DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
3. This office action is in response to Amendments and Remarks filed on 08/04/2026 for application number 18/892,676 filed on 09/23/2024, in which claims 1-10 were previously presented for examination.
4. Claim(s) 5-10 has/have been canceled, and claim(s) 1, and 4 has/have been amended. Accordingly, claim(s) 1-4 is/are currently pending.
Priority
5. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2023-175139, filed on 10/10/2023.
Examiner Notes
6. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
8. Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been addressed in the new rejection outlined below.
9. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
11. Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
12. Claim 4 recites “the information” limitations in lines 9, 11-13, and 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is not clear if the said “information” limitations refer to “a first information” limitation in line 3 of claim 1 or “a second information” limitation in line 5 of claim 1, or if being a different information. For the purpose of prior art rejection, the limitation was interpreted as “the second information.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claim(s) 1 and 4
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordbruch (US-20170212510-A1) in view of Fawaz et al. (US-20190143996-A1).
In regard to claim 1
, Nordbruch discloses a vehicle identification method for identifying a target vehicle including (Nordbruch, in at least [0044 & 0049], discloses a method for localizing a motor vehicle which is localization of the predetermined motor vehicle within a digital map of the parking lot. Examiner notes, localizing a motor vehicle encompasses identifying a target vehicle):
in a management system, generating first information that cause vehicles to perform a first action (Nordbruch, in at least Figs. 2-3, and [0024 & 0058-0060 & 0076], discloses an apparatus 201 [i.e., a management system] for localizing a motor vehicle. Provision is made to transmit, via a wireless communication network configured within parking lot 301, a request that is meant for motor vehicle 309. The request [i.e., first information] encompasses the fact that motor vehicle 309 is to carry out a predetermined action [i.e., cause vehicles to perform a first action]. Examiner notes, to transmit a request, it must be necessarily generated);
in the management system, generating second information (Nordbruch, in at least Figs. 2-3, and [0024 & 0058-0060 & 0076], discloses an apparatus 201 [i.e., the management system] for localizing a motor vehicle. Provision is made to transmit, via a wireless communication network configured within parking lot 301, a request that is meant for motor vehicle 309. The request encompasses the fact that motor vehicle 309 is to carry out a predetermined action. A communication via the wireless communication network respectively becomes or is encrypted. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, Nordbruch discloses the communication via the wireless network is encrypted. That is, the management system encrypts the messages for transmission over the network. Encrypting the first information, in the management system, results in generating the second information. Accordingly, the second information is generated based on the first information);
transmitting the second information from the management system to one vehicle (Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, and [0024 & 0076], discloses provision is made to transmit, via a wireless communication network configured within parking lot 301, a request that is meant for motor vehicle 309 [i.e., transmitting … from the management system to one vehicle]. The request encompasses the fact that motor vehicle 309 is to carry out a predetermined action. A communication via the wireless communication network respectively becomes or is encrypted. Examiner notes, as mentioned above in regard to the previous limitation, the first information is encrypted and the result is the second information, which is transmitted over a wireless network to motor vehicle 309. Accordingly, Nordbruch discloses transmitting the second information from the management system to one vehicle);
in the one vehicle, determining the first information based on the second information (Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, and [0024 & 0078], discloses motor vehicle 309 knows upon reception of the request that it is meant for motor vehicle 309. Motor vehicle 309 will thus carry out the predetermined action in response to reception of the request. A communication via the wireless communication network respectively becomes or is encrypted. Examiner notes, for an encrypted request to be carried out by a vehicle, the request must be decrypted. That means the one vehicle decrypts the second information. As mentioned above in regard to the previous limitations, the second information contains the first information. Accordingly, decrypting the second information is determining the first information based on the second information);
causing the one vehicle to perform an action using the first information (Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, and [0078], discloses motor vehicle 309 knows upon reception of the request that it is meant for motor vehicle 309. Motor vehicle 309 will thus carry out the predetermined action [i.e., causing the one vehicle to perform an action using the first information] in response to reception of the request);
