DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant submits that the cited prior art does not teach the claim as amended. Remarks, pp. 13-18.
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Barvo et al. (US 2021/0352359) and Raynor (US 11006076).
As presented in the rejections under 35 USC §103, Barvo teaches:
displaying a room interface of a media sharing room in response to detecting a user operation on a client application installed on the electronic device to join the media sharing room as a room visitor, the room interface comprising a main playing region and a secondary playing region, the secondary playing region comprising at least one livestreaming window, and each livestreaming window corresponding to a livestreaming object ([0049], “In these or other embodiments, the video co-watching application 110 provides a video chat element within a display of co-watching digital video content (e.g., as part of the digital media player) and that is selectable to invite participant devices to join a video chat.” [0055], [0056], “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the synchronized digital content video chat interface 202 including a consolidated live video stream 206 and a digital media player 204. The consolidated live video stream 206 portrays live video streams captured by respective participant devices participating together in a video chat.” [0075], “The video co-watching system 102 further provides a co-watching option for display together with the digital video content, where the co-watching option is selectable to begin co-watching the digital video content by causing both the participant device 108a and the participant device 108b to present the digital video content as co-watching digital video content.” Fig. 2);
the media content being viewable by at least two objects joining the media sharing room, and the at least two objects comprising the livestreaming object and the room visitor corresponding to the electronic device, the room visitor being a non-livestreaming object ([0057], “As also illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the digital media player 204. In particular, the digital media player 204 presents co-watching digital video content for simultaneous display with the consolidated live video stream 206. In some embodiments, the video co-watching system 102 provides the digital media player 204 as part of the video co-watching application 110. … For example, the video co-watching system 102 provides a sort of window as part of the video co-watching application 110 whereby the participant device 108a accesses the digital media player of the third-party digital content provider system 112.” [0083], “the video co-watching system 102 receives the live video stream data 502 from the participant device 108b and provides the live video stream data 502 to the participant device 108a for display within the consolidated live video stream 206.” Fig. 5).
Raynor teaches: detecting a position switching instruction while a first media content and the a second media content are displayed in an interface , the position switching instruction indicating a target window to be switched with a media window, the target window being one of the at least one window in a secondary region, switching, in response to the position switching instruction, a position of the media window and a position of the target window; and displaying, in the target window, the second media content in a main region, and displaying the first media content in the media window in the secondary region (Col. 3, lines 28-40, “For example, FIG. 1C depicts an example of the interface 100 as the user touches the image of the video feed from the preview interface and drags it to the location of the main interface 104. In this embodiment, the interface is constrained to maintain a consistent layout, so the position and size of the two video feeds are swapped (FIG. 1D).” Figs. 1C-1D).
Taking the teachings together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings to produce a system enabled with detecting a position switching instruction on the room interface while the media content and the livestreaming content are played in the room interface, the position switching instruction indicating a target livestreaming window to be switched with the media playing window, the target livestreaming window being one of the at least one livestreaming window in the secondary playing region, switching, in response to the position switching instruction, a position of the media playing window and a position of the target livestreaming window; and playing, in the target livestreaming window, livestreaming content of a livestreaming object corresponding to the target livestreaming window in the main playing region, and playing the media content in the media playing window in the secondary playing region. The combination would serve to facilitate rearrangement of the user interface according to user preferences. The modification would serve to improve the user experience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10, and 17-21 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Barvo et al. (US 2021/0352359) and Raynor (US 11006076).
