DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendments filed July 22, 2026. Prior to entry, claims 1-20 were pending. Claims 5, 6, 8-17 and 19 have been amended. Claims 21-22 are new. Claims 1, 7, and 16 are independent.
Response to Amendment
The remarks addressing the Information Disclosure Statement are acknowledged. However, the caution indicated in the prior Office action regarding inclusion of an excessive number of documents of limited or cumulative reference on the IDS was intended to inform Applicant that such a practice imposes an undue burden on examination (MPEP 609) and does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.56. The duty to disclose information material to patentability rests with Applicant. It is Applicant’s responsibility, not the examiner’s, to determine which documents are material and present those documents in a manner that permits meaningful consideration. This is not a rejection and does not affect the finality of this action.
Applicant’s amendments supplying the missing articles, defining the zero-gate / off-state condition, and correcting the preamble / antecedent issues that formed the rejections of claims 5, 6, 10, 11, 17 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the previous Office action are acknowledged and accepted. Those rejections are withdrawn.
Specification
Applicant’s amendment to the title of the invention is acknowledged and accepted. The objection to the title has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to the abstract of the invention is acknowledged and accepted. The objection to the abstract has been withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
Claims 6, 11, 19, and 20 require applying a negative voltage or current to the source region, so that the positive voltage applied to the buried layer is a lower positive voltage than the voltage required when the source is zero (as described in the Specification at para.56, and 72-73).
Figs. 7 and 8 are identified as write-operation waveforms. The brief description of those figures recites signals on the WL, BL, and BW terminals only. No source / SL waveform is shown, and no figure illustrates a negative source bias or the corresponding reduction of the buried-layer voltages.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefiniteness
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 16, the claim as amended recites a method comprising “providing a plurality of non-volatile memory cells,” each cell having a substrate, a body, source and drain regions, a buried layer, and a gate. The claim then recites that the cells “share said body,” and thereafter applies voltages or currents to “the body,” “said body,” and the source, drain, gate, and buried layer of the cell structure.
It is unclear whether:
1. each cell of the plurality has its own body, and those bodies are electrically common / continuous (as in para. 81 / FIG. 10); or
2. the plurality is defined to have only one body among them, so that later “the body” / “said body” has a single antecedent; or
3. some cells share one body and others do not.
“Said body” in the sharing clause lacks a clear single antecedent once more than one body has been introduced (“a body” as part of each cell). A person of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine, with reasonable certainty, which structure is biased in the subsequent applying steps, or whether every cell of the plurality must sit on one and the same body region. See MPEP 2173.05(e).
Claims 17–20 depend from claim 16 and inherit the same indefiniteness.
For purposes of applying prior art, claim 16 is read as a plurality of cells whose body regions are a common / continuous body of the first conductivity type (instant FIG. 10 / para. 81). Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending claim 16 to state, for example, that the plurality of cells share a common body region of the first conductivity type, and that the subsequent bias steps are applied to that common body region (and to the source, drain, gate, and buried layer of a selected cell of the plurality).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al (US 20160336326; "Han" – of record) in view of Rahaman et al. ("The Role of Ti Buffer Layer Thickness on the Resistive Switching Properties of Hafnium Oxide-Based Resistive Switching Memories"; "Rahaman" – of record) and Park et al. ("Persistent Floating-Body Effects in Fully Depleted Silicon-on-Insulator Transistors"; "Park" – of record) and further in view of Han et al. ("A CMOS-compatible boosted transistor having >2× drive current and low leakage current"; "Han2" – of record). Claim 2 is further supported by Yoder ("Body Bias: What it is and why you should care" – of record).
