DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,362 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims and the patented claims are very similar in scope.
As an example, pending claim 1 is rejectable by the patented claims 1 and 11 because the patented claims are narrower than the pending claim.
Claim Objections
Regarding claim 11, recites the limitation “outputting directionally informative assistance information to the responding entity via a device associated with the responding entity” in lines 3-4 is similar to the limitation “presenting, to a responding entity via an augmented reality output device associated with the responding entity, the condition data and the location data, wherein the augmented reality output device presents the location data as directionally informative assistance to the responding entity” in the last clause of claim 1. For example, “a device associated with the responding entity” is analogous to “an augmented reality output device associated with the responding entity”.
Please review and consider to amend appropriately.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-11 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beller (Pat. No.: US 10,026,279 B1) in view of Simpkinson (Pub. No.: US 2020/0167569 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Beller teaches a system (Fig. 1, system 100), comprising:
a processor; and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor of the system (Fig. 7, Col. 12 line 5-12 “The user mobile device 130 and/or the first responder's device 140 and/or the server 150 may include one or more processors 902, one or more computer-readable RAMs 904, one or more computer-readable ROMs 906, one or more computer readable storage media 908,”), facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
associating a rescue tag with a victim identity of a victim in need of rescue (Fig. 1, Col. 3 line 4-8, “The system then identifies users at risk. The user's mobile device transmits personal information such as age, gender, medical conditions, and other data that the mobile device is able to collect.”. The server 150 associates the user’s mobile device 130 with the user’s person information);
collecting, via the rescue tag, condition data associated with a condition of the victim (Col. 5 line 42-49, “When a wearable device 132 is present, real-time data such as heartbeat, temperature, number of steps taken, number of calories burned, and other such biometric capabilities are transmitted to the user real-time condition module 170, via the network 110. The user real-time condition module 170 collects the real-time user data in order to determine the current condition of the user.”. The server 150 collects user medical data from the user’s mobile device 130);
obtaining location data related to a location of the rescue tag (Col. 5, line 37-39, “The user real-time condition module 170 receives real-time data from the user mobile device 130, such as location and user inputted information, via the network 110.”. The server 150 obtains user location data from the user’s mobile device 130);
maintaining the location data in association with the condition data (Col. 5 line 52-58, “The user real-time condition module 170 is able to detect changing user conditions through user inputs or if a wearable device 132 is present, through changes in the data that is continuously collected. The user real-time condition module 170 can transmit the user current condition to the first responder's device 140, via the network 110.”. The server continuously collects location data and medical data to track the current condition of the user);
receiving a request to output the condition data; and
presenting, to a responding entity via an output device associated with the responding entity, the condition data and the location data (Col. 8 line 33-40, “The communication module 152 transits the user's location from the tracking module 168 to the first responder's device 140 (S308). The graphical user interface 142 is able to display the user's location. The communication module 152 transmits the user's real-time condition data from the user real-time condition module 170 to the first responder's device 140 (S310). The graphical user interface 142 is able to display the user real-time condition data.”. The responder device 140 receives a request to display user location data and medical data via the graphical user interface 142).
Beller teaches a graphical user interface instead of an augmented reality output device and fails to teach wherein the augmented reality output device presents the location data as directionally informative assistance to the responding entity.
However, in the same field of emergency detection, Simpkinson teaches an augmented reality display used by rescuers to display the direction of an individual that is in need of recuse. See para [0019], “For example, in at least one embodiment, an augmented reality display, or scene, is generated to include visual indicia of a subject observed in an environment, even when the subject might otherwise be occluded from the user's view. For example, a visual indicia of a subject might be overlaid onto a doorway between a first area where the subject is located and a second area where the user of the augmented reality device is located. The visual indicia notifies the user of the subject's presence, even though the subject is occluded from the user's view.” and para [0080], “At 812, one or more servers of the augmented reality services framework generates an augmented reality display that includes information indicative of the subject and the classification. For example, visual indicia might be displayed to point in the direction of an individual in need of rescue, to assist an augmented reality device user engaged in a search and rescue task”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beller’s responder device with an augmented reality display configured to display the direction of an individual that is in need of recuse to improve safety.
