoir of the tub (44), the surfaces collectively configured during rotation to interrupt material falling from the material source and to direct the material into the reservoir with an altered trajectory (via 86); wherein the surfaces include a plurality of radially extending partitions or fins (90) which direct at least a portion of the material along a portion of the altered trajectory. Koehler’s apparatus is capable of distributing proppant into a blender tub of hydraulic fracturing equipment. Please see MPEP 2115 regarding material worked upon by an apparatus and MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in apparatus claims.
Consider claim 2. Koehler teaches that the surfaces include a circumferentially extending outer wall (14), and a plurality of sector plates (upwardly-angled portions of 86; see fig. 11), the surfaces collectively defining a plurality of respective sectors (86) and a plurality of apertures (apertures defined by 14 and 86) through which the material is directed into the reservoir.
Consider claim 3. Koehler teaches that at least one of the apertures is adjustable (via 20).
Consider claim 4. Koehler teaches that the partitions are vertical or oriented at an angle of greater than 45 degrees (see fig. 11).
Consider claim 5. Koehler teaches that the surfaces include one or more plates (86) for accumulating material, and one or more apertures (apertures defined by 14 and 86) in or proximate to the surfaces through which the material is directed into the reservoir.
Consider claim 6. Koehler teaches that the surfaces include one or more protrusions or walls (90), the protrusions or walls impeding, redirecting, or both impeding and redirecting flow of the material.
Consider claim 7. Koehler teaches that the surfaces include at least one bottom surface (generally horizontal surface of 86) extending generally horizontally and outwardly from the vertical axis, the at least one bottom surface defining, on its own or in cooperation with another one or more of the surfaces, one or more holes, apertures or gaps allowing downward passage of the material (gap between 14 and 86).
Consider claim 8. Koehler teaches that the surfaces include one or more fins, walls or partitions (90) extending upward from the at least one bottom surface and configured to impede or redirect flow of the material when supported on the at least one bottom surface.
Consider claim 9. Koehler teaches that the one or more holes, apertures or gaps are oriented to allow the material to fall directly downward or to allow the material to flow horizontally off of an edge of the at least one bottom surface to then fall downward (off of the outermost edge of 86).
Consider claim 10. Koehler teaches that the surfaces include two or more surfaces (14 and 86), the two or more surfaces defining at least one gap therebetween (gap defined by 14 and 86), the gap allowing horizontal or downward passage of the material.
Consider claim 11. Koehler teaches that the at least one gap is adjustable by repositioning of the two or more surfaces relative to one another (via 20).
Consider claim 12. Koehler teaches that the surfaces include two or more bottom surfaces (spokes of 14, see fig. 8) extending generally horizontally and outwardly from the vertical axis, the two or more bottom surfaces defining at least one gap therebetween, the gap allowing downward passage of the material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp (US 2023/0033222 A1) in view of Koehler (10,302,177 B2).
Consider claim 13. Sharp teaches a blender or blender tub (111) of hydraulic fracturing equipment, but does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 1. Koehler teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see prior art rejection of claim 1 above). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sharp’s blender tub with an apparatus as taught by Koehler in order to evenly distribute proppant into the blender tub to aid in mixing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652