Regarding claim 1, Barvo teaches a livestreaming processing method, performed by an electronic device, and comprising:
displaying a room interface of a media sharing room in response to detecting a user operation on a client application installed on the electronic device to join the media sharing room as a room visitor, the room interface comprising a main playing region and a secondary playing region, the secondary playing region comprising at least one livestreaming window, and each livestreaming window corresponding to a livestreaming object ([0049], “In these or other embodiments, the video co-watching application 110 provides a video chat element within a display of co-watching digital video content (e.g., as part of the digital media player) and that is selectable to invite participant devices to join a video chat.” [0055], [0056], “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the synchronized digital content video chat interface 202 including a consolidated live video stream 206 and a digital media player 204. The consolidated live video stream 206 portrays live video streams captured by respective participant devices participating together in a video chat.” [0075], “The video co-watching system 102 further provides a co-watching option for display together with the digital video content, where the co-watching option is selectable to begin co-watching the digital video content by causing both the participant device 108a and the participant device 108b to present the digital video content as co-watching digital video content.” Fig. 2);
playing media content in a media playing window in the main playing region ([0057], “As also illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the digital media player 204. In particular, the digital media player 204 presents co-watching digital video content for simultaneous display with the consolidated live video stream 206.” Fig.2),
the media content being viewable by at least two objects joining the media sharing room, and the at least two objects comprising the livestreaming object and the room visitor corresponding to the electronic device, the room visitor being a non-livestreaming object ([0057], “As also illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the digital media player 204. In particular, the digital media player 204 presents co-watching digital video content for simultaneous display with the consolidated live video stream 206. In some embodiments, the video co-watching system 102 provides the digital media player 204 as part of the video co-watching application 110. … For example, the video co-watching system 102 provides a sort of window as part of the video co-watching application 110 whereby the participant device 108a accesses the digital media player of the third-party digital content provider system 112.” [0083], “the video co-watching system 102 receives the live video stream data 502 from the participant device 108b and provides the live video stream data 502 to the participant device 108a for display within the consolidated live video stream 206.” Fig. 5);
playing, in the at least one livestreaming window, livestreaming content of at least one livestreaming object corresponding to the at least one livestreaming window in the secondary playing region ([0083], “As also illustrated in FIG. 5, the video co-watching system 102 facilitates a video chat by receiving and providing live video stream data to and from the participant device 108a and the participant device 108b. For example, the video co-watching system 102 receives the live video stream data 502 from the participant device 108b and provides the live video stream data 502 to the participant device 108a for display within the consolidated live video stream 206. In addition, the video co-watching system 102 receives the live video stream data 504a from the participant device 108a and provides modified live video stream data 504b to the participant device 108b.” Figs. 2, 5).
Barvo teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach detecting a position switching instruction on the room interface while the media content and the livestreaming content are played in the room interface, the position switching instruction indicating a target livestreaming window to be switched with the media playing window, the target livestreaming window being one of the at least one livestreaming window in the secondary playing region, switching, in response to the position switching instruction, a position of the media playing window and a position of the target livestreaming window; and playing, in the target livestreaming window, livestreaming content of a livestreaming object corresponding to the target livestreaming window in the main playing region, and playing the media content in the media playing window in the secondary playing region.
Raynor teaches: detecting a position switching instruction while a first media content and the a second media content are displayed in an interface , the position switching instruction indicating a target window to be switched with a media window, the target window being one of the at least one window in a secondary region, switching, in response to the position switching instruction, a position of the media window and a position of the target window; and displaying, in the target window, the second media content in a main region, and displaying the first media content in the media window in the secondary region (Col. 3, lines 28-40, “For example, FIG. 1C depicts an example of the interface 100 as the user touches the image of the video feed from the preview interface and drags it to the location of the main interface 104. In this embodiment, the interface is constrained to maintain a consistent layout, so the position and size of the two video feeds are swapped (FIG. 1D).” Figs. 1C-1D).