in the management system, determining, through a sensor, whether the action performed by the one vehicle is the first action (Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, and [0078-0079], discloses parking lot 301 is monitored by way of a surroundings sensor suite encompassing one or more surroundings sensors [i.e., through a sensor], so that based on the monitoring it is possible to identify whether one of the motor vehicles that is located within parking lot 301 is carrying out or has carried out the predetermined action [i.e., whether the action performed by the one vehicle is the first action]); and
upon determination that the one vehicle performs the first action, in the management system, identifying the one vehicle as the target vehicle (Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, [0054 & 0077-0081], discloses motor vehicle 309 [i.e., the one vehicle] knows upon reception of the request that it is meant for motor vehicle 309. Motor vehicle 309 will thus carry out the predetermined action [i.e., the first action] in response to reception of the request. The predetermined action encompasses illumination of a headlight. This means that motor vehicle 309 is requested to operate a headlight in such a way that the latter lights up. This action in particular is identified by way of one or more cameras of a parking lot monitoring infrastructure. In other words, a check is made as to whether the headlight belongs to the motor vehicle that a parking lot management system presumes is the “automated valet parking” or AVP motor vehicle. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the parking lot is monitored by one or more camera and the vehicle that performs the predetermined action is identified. Accordingly, Nordbruch discloses upon determination that the one vehicle performs the first action, in the management system, identifying the one vehicle as the target vehicle).
While Nordbruch discloses a communication via the wireless communication network respectively becomes or is encrypted ([0024]), Nordbruch does not explicitly disclose generating second information that causes the vehicles to perform a second action, different from the first action;
using a first key,
using a second key associated with the first key.
However, Fawaz teaches generating second information that causes the vehicles to perform a second action, different from the first action (Fawaz, in at least Figs. 1-3, and [0039 & 0058 & 0068 & 0075], teaches remote facility 80 are used in part to facilitate or coordinate information sent between vehicle 12 and one or more client devices, such as mobile device 90 or computer 78. A “client device” is any device that includes a vehicle-device application that is used to control the vehicle or at least send vehicle function requests to the vehicle. The vehicle receives the vehicle function request (or vehicle command request). The vehicle function request is sent to the vehicle via cellular carrier system 70. In response to receiving a vehicle function request, the vehicle 12 determines whether the vehicle function request is permitted to be carried out. One or more requested vehicle functions are obtained from the vehicle function request. Examiner nots, as mentioned above, Fawaz teaches sending a request, or the second information, to a vehicle to perform a vehicle function, or an action. Fawaz also teaches including more than one vehicle function, or action, in a request, including vehicle functions that the vehicle is not permitted to carry out. To transmit a vehicle function request, that includes at least two different function requests, the vehicle function request must be necessarily generated. As such, Fawaz teaches generating second information that causes the vehicles to perform a second action, different from the first action);
using a first key (Fawaz, in at least Figs. 1-3, and [0043 & 0048 & 0075], teaches vehicle 12 comprises a body control module (BCM) 26 which includes one or more certificates or encryption keys [i.e., using a first key, especially when asymmetric encryption, or public-key cryptography that uses a pair of keys to encrypt and decrypt data, is utilized for encryption] that are used to authenticate one or more vehicle devices or other devices. The vehicle function request is decrypted using one or more keys, which are established through a handshaking process with mobile device 90 or desktop computer 78. The vehicle function request is verified and/or authenticated when received),
using a second key associated with the first key (Fawaz, in at least Figs. 1-3, and [0075], teaches the vehicle function request is decrypted using one or more keys [i.e., using a second key associated with the first key, especially when asymmetric encryption, or public-key cryptography that uses a pair of keys to encrypt and decrypt data, is utilized for encryption], which are established through a handshaking process with mobile device 90 or desktop computer 78. The vehicle function request is verified and/or authenticated when received).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nordbruch in view of Fawaz with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicles – and choose a function that the vehicle is permitted to carry out as the first action and a function that the vehicle is not permitted to perform as the second action and generate a request by encrypting the actions using a first key and transmit the request to the vehicle which is decrypted by the vehicle by using the second key which is associated with the first key and the combination would provide for entering a vehicle state that is either required or desired while communicating information securely (Fawaz, see at least [0013 & 0048]).
