DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-7, and 14, of U.S. Patent No. 12,127,656. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent "anticipate" the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claim. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "blade-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mourad (US 2008/02236604).
Regarding claim 1, Mourad discloses a hair styling apparatus comprising
a first arm and a second arm (32, 34) pivotally coupled together and moveable between an open position and a closed position (Figure 3 and 3A), an inner wall of the first arm is arranged to face an inner wall of the second arm (36, 38), wherein the first arm and the second arm are arranged to receive hair within a cavity therebetween (paragraph 36), wherein the cavity is formed between the first arm and the second arm in the closed position, and wherein at least one of the first arm and second arm comprise a plenum, said plenum comprising an air inlet for receiving airflow from a fan unit and an air outlet configured to direct airflow towards the cavity (The cross-sectional diagram shown in Figure 3A of Mourad, shows that each arm includes an air duct through which air is forced by a fan; Paragraph [0040] of Mourad explains that: "The air passageway 42 has an elongate air outlet 52 which is parallel to the arm 32 and extends along the side of the hair receiving surface 36". The air outlet 52 is configured to blow air into the cavity "across the hair receiving surface 36 and thus substantially along the length of hair placed perpendicular to the arm 32 on the surface 36". Therefore, at least one arm of Mourad's hair styling apparatus has a plenum (air passageway) comprising an air inlet that receives airflow from the fan and an outlet 52 that directs such airflow towards the cavity).
Regarding claim 2, the air outlet (52) is configured to emit blade-like airflow towards the cavity (52 is a narrow slot which is interpreted to create blade like airflow; Figure 3A).
Regarding claim 3, the air outlet (52) is configured to direct laminar airflow towards the cavity (laminar airflow is interpreted as airflow in parallel layers; Mourad teaches a narrow slot, the narrow slot it will be interpreted as laminar airflow).
Regarding claim 4, the air outlet (52) is adapted to direct airflow into the cavity and towards an exhaust port, wherein the cavity functions as an expansion chamber for the incoming airflow, and wherein the exhaust port is for moisture droplets and the expanded airflow to exit the cavity. Even though Mourad does not explicitly disclose that air flowing inside the air passage does so with higher pressure than atmospheric pressure, it is clear that the airflow inside the air passage must be at a higher pressure than atmospheric pressure because airflow must move from an area of high pressure to an area of low pressure, otherwise there would be no movement of air as the air exits the air outlet, it will move into the cavity that is at atmospheric pressure. Since the cavity is at atmospheric pressure, the air flow will expand into the cavity and thus the cavity acts as an expansion chamber for the air flow.
Regarding claim 5, the air outlet (52) comprises a channel from the plenum (air ducts) that terminates with an aperture into the cavity (space between arms 32, 34), and wherein hair received within the cavity is straightened primarily by high pressure airflow (paragraph 43).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the air outlet (52) is located towards an upper portion of at least one of the first and second arms and directs airflow generally downwards (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the airflow is laminar and vanes (paragraph 43 “the air exiting the elongate air outlet is deflected by a shroud 53 across the hair receiving surface” are located along the air outlet and angled to control the orientation of the laminar airflow (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the hair styling apparatus is provided with a hair clamp comprising a pair of clamping members (i.e. paragraph 41 teaches 36, 38 are spring loaded) for gripping hair, each clamping member having a clamping face for contacting hair.
Regarding claim 13, wherein hair within the cavity but directly below the hair clamp has a freedom of movement within the volume of the cavity (see Figures 3 and 3A; paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the freedom of movement within the volume of the cavity is limited only by the hair clamp (i.e. spring-loaded plates 36, 38).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the air outlet (52) is located below the hair clamp (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the air outlet is a slot (52), and wherein the slot is located in parallel alignment with a longitudinal axis of the first and/or second arms and is disposed in proximity to an upper edge of the arm (see Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mourad (US 2008/0236604).
Mourad discloses the claimed invention except for an airflow temperature in the cavity is around 130-170°C and a temperature of the clamping face of each clamping member is lower than the temperature of the airflow; wherein the airflow temperature in the cavity is between 140°C and 160°C. However, one having ordinary skill in the art would find the parameters of the airflow temperature to be deemed matters of design choice, will within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Regarding claim 17, the air outlet comprises a channel between the plenum and the cavity, the inner wall of the first and/or second arms having a rounded configuration to change the direction of the airflow as it exits the plenum and enters the channel. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the inner wall of the first and/or second arms be made with a rounded configuration to change the direction of the airflow as it exits the plenum and enters the channel, since it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a rounded or flat configuration to direct the airflow.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mourad (US 2008/0236604) in view of Weatherly et al. (US 2014/0338691).
Mourad discloses the claimed invention except for the clamping face is free of heated plates. Weatherly et al. teaches a clamping face wherein part of the clamping face has heated plate (16) and part of the clamping face is free of heated plates (14) see Figure 7b to create a cooling zone for haircare. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the device of Mourad be made with a clamping plate free of heated plates as taught by Weatherly et al. to allow for a hair cooling section.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
2/2/2026