Detailed Office Action
This office action is in response to the communication dated 9/23/24.
Original claims 1-11 are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, and 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “controller configured---” and second controller configured----" in claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 , 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20180020382 A1 [hereinafter Kim] in view of Kompella et al. U.S. Patent Application No. 2019/0349982[hereinafter Kompella].
As per claim 1, and 11 Kim discloses a first wireless communication device [V2X communication device ] comprising: a controller configured to:
operate in a first mode or a second mode, the first mode being a mode that has a
first mode in which data communication with a second wireless communication
device may be performed, the second mode being a mode in which limited data
communication may be performed(see the abstract and pars. 0435 where UE operates first mode and second mode( that is an inactive mode and connected mode, wherein UE in the light connected mode moves from one paging area to another, it transitions to the connected mode to transmit a paging update message. Here, it may be expressed that the UE in the light connected mode is in the inactive state in which the UE is connected to the eNB in the state that the eNB has not deleted the UE (e.g., UE context);
transmit, at timing when the second wireless communication device may receive
data in the second mode(see par.0687-0689), a code related to message authentication and first data, to the second wireless communication device via a downlink channel, by allocating the code related to message authentication and the first data to the downlink channel (see par. 0712, 0758).
Kim does not explicitly disclose downlink channel does not accompany a corresponding uplink channel.
Kompella discloses discloses by allocating the code related to message authentication and the first data to the downlink channel that downlink channel does not accompany a corresponding uplink channel(see par. 0141, 0153), where the UE may send downlink channel; making, by the base station, a gratuitous grant, to the UE, of resources on the uplink channel for the UE to transmit a response message on the uplink channel, wherein the response message is responsive to the request message and wherein the gratuitous grant is made without waiting for a request from the UE for a grant of resources on the uplink channel for the UE to transmit the response message on the uplink channel) .Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the claimed to incorporate the teaching of Kompella into the system of Kim , thus enabling gratuitous grant is made without waiting for a request from the UE for a grant of resources on the uplink channel for the UE to transmit the response message on the uplink channel.
As per claim 5, Kompella discloses The first wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein the downlink channel includes identification information that identifies the second wireless communication device(see par. 0041, 0153).
As per claim 10, Kompella discloses the first wireless communication device according to claim 1, wherein the first data includes data of equal to or smaller than a predetermined size(see par. 0068, 0092)
Conclusion
/ABDULLAHI E SALAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466