DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Munroe (US 6,375,035 B1).
Consider claim 1. Munroe teaches an apparatus for distributing material into a tub, the apparatus comprising: one or more surfaces (32) configured to rotate about a vertical axis (30), the surfaces being located between a material source (12) and a reservoir (below 32) of the tub, the surfaces collectively configured during rotation to interrupt material falling from the material source and to direct the material into the reservoir with an altered trajectory. Munroe’s apparatus is capable of distributing proppant into a blender tub of hydraulic fracturing equipment. Please see MPEP 2115 regarding material worked upon by an apparatus and MPEP 2114 regarding functional limitations in apparatus claims.
Consider claim 2. Munroe teaches that the surfaces include a plurality of radially extending partitions (vertical surfaces of each finger 35), a circumferentially extending outer wall (37), and a plurality of sector plates (upward-facing surfaces of each finger 35), the surfaces collectively defining a plurality of respective sectors and a plurality of apertures (gaps between 35) through which the material is directed into the reservoir (see fig. 2).
Consider claim 3. Munroe teaches that at least one of the apertures is adjustable (see column 3, lines 59-63).
Consider claim 4. Munroe teaches that the partitions are vertical or oriented at an angle of greater than 45 degrees (see fig. 2).
Consider claim 5. Munroe teaches that the surfaces include one or more plates (upward-facing surfaces of each finger 35) for accumulating material, and one or more apertures (gaps between 35) in or proximate to the surfaces through which the material is directed into the reservoir (see fig. 2).
Consider claim 6. Munroe teaches that the surfaces include one or more protrusions or walls (upward-facing surfaces of each finger 35), the protrusions or walls impeding, redirecting, or both impeding and redirecting flow of the material.
Consider claim 7. Munroe teaches that the surfaces include at least one bottom surface (downward-facing surface of 39) extending generally horizontally and outwardly from the vertical axis, the at least one bottom surface defining, on its own or in cooperation with another one or more of the surfaces (35), one or more holes, apertures or gaps (gaps between 35) allowing downward passage of the material.
Consider claim 8. Munroe teaches that the surfaces include one or more fins, walls or partitions (vertical surfaces of each finger 35) extending upward from the at least one bottom surface and configured to impede or redirect flow of the material when supported on the at least one bottom surface.
Consider claim 9. Munroe teaches that the one or more holes, apertures or gaps are oriented to allow the material to fall directly downward or to allow the material to flow horizontally off of an edge of the at least one bottom surface to then fall downward (see fig. 2).
Consider claim 10. Munroe teaches that the surfaces include two or more surfaces (upward-facing surfaces of each finger 35), the two or more surfaces defining at least one gap (gaps between 35) therebetween, the gap allowing horizontal or downward passage of the material (see fig. 2).
Consider claim 11. Munroe teaches that the at least one gap is adjustable by repositioning of the two or more surfaces relative to one another (see column 3, lines 59-63).
Consider claim 12. Munroe teaches that the surfaces include two or more bottom surfaces (downward-facing surfaces of 39 and 35) extending generally horizontally and outwardly from the vertical axis, the two or more bottom surfaces defining at least one gap (gaps between 35) therebetween, the gap allowing downward passage of the material (see fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharp et al. (US 2023/0033222 A1), hereafter referred to as Sharp, in view of Munroe (US 6,375,035 B1).
Consider claim 13. Sharp teaches a blender or blender tub (111) of hydraulic fracturing equipment, but does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 1. Munroe teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (see prior art rejection of claim 1 above). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sharp’s blender tub with an apparatus as taught by Munroe in order to evenly distribute proppant into the blender tub to aid in mixing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The attached PTO-892 lists references which teach various devices for distributing bulk material into a reservoir.
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652