Regarding independent claim 1, Han discloses a method of increasing write current of a non-volatile memory cell, said method comprising:
providing a non-volatile memory cell comprising:
a semiconductor device comprising a substrate having a first conductivity type selected from p-type conductivity type and n-type conductivity type (para. 71; "memory device 50, according to an embodiment of the present invention, is shown in FIG. 1A. Memory cell 50 includes a substrate 12 of a first conductivity type such as p-type, for example");
a buried layer having a second conductivity type selected from said p-type conductivity type and said n-type conductivity type and being different from said first conductivity type (para. 72; "Memory cell 50 also comprises a buried layer region 22 of a second conductivity type, such as n-type, for example");
a body having said first conductivity type (para. 72; "a floating body region 24 of the first conductivity type, such as p-type, for example");
a source region and a drain region each having said second conductivity type and being separated by the body (para. 72; "and source/drain regions 16 and 18 of the second conductivity type, such as n-type, for example". See also Fig. 1A where it shows the source and drain being separated by the body);
and a gate positioned in between the source region and the drain region (para 76; "A gate 60 is positioned in between the source line region 16 and the drain region 18");
applying a positive voltage or current to the gate region (Fig. 21. See also para. 121; "a positive voltage is applied to the selected WL terminal 70a,");
applying a positive voltage or current to the drain region (Fig. 21. See also para 121; "a positive voltage is applied to the selected BL terminal 74a")
applying zero or a negative voltage or current to the source region (Fig. 21. See also para 121; "a slight positive voltage is applied to the SL terminal 72a". It is noted that Han's use of the slightly positive voltage for this particular write embodiment to reduce disturb on unselected cells sharing the same source line does not avoid the rejection because it also expressly teaches using zero voltage on the SL terminal in other write examples ([0082]). Further, the claim itself recites 'zero or negative voltage', making this an expressly contemplated voltage range, with the well understood optimization tradeoff of leakage for even higher drain current.)
applying zero or a positive voltage or current to the buried layer (Fig. 21. See also para 121; "a positive voltage is applied to the selected BW terminal 76a")
Han discloses the semiconductor device having similar layered structure recited in claim 1, along with the claimed biasing conditions for the gate, source, drain and buried layer, but is silent with respect to a non-volatile memory element connected to one of the source or drain regions.
However, Rahaman teaches and a non-volatile memory element connected to one of the source region and the drain region (Fig. 1(d). Also, abstr. "the present work addresses the effects of Ti buffer layer thickness on the switching properties of TiN/Ti/HfOx/TiN 1T1R RRAM." and sect. 2.1; "connected to the drain junction (D) of the transistor.");
Han in view of Rahaman disclose the FET, the buried layer, and the write biases on the gate, drain, source and buried layer, but is silent with respect to applying a bias to the body and the effect thereof.
However, Park teaches …thereby increasing current flow from the drain region to the source region, thereby increasing write current of the non-volatile memory cell (sect. 5; "Any MOSFET encompasses a lateral NPN bipolar transistor, the activation of which relies on the forward biasing of the source-body (i.e., emitter-base) junction". It is well understood in the art that the term 'forward biasing' implies the application of a positive voltage, and activation of the bipolar transistor would induce current flow between the drain and source.).
Park teaches a body contact (Fig. 1b) at which body potential is taken and teaches that forward source-body bias turns on the lateral-BJT, but is silent with respect to applying a positive voltage to that body contact.
However, Han2 teaches and applying a positive voltage or current to the body (Fig. 1 – caption: “(b) multiple forward body biasing”. See also p. 214, sect. I; “Other methods involve applying different bias voltage to the body terminal. The schematics of dynamic threshold and multiple body bias transistors are shown in Fig. 1.);
Han, Rahaman, Park and Han2 combined are from the same field of endeavor as applicant's invention directed to driving current to semiconductor devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han's memory cell semiconductor driving device structure by connecting the resistive-change non-volatile memory element to the drain region as taught by Rahaman, with the inherent lateral bipolar transistor within the MOSFET as taught by Park, and the application of a positive voltage to the body as taught by Han2 thereby arriving at the method of claim 1. Doing so would have been a predictable use of a known element for its known purpose to solve the well-recognized problem of insufficient write current in resistive memory cells.
Regarding claim 2, Han, Rahaman, Park and Han2 combined disclose the limitations of claim 1.
As applied, Park further discloses wherein said applying a positive voltage to the body lowers a threshold voltage of the semiconductor device (Han2 teaches applying positive voltage to the body as cited in claim 1. The result of that biasing on the threshold voltage is well known in the art as supported by Yoder - pg. 2; "A forward body bias lowers the Vt required to turn on the device").