In regard to claim 4
, Nordbruch, as modified by Non-patent Literature Wikipedia, teaches the vehicle identification method according to claim 1, wherein
the management system comprises:
a plurality of local management devices provided in a plurality of areas where vehicles enter and exit (Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, and [0059-0062], discloses apparatus 201 [i.e., a local management device among a plurality of local management devices] encompasses: a communication interface 203 for transmitting via a wireless communication network configured within a parking lot [i.e., in a plurality of areas where vehicles enter and exit], for a predetermined motor vehicle, a request that the predetermined motor vehicle carry out a predetermined action. A checking device 205 for checking, after transmission of the request, whether a motor vehicle located within the parking lot is carrying out or has carried out the predetermined action. An authentication device 207 for authenticating the motor vehicle as the predetermined motor vehicle that is carrying out or has carried out the predetermined action. Examiner notes, a parking lot is an area where vehicles enter and exit);
the plurality of local management devices includes a target local management device provided in a target area where the one vehicle enters and exits (Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, and [0059-0060], discloses apparatus 201 [i.e., a target local management device] encompasses: a communication interface 203 for transmitting via a wireless communication network configured within a parking lot [i.e., a target area where the one vehicle enters and exits], for a predetermined motor vehicle, a request that the predetermined motor vehicle carry out a predetermined action. A checking device 205 for checking, after transmission of the request, whether a motor vehicle located within the parking lot is carrying out or has carried out the predetermined action), and
the vehicle identification method further includes (Nordbruch, in at least [0044 & 0049], discloses a method for localizing a motor vehicle which is localization of the predetermined motor vehicle within a digital map of the parking lot. Examiner notes, localizing a motor vehicle is identifying a vehicle):
(Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, and [0059-0060], discloses apparatus 201 encompasses: a communication interface 203 for transmitting via a wireless communication network configured within a parking lot, for a predetermined motor vehicle, a request [i.e., managing the information indicating … the first action] that the predetermined motor vehicle carry out a predetermined action);
(Nordbruch, in at least Figs. 2-3, and [0024 & 0058-0060 & 0076], discloses an apparatus 201 for localizing a motor vehicle. Provision is made to transmit, via a wireless communication network configured within parking lot 301, a request that is meant for motor vehicle 309. The request encompasses the fact that motor vehicle 309 is to carry out a predetermined action. A communication via the wireless communication network respectively becomes or is encrypted. Examiner notes, for a request to be transmitted, the request must be necessarily generated. Furthermore, as suggested by Nordbruch, the communication is encrypted which encompasses in the center management device, generating the information indicating the second action from the information indicating the first action);
transmitting the information indicating the second action to the target local management device (Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, and [0060 & 0076], discloses a communication interface 203 [i.e., the target local management device] for transmitting via a wireless communication network configured within a parking lot, for a predetermined motor vehicle, a request that the predetermined motor vehicle carry out a predetermined action. Provision is made to transmit, via a wireless communication network configured within parking lot 301, a request [i.e., transmitting the information indicating the second action from the center management device] that is meant for motor vehicle 309. The request encompasses the fact that motor vehicle 309 is to carry out a predetermined action. Examiner notes, for a request to be transmitted via a wireless communication network, the request must be sent to the communication interface 203 and then the message is transmitted wirelessly. As such, Nordbruch teaches transmitting the information indicating the second action from the center management device to the target local management device);
transmitting the information indicating the second action from the target local management device to the one vehicle (Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, and [0076], discloses provision is made to transmit, via a wireless communication network configured within parking lot 301, a request that is meant for motor vehicle 309 [i.e., transmitting the information indicating the second action]. The request encompasses the fact that motor vehicle 309 [i.e., the one vehicle] is to carry out a predetermined action);
