Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ‘flaming port’ and ‘connection port’ recited in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 11-12 recites, “the diffuser section expands from one end proximal to the ejecting tube to the other end distal to the ejecting tube.”
The limitation “the other end” technically has a lack of antecedent basis since it’s unclear what “the other end” is in reference to, i.e. it is another end of a different element separate from the diffuser section? Or another end of the diffuser section, itself? Reading the Applicant’s specification, it appears that the latter interpretation is true. The “one end” and “the other end” between which the diffuser section expands, is not positively claimed to be part of the diffuser section, per se.
Therefore, for the purposes of substantiative examination, this claim limitation will be interpreted this way, consistent with the disclosure. The same interpretation may be relevant to other limitations throughout the claims, i.e. lines 14-15 reads “the contraction section expands from one end proximal to the diffuser section to the other end distal to the diffuser section.”
Examiner Note: Should the Applicant desire to positively claim these “ends,” then an example is as follows: “The diffuser section comprises one end proximal to the ejecting tube and an opposite end distal to the ejecting tube, wherein the diffuser section expands from the one end proximal to the ejecting tube to the opposite end distal to the ejecting tube.”
Claims 2-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependency from base claim 1.
Amendments to the claims are kindly requested for clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US20110168168A1) in view of Chen et al. (EP 3795900 A1, hereafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Schneider discloses a heat flux barbecue burner (Pars. 0006-0007, “an open grill surface suitable for heating items directly over a flame or heat source. The present invention provides for a single compact unit that, in various configurations, may be used in all of these capacities” and Par. 0058, “a gas burner manifold”. Given heat is generated by the burner, there must necessarily be heat flux, therefore Schneider), comprising:
a housing (Fig. 3, panels 102, 304, 307 and cover 310) having a drainage cavity (Fig. 3, area below grill 108, which is a ‘drainage cavity’ because oils/grease/debris from food cooking on grill 108 will drain or be carried away by gravity into the cavity or space below), wherein a heat outlet (Fig. 3, space or outlet at the top of the barbecue that must necessarily be present for users to access food on the grill. See Par. 0053, “Of course, top cover 310 may optionally be set in place as shown or may be removed to make items resting on the grill accessible from above.” Note heat rises through the outlet after it has passed by the food cooking on grill 108, therefore it is a ‘heat outlet’) in communication with the drainage cavity is formed at a top of the housing (Fig. 3), and
a base body (Par. 0058, “Where a gas burner manifold is used as a heat source inside the enclosure”. At least the manifold of the gas burner is a ‘base body’) located in the drainage cavity of the housing (Fig. 3, which shows heat source 315 is located in the area below grill 108) and provided with a nozzle (One of ordinary skill in the art would understand a gas burner implicitly discloses a nozzle).
However, Schneider does not disclose an ejecting tube located in the drainage cavity of the housing and arranged above the nozzle on the base body, wherein an inner cavity of the ejecting tube is in a rotator structure, and a combustion port is formed at a top end of the ejecting tube and faces the heat outlet of the housing; and
a flame projector arranged at the combustion port of the ejecting tube, wherein an inner cavity of the flame projector comprises a diffuser section distal to the ejecting tube and a contraction section proximal to the ejecting tube, the diffuser section expands from one end proximal to the ejecting tube to the other end distal to the ejecting tube, so that a diameter of the end of the diffuser section proximal to the ejecting tube is less than a diameter of the other end distal to the ejecting tube, and the contraction section expands from one end proximal to the diffuser section to the other end distal to the diffuser section, so that a diameter of the end of the contraction section proximal to the diffuser section is less than a diameter of the other end distal to the diffuser section.
