DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on October 10, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 12-15 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 10, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
distance D as described in line 17 of page 9.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “conveying mechanism” in claims 1-3, 8 and “drive component” in claims 1-3, 8.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Note the structure of the conveying mechanism is described on page 8, lines 28-31. Additionally the structure of the drive component is described on page 6, line 23 and page 9, lines 7-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the carried board" in line 8 There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because only “a first board” and “a second board” have been previously recited. Furthermore, this language is unclear in scope and meaning because it is not clear which, if any, of the previously recited boards applicant is intending to refer to.
With respect to claim 3, the phrase “the conveying mechanism is capable of conveying the first board and the second board in a first direction” is somewhat confusing since claim 1 only previously recited that the conveying mechanism was used to carry the first board
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the carried boards" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, the term “the upper surfaces” in line 4 also does not have proper antecedent basis since no upper surfaces of the board(s) were previously recited. Additionally the phrase “of the board” in line 4 is also unclear in scope and meaning since multiple boards were previously recited and it is unclear which board is being referred to.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mantani et al. (US 2019/0118525 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Mantani et al. teaches a printing system 1 for printing a first board 10 and a second board 10 (see Figs. 1 and 3), the printing system comprising:
a conveying mechanism 6b, the conveying mechanism 6b being used to carry the first board 10;
a vacuum device 5a, 5b, 5c, the vacuum device being used to carry the second board 10; and
a drive component 30, 34, the drive component driving at least one of the conveying mechanism 6b and the vacuum device 5a, 5b, 5c to enable the conveying mechanism or the vacuum device to drive the carried board. See, in particular, Figures 2, 9-10, 16, and 17A-17B and paragraphs [0078], [0083]-[0084], and [0087]-[0111].
With respect to claim 8, Mantani et al. teaches a stencil 22, the stencil being arranged above the conveying mechanism 6b; wherein the drive component 30, 34 is configured to enable the conveying mechanism 6b and the vacuum device 5a, 5b, 5c to drive the carried boards 10 to make the upper surfaces of the board 10 move close to a lower surface of the stencil, as shown in Figures 9-10 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantani et al. (US 2019/0118525 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cobb (US 3,812,779).
With respect to claim 2, Mantani et al. teach a printing system as recited including the drive component being connected to the vacuum device to enable the drive component to drive the vacuum device to move, but fails to specifically teach the printing system includes a clutch mechanism as recited. However, Cobb teaches the provision of a clutch mechanism that engages a drive component such as a motor to enable the drive component to drive a conveying mechanism to move is well known in the art, as exemplified by the clutch 39 and drive component 32 for the conveyor 24-26, as described in Cobb in column 3, lines 33-66, column 6, lines 21-29 and shown in Figure 2. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a clutch mechanism as taught by Cobb in the system of Mantani et al. to provide a mechanism that engages the drive component with the clutch mechanism to enable the drive component to drive the conveying mechanism to move to allow for controlled conveying of the boards through the device.
With respect to claim 3, note Mantani et al. teaches the conveying mechanism 6b is capable of conveying the first board 10 and second board 10 in a first direction (i.e., the horizontal transport direction) and the drive component 30, 34 is capable of driving the vacuum device 5a, 5b, 5c to move in a second direction (i.e., the vertical transport direction).
With respect to claim 4, note Mantani et al. teaches the conveying mechanism 6b comprises a pair of conveying mechanisms (see Figures 17A-17B which illustrate the pair of conveying mechanisms--one located under each end of the holder 9 adjacent the clamps 7) with the vacuum device 5a, 5b, 5c located between the pair of conveying portions.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mantani et al. (US 2019/0118525 A1) in view of Cobb (US 3,812,779) as applied to claims 2-4 above, and further in view of Gong et al. (US 2020/0383212 A).
With respect to claim 5, Mantani et al. as modified by Cobb teach a printing system as recited with the exception of the boards including identification codes and the printing system including an identification device configured to identify the identification codes to obtain parameter information. However, Gong et al. teaches the provision of using a scanner to obtain identification codes from PCBs in order to obtain parameter information (such as board length, width, thickness, etc.) before printing, as described in paragraphs [0015] and [0022] of Gong et al. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Mantani et al. as modified to include boards with codes and a reader device to read the codes as taught by Gong et al. to allow for identification of the board properties for the individual boards and to provide individualized control of the printing process dependent upon these board properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 9-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 6, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest a printing system having all of the structure as recited, in combination with and particularly including, a control device, the control device being configured to be capable of receiving the parameter information obtained by the identification device and controlling the drive component and the clutch mechanism according to the parameter information.
With respect to claim 9 in particular, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest a printing system having all of the structure as recite, in combination with and particularly including, the clutch mechanism comprising at least one clamp, each of the at least one clamp being connected to the drive component to enable the drive component to drive the clamp to move; and at least one guide rod, the at least one guide rod being arranged corresponding to the at least one clamp, and each of the at least one guide rod being connected to the conveying mechanism; wherein each of the at least one clamp is configured to be capable of clamping and releasing the corresponding guide rod to enable the drive component to engage with or disengage from the conveying mechanism.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Horie et al. (US 2015/0321464 A1) and Tanaka (JP 2011-031588 A) each teach a printing system including a conveying mechanism and vacuum device having similarities to the claimed subject matter that are readily apparent.
/Leslie J Thompson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853