Regarding claim 3 and 8, Han, Rahaman, Park and Han2 combined disclose the limitations of claim 1 and 7 respectively.
As applied, Park further discloses wherein said applying a positive voltage or current to the body turns on an intrinsic lateral bipolar transistor formed by the source region, the body and the drain region (sect. 5; "Any MOSFET encompasses a lateral NPN bipolar transistor, the activation of which relies on the forward biasing of the source-body (i.e., emitter-base) junction").
Regarding claim 4 and 9, Han, Rahaman, Park and Han2 combined disclose the limitations of claim 3 and 8 respectively.
As applied, Park further discloses wherein the intrinsic lateral bipolar transistor contributes to higher current flow from the drain region to the source region (Park teaches that forward biasing the source-body junction activates the lateral bipolar transistor. Once activated (as required by claim 3), the lateral BJT inherently contributes additional current from drain to source as is well-understood in MOSFET device physics. The result of higher current flow is the predictable outcome of turning on the lateral BJT).
Regarding claim 5 and 10, Han, Rahaman, Park and Han2 combined disclose the limitations of claim 1 and 7 respectively.
As applied Han further discloses wherein said applying zero or a positive voltage to the buried layer comprises applying a positive voltage to the buried layer to provide additional current flow from the buried layer to the source region (para. 103; "The positive bias applied to the BW terminal 76 needs to generate an electric field sufficient to trigger an impact ionization mechanism when the floating body region 24 is positively charged." See also para. 105; "The resulting hot electrons flow into the BW terminal 76 while the resulting hot holes will subsequently flow into the floating body region 24.". It is noted that the resultant current flow to the source region is an inherent outcome of applying positive bias to the buried-layer through the parasitic bipolar mechanisms of the structure).
Regarding independent claim 7, Han discloses a non-volatile memory cell configured to function with increased on-state drain current while in write operation, said non-volatile memory cell comprising:
a substrate having a first conductivity type selected from p-type conductivity type and n-type conductivity type (para. 71; "memory device 50, according to an embodiment of the present invention, is shown in FIG. 1A. Memory cell 50 includes a substrate 12 of a first conductivity type such as p-type, for example");
a buried layer having a second conductivity type selected from said p-type conductivity type and said n-type conductivity type and being different from said first conductivity type (para. 72; "Memory cell 50 also comprises a buried layer region 22 of a second conductivity type, such as n-type, for example");
a body having said first conductivity type (para. 72; "a floating body region 24 of the first conductivity type, such as p-type, for example");
a source region and a drain region each having said second conductivity type and being separated by said body (para. 72; "and source/drain regions 16 and 18 of the second conductivity type, such as n-type, for example". See also Fig. 1A where it shows the source and drain being separated by the body);
a gate positioned in between said source region and said drain region (para 76; "A gate 60 is positioned in between the source line region 16 and the drain region 18");
Han discloses the semiconductor device having a similar layered structure recited in claim 1, along with the claimed biasing conditions for the gate, source, drain and buried layer, but is silent with respect to a non-volatile memory element connected to one of the source or drain regions.
However, Rahaman teaches and a non-volatile memory element connected to one of said source region and said drain region (Fig. 1(d). Also, abstr. "the present work addresses the effects of Ti buffer layer thickness on the switching properties of TiN/Ti/HfOx/TiN 1T1R RRAM." and sect. 2.1; "connected to the drain junction (D) of the transistor."),
Han in view of Rahaman disclose the FET, the buried layer, and the write biases on the gate, drain, source and buried layer, but is silent with respect to applying a bias to the body and the effect thereof.
However, Park teaches …increases current flow from said drain region to said source region (sect. 5; "Any MOSFET encompasses a lateral NPN bipolar transistor, the activation of which relies on the forward biasing of the source-body (i.e., emitter-base) junction". It is well understood in the art that the term 'forward biasing' implies the application of a positive voltage, and activation of the bipolar transistor would induce current flow between the drain and source.).
Park teaches a body contact (Fig. 1b) at which body potential is taken and teaches that forward source-body bias turns on the lateral-BJT, but is silent with respect to applying a positive voltage to that body contact.