Chen is in the field of endeavor of gas burners similar to the present invention and Chen also discloses a solution for increasing combustion efficiency (Par. 0004, “solve technical problems of low combustion efficiency of a combustor”), similar to the problem of improving heating efficiency in the present invention (PGPUB Par. 0002, “This not only wastes energy, but also results in a poor heating effect and efficiency.”). Chen further discloses it is known to have a base body (Fig. 4, gas distribution device 300) provided with a nozzle (Fig. 4, nozzle 310);
an ejecting tube (Fig. 3, ejection section 110A) and arranged above the nozzle on the base body (Fig. 3), wherein an inner cavity of the ejecting tube (Fig. 3, space inside ejection section 110A) is in a rotator structure (Fig. 3, a cross section of an inner wall of ejection section 110A is a combination of a circle, cone, and truncated cone, therefore ejection section 110A has a ‘rotator structure’ per the definition for this term that is disclosed in Par. 0023 of the PGPUB), and a combustion port is formed at a top end of the ejecting tube (Fig. 3, the top end of ejection section 110A has an opening approximately located at D5, therefore ejection section 110A has a ‘combustion port’ per the definition of this term that is disclosed in Par. 0025 of the PGPUB); and
a flame projector (Fig. 3, gas outlet section 110B and Par. 0027, “the ejection tube 110 ejects gas vertically upward from the inlet end 113, after the gas passes through the throat 114 and the outlet section 110B, and is then discharged from the fire hole 121, it is ignited by an igniter 160 to form a flame”. Gas outlet section 110B is a ‘flame projector’ because it casts or projects gas that is used to form a flame) arranged at the combustion port of the ejecting tube (Fig. 3), wherein an inner cavity of the flame projector (Fig. 3, interior of gas outlet section 110B) comprises a diffuser section distal to the ejecting tube (Fig. 3, portion of gas outlet section 110B above recesses 112A,112B) and a contraction section proximal to the ejecting tube (Fig. 3, portion of gas outlet section 110B below recesses 112A, 112B), the diffuser section expands from one end proximal to the ejecting tube to the other end distal to the ejecting tube, so that a diameter of the end of the diffuser section proximal to the ejecting tube is less than a diameter of the other end distal to the ejecting tube, and the contraction section expands from one end proximal to the diffuser section to the other end distal to the diffuser section, so that a diameter of the end of the contraction section proximal to the diffuser section is less than a diameter of the other end distal to the diffuser section (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas burner manifold of Schneider with the base body, ejecting tube, and flame projector as taught by Chen in order to have an ejecting tube located in the drainage cavity of the housing and arranged above the nozzle on the base body, wherein an inner cavity of the ejecting tube is in a rotator structure, and a combustion port is formed at a top end of the ejecting tube and faces the heat outlet of the housing; and a flame projector arranged at the combustion port of the ejecting tube, wherein an inner cavity of the flame projector comprises a diffuser section distal to the ejecting tube and a contraction section proximal to the ejecting tube, the diffuser section expands from one end proximal to the ejecting tube to the other end distal to the ejecting tube, so that a diameter of the end of the diffuser section proximal to the ejecting tube is less than a diameter of the other end distal to the ejecting tube, and the contraction section expands from one end proximal to the diffuser section to the other end distal to the diffuser section, so that a diameter of the end of the contraction section proximal to the diffuser section is less than a diameter of the other end distal to the diffuser section and thereby increase combustion efficiency and/ or decrease nitrogen oxide emissions (As suggested by Par. 0004 of ‘900: “In order to solve technical problems of low combustion efficiency of a combustor and a large number of nitrogen oxides generated after combustion"). This beneficially decreases fuel costs and/or increases user health and reduces environmental impacts.
NOTE: The limitations “an ejecting tube located in the drainage cavity of the housing” and “a combustion port…faces the heat outlet of the housing” are necessarily met by modified Schneider. To elaborate, Schneider teaches the gas burner manifold is located in the drainage cavity of the housing, below the heat outlet, so modifying the gas burner manifold to have an ejecting tube and combustion port as disclosed by Chen necessarily means the ejecting tube will be located in the drainage cavity of the housing and the combustion port will face the heat outlet of the housing as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Schneider, as modified above, discloses the heat flux barbecue burner according to claim 1, wherein the inner cavity of the ejecting tube (Chen: Fig. 3, space inside ejection section 110A) comprises a converging section (annotated Fig. A) proximal to the nozzle (Chen: Fig. 4, nozzle 310) and a diverging section (annotated Fig. A) distal to the nozzle (Chen: Fig. 3), the converging section tapers from one end proximal to the nozzle to the other end distal to the nozzle, so that a diameter of the end of the converging section proximal to the nozzle is greater than a diameter of the other end distal to the nozzle (annotated Fig. A and Chen: Fig. 3), the diverging section expands from one end proximal to the converging section to the other end distal to the converging section, so that a diameter of the end of the diverging section proximal to the converging section is less than a diameter of the other end distal to the converging section (annotated Fig. A), and a combustion port (Fig. 3, the top end of ejection section 110A has an opening approximately located at D5, therefore ejection section 110A has a ‘combustion port’ per the definition of this term that is disclosed in Par. 0025 of the PGPUB) is formed at a top end of the diverging section (annotated Fig. A) and faces the heat outlet of the housing (Schneider: Fig. 3, space or outlet at the top of the barbecue that must necessarily be present for users to access food on the grill in view of Chen, as explained in the rejection to claim 1).