Regarding claim 2, Beller in the combination teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the rescue tag comprises a medical sensor applied to the victim (Col. 4 line 3-8, “The wearable device 132 is capable of detecting heartbeat, temperature, number of steps taken, number of calories burned, and other such biometric capabilities. The data collected by the wearable device 132 is transmitted by the user mobile device 130 to the user real-time condition module 170, via the network 110.”.).
Regarding claim 3, Beller in the combination teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the rescue tag comprises a user device coupled to the victim (Fig. 1, user mobile device 130).
Regarding claim 4, Beller in the combination teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise activating the rescue tag based on detection of an event (Fig. 2A, Col. 7, line 32-35 “The user real-time condition module 170 receives real-time condition data from the user mobile device 130 and/or real-time data from the wearable device 132 (S212)”. The user mobile device transmits real time user data at step S212 in response to a detection of an event at step S200).
Regarding claim 5, Beller in the combination teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the operations further comprise initiating a communication, based on the detection of the event, between the victim and the responding entity via respective devices of the victim and the responding entity (Fig. 3, steps S308 – S310, Col. 8 line 33-40, “The communication module 152 transits the user's location from the tracking module 168 to the first responder's device 140 (S308). The graphical user interface 142 is able to display the user's location. The communication module 152 transmits the user's real-time condition data from the user real-time condition module 170 to the first responder's device 140 (S310). The graphical user interface 142 is able to display the user real-time condition data.”. The responder device displays user data).
Regarding claim 6, Beller in the combination teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise detecting a change to the condition data, and outputting an alert based on the detecting of the change to the condition data (Col. 5 line 52-58, “The user real-time condition module 170 is able to detect changing user conditions through user inputs or if a wearable device 132 is present, through changes in the data that is continuously collected. The user real-time condition module 170 can transmit the user current condition to the first responder's device 140, via the network 110.”. The responder device displays the most current condition based on the changes of the user condition).
Regarding claim 10, Beller in the combination teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the rescue tag comprises at least one of: a microphone for capture of audio data (Fig. 1 acoustic device 136, Col. 4 line 22-24, “Furthermore, the acoustic device 136 is able to receive verbal commands, instructions or other statements, from the user, to indicate the user's condition.”), a camera for capture of at least one of video data or image data, a display for output of video communication data representative of a video communication in which at least one of the responding entity or the victim is participating, or a speaker for outputting audio communication data representative of an audio communication in which at least one of the responding entity or the victim is participating.
Regarding claim 11, Simpkinson in the combination teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the victim is not visible to the responding entity via a line of sight view by the responding entity, and wherein the operations further comprise determining a field of view of the responding entity with the location data (para [0019], “For example, in at least one embodiment, an augmented reality display, or scene, is generated to include visual indicia of a subject observed in an environment, even when the subject might otherwise be occluded from the user's view. For example, a visual indicia of a subject might be overlaid onto a doorway between a first area where the subject is located and a second area where the user of the augmented reality device is located. The visual indicia notifies the user of the subject's presence, even though the subject is occluded from the user's view.”), and outputting directionally informative assistance information to the responding entity via a device associated with the responding entity (para [0080], “At 812, one or more servers of the augmented reality services framework generates an augmented reality display that includes information indicative of the subject and the classification. For example, visual indicia might be displayed to point in the direction of an individual in need of rescue, to assist an augmented reality device user engaged in a search and rescue task”.).