However, Han2 teaches wherein application of…(a positive voltage or current to said gate region, a positive voltage or current to said drain region, zero or a negative voltage or current to said source region, zero or a positive voltage or current to said buried layer, – as mapped to Han above)… and a positive voltage or current to said body (Fig. 1 – caption: “(b) multiple forward body biasing”. See also p. 214, sect. I; “Other methods involve applying different bias voltage to the body terminal. The schematics of dynamic threshold and multiple body bias transistors are shown in Fig. 1.);
Han, Rahaman, Park and Han2 combined are from the same field of endeavor as applicant's invention directed to driving current to semiconductor devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han's memory cell semiconductor driving device structure by connecting the resistive-change non-volatile memory element to the drain region as taught by Rahaman, with the inherent lateral bipolar transistor within the MOSFET as taught by Park, and the application of a positive voltage to the body as taught by Han2 thereby arriving at the method of claim 1. Doing so would have been a predictable use of a known element for its known purpose to solve the well-recognized problem of insufficient write current in resistive memory cells.
Han, Rahaman and Park combined are from the same field of endeavor as applicant's invention directed to driving current to semiconductor devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han's memory cell semiconductor driving device structure by connecting the resistive-change non-volatile memory element to the drain region as taught by Rahaman, with the inherent lateral bipolar transistor within the MOSFET as taught by Park, thereby arriving at the method of claim 1. Doing so would have been a predictable use of a known element for its known purpose to solve the well-recognized problem of insufficient write current in resistive memory cells.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al (US 20160336326; "Han" – of record) in view of Rahaman et al.("The Role of Ti Buffer Layer Thickness on the Resistive Switching Properties of Hafniuom Oxide-Based Resistive Switching Memories"; "Rahaman" – of record) and Han et al. ("A CMOS-compatible boosted transistor having >2× drive current and low leakage current"; "Han2" – of record), and further in view of Lu et al. (US 20220320124; “Lu”).
Regarding independent claim 16, notwithstanding the rejection for indefiniteness above, Han discloses a method of increasing write current of a non-volatile memory cell, said method comprising:
providing a plurality of non-volatile memory cells (Fig. 6 for example),
wherein each non-volatile memory cell of said plurality of non-volatile memory cell comprises:
a semiconductor device comprising a substrate having a first conductivity type selected from p-type conductivity type and n-type conductivity type (para. 71; "memory device 50, according to an embodiment of the present invention, is shown in FIG. 1A. Memory cell 50 includes a substrate 12 of a first conductivity type such as p-type, for example");
a buried layer having a second conductivity type selected from said p-type conductivity type and said n-type conductivity type and being different from said first conductivity type (para. 72; "Memory cell 50 also comprises a buried layer region 22 of a second conductivity type, such as n-type, for example");
a body having said first conductivity type (para. 72; "a floating body region 24 of the first conductivity type, such as p-type, for example");
a source region and a drain region each having said second conductivity type and being separated by the body (para. 72; "and source/drain regions 16 and 18 of the second conductivity type, such as n-type, for example". See also Fig. 1A where it shows the source and drain being separated by the body);
and a gate positioned in between the source region and the drain region (para 76; "A gate 60 is positioned in between the source line region 16 and the drain region 18");
applying a positive voltage or current to the gate region (Fig. 21. See also para. 121; "a positive voltage is applied to the selected WL terminal 70a,");
applying a positive voltage or current to the drain region (Fig. 21. See also para 121; "a positive voltage is applied to the selected BL terminal 74a");
applying zero or a negative voltage or current to the source region (Fig. 21. See also para 121; "a slight positive voltage is applied to the SL terminal 72a". It is noted that Han's use of the slightly positive voltage for this particular write embodiment to reduce disturb on unselected cells sharing the same source line does not avoid the rejection because it also expressly teaches using zero voltage on the SL terminal in other write examples (para. 82). Further, the claim itself recites 'zero or negative voltage', making this an expressly contemplated voltage range, with the well understood optimization tradeoff of leakage for even higher drain current.);
applying zero voltage or current to the substrate (Fig. 21. See also para 121; "a positive voltage is applied to the selected BW terminal 76a");
and applying a positive voltage or current to the buried layer (Fig. 7. See also para. 82; "operating conditions for a write logic-1 operation, where the following bias conditions are applied: a positive voltage is applied to the BW terminal 76");
wherein the positive voltage or current applied by said applying a positive voltage or current to the buried layer is sufficiently high to cause an ionization impact process forming a base current of an inherent lateral bipolar junction transistor (BJT) (para. 103; "The positive bias applied to the BW terminal 76 needs to generate an electric field sufficient to trigger an impact ionization mechanism when the floating body region 24 is positively charged, as will be described through the band diagram shown in FIGS. 14A and 14B");
Han discloses the semiconductor device having similar layered structure recited in claim 1, along with the claimed biasing conditions for the gate, source, drain and buried layer, but is silent with respect to a non-volatile memory element connected to one of the source or drain regions.