[AltContent: textbox (Converging section)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Diverging section)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Transition section)][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. A: Annotated copy of Fig. 3 from Schneider showing location of prior art elements labeled with applicant’s terminology.
Regarding claim 3, Schneider, as modified above, discloses the heat flux barbecue burner according to claim 2, wherein the inner cavity of the ejecting tube (Chen: Fig. 3, space inside ejection section 110A) further comprises a transition section (annotated Fig. A), the transition section is located between the converging section and the diverging section, and the transition section, the converging section, and the diverging section are in communication with each other (annotated Fig. A and Par. 0027, as quoted in claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Schneider, as modified above, discloses the heat flux barbecue burner according to claim 1, wherein a quantity of the ejecting tubes is two or more (Chen: Figs. 3-4, which show two or more instances of flame distributors 100, each of which has an ejection section 110A), the two or more ejecting tubes are arranged side by side (Chen: Figs. 3-4), a quantity of the nozzles is equal to the quantity of the ejecting tubes (Chen: Fig. 4, which shows an instance of nozzle 310 for each instance of flame distributors 100, each of which has an ejection section 110A), and positions of the nozzles correspond to positions of the two or more ejecting tubes respectively (Chen: Fig. 4, which shows nozzles 310 at least horizontally correspond to the flame distributors 100, each of which has an ejection section 110A).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US20110168168A1) in view of Chen et al. (EP 3795900 A1, hereafter Chen) and further in view of Noman et al. (US 10151479 B2, hereafter Noman).
Regarding claim 4, Schneider, as modified above, discloses the heat flux barbecue burner according to claim 3.
However, Schneider, as modified above, does not explicitly disclose the transition section is a constant-diameter section.
NOTE: Schneider appears to show the transition section is a constant-diameter section, as shown in annotated Fig. A above.
Noman is in the field of endeavor of gas burners (Abstract and Col. 1, lines 11) similar to the present invention and Noman further discloses it is known for a transition section (Fig. 2A, which shows a sixth section 255 (i.e., converging section), a fifth section 250 (i.e., transition section), and a fourth section 221 (i.e., diverging section)) to be a constant-diameter section (Col. 7, lines 36-40, “The fifth section 250 may include a straight portion. For example, the length and width proximate a first end 251 of the fifth section 250 may be approximately the same as the length and/or width proximate a second end 252 of the fifth section.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Schneider, as modified above, with the transition section as taught by Noman so the transition section is a constant-diameter section and thereby produce a specific flame profile (As suggested by Col. 5, lines 26-38 of Noman: “The configuration of a section (e.g., converging, diverging, and/or straight portions) may be selected based on the flame profile to be generated by the burner assembly 100. For example, to produce an approximately uniform flame profile via the burner assembly, the configuration may be selected such that an amount of fluid (e.g., fuel/air mixture) and/or such that a predetermined ratio of fuel/air may be provided to the burner head.”). This beneficially accommodates different user preferences.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US20110168168A1) in view of Chen et al. (EP 3795900 A1, hereafter Chen) and further in view of Gutmark et al. (US 6196835 B1, hereafter Gutmark).