in the target local management device, detecting an action performed by a vehicle using the sensor (Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, and [0078-0079], discloses parking lot 301 is monitored by way of a surroundings sensor suite encompassing one or more surroundings sensors [i.e., in the target local management device, detecting an action performed by a vehicle using the sensor], so that based on the monitoring it is possible to identify whether one of the motor vehicles that is located within parking lot 301 is carrying out or has carried out the predetermined action [i.e., action performed by a vehicle]);
transmitting information of the action performed by the vehicle (Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, and [0078-0079], discloses parking lot 301 is monitored by way of a surroundings sensor suite encompassing one or more surroundings sensors, so that based on the monitoring it is possible to identify whether one of the motor vehicles that is located within parking lot 301 is carrying out or has carried out the predetermined action. Examiner notes, the information gathered by the sensor suite must be necessarily sent to a management device to determine whether the action was taken by the target vehicle or not. That is, transmitting information of the action performed by the vehicle from the target local management device to the center management device); and
(Nordbruch, in at least Fig. 3, [0077-0081], discloses the request can also be received by motor vehicle 307. But because this request is not meant for motor vehicle 307, the latter will not carry out that predetermined action. Motor vehicle 309 knows upon reception of the request that it is meant for motor vehicle 309. Motor vehicle 309 will thus carry out the predetermined action in response to reception of the request. The predetermined action encompasses, for example, illumination of a headlight. This means that motor vehicle 309 is requested to operate a headlight in such a way that the latter lights up. This action in particular can very easily be identified by way of one or more cameras of a parking lot monitoring infrastructure. In other words, a check is made as to whether the headlight belongs to the motor vehicle that a parking lot management system presumes is the AVP motor vehicle [i.e., identifying the vehicle performing the first action as the one vehicle and not identifying the vehicle performing the second action as the one vehicle]. Examiner notes, the vehicle is identified by being monitored for performing the first actions).
Further, Fawaz teaches a plurality of local management devices, and a center management device managing the plurality of local management devices, and from the target local management device to the center management device (Fawaz, in at least Figs. 1-3, and [0037], teaches computers 78 is some of a number of computers [i.e., a plurality of local management devices] accessible via a private or public network such as the Internet. Each such computer 78 is used for one or more purposes, such as a remote server accessible by vehicle 12. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, Fawaz teaches utilizing a number of computers for generating a distributed network. As such, the functionality of the management system of Nordbruch is easily expandable by using a remote server, or a center management device, and a plurality of local management devices that are in communication with the center management device),
the first key (Fawaz, in at least Figs. 1-3, and [0043 & 0048 & 0075], teaches vehicle 12 comprises a body control module (BCM) 26 which includes one or more certificates or encryption keys [i.e., the first key, especially when asymmetric encryption, or public-key cryptography that uses a pair of keys to encrypt and decrypt data, is utilized for encryption] that are used to authenticate one or more vehicle devices or other devices. The vehicle function request is decrypted using one or more keys, which are established through a handshaking process with mobile device 90 or desktop computer 78. The vehicle function request is verified and/or authenticated when received);
using the first key (Fawaz, in at least Figs. 1-3, and [0043 & 0048 & 0075], teaches vehicle 12 comprises a body control module (BCM) 26 which includes one or more certificates or encryption keys [i.e., using a first key, especially when asymmetric encryption, or public-key cryptography that uses a pair of keys to encrypt and decrypt data, is utilized for encryption] that are used to authenticate one or more vehicle devices or other devices. The vehicle function request is decrypted using one or more keys, which are established through a handshaking process with mobile device 90 or desktop computer 78. The vehicle function request is verified and/or authenticated when received),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nordbruch, as already modified by Fawaz, further in view of Fawaz with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicles – and use a remote server that handles the functionality of Nordbruch’s invention and manages a plurality of local management devices to transmit the gathered data to the remote server and use asymmetric encryption and decryption keys and the combination would provide for secure communication over a wireless network.