However, Rahaman teaches and a non-volatile memory element connected to one of the source region and the drain region (Fig. 1(d). Also, abstr. "the present work addresses the effects of Ti buffer layer thickness on the switching properties of TiN/Ti/HfOx/TiN 1T1R RRAM." and sect. 2.1; "connected to the drain junction (D) of the transistor.");
Han and Rahaman disclose the cell stack and the drain-tied RRAM, but are silent with respect to the plurality sharing said body.
However, Lu teaches wherein said plurality of non-volatile memory cells share said body (para. 21; “The well region PW1 is shared by the memory cells 101 and 102. In particular, the well region PW1 continuously extends from the memory cell 101 to memory cell 102 without being separated by, for example, an isolation structure.”)
Han in view of Rahaman and Lu discloses a plurality of 1T1R cells that share a body and the recited biases, but is silent with respect to the explicit inherent lateral and vertical BJTs and the claimed current sums.
However, Han2 teaches wherein the positive voltage or current applied by said applying a positive voltage or current to the gate region and/or drain region is sufficiently high to elevate a potential of the body to a level to turn on an inherent vertical bipolar junction transistor (BJT) (The vertical BJT is considered as a gate voltage controlled base (body) current source that turns on only at high Vg.);
wherein said on-state drain current of the semiconductor device is a sum of MOS transistor (formed by the source region, the gate region, the drain region and the body) current and current through the lateral BJT; and wherein total current flow into the source region is a sum of the MOS transistor current, the current through the lateral BJT and current through the vertical BJT (Fig. 5A where it illustrates the three current paths (MOS + lateral BJT + two vertical BJTs) that contribute to the total current in the transistor structure with a buried layer. It is noted that this limitation appears directed toward Fig. 3A of the instant application which is effectively equivalent to Han2's Fig. 5A.).
Han, Rahaman, Lu and Han2 combined are from the same field of endeavor as applicant's invention directed to driving current to semiconductor devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect Rahaman’s RRAM to Han’s drain, to share the p-body among adjacent cells as taught by Lu, and to treat the on-state current as the MOS + lateral BJT + vertical BJT sum as taught by Han2. Doing so would yield a memory cell with significantly higher write current through the resistive element solving the known problem (insufficient current for RRAM), using predictable, known methods (impact ionization via buried-layer bias + vertical BJT activation via body potential elevation).
Regarding claim 17, Han, Rahaman, Lu and Han2 combined disclose the limitations of claim 16.
As applied, Han2 further discloses wherein when zero voltage or current is applied to the gate region, an off-state current of the semiconductor device is the same whether the voltage or current applied to the buried layer is positive or zero (Abstr. “Constant bias applied to the booster terminal results in a gate voltage controlled body current source intrinsic vertical BJT that only turns on at high gate voltage. … The inherent vertical and lateral BJTs are automatically turned off at low gate voltage”. As amended, the claim recites the off-state as zero voltage or current on the gate. That is the VG = 0 condition already applied in the previous Office action.).
Regarding claim 18, Han, Rahaman, Lu and Han2 combined disclose the limitations of claim 16.
As applied, Han further discloses wherein said applying a positive voltage or current to the buried layer comprises applying about three volts to the buried layer (para. 139; " and about +3.0V is applied to the BW terminal 76").