In view of Raynor’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barvo to include detecting a position switching instruction on the room interface while the media content and the livestreaming content are played in the room interface, the position switching instruction indicating a target livestreaming window to be switched with the media playing window, the target livestreaming window being one of the at least one livestreaming window in the secondary playing region, switching, in response to the position switching instruction, a position of the media playing window and a position of the target livestreaming window; and playing, in the target livestreaming window, livestreaming content of a livestreaming object corresponding to the target livestreaming window in the main playing region, and playing the media content in the media playing window in the secondary playing region. The modification would serve to facilitate rearrangement of the user interface according to user preferences. The modification would serve to improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 2, the combination further teaches wherein a position of a livestreaming window of the at least one livestreaming window is interchangeable with a position of the media playing window (Raynor: Col. 3, lines 28-40, “For example, FIG. 1C depicts an example of the interface 100 as the user touches the image of the video feed from the preview interface and drags it to the location of the main interface 104. In this embodiment, the interface is constrained to maintain a consistent layout, so the position and size of the two video feeds are swapped (FIG. 1D).” Figs. 1C-1D).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the playing media content in a media playing window comprises:
obtaining a media content stream, and playing the media content in the media playing window based on the media content stream (Barvo: [0057], “In particular, the digital media player 204 presents co-watching digital video content for simultaneous display with the consolidated live video stream 206.”); and
the playing, in each the at least one livestreaming window, livestreaming content of at least one livestreaming object corresponding to the at least one livestreaming window comprises:
obtaining a livestreaming content stream that is of each livestreaming object and that is independent of the media content stream, the livestreaming content streams being independent of each other (Barvo: [0083], “As also illustrated in FIG. 5, the video co-watching system 102 facilitates a video chat by receiving and providing live video stream data to and from the participant device 108a and the participant device 108b. For example, the video co-watching system 102 receives the live video stream data 502 from the participant device 108b and provides the live video stream data 502 to the participant device 108a for display within the consolidated live video stream 206. In addition, the video co-watching system 102 receives the live video stream data 504a from the participant device 108a and provides modified live video stream data 504b to the participant device 108b.” Figs. 2, 5); and
playing, in the livestreaming window based on a livestreaming content stream of a livestreaming object corresponding to the livestreaming window, livestreaming content of the livestreaming object corresponding to the livestreaming window (Barvo: [0083], “As also illustrated in FIG. 5, the video co-watching system 102 facilitates a video chat by receiving and providing live video stream data to and from the participant device 108a and the participant device 108b. For example, the video co-watching system 102 receives the live video stream data 502 from the participant device 108b and provides the live video stream data 502 to the participant device 108a for display within the consolidated live video stream 206. In addition, the video co-watching system 102 receives the live video stream data 504a from the participant device 108a and provides modified live video stream data 504b to the participant device 108b.” Figs. 2, 5).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches
wherein the secondary playing region comprises at least one sub-playing region, the at least one livestreaming window is in one-to-one correspondence with the at least one sub-playing region window corresponding to a livestreaming object (Barvo: [0055], [0056], “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the synchronized digital content video chat interface 202 including a consolidated live video stream 206 and a digital media player 204. The consolidated live video stream 206 portrays live video streams captured by respective participant devices participating together in a video chat.” Fig. 2), and
a region size of the main playing region is larger than a region size of a sub-playing region (Barvo: [0055], [0056], “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the synchronized digital content video chat interface 202 including a consolidated live video stream 206 and a digital media player 204. The consolidated live video stream 206 portrays live video streams captured by respective participant devices participating together in a video chat.” Fig. 2); and
after the switching a position of the media playing window and a position of the target livestreaming window, the method further comprises: adjusting a window size of the media playing window to match a region size of a target sub-playing region corresponding to the target livestreaming window; and adjusting a window size of the target livestreaming window to match the region size of the main playing region (Raynor: Col. 3, lines 28-40, “For example, FIG. 1C depicts an example of the interface 100 as the user touches the image of the video feed from the preview interface and drags it to the location of the main interface 104. In this embodiment, the interface is constrained to maintain a consistent layout, so the position and size of the two video feeds are swapped (FIG. 1D).” Col. 14, lines 9-17, “Accordingly, at block 490, the system may determine a moveable element to swap with the element being moved. For instance, if the user drags the moved element over another element (or in close proximity to another element), then the moved element's location and size may be swapped with the other element.” Figs. 1C-1D).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches further comprising:
receiving a first position switching instruction for a first livestreaming window, the first livestreaming window being a livestreaming window of the at least one livestreaming window that is different from the target livestreaming window; switching the position of the target livestreaming window and a position of the first livestreaming window in response to the first position switching instruction; playing, in the first livestreaming window, livestreaming content of a livestreaming object corresponding to the first livestreaming window in the main playing region; and playing, in the target livestreaming window, the livestreaming content of the livestreaming object corresponding to the target livestreaming window in the secondary playing region (Barvo: [0055], [0056], “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the synchronized digital content video chat interface 202 including a consolidated live video stream 206 and a digital media player 204. The consolidated live video stream 206 portrays live video streams captured by respective participant devices participating together in a video chat.” Fig. 2; Raynor: Col. 3, lines 28-40, “For example, FIG. 1C depicts an example of the interface 100 as the user touches the image of the video feed from the preview interface and drags it to the location of the main interface 104. In this embodiment, the interface is constrained to maintain a consistent layout, so the position and size of the two video feeds are swapped (FIG. 1D).” Figs. 1C-1D).