Regarding claim 16, Beller teaches a method, comprising:
obtaining, by a system (Fig. 1, system 100) comprising a processor (Fig. 7, Col. 12 line 5-12 “The user mobile device 130 and/or the first responder's device 140 and/or the server 150 may include one or more processors 902, one or more computer-readable RAMs 904, one or more computer-readable ROMs 906, one or more computer readable storage media 908,”), biological state data representative of a biological state of a victim via a first device coupled to the victim (Col. 5 line 42-49, “When a wearable device 132 is present, real-time data such as heartbeat, temperature, number of steps taken, number of calories burned, and other such biometric capabilities are transmitted to the user real-time condition module 170, via the network 110. The user real-time condition module 170 collects the real-time user data in order to determine the current condition of the user.”. The server 150 collects user medical data from the user’s mobile device 130);
obtaining, by the system, location data representative of a location of the victim (Col. 5, line 37-39, “The user real-time condition module 170 receives real-time data from the user mobile device 130, such as location and user inputted information, via the network 110.”. The server 150 obtains user location data from the user’s mobile device 130); and
facilitating, by the system, presenting, to a second device coupled to a responding entity, data that associates the biological state data with the location data (Col. 8 line 33-40, “The communication module 152 transits the user's location from the tracking module 168 to the first responder's device 140 (S308). The graphical user interface 142 is able to display the user's location. The communication module 152 transmits the user's real-time condition data from the user real-time condition module 170 to the first responder's device 140 (S310). The graphical user interface 142 is able to display the user real-time condition data.”. The responder device 140 receives a request to display user location data and medical data via the graphical user interface 142).
Beller teaches the responder device presents user location and medical data but fails to teach the data is presented in the form of extended reality data and fails to teach wherein the augmented reality output device presents the location data as directionally informative assistance to the responding entity.
However, in the same field of emergency detection, Simpkinson teaches an augmented reality display used by rescuers to display the direction of an individual that is in need of recuse. See para [0019], “For example, in at least one embodiment, an augmented reality display, or scene, is generated to include visual indicia of a subject observed in an environment, even when the subject might otherwise be occluded from the user's view. For example, a visual indicia of a subject might be overlaid onto a doorway between a first area where the subject is located and a second area where the user of the augmented reality device is located. The visual indicia notifies the user of the subject's presence, even though the subject is occluded from the user's view.” and para [0080], “At 812, one or more servers of the augmented reality services framework generates an augmented reality display that includes information indicative of the subject and the classification. For example, visual indicia might be displayed to point in the direction of an individual in need of rescue, to assist an augmented reality device user engaged in a search and rescue task”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beller’s responder device with an augmented reality display configured to display the direction of an individual that is in need of recuse to improve safety.
Regarding claim 17, Beller in the combination teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the biological state data of the victim is first biological state data, and further comprising obtaining, by the system, second biological state data of the victim that is updated relative to the first biological state data, determining, by the system, that the second biological state data indicates a worsening condition of the victim relative to the first biological state data, and, in response to the determining, outputting, by the system, a notification, to be rendered via the second device to the responding entity, indicative of the worsening condition (Col. 5 line 42-53, “The user real-time condition module 170 collects the real-time user data in order to determine the current condition of the user. The user real-time condition module 170 compares the real-time data received from the user mobile device 130 to the user data stored in the user database 164 to determine the current condition of the user. The user real-time condition module 170 is able to detect changing user conditions through user inputs or if a wearable device 132 is present, through changes in the data that is continuously collected. The user real-time condition module 170 can transmit the user current condition to the first responder's device 140, via the network 110.”. The server compares the real time health data of the user with the stored user data to determine the current condition of the user).
Regarding claim 18, Beller in the combination teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising communicating, by the system, information, via the system and the first device coupled to the victim, between the second device coupled to the responding entity and the first device coupled to the victim (Fig. 1, the server 150 transmits data from the user mobile device 130 to the responder device 140).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beller (Pat. No.: US 10,026,279 B1) in view of Simpkinson (Pub. No.: US 2020/0167569 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Papakonstantinou (Pub. No.: US 2016/0142894 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Beller in the combination teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the user mobile device measures temperature but fails to expressly teach system of claim 1, wherein the rescue tag monitors and collects ambient condition data representative of an ambient condition proximate to the victim, the ambient condition data comprising at least one of: temperature data representative of an ambient temperature proximate to the victim.