Claims 12-15 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al (US 20160336326; "Han"- of record) in view of Rahaman et al. ("The Role of Ti Buffer Layer Thickness on the Resistive Switching Properties of Hafnium Oxide-Based Resistive Switching Memories"; "Rahaman" – of record) and Park et al. ("Persistent Floating-Body Effects in Fully Depleted Silicon-on-Insulator Transistors"; "Park"), and further in view of Han et al. ("A CMOS-compatible boosted transistor having >2× drive current and low leakage current,"; "Han2") as supported by Wikipedia contributors (Article - "Ohmic contact.") as applied to claim 15.
Regarding claim 12 and 21, Han, Rahaman, Park and Han2 combined disclose the limitations of claims 7 and 1 respectively.
As applied, Han2 further discloses further comprising:
a body contact having said first conductivity type (Fig. 1(a) where it illustrates body contact B);
wherein said positive voltage or current to said body is applied through said body contact (col. 1, sect. I; "methods involve applying different bias voltage to the body terminal.").
Regarding claim 13 and 22, Han, Rahaman, Park and Han2 combined disclose the limitations of claims 12 and 21 respectively.
As applied, Park further discloses wherein said body contact is more highly doped than said body (pg 9. col. 1; "The effectiveness of the P+ body contact". It is well understood in the art that the nomenclature 'P+' refers to a higher doped P-type region).
Regarding claim 14, Han, Rahaman, Park and Han2 combined disclose the limitations of claim 7.
As applied, Han2 further discloses further comprising:
a buried layer contact region having said second conductivity type (Fig. 2(a) where it illustrates voltage Vbb being applied to the buried layer contact);
and a buried layer contact body having said second conductivity type and interconnecting said buried layer contact region and said buried layer (Fig. 2(a) where it illustrates the interconnecting (tap) area.);
wherein said application of zero or a positive voltage or current to said buried layer is applied through said buried layer contact region and said buried layer contact body (pg. 214, col. 2; "The buried n-well tap is formed using n-well and a static voltage (Vbb) is applied to the buried n-well").
Regarding claim 15, Han, Rahaman, Park and Han2 combined disclose the limitations of claim 14.
As applied, Han2 further discloses wherein said buried layer contact region is more highly doped than said buried layer contact body (Han2 explicitly discloses the buried layer contact as cited in claim 14. Higher doping in contact regions is a standard technique well known in the semiconductor arts as supported by the Wikipedia Article – Ohmic Contacts: "the contact region is heavily doped to ensure the type of contact wanted. As a rule, ohmic contacts on semiconductors form more easily when the semiconductor is highly doped near the junction; a high doping narrows the depletion region at the interface and allow electrons to flow in both directions easily at any bias by tunneling through the barrier").
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends on p. 3 or Remarks that the obviousness rejection of claims 1–11 is improper based on four points of disagreement:
A. The Memory Device of Han
Applicant argues that applying a bias to Han’s body would destroy floating-body charge storage and render Han unsatisfactory for its intended purpose (MPEP 2143.01(V)).
Not persuasive. The claims are directed to a 1T1R cell in which write current is increased through the select FET. Rahaman supplies the resistive element on the drain. The memory state of the claimed cell is not required to be stored as floating-body charge. Biasing Han’s p-body (or the body of the Han FET as used in that combination) does not prevent the structure from functioning as a select transistor for a resistive element. 2143.01(V) is not met by the fact that Han also discloses a floating-body DRAM-like mode. Han remains the primary for the layered FET, buried layer, and gate/drain/source/buried biases.
B. The Biasing Scheme of Han in view of Park
Applicant argues that Park sect. 5 “absence of the body contact” and hole pile-up from impact ionization / BTBT mean Park does not teach applying a positive voltage to the body.
Not persuasive. Park Figure 1b is a five-terminal MOSFET with a body contact used for direct monitoring of body potential. Section 5’s “absence of the body contact” is general isolated-body / FD-SOI context; it does not cancel Figure 1b. Park sect. 5 also states that a MOSFET encompasses a lateral NPN “the activation of which relies on the forward biasing of the source-body (i.e., emitter-base) junction.” That is a positive body-to-source condition and is the current-increase teaching maintained from the Non-Final.