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches further comprising: switching the position of the target livestreaming window and the position of the media playing window in response to a second position switching instruction for the media playing window; playing again the media content in the media playing window in the main playing region; and playing again, in the target livestreaming window, the livestreaming content of the livestreaming object corresponding to the target livestreaming window in the secondary playing region (Barvo: [0055], [0056], “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the synchronized digital content video chat interface 202 including a consolidated live video stream 206 and a digital media player 204. The consolidated live video stream 206 portrays live video streams captured by respective participant devices participating together in a video chat.” Fig. 2; Raynor: Col. 3, lines 28-40, “For example, FIG. 1C depicts an example of the interface 100 as the user touches the image of the video feed from the preview interface and drags it to the location of the main interface 104. In this embodiment, the interface is constrained to maintain a consistent layout, so the position and size of the two video feeds are swapped (FIG. 1D).” Col. 10, lines 33-46, “The moveable elements 308-i may define assets or portions of the interface that may be moved from one location to another, or which may be swapped with each other.” Figs. 1C-1D).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches further comprising: receiving a trigger operation on the target livestreaming window of the at least one livestreaming window; and receiving the position switching instruction for the target livestreaming window of the at least one livestreaming window in response to the trigger operation (Barvo: [0055], [0056], “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the synchronized digital content video chat interface 202 including a consolidated live video stream 206 and a digital media player 204. The consolidated live video stream 206 portrays live video streams captured by respective participant devices participating together in a video chat.” Fig. 2; Raynor: Col. 3, lines 28-40, “For example, FIG. 1C depicts an example of the interface 100 as the user touches the image of the video feed from the preview interface and drags it to the location of the main interface 104. In this embodiment, the interface is constrained to maintain a consistent layout, so the position and size of the two video feeds are swapped (FIG. 1D).” Figs. 1C-1D).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches further comprising: receiving a drag operation on the target livestreaming window of the at least one livestreaming window; and receiving the position switching instruction for the target livestreaming window of the at least one livestreaming window in response to the target livestreaming window being dragged to the main playing region (Raynor: Col. 3, lines 28-40, “For example, FIG. 1C depicts an example of the interface 100 as the user touches the image of the video feed from the preview interface and drags it to the location of the main interface 104. In this embodiment, the interface is constrained to maintain a consistent layout, so the position and size of the two video feeds are swapped (FIG. 1D).” Figs. 1C-1D; Barvo: [0055], [0056], “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the synchronized digital content video chat interface 202 including a consolidated live video stream 206 and a digital media player 204. The consolidated live video stream 206 portrays live video streams captured by respective participant devices participating together in a video chat.” Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches further comprising:
displaying a comment message window in a region that is in the room interface and that is independent of the main playing region and the secondary playing region (Barvo: [0108], “FIG. 10 illustrates the participant device 108a displaying a synchronized digital content video chat interface 1002 that includes a digital media player 1004 and a messaging interface 1006.” Fig. 10), and
displaying at least one comment message in the media sharing room in the comment message window (Barvo: [0108], [0109], “As shown in FIG. 10, the messaging interface 1006 includes messages for a group message thread.”); and
displaying, when a trigger operation on a target comment message of the at least one comment message is received, an object details interface of a target object transmitting the target comment message (Barvo: [0108], “FIG. 10 illustrates the participant device 108a displaying a synchronized digital content video chat interface 1002 that includes a digital media player 1004 and a messaging interface 1006.” [0109], “As shown in FIG. 10, the messaging interface 1006 includes messages for a group message thread.” Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches further comprising:
displaying a livestreaming invitation control in the object details interface; and transmitting a livestreaming invitation request to a terminal of the target object in response to a trigger operation on the livestreaming invitation control, the livestreaming invitation request being configured for inviting the target object to perform livestreaming in the media sharing room (Barvo: [0090], “As illustrated in FIG. 6B, the video chat menu 606 includes selectable options to transfer a call (‘Transfer Call’), create a sharable invite to invite other participant devices to join the video chat (‘Create Invite’), initiate a co-watching session with the other participant devices (e.g., the participant device 108b) within the video chat (‘Watch Together’), and share the display of the participant device 108a with other participant devices in the video chat (‘Screen Share’).” Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 19, Barvo teaches a livestreaming processing apparatus, comprising: at least one memory, configured to store computer-executable instructions; and at least one processor, configured to, when executing the computer-executable instructions stored in the at least one memory ([0139]-[0140], Figs. 1, 13), implement the method of claim 1. The grounds of rejection under 35 USC §103 with respect to claim 1 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Barvo teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having computer-executable instructions stored thereon, the computer-executable instructions, when executed by at least one processor, causing the at least one processor to perform the method of claim 1. Barvo additionally teaches the room visitor being a non-livestreaming object logged in the client application ([0047], “Thus, the video co-watching system 102 on the server(s) 106 can receive user input information from the participant devices 108a-108b to indicate actions within the video co-watching application 110 for initiating a video chat, participating in a video chat, providing electronic communications between the participant devices 108a-108b, initiating playback of co-watching digital video content, and modifying playback of the co-watching digital video content.”). The grounds of rejection under 35 USC §103 with respect to claim 1 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 20.