Regarding claim 5, Schneider, as modified above, discloses the heat flux barbecue burner according to claim 2, wherein the flame projector (Chen: Fig. 3, gas outlet section 110B) is provided with a flaming port (Chen: Fig. 3, port at the large-diameter end of the portion of gas outlet section 110B above recesses 112A,112B) and a connection port (Chen: Fig. 3, port at the large-diameter end of the portion of gas outlet section 110B below recesses 112A, 112B), the flaming port is located at a large-diameter end of the diffuser section (Chen: Fig. 3, the portion of gas outlet section 110B above recesses 112A,112B), and the connection port is located at a large-diameter end of the contraction section (Chen: Fig. 3, portion of gas outlet section 110B below recesses 112A, 112B) and connected to a port at the other end of the diverging section (annotated Fig. A, port at the bottom of the diverging section. See Par. 0027, as quoted in claim 1. See the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 section for how and why this claim is being interpreted).
However, Schneider, as modified above, does not disclose the flame projector is provided with a tooth-like structure and the tooth-like structure is evenly distributed along a circle of the flaming port.
Gutmark is in the field of endeavor of gas burners (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Gutmark further discloses it is known for a flame projector (Fig. 1, if the burner in sectioned into halves, the flame projector is the right half. In addition, see Col. 3, lines 31-33, “The ignition of the fuel/combustion air mixture starts at the tip of the flowback zone 24. A stable flame is only able to form at this point. “. The right half of the burner is a ‘flame projector’ because it casts or projects gas that is used to form a flame) is provided with a tooth-like structure (Fig. 2, baffles 32 and Col. 3, lines 34-36, “ten triangular baffles 32 that overall form a saw-tooth-structure were fixed to the burner outlet on each partial conical bodies”) and the tooth-like structure is evenly distributed along the circumference of a flaming port (burner outlet, Fig. 2 and Col. 3, lines 34-36, as quoted above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Schneider, as modified above, to have tooth-like structures as taught by Gutmark so the flame projector is provided with a tooth-like structure and the tooth-like structure is evenly distributed along a circle of the flaming port and thereby reduce thermoacoustic oscillations (As suggested by Col. 3, lines 41-43 of Gutmark: “The experimental determination of the pressure fluctuations of FIG. 5 shows that the amplitude of the thermoacoustic fluctuations can be reduced with the baffles”) to lower combustion emissions (As suggested by Col. 1, lines 8-12 of Gutmark: “Thermoacoustic oscillations pose a risk for any type of combustion applications. They cause pressure fluctuations with a high amplitude, restrict the operating range, and may increase the emissions associated with combustion”). This beneficially increases user health and reduces environmental impacts.
To the extent that the Applicant disagrees that the tooth-like structure is evenly distributed, Examiner notes it would have been an obvious matter to evenly distribute the tooth-like structure since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed element was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed tooth-like structure was significant. MPEP 2144.04 VI-C. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (i.e., evenly distributed, position shown in Fig. 2). One could have expected the tooth-like structures to perform substantially equally well, whether at the location shown in Fig. 2 or in its original position.
NOTE: The limitation “the tooth-like structure is evenly distributed along a circle of a flaming port” is necessarily met by modified Schneider. To elaborate, Schneider discloses a circular flaming port so adding teeth to the flaming port as disclosed by Gutmark necessarily means the tooth-like structure will be distributed along the circle of the flaming port as claimed.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US20110168168A1) in view of Chen et al. (EP 3795900 A1, hereafter Chen) and Gutmark et al. (US 6196835 B1, hereafter Gutmark) and further in view of (KR 200365743 Y1, hereafter ‘743).
Reference is made to the attached Korean to English machine translation of ‘743.
Regarding claim 6, Schneider, as modified above, discloses the heat flux barbecue burner according to claim 5, wherein a throat (Chen: Fig. 3, portion of gas outlet section 110B between recesses 112A, 112B) is formed at a joint between the diffuser section (Chen: Fig. 3, portion of gas outlet section 110B above recesses 112A,112B) and the contraction section (Chen: Fig. 3, portion of gas outlet section 110B below recesses 112A, 112B), and a diameter of the throat is less than a diameter of the other end of the diffuser section distal to the diverging section (annotated Fig. A) and the diameter of the end of the contraction section proximal to the diffuser section (annotated Fig. A).
However, Schneider, as modified above, does not disclose a mesh structure is provided at the throat.