The claims require a positive voltage on the body, not a particular generator. Park’s measured positive body potential is that forward source-body condition.
To the extent Applicant reads “application of” as requiring an external bias forced into the contact, Han2 (already of record and applied in the Non-Final to claims 12–16) teaches applying bias to a body terminal, including forward body bias (Han2 sect. I / Fig. 1). Claims 1 and 7 were not amended in that respect. Han2 is further in view of Park on the same body-bias element. Park is maintained.
C. Source Region Biasing of Han
Applicant argues that Han para. 82 (SL = 0, array 80 / cell 50) cannot be combined with Han para. 121 (slight +SL, array 280 / cell 250), so Han does not teach “zero or a negative” source.
Not persuasive. The claim is zero or a negative voltage on the source. Han para. 82 teaches zero on SL. That reads on the claim. The Office does not need to mix para. 82 and 121 to meet “zero.” Slightly positive SL in another embodiment does not take zero SL out of Han.
D. Dependent Claims 6 and 11
Applicant argues that Han does not apply a negative source voltage and that doing so would change Han’s floating-body storage (para. 119).
Claims 6 and 11 are not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 at this time. They are objected to as depending from a rejected base claim. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) as to the negative-source condition. No 2143.01(V) response is required on a limitation that is not rejected on the art.
Claims 2–5 and 8–10 stand or fall with 1 and 7. Claim 2 remains as supported by Yoder.
Applicant further contends on p. 5 of Remarks that the obviousness rejection of claims 16–20 is improper. To support their argument, Applicant argues that Han isolates each floating body (para. 73, 77, 138, Figs. 1A and 29), so Han cannot share a body, and that amending claim 16 to a shared body would destroy Han’s floating-body memory (2143.01(V)).
Han’s isolation is why Han alone does not teach “share said body.” That limitation was added by amendment and is mapped to Lu, US 20220320124, para. 21 (PW1 shared, continuously extends, not separated by isolation). Combining Lu’s continuous p-well with Han’s FET as a select device for Rahaman’s RRAM does not require Han’s cell to keep per-cell floating-body storage as the memory state. 2143.01(V) is not persuasive.
The remainder of claim 16 (stack, 1T1R, biases, impact ionization, vertical/lateral BJT sums) is maintained over Han, Rahaman, and Han2. Claim 17 is maintained on that combination. As amended, claim 17 recites VG = 0 as the off-state, which is the interpretation used in the prior action. Han2 teaches that the inherent BJTs turn off at low gate voltage and off-state current remains low with booster bias applied. Claim 18 is maintained on Han para.139 (about +3.0 V on BW). Claims 19 and 20 are not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 at this time however, claims 16–20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant further contends on p. 6 of Remarks that the obviousness rejection of claims 12–15 is improper. To support their argument, Applicant repeats the 2143.01(V) floating-body argument and argues that Park sect. 5 does not teach a body contact.
The body contact of claims 12–13 is mapped to Han2 Fig. 1 / sect. I (body terminal; FBB), not to Park sect. 5. The 2143.01(V) argument is unpersuasive for the same reasons as in A. Claims 14–15 (buried-layer contact) remain as mapped in the Non-Final to Han2. Claims 12–15 stand rejected.
New claims 21 and 22 recite the same body-contact limitations with respect to claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons as claims 12 and 13.
Conclusion
The new ground as to claims 16–18 (Lu) is necessitated by amendment of claim 16 to a plurality of cells that share the same body.
The further application of Han2 to claims 1 and 7 is not a new feature and is not treated as a new ground. Park is maintained for a body contact and for forward source-body bias / lateral NPN current (the same body-bias element applied in the previous Office action). Applicant’s remarks distinguish monitoring from applying. To the extent “application of” a positive voltage to the body is read as an external bias into that contact, Han2 already of record teaches applying bias to a body terminal. Claims 1 and 7 were not amended to add a body terminal or an applied body bias. That is the same thrust as the prior rejection of the body-bias limitation in this application. See MPEP 706.07(a).
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James S. Wells/Examiner, Art Unit 2825
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825