Regarding claim 21, the combination teaches
wherein the room interface comprises multiple livestreaming windows corresponding to multiple livestreaming objects (Barvo: [0083], “As also illustrated in FIG. 5, the video co-watching system 102 facilitates a video chat by receiving and providing live video stream data to and from the participant device 108a and the participant device 108b. For example, the video co-watching system 102 receives the live video stream data 502 from the participant device 108b and provides the live video stream data 502 to the participant device 108a for display within the consolidated live video stream 206. In addition, the video co-watching system 102 receives the live video stream data 504a from the participant device 108a and provides modified live video stream data 504b to the participant device 108b.” Figs. 2, 5), and
the playing, in each the at least one livestreaming window, livestreaming content of at least one livestreaming object corresponding to the at least one livestreaming window comprises: obtaining, from a cloud server, a target livestreaming content stream generated by mixing contents of the multiple livestreaming objects; and playing, in the multiple livestreaming windows, the target livestreaming content stream (Barvo: [0083], “As also illustrated in FIG. 5, the video co-watching system 102 facilitates a video chat by receiving and providing live video stream data to and from the participant device 108a and the participant device 108b. For example, the video co-watching system 102 receives the live video stream data 502 from the participant device 108b and provides the live video stream data 502 to the participant device 108a for display within the consolidated live video stream 206. In addition, the video co-watching system 102 receives the live video stream data 504a from the participant device 108a and provides modified live video stream data 504b to the participant device 108b.” Figs. 2, 5).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Barvo, Raynor, and Freeman et al. (US 10862946).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach:
displaying, in response to a trigger operation on the target livestreaming window of the at least one livestreaming window, a position switching control corresponding to the target livestreaming window; and
receiving the position switching instruction for the target livestreaming window of the at least one livestreaming window in response to a trigger operation on the position switching control.
Freeman teaches: displaying, in response to a trigger operation on a target window, a position switching control corresponding to the target window; and receiving the position switching instruction for the target livestreaming window in response to a trigger operation on the position switching control (Col. 19, lines 12-27, “In the particular illustration of FIG. 10, the action card 1010 is shown for a media application in a selected state. In this illustration, the action card 1010 displays content 1012 and transport controls 1014 to control the presentation of the content 1012. In addition, the action card 1010 presents an option 1016 for performing selectable actions 1018 on the content 1012 or on the action card 1010. The selectable actions 1018 include pausing the presentation of the content 1012. The selectable actions 1018 further include pinning the action card 1010 to a side of the user interface, presenting the action card 1010 in a picture-in-picture window, or playing audio of the content 1012 in the background. Upon a user selection of one or more of these selectable actions 1018, the universal media player may update the presentation of the content 1012 and transport controls 1014 to the proper presentation window.”).