‘743 is in the field of endeavor of gas burners (Abstract) similar to the present invention and ‘743 also discloses a solution for increasing combustion efficiency (Abstract), similar to the problem of improving heating efficiency in the present invention (PGPUB Par. 0002, “This not only wastes energy, but also results in a poor heating effect and efficiency.”). ‘743 further discloses it is known for a mesh structure (Fig. 1, mesh net 24) to be provided at a throat (Fig. 1, narrowest portion of burner part 2, where mesh net 24 is located. A throat is a passageway or narrowed part, therefore mesh net 24 is provided at a ‘throat’ of burner part 2 because it is located at a narrowed part of burner part 2 through which mixed air is discharged. See Pg. 5, Par. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Schneider, as modified above, to include the mesh as taught by ‘743 so a mesh structure is provided at the throat and thereby evenly discharge mixed air (As suggested by Pg. 2, Par. 2 of ‘743: “a mesh network 24 to evenly discharge the mixed air mixed with gas and air to the top to form a flame”). Evenly discharging mixed air beneficially increases heating efficiency, prevents soot formation, and/or supports uniform heating.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US20110168168A1) in view of Chen et al. (EP 3795900 A1, hereafter Chen), Gutmark et al. (US 6196835 B1, hereafter Gutmark) and (KR 200365743 Y1, hereafter ‘743) and further in view of Shilling (US 4295821 A).
Regarding claim 7, Schneider, as modified above, discloses the heat flux barbecue burner according to claim 6.
However, Schneider, as modified above, does not disclose an inner wall of the flame projector is provided with multiple through holes, the multiple through holes are arranged in an annular array, and two ends of each through hole are located on an inner wall of the contraction section and an inner wall of the diffuser section respectively.
Schilling is in the field of endeavor of burners (Abstract) similar to the present invention and Shilling also discloses a solution for increasing combustion efficiency (Col. 8, lines 20-23, “These results demonstrate the great advantage and the very great effectiveness of the vaporizer insert of this invention with respect to attainment of combustion efficiency”), similar to the problem of improving heating efficiency in the present invention (PGPUB Par. 0002, “This not only wastes energy, but also results in a poor heating effect and efficiency.”). Schilling further discloses it is known to have an inner wall (Fig. 1, insert 10, which forms a wall inside the flame projector and is therefore an ‘inner wall’) of a flame projector (Fig. 1, portion of the burner within duct 16. The portion of the burner within duct 16 is a ‘flame projector’ because it casts or projects the fuel that is used to form a flame) be provided with multiple through holes (Fig. 1, annular chamber 21, which at least comprises ‘multiple through holes’ when the burner is viewed as shown in Fig. 1), the multiple through holes are arranged in an annular array (Fig. 1), and two ends of each through hole are located on an inner wall of the contraction section (Fig. 1, converging inlet portion 12) and an inner wall of the diffuser section respectively (Fi. 1, diffuser portion 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Schneider, as modified above, to include the through holes as taught by Schilling in order to have an inner wall of the flame projector is provided with multiple through holes, the multiple through holes are arranged in an annular array, and two ends of each through hole are located on an inner wall of the contraction section and an inner wall of the diffuser section respectively and thereby increase thermal insulation (As suggested by Col. 6, lines 24-28 of Schilling: “Since the vaporizer insert is very rapidly heated by the flame, and heat flow out of it is prevented by…the thermal insulation which the surrounding annular chamber 21 affords”). This beneficially increases heating efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Schneider, as modified above, discloses the heat flux barbecue burner according to claim 7, wherein a length dimension of the diffuser section (Chen: Fig. 3, height of the portion of gas outlet section 110B above recesses 112A,112B) is less than a length dimension of the contraction section (Chen: Fig. 3, height of the portion of gas outlet section 110B below recesses 112A, 112B), and a gradual slope of the contraction section (Chen: Fig. 3, slope of the portion of gas outlet section 110B below recesses 112A, 112B, which is a ‘gradual slope’ because it changes slowly over the height of the portion of gas outlet section 110B below recesses 112A,112B) is less than a gradual slope of the diffuser section (Chen: Fig. 3, slope of the portion of gas outlet section 110B above recesses 112A,112B, which is a ‘gradual slope’ because it changes slowly over the height of the portion of gas outlet section 110B above recesses 112A,112B).
