DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on September 23, 2024. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and examined below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. US2023/0057912 (“Yoon”).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 10. Yoon discloses an abnormality determination device comprising (para. 42, the first extraction unit 220 may be configured to determine that the cell 10 is operating abnormally and stop operation of the cell.):
a battery pack mounted on a mobile object, and including a sulfide-based all-solid-state battery and a housing in which the sulfide-based all-solid-state battery is housed (para. 13, the present invention provides a system of estimating a state of health of an all-solid-state battery that may include the all-solid-state battery including a plurality of cells and a hydrogen sulfide sensor configured to measure an amount or an increase rate of generated hydrogen sulfide in each cell);
a hydrogen sulfide sensor that outputs a signal indicating a concentration of hydrogen sulfide in the battery pack (para. 33, the hydrogen sulfide sensor 50 is a thin film-type gas sensor. A known gas sensor may be used as the hydrogen sulfide sensor 50, and the sensing unit 52 may be a thin film containing zirconium (Zr), tin (Sn) or the like. When the hydrogen sulfide sensor 50 is disposed between the sealing portion 32 of the casing 30,); and
a determination unit that determines whether the battery pack has an abnormality, by using an output value of the hydrogen sulfide sensor, wherein the determination unit determines that the battery pack has an abnormality, when the output value is larger than a threshold value (para. 43, para, 64-68), and determines whether the battery pack has an abnormality, by using, as the threshold value, a value that varies depending on a state of the mobile object (para. 64, fter estimation of the state of health through collection of the current-voltage data during charging of the all-solid-state battery and the collection of full-charge capacity data, whether hydrogen sulfide is generated in the all-solid-state battery is detected by the first extraction unit 220 (S202). The generation of hydrogen sulfide may be detected by the hydrogen sulfide sensor 50 provided in each cell 10, and data on the amount of hydrogen sulfide that is generated, measured by the hydrogen sulfide sensor 50, is collected (S204).).
Regarding claim(s) 2. Yoon discloses wherein a cooler that cools the battery pack is mounted on the mobile object, while the cooler is in operation, the determination unit determines that the battery pack has an abnormality, when the output value is larger than a first threshold value, while the cooler is not in operation, the determination unit determines that the battery pack has an abnormality, when the output value is larger than a second threshold value, and the second threshold value is larger than the first threshold value (para. 43, The first extraction unit 220 may be configured to extract the amount of hydrogen sulfide generated in real time measured by the hydrogen sulfide sensor 50 and to calculate the rate of increase in the amount of hydrogen sulfide based on the change in the amount of hydrogen sulfide that is generated over time. In addition, when the calculated amount of hydrogen sulfide that is generated exceeds a preset hydrogen sulfide threshold, the first extraction unit 220 may be configured to determine that the cell 10 is operating abnormally and stop operation of the cell.).
Regarding claim(s) 3. Yoon discloses wherein the mobile object comprises a vehicle (para. 3, use in a vehicle), while the vehicle is stopped, the determination unit determines that the battery pack has an abnormality, when the output value is larger than a first threshold value, while the vehicle travels, the determination unit determines that the battery pack has an abnormality, when the output value is larger than a second threshold value, and the second threshold value is larger than the first threshold value (para. 65-58, When the amount of hydrogen sulfide that has been generated is less than the hydrogen sulfide threshold, the state-of-health of the all-solid-state battery may be estimated by the state-of-health estimation unit 260 based on the collected data on the generated amount of hydrogen sulfide (S210). As described above, the state of health is estimated by comparing the SOH value as a function of the amount of hydrogen sulfide generated in a certain cell with the value shown in a table prepared in advance.)
Regarding claim(s) 4. Yoon discloses wherein when a vehicle stoppage time of the vehicle having elapsed from transition of the vehicle from a system-stopped state to a system-activated state is a predetermined time or less and the output value is larger than the first threshold value, the determination unit determines that the battery pack has an abnormality (para. 47, The state-of-health estimation unit 260 may be configured to estimate the state of health of the all-solid-state battery based on the data collected by the first extraction unit 220 and the second extraction unit 240.).
Regarding claim(s) 5. Yoon discloses wherein the abnormality determination device further comprises a notification unit that makes a notification, when the determination unit determines that the battery pack has an abnormality, of occurrence of the abnormality (para. 49, The state-of-health estimation unit 260 may be configured to estimate the state of health through the discharge capacity factor based on the full-charge capacity data extracted from the second extraction unit 240. The discharge capacity factor may be extracted from the result of integrating the current of the cell 10 from full-charge (SoC of 100) to full-discharge (SoC of 0). A look-up table in which state-of-health values of the battery corresponding to the discharge capacity factors are stored may be obtained through experimentation in advance, and this data is stored in the information-processing-and-storing unit 280.).
Regarding claim(s) 6. Yoon discloses wherein the mobile object comprises a vehicle, and the determination unit is activated each time a predetermined time has elapsed while the vehicle is in a system-stopped state, and determines that the battery pack has an abnormality when the output value is larger than the threshold value (para. 31, The hydrogen sulfide sensor 50 may include a sensing unit 52 and a signaling unit 54. The sensing unit 52 may be configured to detect the amount of hydrogen sulfide generated in the all-solid-state battery cell 10, and the signaling unit 54 may be configured to transmit information regarding the detected amount of hydrogen sulfide to the outside in real time.).
Regarding claim(s) 7. Yoon discloses wherein the abnormality determination device further comprises a communication unit capable of communicating with a terminal, and when the determination unit determines that the battery pack has an abnormality, the communication unit transmits, to the terminal, information that the battery pack has the abnormality (para. 31-36, the signaling unit 54 may be configured to transmit information regarding the detected amount of hydrogen sulfide to the outside in real time.).
Regarding claim(s) 8. Yoon discloses wherein the battery pack is capable of undergoing external charging by an external power supply external to the vehicle, and the determination unit determines whether the battery pack has an abnormality, while the external charging of the battery pack is performed (para. 45-46, The second extraction unit 240 may also be configured to extract factors for estimating the state of health of the all-solid-state battery, and in particular, to extract factors based on the electrochemical reaction. More specifically, the second extraction unit 240 may be configured to collect current-voltage data during charging of the battery and to collect full-charge capacity data of the all-solid-state battery.).
Regarding claim(s) 9. Yoon discloses wherein the abnormality determination device further comprises: a communication unit capable of communicating with a terminal; and a notification unit, and when the determination unit determines that the battery pack has an abnormality, the determination unit makes a notification that the battery pack has the abnormality, by using the notification unit, and transmits, to the terminal, information that the battery pack has the abnormality, by using the communication unit (para. 50, [0050] The state-of-health estimation unit 260 may be configured to estimate the state of health of the battery through the current-voltage data during charging, extracted from the second extraction unit 240. The second extraction unit 240 may be configured to extract the internal resistance of the cell 10 based on the current-voltage data during charging. Using Ohm's law, the internal resistance is calculated from a voltage change signal as a function of a certain current value. Estimation of the state of health of the battery is based on the fact that as aging of the cell 10 progresses, the internal resistance of the battery increases. In other words, the state-of-health estimation unit 260 contains a comparison reference for each cell specification.).
Inquiry
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658