In view of Freeman’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include displaying, in response to a trigger operation on the target livestreaming window of the at least one livestreaming window, a position switching control corresponding to the target livestreaming window; and receiving the position switching instruction for the target livestreaming window of the at least one livestreaming window in response to a trigger operation on the position switching control. The modification would further facilitate user arrangement of user interface elements according to user preferences. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Barvo, Raynor, and Ens et al. (US 2012/0066628).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the limitations specified above, and teaches a second livestreaming window being a livestreaming window of the at least one livestreaming window that is different from the target livestreaming window (Barvo: [0055], [0056], “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the synchronized digital content video chat interface 202 including a consolidated live video stream 206 and a digital media player 204. The consolidated live video stream 206 portrays live video streams captured by respective participant devices participating together in a video chat.” Fig. 2).
However, the combination does not expressly teaches further comprising: receiving a playing region moving-out instruction for a second livestreaming window, and moving the second livestreaming window out of the secondary playing region in response to the playing region moving-out instruction and controlling the second livestreaming window to be in a floating state.
Ens teaches: receiving a moving-out instruction for a window, and moving the window out of a region in response to the moving-out instruction and controlling the window to be in a floating state ([0028], “a tab can be dragged from the tab band and have an associated window rendered to include content associated with the tab.” [0047], “Step 806 instantiates a new web browser instance. The step can be performed in any suitable way. For example, upon termination of the drag operation that resulted in the tab being dragged from the tab band, a new web browser instance can be instantiated. Termination of the drag operation can occur in any suitable way such as, releasing a left mouse button that was used to initiate the drag operation, lifting a finger from a touch-sensitive screen, lifting a pen from a touch-sensitive screen, and the like.” Figs. 2-3, 8).
In view of Ens’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include receiving a playing region moving-out instruction for a second livestreaming window, and moving the second livestreaming window out of the secondary playing region in response to the playing region moving-out instruction and controlling the second livestreaming window to be in a floating state. The modification would provide users with additional options regarding arrangement of content. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches wherein the method further comprises:
moving, upon receiving a moving instruction for the second livestreaming window, the second livestreaming window in the floating state to a position indicated by the moving instruction (Ens: [0028], “a tab can be dragged from the tab band and have an associated window rendered to include content associated with the tab.” [0047], “Step 806 instantiates a new web browser instance. The step can be performed in any suitable way. For example, upon termination of the drag operation that resulted in the tab being dragged from the tab band, a new web browser instance can be instantiated. Termination of the drag operation can occur in any suitable way such as, releasing a left mouse button that was used to initiate the drag operation, lifting a finger from a touch-sensitive screen, lifting a pen from a touch-sensitive screen, and the like.” Figs. 2-3, 8; Barvo: [0055]-[0056]); and
adjusting, when a window size adjustment instruction for the second livestreaming window is received, a window size of the second livestreaming window in the floating state to a target window size indicated by the window size adjustment instruction ([0034], “Assume in this example, that tab 206 and window 300 are dragged onto the desktop and toward the right side of the display screen. At some distance threshold relative to the right side of the display screen, the tab 206 and window 300 can be "snapped" or docked, as shown in FIG. 5, to the right side of the display screen. In this example, snapping includes rendering a new instance of the web browser to occupy 50% of the display screen's real estate.” Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 13, the combination further teaches: displaying a window restore control; and controlling the second livestreaming window to exit the floating state and move to the secondary playing region in response to a trigger operation on the window restore control (Ens: [0039], “FIG. 7 illustrates the state of web browser user interface 600 after the tab has been dragged onto tab band 602. In one or more embodiments, a threshold distance can be defined, relative to tab band 602, such that when the curser crosses the threshold, tab 206 is inserted into the tab band 602 and a message is sent to the tab band 602 to enable the dragged tab's content to be rendered in the content rendering area of web browser user interface 600, as shown in FIG. 7.”).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Barvo, Raynor, and Chang et al. (US 2022/0374136).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the displaying a room interface of a media sharing room comprises:
controlling a terminal to be in a vertical screen operation mode when a vertical screen operation instruction for the terminal is received, and using a first layout style, in the vertical screen operation mode, to display the room interface of the media sharing room; or
controlling a terminal to be in a horizontal screen operation mode when a horizontal screen operation instruction for the terminal is received, and using a second layout style, in the horizontal screen operation mode, to display the room interface of the media sharing room, a position of a window in the room interface in the first layout style being different from that in the second layout style, and the window comprising the media playing window and the livestreaming window.