However, in the same field of mobile device, Papakonstantinou teaches a mobile device is configured to measure ambient temperature. See para [0085], “The sensors can be sensors embedded in the client device 102, sensors mounted on wearable articles, ambient sensors, sensors associated with medical devices, other sensors or a combination thereof. Sensor data acquired by the mobile application 103 can include motion data, location data, ambient temperature measurements, ambient humidity measurements, medical measurement data (such as user body temperature measurements, user pulse measurements, user heart beat measurement, user blood sugar measurements, user blood pressure measurements or the like),”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beller user mobile device with an ambient temperature sensor to determine whether the user in risk of high temperature.
Regarding claim 9, Beller in the combination teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the collecting, via the rescue tag, the condition data of the victim comprises sensing at least one of: blood pressure data representative of a blood pressure of the victim, body temperature data representative of a body temperature of the victim (Col. 4 line 1-4, “The user mobile device 130 may be connected to a wearable device 132, through for example, a BLUETOOTH connection. The wearable device 132 is capable of detecting heartbeat, temperature, number of steps taken, number of calories burned, and other such biometric capabilities.”. The wearable device measures the temperature of the wearer.), perspiration level data representative of an amount of perspiration by the victim, electrocardiogram data representative of an electrocardiogram reading applicable to of the victim, pulse data representative of a pulse reading applicable to the victim (Col. 4 line 1-4, heartbeat), pulse oximeter data representative of a pulse oximeter reading applicable to the victim, or respiration data representative of a respiratory activity of the victim.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beller (Pat. No.: US 10,026,279 B1) in view of Simpkinson (Pub. No.: US 2020/0167569 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Pounds (Pub. No.: US 2021/0200776 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Beller in the combination teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the victim is part of a group of victims (Fig. 2A, the server identifies a plurality of users at risk).
Beller fails to teach wherein the operations further comprise filtering the condition data and the location data of the victim as part of presenting the condition data relative to the location data to the responding entity.
However, in the same field of emergency detection, Pounds teaches a system that filters a set of augmented reality objects based on geolocation data. See para [0089], “Another example ranker can include one that filters a set of augmented reality objects based on a set of priorities for the set of augmented reality objects. The priorities can be provided (or determined), for example, by geolocation data (e.g., provided via the logical topological data module 612)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beller in view of Simpkinson’s augmented reality display device to filter a set of augmented reality objects based on location priority to enhance user experience.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beller (Pat. No.: US 10,026,279 B1) in view of Simpkinson (Pub. No.: US 2020/0167569 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kumar (Pat. No.: US 10,777,051 B1).
Regarding claim 13, Beller in view of Simpkinson teaches the system of claim 1, but fails to further teach wherein the operations further comprise deploying an aerial vehicle toward at least one of the victim or the responding entity based on the location data.
However, in the same field of emergency detection, Kumar teaches deploying unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to find and guide the victim out of the emergency location. See Fig. 2A – 2F, abstract “A system may be configured to detect an emergency condition at a premises; dispatch one or more autonomous drones to a location associated with the emergency condition; receive from the one or more autonomous drones, sensor data associated with the emergency condition; generate, based on the sensor data, a plan identifying an evacuation route for safely evacuating the premises; and transmit an instruction that causes the one or more autonomous drones to indicate, to one or more persons in a vicinity of the emergency condition, the evacuation route.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beller in view of Pounds to deploy unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) to find and guide the victim out of the emergency location to improve safety.
Regarding claim 14, Kumar in the combination teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the aerial vehicle comprises a mobile edge node that serves as at least one of: a remote rescue server, or a remote data store (Fig. 2C, step 212, Fig. 2D, step 214 and 215 and Fig. 2F, step 223, the drone serves as a server node to store and transmit site data to the responder and serves as a remote rescue server to guide the victim out of the emergency location).