To the extent that the Applicant disagrees that the slope of the diffuser section is gradual, Examiner notes it would have been an obvious matter to make slope of the diffuser section gradual since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed element was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the shape of the slope was significant. MPEP 2144.04 VI-C. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation (i.e., gradual slope, slope shown in Fig. 3). One could have expected the tooth-like structures to perform substantially equally well, whether shaped like the slope shown in Fig. 3 or in its original shape.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (US20110168168A1) in view of Chen et al. (EP 3795900 A1, hereafter Chen) and further in view of Hall (US 0741130 A).
Regarding claim 10, Schneider, as modified above, discloses the heat flux barbecue burner according to claim 9.
However, Schneider, as modified above, does not disclose the base body is provided with two gas inlet channels, and when the two gas inlet channels are not in communication with each other, one nozzle is in communication with one gas inlet channel for the nozzle to eject gas alone, and the other gas inlet channel is in communication with at least one remaining nozzle for the remaining nozzle to eject gas.
Hall is in the field of endeavor of gas burners (Pg. 1, lines 5-6) similar to the present invention and Hall further discloses it is known for a base body (annotated Fig. B) to be provided with two gas inlet channels (Fig. 1 and Pg. 1, lines 83-87, “By means of the cocks a3, b3, and c3 the supply to the independent distributing-sections of the burner may be varied or controlled according to the desires of the user”. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand there must necessarily be a gas inlet channel associated with each of the cocks, therefore there are at least two gas inlet channels), and when the two gas inlet channels are not in communication with each other (Fig. 1, which shows cocks a3, b3, and c3 are not in communication with each other), one nozzle is in communication with one gas inlet channel for the nozzle to eject gas alone (Fig. 1 and Pg. 1, lines 70-74, “Each section is independently supplied with inflammable mixture, and for this purpose each said section is provided with a hub or nipple, as represented at a', b', and c', respectively.” Nipple a’ (i.e., nozzle) is in communication with the gas inlet channel associated with cock a3 for nipple a’ to eject gas alone into burner a), and the other gas inlet channel is in communication with at least one remaining nozzle for the remaining nozzle to eject gas (Fig. 1 and Pg. 1, lines 70-74, as quoted above. Nipple b’ (i.e., nozzle) is in communication with the gas inlet channel associated with cock b3 for nipple b’ to eject gas alone into burner b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Schneider, as modified above, with the base body as taught by Hall so the base body is provided with two gas inlet channels, and when the two gas inlet channels are not in communication with each other, one nozzle is in communication with one gas inlet channel for the nozzle to eject gas alone, and the other gas inlet channel is in communication with at least one remaining nozzle for the remaining nozzle to eject gas and thereby give the user more control over the heat supplied by the burners and prevent detonations (As suggested by Pg. 1, lines 15-22, “an improved burner constructed in sections which may be independently controlled, thereby enabling the quantity of heat delivered to the range or its equivalent to be regulated as may be desired and also preventing the detonations which result from shutting off the supply of gas to a single large burner”). This beneficially allows the user to better cook food to their preferences and increases user comfort.
[AltContent: textbox (Base body)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Fig. B: Annotated copy of Fig. 1 from Wallace showing location of prior art elements labeled with applicant’s terminology.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
LaRose (US 5680823 A) discloses a burner with tooth-like structures distributed along a circle of a flaming port.
Penterson et al. (US 6474250 B1) discloses a burner with tooth-like structures evenly distributed along a circle of a flaming port.
Liu et al. (CN 206449689 U) discloses a gas burner where an inner wall of the flame projector is provided with multiple through holes, the multiple through holes are arranged in an annular array, and two ends of each through hole are located on an inner wall of the contraction section and an inner wall of the diffuser section respectively.
Liu et al. (CN 206755240 U) discloses a gas burner where an inner wall of the flame projector is provided with multiple through holes, the multiple through holes are arranged in an annular array, and two ends of each through hole are located on an inner wall of the contraction section and an inner wall of the diffuser section respectively.
Wallace (US 0527566 A) discloses two gas inlet channels not in communication with each other wherein one nozzle is in communication with one gas inlet channel for the nozzle to eject gas alone, and the other gas inlet channel is in communication with a remaining nozzle for the remaining nozzle to eject gas.
/E.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762