Chang teaches wherein displaying a room interface of a media sharing room comprises: controlling a terminal to be in a vertical screen operation mode when a vertical screen operation instruction for a terminal is received, and using a first layout style, in the vertical screen operation mode, to display the room interface of a media sharing room ([0233], “In FIG. 6I, device 600 is rotated, changing video conference interface 605 from a landscape orientation to a portrait orientation. As a result of the rotated orientation and, in some embodiments, due to the aspect ratio of the tiles, device 600 accommodates a greater number of tiles in main region 604, than when video conference interface 605 is in the landscape orientation.”).
In view of Chang’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barvo to include controlling a terminal to be in a vertical screen operation mode when a vertical screen operation instruction for the terminal is received, and using a first layout style, in the vertical screen operation mode, to display the room interface of the media sharing room. The modification would serve to enable optimal presentation of content on user devices.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Barvo, Raynor, and Sarkar et al. (US 2018/0234738).
Regarding claim 15, Barvo teaches the limitations specified above, and teaches a window comprising at least one of the at least one livestreaming window or the media playing window (Barvo: [0055], [0056], “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the participant device 108a presents the synchronized digital content video chat interface 202 including a consolidated live video stream 206 and a digital media player 204. The consolidated live video stream 206 portrays live video streams captured by respective participant devices participating together in a video chat.” Fig. 2).
However, the combination does not expressly teach: displaying a window hiding control in the secondary playing region; displaying, in response to a trigger operation on the window hiding control, a selection control corresponding to each window in the secondary playing region, hiding, in response to a trigger operation on a selection control corresponding to a target window of the windows, the target window in the secondary playing region.
Sarkar teaches:
displaying a hiding control; displaying, in response to a trigger operation on the window hiding control, a selection control [0082], “As shown in FIG. 3E, the broadcaster device 106 presents an interactive menu 320 (within the live-video-stream GUI 304) that includes various options for a broadcaster to interact with (and control permissions for) a viewer who captured the video clip within the video-graphical element 312. When the broadcaster device 106 detects a certain user interaction between a broadcaster and the video-graphical element 312—such as a double tap or other touch gesture that indicates a request to engage with the video-graphical element 312—the broadcaster device 106 sends an indication of that user interaction to the social networking application 108. In response to receiving an indication of the user interaction, the social networking application 108 causes the broadcaster device 106 to present the interactive menu 320. As shown in FIG. 3E, the interactive menu 320 includes various interactive options, including a maintain-video-clip option 322, a multi-stream option 324, a message option 326, a show-viewers option 328, a trust-viewer option 330, and a hide option 332.”); and
hiding, in response to a trigger operation on a selection control corresponding, the target element ( [0086], “Conversely, when the hide option 332 is selected, the social networking application 108 directs the social networking system 102 to remove the video-graphical element 312 from the live video stream transmitted to various viewer devices (e.g., viewer devices 114a-114n).”).
In view of Sarkar’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Barvo to include displaying a window hiding control in the secondary playing region; displaying, in response to a trigger operation on the window hiding control, a selection control corresponding to each window in the secondary playing region, the window comprising at least one of the at least one livestreaming window or the media playing window; and hiding, in response to a trigger operation on a selection control corresponding to a target window of the windows, the target window in the secondary playing region. The modification would serve to facilitate rearrangement of the user interface according to user preferences. The modification would serve to improve the user experience.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Barvo, Raynor, Sarkar, and Nelson (US 2020/0066088).
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises: adjusting a window size of a remaining window in the secondary playing region to match a region size of the secondary playing region, the remaining window being a window of the windows except the target window.
Nelson teaches adjusting a window size of a remaining window in a secondary region to match a region size of the secondary playing region, the remaining window being a window of windows except a target window ([0034], “In some examples, display of the gaming window 622 may cause the video window 612 to reduce in size from a full screen mode to the reduced size video window 612. Selecting the dismiss/close button 629 causes the gaming window 622 to disappear and may also cause the video window to increase in size back to a full-screen mode.” Fig. 6).
In view of Nelson’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include adjusting a window size of a remaining window in the secondary playing region to match a region size of the secondary playing region, the remaining window being a window of the windows except the target window. The modification would serve provide users with additional options regarding the presentation of content. The modification would serve to further improve the user experience.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426