15. Claim(s) 2-3
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordbruch (US-20170212510-A1) in view of Fawaz et al. (US-20190143996-A1) and further in view of Nölscher et al. (US-20200029209-A1).
In regard to claim 2
, Nordbruch, as modified by Fawaz, teaches the vehicle identification method according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
While Nordbruch discloses a communication via the wireless communication network respectively becomes or is encrypted (See at least [0024]), and Fawaz teaches the vehicle 12 includes a body control module 26 that includes one or more certificates or encryption keys that are used to authenticate one or more vehicle devices or other devices to communicate information securely (See at least Fig. 1, and [0043-0044 & 0048]), Nordbruch, as modified by Fawaz, does not explicitly teach wherein the first key and the second key are common keys.
However, Nölscher teaches wherein the first key and the second key are common keys (Nölscher, in at least Figs. 1-6, and [0037 & 0063], teaches encryption engine 234 performs asymmetric encryption techniques, such as Rivest-Shamir-Adleman (RSA) encryption, to prevent replay attacks. An asymmetric public key private key pair for ruse with RSA [i.e., the first key and the second key are common keys], or similar, encryption is generated by processing logic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nordbruch, as already modified Fawaz, in view of Nölscher with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicles – and use an asymmetric public key private key pair for encrypting and decrypting the communication between the vehicle and the apparatus of Nordbruch and the combination would provide for establishing trusted and reliable channels of authenticated wireless communication between vehicle and other vehicles and network equipment (Nölscher, see at least [0014]).
In regard to claim 3
, Nordbruch, as modified by Fawaz, teaches the vehicle identification method according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
While Nordbruch discloses a communication via the wireless communication network respectively becomes or is encrypted (See at least [0024]), and Fawaz teaches the vehicle 12 includes a body control module 26 that includes one or more certificates or encryption keys that are used to authenticate one or more vehicle devices or other devices to communicate information securely (See at least Fig. 1, and [0043-0044 & 0048]), Nordbruch, as modified by Fawaz, does not explicitly teach further including:
in the target vehicle, generating a public key that is the first key and a private key that is the second key;
transmitting information of the public key that is the first key from the target vehicle to the management system.
However, Nölscher teaches further including:
in the target vehicle, generating a public key that is the first key and a private key that is the second key (Nölscher, in at least Fig. 2, and [0040], teaches the parameter generation includes the establishment and sharing of asymmetric session encryption keys, sharing of public keys with private keys secured by vehicle 202 and node 250 [i.e., in the target vehicle, generating a public key that is the first key and a private key that is the second key]. Subsequent communications and data exchanged between vehicle 202 and node 250 is secured using the negotiated session parameters or the encryption key(s). Examiner notes, establishment and sharing of asymmetric session encryption keys encompasses generating a public key that is the first key and a private key that is the second key); and
transmitting information of the public key that is the first key from the target vehicle to the management system (Nölscher, in at least Fig. 2, and [0040], teaches the parameter generation includes the establishment and sharing of asymmetric session encryption keys, sharing of public keys with private keys secured by vehicle 202 [i.e., transmitting information of the public key that is the first key from the target vehicle to the management system] and node 250. Subsequent communications and data exchanged between vehicle 202 and node 250 is secured using the negotiated session parameters or the encryption key(s). Examiner notes, sharing the public key secured by the vehicle encompasses transmitting information of the public key that is the first key from the target vehicle to the management system. Furthermore, a public key, as implied by its name, is public and advertised publicly and everyone, including the management system has access to it).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nordbruch, as already modified by Fawaz, in view of Nölscher with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicles – and provide the public key to other devices, such as the management system, and the combination would provide for establishing trusted and reliable channels of authenticated wireless communication between vehicle and other vehicles and network equipment (Nölscher, see at least [0014]).
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lemmer et al. (US-20180101171-A1) teaches a team of autonomous vehicles to perform a designated set of tasks.
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/Tarek Elarabi, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661