Regarding claim 15, Kumar in the combination teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the victim is part of a group of victims, and wherein the aerial vehicle outputs respective identity data of respective victims of the group in conjunction with respective location data of the respective victims of the group (Fig. 2E, Col. 15 line 45-51, “The drones 160 may continue uploading sensor data to the emergency response computing platform 110 as they attempt to assist the evacuation. The emergency response computing platform 110 may thus determine whether any persons 710 are successfully evacuating or not (e.g., using object recognition techniques to determine the location of the persons 710).” and Col. 16 line 10-15, “The sensor data captured by the drones 160 may be uploaded to the emergency response computing platform 110, which may analyze the data to identify victims or other people (e.g., using object recognition techniques as discussed above).”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beller (Pat. No.: US 10,026,279 B1) in view of Simpkinson (Pub. No.: US 2020/0167569 A1) and Pounds (Pub. No.: US 2021/0200776 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Beller teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor (Fig. 1, system 100, Fig. 7, Col. 12 line 5-12 “The user mobile device 130 and/or the first responder's device 140 and/or the server 150 may include one or more processors 902, one or more computer-readable RAMs 904, one or more computer-readable ROMs 906, one or more computer readable storage media 908,”), facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining first biological state data of a first victim via a first device coupled to the first victim (Col. 5 line 42-49, “When a wearable device 132 is present, real-time data such as heartbeat, temperature, number of steps taken, number of calories burned, and other such biometric capabilities are transmitted to the user real-time condition module 170, via the network 110. The user real-time condition module 170 collects the real-time user data in order to determine the current condition of the user.”. The server 150 collects first user medical data from the first user’s mobile device 130);
obtaining first location data of the first victim (Col. 5, line 37-39, “The user real-time condition module 170 receives real-time data from the user mobile device 130, such as location and user inputted information, via the network 110.”. The server 150 obtains first user location data from the first user’s mobile device 130);
obtaining second biological state data of a second victim via a second device coupled to the second victim;
obtaining second location data of the second victim (Fig. 2A, steps S208 -S212, Col. 3 line 23-25, “First responders will be notified of the users PEEP and the user's current location and conditions.”. The server identifies a plurality of users that are at risk and receives each of those user’s location and condition); and
presenting, to a responding party via a display, first information representative of the first biological state data relative to the first location data (Col. 8 line 33-40, “The communication module 152 transits the user's location from the tracking module 168 to the first responder's device 140 (S308). The graphical user interface 142 is able to display the user's location. The communication module 152 transmits the user's real-time condition data from the user real-time condition module 170 to the first responder's device 140 (S310). The graphical user interface 142 is able to display the user real-time condition data.”. The responder device 140 displays the user location data and medical data via the graphical user interface 142).
Beller teaches a graphical user interface instead of an augmented reality device, wherein the augmented reality display presents the first augmented information as directionally informative assistance to the responding party, and wherein the presenting comprises filtering, from being presented via the augmented reality display, second augmented information representative of the second biological data of the second victim.
However, in the same field of emergency detection, Simpkinson teaches an augmented reality display used by rescuers to display the direction of an individual that is in need of recuse. See para [0019], “For example, in at least one embodiment, an augmented reality display, or scene, is generated to include visual indicia of a subject observed in an environment, even when the subject might otherwise be occluded from the user's view. For example, a visual indicia of a subject might be overlaid onto a doorway between a first area where the subject is located and a second area where the user of the augmented reality device is located. The visual indicia notifies the user of the subject's presence, even though the subject is occluded from the user's view.” and para [0080], “At 812, one or more servers of the augmented reality services framework generates an augmented reality display that includes information indicative of the subject and the classification. For example, visual indicia might be displayed to point in the direction of an individual in need of rescue, to assist an augmented reality device user engaged in a search and rescue task”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beller’s responder device with an augmented reality display configured to display the direction of an individual that is in need of recuse to improve safety.
Also, in the same field of emergency detection, Pounds teaches a system that filters a set of augmented reality objects based on geolocation data. See para [0089], “Another example ranker can include one that filters a set of augmented reality objects based on a set of priorities for the set of augmented reality objects. The priorities can be provided (or determined), for example, by geolocation data (e.g., provided via the logical topological data module 612)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beller in view of Simpkinson’s augmented reality display device to filter a set of augmented reality objects based on location priority to enhance user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and a terminal disclaimer to overcome the double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/ZHEN Y WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685